Opinion Top 5 Most Overrated Players Of All Time

Watch Bulldogs vs West Coast from last year and you will see how good Murphy is. Would of had better games but really noticed him then, sure he might not of deserved his AA selection but he is a very classy player that every club needs.

just face it Pudge...Kerr is overrated :thumbsu:

He's a brilliant player but he's never emulated the 2007 form on a consistent basis from then on.

That's a benchmark far above simply 'elite'. If he'd managed that we'd be talking all-time great.

Injuries have been a major reason but a lot of it has to do with the fact that he's now the one player in the Eagles midfield that gets the most attention 1st and foremost and his game suffers because of.
I mean how many suspensions has the bloke had because of the tag getting to him?

He was the No.1 player in their midfield in 2007 too, and that was his best year. Cousins barely played, Judd was injured.

You may say the clearances tell the whole story but he's also got the two best ruckman in the competition shoveling the pill right down his throat every centre bounce.

So you're saying Naitanui is the 2nd best ruckman in the comp, yet KERR is overrated in your eyes? Interesting.

His marking as well as the contested marking has completely dropped away in recent years and his influence on a game is now almost overshadowed by Priddis, Selwood and NicNat.

Again, watch the 2011 finals series, particularly his game against Carlton where he was the difference between the two sides. It's clear that he's still their No.1 midfielder.

I mean 3 tackles per game as an elite midfielder?..Give me a fuc*king break! The guy is either to weak to lay more tackles or he's a very offensive minded midfielder which can't be the case either as he's only booted the 100 career goals.

Why does it have to come down to one of those two? His clearance and contested possessions numbers are at superstar level, so that's why you can forgive just the 100 career goals.

He probably doesn't lay as many tackles as you'd expect, but he's still one of the best tacklers you'll ever see.

Someone said Kouta but I can't find who it was in all these pages. Whoever named him must be young and only saw him when he came back after two years from that knee injury. He was crap.
In his prime he was the best of the best.

If you set up the following one on one challange he would beat anyone in history.

1. Kick the ball away ten times and say "go". The player who gets it back to you wins.

2. Kick the ball ten times to a one out marking contest.

3. Set shots at goal.

4. Handballing comp.

5. Running and manouvering.

The only player I could think of that you could consider putting up against him would be Franklin, but what would happen?
The 1st test would be interesting. Kouta was a sprinting champion who holds a record and Buddy is bloody fast. Lets say they got there at a similar time, in the strength contest Franklin would get rag dolled. You would imagine Kouta would then grab the ball like a loaf of bread and its all over.
No. 2 test would again be interesting. Buddy has a couple more centremetres but Kouta had the huge leap and massive hands, I would back Kouta mainly based on strength.
3. Pretty even...
4. Kouta was the best handballer I've ever seen play the game, and that includes Diesel.
5. Even.

LOL yeh ok...

5 current overated players:

1) Dane Swan
2) Andrew Embley
3) Jonathan Brown
4) Andrew Wells
5) Patrick Dangerfield

In fact give Dane Sawn a brownlow for being the most overrated, boring bogan of all time. And another for his hideous tough stickers.

Special mentions to Didak, Daisy too.

5 underrated players:

1) Bradshaw (just retired)
2) Shannon Hurn
3) Cassisi
4) Lonergan
5) Jarrod Harbrow

Someone said Kouta but I can't find who it was in all these pages. Whoever named him must be young and only saw him when he came back after two years from that knee injury. He was crap.
In his prime he was the best of the best.

If you set up the following one on one challange he would beat anyone in history.

1. Kick the ball away ten times and say "go". The player who gets it back to you wins.

2. Kick the ball ten times to a one out marking contest.

3. Set shots at goal.

4. Handballing comp.

5. Running and manouvering.

The only player I could think of that you could consider putting up against him would be Franklin, but what would happen?
The 1st test would be interesting. Kouta was a sprinting champion who holds a record and Buddy is bloody fast. Lets say they got there at a similar time, in the strength contest Franklin would get rag dolled. You would imagine Kouta would then grab the ball like a loaf of bread and its all over.
No. 2 test would again be interesting. Buddy has a couple more centremetres but Kouta had the huge leap and massive hands, I would back Kouta mainly based on strength.
3. Pretty even...
4. Kouta was the best handballer I've ever seen play the game, and that includes Diesel.
5. Even.

