Opinion Top 5 Most Overrated Players Of All Time

You pretty much answered yourself on Naitanui with the over hype he gets but add to that his inability to impact entire games consecutively and you'd have to agree again that 1 or 2 flashes of brilliance don't live up to the legendary status he's already being given.

That's what I define as overrated, but these are just my opinions.
Absolutely agree with this.

West Coast fans have a love affair with someone who knows nothing about football, who simply doesn't have a footy brain.

He has a lot to learn admittedly , but kid has sure got some ability once he finds the footy. Can't blame Eagles fans for getting excited , hell any fan would if he was at their Club - athletic freak.
Overhyped without a doubt but think of the possibilities !!

\\

Someone questions your opinions and you have a hissy fit and then take pot shots on someones opinion wow you really are a keyboard hero

Oh dear me. You were looking for a rise by trolling Geelong but all of a sudden you got one and now have a bruised ego. :(

*cough-sniff* :thumbsdown:

His clearances and clever taps to midfielders suggest he does have a footy brain. The only thing missing is knowing where to run, but then we don't expect that of most ruckmen.

Kerr is overrated due to the fact he fell in a hole once Judd & Cousins left yet the WA media and fans and WCE still continued to beat his drum for years as if he was the true champion of the 3 whilst he had little impact on games.

You obviously didn't see the finals series last year. He was immense.

Once again, how is Nic Naitanui overrated? Sure he is over hyped and the media jizz no matter what he does but does that make him overrated? Who is better than him at the role he does which is as a back up ruckman?

This. There is a difference between commentator overexuberance and actual rating of a player. The fans rated him at No.45, which is about right.

You obviously didn't see the finals series last year. He was immense.

Strange how I was talking about his career prior and you ignored that..
But if you say just 1 finals series makes the player then we'll roll with it... :D

Strange how I was talking about his career prior and you ignored that..
But if you say just 1 finals series makes the player then we'll roll with it... :D

Injuries aside he has done little since those days

By 'since those days' I assumed you meant 'since those days'. The 2011 finals series is 'since those days'.

The rest can be ascribed to his shocking injury record, even though you dismiss it. The hamstring injury alone was a potential career-ender.

The 1 finals series doesn't make a player but neither do 3 poor injury-marred years. Look over the length of Kerr's career and it's quality.

Justifies what I said about him after Judd & Cousins weren't there.

How?

In 2008 he played well for 11 games before his injury
In 2011 he was good over an abbreviated 16 game season.

It's only 2009 and 2010 that he was crap, and he only played 15 games in total in those two years.

So it's 15 games of crap versus 27 games where he's been an elite midfielder, although still limited with speed issues due to his hamstring and other injuries.

And even in those '15 games of crap' he still averaged 19 disposals a game so he wasn't totally useless either.

How?

In 2008 he played well for 11 games before his injury
In 2011 he was good over an abbreviated 16 game season.

It's only 2009 and 2010 that he was crap, and he only played 15 games in total in those two years.

So it's 15 games of crap versus 27 games where he's been an elite midfielder, although still limited with speed issues due to his hamstring and other injuries.

And even in those '15 games of crap' he still averaged 19 disposals a game so he wasn't totally useless either.

His 2008 even though limited, was mediocre.
'05 & '06 were his best years at a full season and even then he averaged more behinds than goals.

But you're disagreeing on account of what may have/could have been?

Seriously, an elite midfielder - as many like to talk him up as - should be averaging more than 25 possies in a flag year when playing with that midfield he was a part of..
Judd and Cousins did it but not Kerr. He was made to look good.
Once they left the work rate became too much for him and he flopped.

But more than this it comes down to how much WCE supporters and WA media have have talked him up.
I don't see it at all..
Overrated.

His 2008 even though limited, was mediocre.
'05 & '06 were his best years at a full season and even then he averaged more behinds than goals.

2007 was his best season statistically with Cousins and Judd missing for large chunks of that season too. He has proven form playing without his two buddies yet somehow people think that . . .
Once they left the work rate became too much for him and he flopped.

Seriously, an elite midfielder - as many like to talk him up as - should be averaging more than 25 possies in a flag year when playing with that midfield he was a part of..

He was 12th in average clearances, 4th in average contested possessions . . . No good? Comprehensive stats like these should concern you more than simple possession numbers.

No, overrating is what concerns me more about a player being overrated.
Like I said, the blow up from Eagles fans and WA media was through the roof when I was there...
You've obviously never lived in WA I take it..?

Sorry if you find my opinion hard to accept but hey.... life.

Like I said, the blow up from Eagles fans and WA media was through the roof when I was there...
You've obviously never lived in WA I take it..?.

Agree 100% on that. WA media seem to think the AFL consists of two teams - West Coast and Fremantle - and because of the number of retired WC hacks in the media it is predominantly biased towards them. Having said that, any player from either side who shows a bit of talent is suddenly a legend. Agree Nic Nat is an exciting prospect, but in WA he was a Brownlow favourite after his second senior game when he kicked two goals against Hawthorn. Give me a break!

I'm not sure how he gets massively overrated at all? Eagles fans know how good he is when not injured so they rate him on that level and it's fair enough but not sure about the WA media overrating him.

Yea I'm upset by a Bay 13 hero, please get over yourself.

oh what did you say?

And the point of this little frenzied outburst was to distinguish what part of your psyche..?
This is the main board, pacman. Not bay13

Just let it goooooo. :)

You said that he didn't have the numbers for an elite player, which has nothing to do with the Perth media.

