Mega Thread Trade and List Management discussion

Why are you so concerned about those players honestly tey are completley dead wood you are the biggest drama queen whats the big deal?...I have been very negative on the dosg and wat they have done but this is fantastic. Go Dogs. Go and have a sleep and a cup of milk mate
He is always like that.... best to ignore him!

Are there any examples of teams who overhauled their list as heavily as we seem to be doing? Any teams who had their list come almost entirely from 4 years of drafting like ours might end up being?

Geelong 1999 - 2003 best example I can think of.

1999 6 top 40 picks
2000 They traded all of their top 40 picks and failed miserably.
2001 Super draft success
2002 Mackie and Lonegan
2003 3 top 40 picks all misses
2004 Ottens trade and N.Ablett

Think they got nearly all of their premiership heroes from drafting in this time plus Selwood and Hawkins in later drafts.

I can't believe people are against the Cooney trade. Yes, he's a Brownlow medallist, but his level of play has been mediocre for the last 3 or 4 years. He's good for a maximum of 5 good games per year now and even those are rarely absolute blinders (i.e. the sort of games that would win a final).

Players are increasingly going to become assets. This is the mature and forward-thinking attitude to our list that the club needs to have. If this leads to having a pool of assets that can be traded to a higher pick, I'm all for it.

Are there any examples of teams who overhauled their list as heavily as we seem to be doing? Any teams who had their list come almost entirely from 4 years of drafting like ours might end up being?
I would say the hawks between 2001 and 2004 are the best example. They were ruthless. I am far happier for the club to be bold and take some calculated risks than to keep a players on for sentimental reasons. Cooney, Higgins and Jones are poor defensively and are no real loss. All 3 only have a few good games each year.

The plan may work or not but either way it is worth the risk. How many grand finals have we made by letting the players run the club and holding on to them too long. Hawthorn and Geelong let premiership players go before their time is up. Chapman, Sewell etc.

Let's all just relax and see what unfolds.

Good in theory, problem is Macca won't have a job if we slip or just maintain next year. Cooney out will hurt a bit if no-one mature comes in to replace him. Jones and Tutt - meh
Don't reckon that's the case tbh, his contract has been extended for a reason and I'm sure the whole club is on the same page in realising that we're looking at the long term goal and no way would we be having such a big clean out if his job was on the line. An exodus of our young guns is the only thing that will put his ass on the line for next year I reckon, 2016 is a different story.

We've already lost five players from the VFL GF. Campbell and JJ were already in our best 22 at the end of the year. Two more have to come in for Coon and Higgins. A couple of injuries and we're starting to scrape the bottom of the barrel.
We need to be careful to get the balance right for two reasons - competitiveness in the short term, and avoid throwing young players to the wolves when they're not ready and stunting their development (see Melb over the last few years).
Also I admit, I still love Coon and remember how good he was and sometimes still can be.

Yea "sometimes". I don't think BM sad to see him go ... not the right style.
To me, failure with developing Jones is far worse than Cooney having a shot at other clubs that are having a fair dinkum tilit eg North.

My comments were more towards the people who then want to send picks 6 26 27 to Melbourne for pick 3

I believe we could get a better deal 2 of jones cooney pick 45 are worth 28 all three are worth more in my opinion and if rather lose Cooney and his salary next year for nothing than be a charity but that's just my opinion

If other coaches like Malthouse think they are any good at getting the best out of their team then Jones has to be worth a pick 28 alone.... so much upside but not realised at the dogs.

Yea "sometimes". I don't think BM sad to see him go ... not the right style.
To me, failure with developing Jones is far worse than Cooney having a shot at other clubs that are having a fair dinkum tilit eg North.
Sometimes it just doesn't work out between a player and coach that's life. Look at some of the players one of the best in the business (Clarkson) has lost, what about the players who want to leave if Bomber gets the Essendon job?

I'd love to see you name a coach that can get the best out of every single player that walks through the door. What I wouldn't love to see (if you can find one) is his asking price!

How about:

Dogs give: Pick 6, Hrovat/Wallis, Pick 26
Dees Give: Pick 3, Pick 23

Gives us picks 3, 23, 27, 28 (Hopefully as part of the Jones/Tutt/Cooney trade)

I'd love pick 3 I really would and if the club think one of those talls is that good that we need to get it then I will happily trust them, but if we're giving up more than a 2nd rounder and a fringe on top of pick 6 then I'd prefer to hit the draft.

But if we do keep 6 and watch Wright or McCartin go on to be a superstar I'm gonna be really ****ing mad if it the same people here who have been so against trading for them, complaining that we didn't get them. I'm certain it will be the same campaigners though

Anyone else think we should consider Schroeder and Hallahan? Both fit the age bracket and have just been squeezed out of very good teams. Pretty sure both have won liston medals as well, so they both seem like they can play. Seems like we will have a pretty big turn over, so a couple of bodies with pre seasons under the belt could be an idea, especially if they don't cost much, and these 2 seem like they could offer something.
Would look as Schroeder as a dfa, but wouldn't be trading for Hallahan.

I think everyone just needs to take a few deep breaths...

bugger, I've been encouraging certain posters to hold their breaths...... Purely for health reasons of course..... :p

Sometimes it just doesn't work out between a player and coach that's life. Look at some of the players one of the best in the business (Clarkson) has lost, what about the players who want to leave if Bomber gets the Essendon job?

I'd love to see you name a coach that can get the best out of every single player that walks through the door. What I wouldn't love to see (if you can find one) is his asking price!

Good point, but I'm not convinced about the dour "contested ball" bulldogs style, though. It's kind of a mantra that's already going out of fashion.
I'm glad to see Gordon come out and support the coach (about time though?)
But I support and have faith generally in BM and his right to make big calls and set up how he thinks best.

How about:

Dogs give: Pick 6, Hrovat/Wallis, Pick 26
Dees Give: Pick 3, Pick 23

Gives us picks 3, 23, 27, 28 (Hopefully as part of the Jones/Tutt/Cooney trade)

Mentioned this trade a couple of times, it really comes down to what people are prefered to have happen in each worse case scenario. Are we less happy to see Hrovat/Wallis become a good player somewhere else and our KPF doesn't turn out the way we wanted, or we get to a prelim and once again we lack another tall option apart from Stringer deep forward, as teams no doubt will identify to drop off their man and protect the space in front of him.

I am not into the whole romaticism of F/S picks as surely when we had pick 14 in 2008 we should have been looking to trade it for a KPF option rather than the 20 games in which 1 or 2 have been at AFL standard from ayce. We can't miss out on another KPF any longer, we have one but the best sides always have 2.

Interested to see peoples thoughts on this, who wants to take the risk and who doesn't.

I'd love pick 3 I really would and if the club think one of those talls is that good that we need to get it then I will happily trust them, but if we're giving up more than a 2nd rounder and a fringe on top of pick 6 then I'd prefer to hit the draft.

But if we do keep 6 and watch Wright or McCartin go on to be a superstar I'm gonna be really ******* mad if it the same people here who have been so against trading for them, complaining that we didn't get them. I'm certain it will be the same campaigners though

Either staying put or trading up would be a risk, and that's the nature of a risk I guess. You'll always regret the wrong choice. If we trade up for McCartin and he turns out to be a dud, and Lever turns out to be a 250 game backline general, I'll be massively pissed.

Same if we trade Hrovat and he reaches the potential I suspect he has.