Kouta was an absolute superstar at his peak and hardly over rated. Except perhaps by you by the look of this post!!!!!

4. Greg Williams - for a player who racked up so many possessions, the umpires had a habit of not awarding him Brownlow votes. there's a good reason why. if he played today he would have 5 Brownlows because:
disposals = Brownlow votes. thankfully 20 years ago, umpires looked at 'impact' players more than they do today. I'm not going to bag him, he was a fantastic hand-baller (one of the best ever) but I think there were some deficiencies in his game. a great player, but overrated by many.

Dual Brownlow medalist right (should have been triple), so that's quite a strange take. And you think he had no impact. Damn! Diesel was one of the most impactful players with his disposal that I've ever seen. A Daicos level of genius in this own way and he's one of the players I feel blessed to have seen so much of.

Well off it IMO. Kouta became a great clearance player once his athleticism waned, but his handball was no more special than any other player I've seen play the game.

1. Matthew Pavlich (can't perform in big games, would rather have a player like Ashley Hansen in a final series over him. No wonder he didn't want to go to Adelaide when they were regularly making the finals. )
2. Chris Tarrant
3. Luke Hodge
4. Nat Fyfe (Good mark, but who cares when you can't ****ing kick)
5. Adam Cooney

1. Matthew Pavlich (can't perform in big games, would rather have a player like Ashley Hansen in a final series over him)
2. Chris Tarrant
3. Luke Hodge
5. Adam Cooney

I don't know wehere to start with this?

1. You would rather have Ash Hansen than Pavlich going into a finals series? That's insane.

2. Nobody rates Tarrant that highly.

3. Three x All Australian, Norm Smith medal winning, dual best & fairest champion by 27.

4. Fyfe is a kid, go easy.

5. Cooney has been injured the last 3 years. Before his knee issues, he was a jet and on his way to being a champion.

1. Matthew Pavlich (can't perform in big games, would rather have a player like Ashley Hansen in a final series over him)
2. Chris Tarrant
3. Luke Hodge
5. Adam Cooney

luke hodge and adam cooney are proven class players mate

Dual Brownlow medalist right (should have been triple), so that's quite a strange take. And you think he had no impact.

that's not what I said

allow me to reiterate; there were games where he racked up 30 touches but other players had a bigger impact than he, and the umpires voted accordingly (remember that game he had 40 touches and no Brownlow votes?). that wouldn't happen these days. 30+ touches these days in a losing side and you can lock in at least 1 vote.
my point is he was a ball magnet, but impacted games less than his reputation suggests. 10 meter handballs don't win games. I stand by my opinion that he is overrated.

that's not what I said

allow me to reiterate; there were games where he racked up 30 touches but other players had a bigger impact than he, and the umpires voted accordingly (remember that game he had 40 touches and no Brownlow votes?).

Do you remember the umpire who said he wanted to give Diesel votes for that game but the senior umpire said he'd been a prick all day and refused. If this is your argument, it's badly flawed on it's assumptions before you even start.

my point is he was a ball magnet, but impacted games less than his reputation suggests. 10 meter handballs don't win games. I stand by my opinion that he is overrated.

You can keep your opinion. I watched a hell of a lot of Diesel and your comments just don't match the player at all. Ten metre handball? The guy could fire them off 25m pack deep on to a running blokes chest and was actually a superb kick early on as well. It's like saying Carey is overrated because he couldn't mark and had no impact on games, and I stand by that opinion :rolleyes:

But I look at your team and it makes a lot more sense. No love lost for Diesel from Dons fans.

3. Three x All Australian, Norm Smith medal winning, dual best & fairest champion by 27.

Yeah, but some talk about him like he's a 5 x All Australian, dual MVP winning Brownlow medalist.

3 x AA - 2 on a HBF, once the opposite flank to Joel Bowden.

Norm Smith - It's one game only, so not all that significant. Other winners: Andrew Embley, Shuan Hart and Byron Pickett. And Hodge was considered a contentious winner at that.

Only 2 B&F's over 10 seasons isn't much of a counter point.

Yeah, but some talk about him like he's a 5 x All Australian, dual MVP winning Brownlow medalist.

3 x AA - 2 on a HBF, once the opposite flank to Joel Bowden.

