Mega Thread Trade and List Management discussion

Oh, without a doubt. They'd have every right to be pissed off.

However, given the circumstances, I would think that if it was to eventuate (it won't), that they'd restrain themselves.

You'd think with Jack and Nath we'd have a great shot. Carlton don't have anyone from Carey on their list do they?

You've got love Carlton fans thinking they can get Boyd for Levi Casbolt and pick 5.

My guess is GWS would want at least Menzel, something else and the pick.

Their belief that they've got Boyd in the bag is predicated on the notion that he was a rabid Carlton supporter growing up, and one particular poster's little Boyd fanfic in which he told Malthouse to 'just get me here' before a blockbuster at the 'G.

All absolutely categorically untrue. He nominated Carlton as the club he barracked for growing up, but the reality is that he couldn't give a rat's tossbag about the Blues, particularly if a better offer comes across his manager's desk.

Their belief that they've got Boyd in the bag is predicated on the notion that he was a rabid Carlton supporter growing up, and one particular poster's little Boyd fanfic in which he told Malthouse to 'just get me here' before a blockbuster at the 'G.

All absolutely categorically untrue. He nominated Carlton as the club he barracked for growing up, but the reality is that he couldn't give a rat's tossbag about the Blues, particularly if a better offer comes across his manager's desk.
apparently Goddard is a loyal Carlton supporter to

and Nick Maxwell a major Melbourne fan boy

doubt it means much ;)

Okay so here's a question for you all.......
Theoretically would any body want to take Boyd if part of the deal was we had to take Scully and his mill?

Don't know where the talk of you guys (!) signing Mitch Clark has come from, but I daresay there's a 0% chance of it happening.

If he plays footy again, you'd think it'd be for the club he loves and was on massive money from.

If he can only play footy in Perth as he fights his mental demons, I'm bitter as hell but fine.

But if he decided to make a rockstar comeback at another struggling Melbourne club (albeit not in the same stratosphere as us), I think he'd be hounded out in a way that would make our 2012 Scully hate look like a picnic.

While I understand and to an extent agree with the sentiment here what I think you might not be considering is the effect Melbourne football club might have had on his mental health. I'm by no means saying that it *did* - but perhaps something there... the culture, the coaching or the people or even the location of the training base (triggers can be small!) might have had a huge effect that could be different at another Melbourne club.

That said I think it'd only be fair given what Melbourne paid for him, what he showed at Melbourne and the cash the paid + the importance he had there that any club who takes him on compensates Melbourne in some form - just as a show of good faith.

Just adding my personal perspective on our boy Talia, I don't see where all this expectation of producing the goods already as one of our Key Defensive backs comes from. From the day we snagged him in the draft, I know I wouldn't be happier getting anyone else from such a pick. You could see in many interviews what it meant to him to be drafted to the club his Grandpa won the only Bulldog Premiership and you could tell from the get go his commitment would be there for the longhaul. He's still young, I would be livid if we were to get rid of him so soon, and i'm not sure if many have forgotten but it seems they have, he won the U18 All Australian Full Back...
Even if he were to eventually not be a defensive God send we'd be hoping for, for where he's at now and the credentials he was given + the pick we used to get him, I'm happy to keep the faith that given good Key Position development, he'll get there.
Credits to those who understand that his development in the 2nds is necessary and that he himself to acknowledges that. Enough about him being traded or leavin, K Thx

Don't know where the talk of you guys (!) signing Mitch Clark has come from, but I daresay there's a 0% chance of it happening.

If he plays footy again, you'd think it'd be for the club he loves and was on massive money from.

If he can only play footy in Perth as he fights his mental demons, I'm bitter as hell but fine.

But if he decided to make a rockstar comeback at another struggling Melbourne club (albeit not in the same stratosphere as us), I think he'd be hounded out in a way that would make our 2012 Scully hate look like a picnic.

You know what would really piss me off? If another club took one of our most promising players in Ward who goes on to captain and win their B and F. And we only get Pick 6 compensation. While Melbourne gets two better First Round Picks for Scully (who they got through tanking) who isn't qualified to clean Ward's boots, and don't forget the Dees got this mainly because they moaned and whinged to the AFL.

Worse still Melbourne then use one of those compensation picks to get Jesse Hogan one of the most promising KPs in the comp (what we are crying out for), and do a sneaky draft manipulating deal to overpay for Hogan using the Scully pick to allow them to snare another top 10 pick in Viney in the draft for a lowly 2nd round pick.

And lets not forget that Melbourne threw that much money at Clark that he forgot what was important in family and friends and job satisfaction with a successful club in Freo. So did Melbourne's offer contribute to Clark's life screwing up....we'll never know.

So if Clark goes to us and not Melbourne, I would say karma is a bitch and suck it up Dees, and certainly don't come on this board to whine about it. FFS.

You know what would really piss me off? If another club took one of our most promising players in Ward who goes on to captain and win their B and F. And we only get Pick 6 compensation. While Melbourne gets two better First Round Picks for Scully who isn't qualified to clean Ward's boots, and don't forget the Dees got this mainly because they moaned and whinged to the AFL.