I reckon he doesn't have the numbers that the WA media seemed to pump him up to have though you wouldn't know either way.
But seeing as you want to prime yourself for an argument based on one or the other just remember, it's my opinion though don't feel too ignorant for not accepting it.

Nimrod. :rolleyes:

I reckon he doesn't have the numbers that the WA media seemed to pump him up to have though you wouldn't know either way.
But seeing as you want to prime yourself for an argument based on one or the other just remember, it's my opinion though don't feel too ignorant for not accepting it.

Nimrod. :rolleyes:

Actually your beef was with the attribution of the 'elite' tag, not the extent to which the WA media pumped him up.

chefmeister

So it still comes down to your opinion that he's not even elite, and that he doesn't perform without Judd and Cousins, even though all the evidence is stacked against these ideas. The only justification you've provided for your opinion is average possession numbers during 2006, which is an odd stat on which to be balancing your whole opinion on his career.

Actually your beef was with the attribution of the 'elite' tag, not the extent to which the WA media pumped him up.

chefmeister

So it still comes down to your opinion that he's not even elite, and that he doesn't perform without Judd and Cousins, even though all the evidence is stacked against these ideas. The only justification you've provided for your opinion is average possession numbers during 2006, which is an odd stat on which to be balancing your whole opinion on his career.

hahaha, this isn't rocket science or absolutes you silly fool. It's opinions.
Unfortunately for you, you cannot change mine no matter how many little indiscretions or loopholes you trawl for under your own personal proviso.
I know it probably hurts but hey... life. :)

Kerr = overrated.

Happy hunting on the rest of your safari, Bwana. :thumbsu:

hahaha, this isn't rocket science or absolutes you silly fool. It's opinions.
Unfortunately for you, you cannot change mine no matter how many little indiscretions or loopholes you trawl for under your own personal proviso.
I know it probably hurts but hey... life. :)

Kerr = overrated.

Happy hunting on the rest of your safari, Bwana. :thumbsu:

Not trying to change your opinion or anyone's, all I've done is point out the factual errors you've based your opinion on. What you do with this is up to you.

Someone said Kouta but I can't find who it was in all these pages. Whoever named him must be young and only saw him when he came back after two years from that knee injury. He was crap.
In his prime he was the best of the best.

If you set up the following one on one challange he would beat anyone in history.

1. Kick the ball away ten times and say "go". The player who gets it back to you wins.

2. Kick the ball ten times to a one out marking contest.

3. Set shots at goal.

4. Handballing comp.

5. Running and manouvering.

The only player I could think of that you could consider putting up against him would be Franklin, but what would happen?
The 1st test would be interesting. Kouta was a sprinting champion who holds a record and Buddy is bloody fast. Lets say they got there at a similar time, in the strength contest Franklin would get rag dolled. You would imagine Kouta would then grab the ball like a loaf of bread and its all over.
No. 2 test would again be interesting. Buddy has a couple more centremetres but Kouta had the huge leap and massive hands, I would back Kouta mainly based on strength.
3. Pretty even...
4. Kouta was the best handballer I've ever seen play the game, and that includes Diesel.
5. Even.

Not trying to change your opinion or anyone's, all I've done is point out the factual errors you've based your opinion on. What you do with this is up to you.

bld082554.jpg

I'm gonna have a serious crack at this:

1. Lou Richards - from everyone I've spoken to over the last 30 years, people old enough to have seen him play; he was never one of Collingwoods best players. he was just a huge personality outside / after the game, so much so that his player status has been elevated to legend status. I think he was a brilliant commentator and great personality (I hope he gets a state funeral).

2. Matthew Richardson - there were 2 sides to Richo. the man capable of brilliance and the man who didn't get anywhere near the ball for 8 rounds, and threw dummy spits at his team mates & the umpires. extremely inconsistent for most of his career (except for his last 3 seasons). which side of Richo did we see the majority of?? I have nothing against the guy, but I'm glad he never wore the red & black.

3. Travis Johnstone - a straight out case of a player not being half as good as his reputation.

4. Greg Williams - for a player who racked up so many possessions, the umpires had a habit of not awarding him Brownlow votes. there's a good reason why. if he played today he would have 5 Brownlows because:
disposals = Brownlow votes. thankfully 20 years ago, umpires looked at 'impact' players more than they do today. I'm not going to bag him, he was a fantastic hand-baller (one of the best ever) but I think there were some deficiencies in his game. a great player, but overrated by many.

5. Paul Van Der Haar - it pains me to say it as I love the guy, but apart from a few seasons late 70's/early 80's where he took a few screamers; his impact on games over his whole career was pretty minimal. he's known as an 'Essendon champ' but I think that's stretching it. (SORRY VANDERS!)

Current Top 5
3. Robert Murphy- He's a bit left of centre & the media, particuarly The Age who publish his stupid pieces, love him. Just cruises around half back doing what he wants to do & doesn't really seem to care much for what happens to the team, as long as his stats are ok all is good. AA selection this year was probably pushed hard by his mate Darcy.

Okay...I'll bite.

Some would say a controversial choice for AA last year but the guy's all class. Runs his arse off for the team and has had to push through injuries all of his his career with a body not exactly built for a contact sport.

Might look like he is cruising around simply because his evasive skills and turn of speed often leave opponents clutching at thin air. One of the joys of watching AFL is seeing this bloke do his stuff. Classic footballer with classic skills....and yep I'm biased but I also reckon I've watched him a little more than you have.

Opinion Top 5 Most Overrated Players Of All Time