Norm Smith - It's one game only, so not all that significant. Other winners: Andrew Embley, Shuan Hart and Byron Pickett. And Hodge was considered a contentious winner at that.

Only 2 B&F's over 10 seasons isn't much of a counter point.

Monkey please don't act like a baboon if Rhys Jones didn't win the 87 Norm Smith you'd have 1 less premiership and we'd have 1 more.
The great players perform on the biggest stage not at Princess Park or Glenferrie Oval.

that's not what I said

allow me to reiterate; there were games where he racked up 30 touches but other players had a bigger impact than he, and the umpires voted accordingly (remember that game he had 40 touches and no Brownlow votes?). that wouldn't happen these days. 30+ touches these days in a losing side and you can lock in at least 1 vote.

Greg Williams could teach todays players a thing or 2 about using the footy. He was a star & rarely wasted the footy. He didn't worry about his opponent which meant he could be exposed going the other way but James Hird didn't pick up an opponent when he played in the midfield either. The great players rarely do.

The only thing that annoys me about him is the whining from Carlton people about the 93 Brownlow. Wanganeen was a worthy Brownlow Medalist & was incredible that year. His courage & attack on the footy was amazing & at the end of the day I think the umpires just admired the way he went about his footy. Players from the opposition targeted him pretty heavily that year yet he just kept getting up. Williams was clearly unlucky not to get votes in the Fitzroy game but i'd be pretty sure there would be a game or 2 where he was lucky to be in the votes, its the way the Brownlow is. If he had've got 1 vote he would've tied so he would've shared it with Wanganeen but it seems that wouldn't have been enough, he should've been up on that stage by himself. At the end of the day he won 2 & he should be wrapped with that.

One of the things I admired him for was his attitude to taggers, mess with me & i'll belt you. Williams on the whole was a ball player who bellted blokes that were belting him, nothing wrong with that, should be more of it. The Rhys Jones incident was poor, although he doesn't really care about it. I felt for him with the umpire incident where he got 8 weeks, he got crucified & the AFL handled it poorly. All in all though he is the last bloke that should be considered overated, he is without doubt an all time great & despite his lack of pace I have no doubt he would still be a champion if he played in any era of footy.

Monkey please don't act like a baboon if Rhys Jones didn't win the 87 Norm Smith you'd have 1 less premiership and we'd have 1 more.
The great players perform on the biggest stage not at Princess Park or Glenferrie Oval.

You're talking team aspect here, I'm talking individual playing career. Regarding the latter, putting that much emphasis on one game is almost the epitome of overrating a player. It reminds me of the way Carlton fans talk up Kouta based on his 99' PF or his awesome 95' GF performance; it's just one or two games right and a career should surely be measured on more than that. Still, it gives some insight as to the why's of some posters overrating him.

And please, I really like Hodge and would love him at the Blues; he'd walk straight into the Carlton line-up in a heartbeat in any line of play, so I'm not trying to have a go at him. I just don't think Donk's list of accolades really supports him as being the kind of top line player he's made out to be - I mean, seriously, 2 B&F's over 10 years in that team?

These threads are absolutely ridiculous!

You have computer nerds (who's only worry on a daily basis it to think of what to do when you wake up each and every morning) judging the careers of men who went through blood sweat and tears to make a name for themselves on the footy field and have it questioned by today's desktop hard-men.

These threads are absolutely ridiculous!

You have computer nerds (who's only worry on a daily basis it to think of what to do when you wake up each and every morning) judging the careers of men who went through blood sweat and tears to make a name for themselves on the footy field and have it questioned by today's desktop hard-men.
Don't post if you don't like it.

We are just football tragics who are passionate about our great game and some of us have spilled blood, sweat and tears at local level.
Just as an example even the players I have said are over rated I am still in awe over.
Maybe you should stay at the pussys board.

this is a prime example of the fierce competitive toughness coming from the fingertips of a desktop low life individual. I know words such a pussy may get some pot bellied men a little high strung but if you are trying to insult me in any way, unfortunately for your sake...it won't do any good whatsoever especially coming from a Hawthorn supporter.

The very fact you felt the need to respond means you take this internet stuff just a little too seriously and perhaps it's about time to do something constructive by clicking Start -----> Shut Down and go mow the lawns as Mum or the Mrs asked 3 months ago now.

Opinion Top 5 Most Overrated Players Of All Time