Worse still Melbourne then use one of those compensation picks to get Jesse Hogan one of the most promising KPs in the comp (what we are crying out for), and do a sneaky draft manipulating deal to overpay for Hogan using the Scully pick to allow them to snare another top 10 pick in Viney in the draft for a lowly 2nd round pick.

And lets not forget that Melbourne threw that much money at Clark that he forgot what was important in family and friends and job satisfaction with a successful club in Freo. So did Melbourne's offer contribute to Clark's life screwing up....we'll never know.

So if Clark goes to us and not Melbourne, I would say karma is a bitch and suck it up Dees, and certainly don't come on this board to whine about it. FFS.

Agree that Scully isn't worth as much as Ward but the compensation was based on the fact that he was getting paid very similar to what Ablett was getting at Gold Coast, and while he hasn't turned out to be the player we thought he would (he still could though) he is what Melbourne are lacking now in midfielders.

As for Viney, GWS had pick 1, Viney wasn't worth pick 1 so I don't know why Melbourne would need to make a deal, pick 3 and pick 12 for Hogan, Barry and pick 20 seems like a fair deal if not we paid unders because I think Hogan is worth more than pick 3. Gold Coast also overlooked Viney at pick 2.

Mitch Clark overlooked Freo for the Dees for Money, but today he still living in Melbourne, the reason he left Brisbane was to get out of Brisbane and not necessarily get back to Perth to be with Family. So I don't think the Money has Screwed his life up if he is still living here.

while he is free to go to any club it's unlikely he'll choose another club over Melbourne, he still gets down to training on occasions and watches the guys train, I believe he lives in Richmond and trains at the Richmond boxing club not far from where Melbourne's training base is.

I'm sure Melbourne would love him back, I'm sure other clubs like the dogs would love him sitting at full forward but no one should be putting pressure on him to return next year, he needs to get himself right first and a decision on his playing future should be made by him only, I also doubt he'll play next year anyway.

Understand the sentiments and appreciate the balanced posting guys.

The way I see it, the AFL wouldn't allow him to go anywhere but Melbourne, in 2015 at least.

It would set a dangerous precedent to allow a player to break contract for mental illness if they turned up somewhere else midway through the previous deal.

Agree that Scully isn't worth as much as Ward but the compensation was based on the fact that he was getting paid very similar to what Ablett was getting at Gold Coast, and while he hasn't turned out to be the player we thought he would (he still could though) he is what Melbourne are lacking now in midfielders.

As for Viney, GWS had pick 1, Viney wasn't worth pick 1 so I don't know why Melbourne would need to make a deal, pick 3 and pick 12 for Hogan, Barry and pick 20 seems like a fair deal if not we paid unders because I think Hogan is worth more than pick 3. Gold Coast also overlooked Viney at pick 2.

Mitch Clark overlooked Freo for the Dees for Money, but today he still living in Melbourne, the reason he left Brisbane was to get out of Brisbane and not necessarily get back to Perth to be with Family. So I don't think the Money has Screwed his life up if he is still living here.

while he is free to go to any club it's unlikely he'll choose another club over Melbourne, he still gets down to training on occasions and watches the guys train, I believe he lives in Richmond and trains at the Richmond boxing club not far from where Melbourne's training base is.

I'm sure Melbourne would love him back, I'm sure other clubs like the dogs would love him sitting at full forward but no one should be putting pressure on him to return next year, he needs to get himself right first and a decision on his playing future should be made by him only, I also doubt he'll play next year anyway.

Look I'm not going to argue but it was widely reported at the time that a backroom deal was done where Gold Coast underpaid for Martin with Pick 2, while Melbourne over paid with Pick 3 and 13 for Hogan (yeah getting Barry whats he done, and P26). How is Martin only worth Pick 2? Well its easy to see when Melb get Viney as GWS and GC agree to not pick him as part of the deal. Draft manipulation.

Up until Roos/Jackson Melbourne has been a very dodgy/lucky club with its work:

- Tanking for Trengove and Scully (but somehow dodging the charge but paying a fine, that then AFL pays back to Melb anyway FFS)
- Pressuring the AFL to get BS two picks for Scully (whinging all the while even when they got them FFS)
- screwing Brisbane in the deal for Clark
- having a development system that has literally screwed umpteen kids careers (or was Melb's recruitment that bad)
- the list goes on and on
- but the worst offences? giving Gary Lyon and David Schwarz platforms for their incredibly insipid and annoying media careers FFS

Yet Melbourne continue to whinge and moan that the world is against them. Now whining if Clark doesn't come back to them. And worse whinging to the club their actions by continuously compromising drafts has most affected more than most.

I repeat for FFS

You know what would really piss me off? If another club took one of our most promising players in Ward who goes on to captain and win their B and F. And we only get Pick 6 compensation. While Melbourne gets two better First Round Picks for Scully (who they got through tanking) who isn't qualified to clean Ward's boots, and don't forget the Dees got this mainly because they moaned and whinged to the AFL.

Let me preface this unnecessary rant by saying that Ward is far better than Scully and always will be, but the compensation clearly made sense because we were losing a pick one from two years ago.

But no mate, fair enough.

We've been spoiled over here and it's time we got out just desserts.

What with being done for tanking when we weren't the only ones, and losing our President/club legend to cancer, and being r*ped by our CEO and board while they pulled the wool over the fans' eyes, and being figuratively spit at by the players who get our hard earned cash. Did I mention the fact that we paid this A-grade forward called Mitch Clark $800k a year before he did his foot in a freak incident and then retired from depression at 26 years old. That superstar forward Jesse Hogan, is he the one who did his back in the NAB Cup and now won't play until next year at the earliest? That's also forgetting that 40-goal a season forward who went back home and shanked his cousin. Further to taht, we've lost three free-agents in two years and will lose our full back to make it four in three. As for Viney, when you watch him play you'll see why GC and GWS weren't so keen on risking a top two pick on him. Tough as nails, but those skills need serious work. Would struggle to get a game in a really good young midfield like yours.

Now, I doubt any of that interests you all and nor should it. This is the WB board, not Melbourne's, but I plunge money and time into my footy club year after year and I resent the notion that karma has yet to actually play it's part.

Wouldn't be the first source to link us to Sam Reid - my mail is that the Sam Reid link is stronger than the Patton rumours ever were.
Sydney are under serious cap pressure - helps our cause.

I agree and think we are making a huge play for Reid which we think has a high possibility of success (is my mail.)

- Tanking for Trengove and Scully (but somehow dodging the charge but paying a fine, that then AFL pays back to Melb anyway FFS) - Amongst other clubs like Carlton who got absolutely nothing.
- Pressuring the AFL to get BS two picks for Scully (whinging all the while even when they got them FFS) - Just looking after the investment, though we made off like bandits.
- screwing Brisbane in the deal for Clark - Eh? Freo were the ones who screwed Brisbane by bending them over and saying 'this is what he's worth, this is what you'll get. We actually gave the Lions what they wanted.
- having a development system that has literally screwed umpteen kids careers (or was Melb's recruitment that bad) - Surely this is worse for us as a club? Why do we get karma in the way of being shit for being shit?
- but the worst offences? giving Gary Lyon and David Schwarz platforms for their incredibly insipid and annoying media careers FFS - Agree on Lyon, but the Ox is gold on the Run Home.

Look I'm not going to argue but it was widely reported at the time that a backroom deal was done where Gold Coast underpaid for Martin with Pick 2, while Melbourne over paid with Pick 3 and 13 for Hogan (yeah getting Barry whats he done, and P26). How is Martin only worth Pick 2? Well its easy to see when Melb get Viney as GWS and GC agree to not pick him as part of the deal. Draft manipulation.

- Tanking for Trengove and Scully (but somehow dodging the charge but paying a fine, that then AFL pays back to Melb anyway FFS)
- Pressuring the AFL to get BS two picks for Scully (whinging all the while even when they got them FFS)
- screwing Brisbane in the deal for Clark
- having a development system that has literally screwed umpteen kids careers (or is Melb's recruitment that bad)
- but the worst offences? giving Gary Lyon and David Schwarz their media starts FFS

Yet Melbourne continue to whinge and moan that the world is against them. Now whining if Clark doesn't come back to them. And worse whinging to the club their actions by continuously compromising drafts has most affected more than most.

I repeat for FFS
-for one the club isn't whinging if Clark doesn't come back.
-Two Viney wasn't worth picks 1 or 2, why would they waste a pick on him when there were better players available.
-Melbourne didn't screw Brisbane, Fremantle was Screwing Brisbane, Freo was offering pick 39 only because they thought they were the only club that could get him, Brisbane wanted Freo's pick 16 but they refused. Melbourne entered and offered pick 12, freo came back and offered pick 16 and pick 19 but Brisbane to them to get f***ed
- I 100% agree that Melbourne tanked and we copped a fine for it, but Melbourne isn't the first team to tank, every year the AFL cleared clubs of tanking and said it didn't exist, Melbourne were cleared and had it swept under the rug twice before the third and only real investigation took place, if the AFL properly charges Melbourne they then have to admit it exists and investigate 8 other clubs which they won't do.

I agree that Melbourne's development has been shocking, hopefully under a new administration and coaching group they have fixed that up.
I don't mind Gary Lyon in the media, David Schwarz though, well yeah yuck, but come on mate you've given us Luke Darcy hahaha

According to some Carltonians, Jaksch is as good as on their list.

Hope he watched the game tonight :) and that he doesn't watch the game on Sunday, for that matter...
So is Boyd though if you believe them. Patton was before his knee and Cameron is as good as done.

And all for their second rounder and Kane Lucas.

We'd better watch out :cry:

I agree and think we are making a huge play for Reid which we think has a high possibility of success (is my mail.)
Gotta keep the Reid family connected to the club.

Mutt, mail is pretty strong that we're all over jaksch as well. You think we're genuinely trying to (and are capable of) landing both?
According to TP that's our Plan A
and he's been right on a lot of things so far this season and some last season.

Mutt, mail is pretty strong that we're all over jaksch as well. You think we're genuinely trying to (and are capable of) landing both?
Jaksch would be a great pick up for you guys. I reckon he'll end up as a CHB for the next 10 years.