Strategy Trade and List management Thread (cont in Part 2)

Preuss is a great buy low option.

Very dominant number 1 option, might cost a second rounder.

Just couldn’t get a game over Goldy.

Very different to English, who from what I saw against GC earlier in the year, could even develop as a forward-ruck.

I’d be all over Preuss.
A second rounder for a guy playing reserves is too high a price. 0 games in 2018 8 in total. He is big but we have no idea if he can play.

Very different to English, who from what I saw against GC earlier in the year, could even develop as a forward-ruck.

I’d be all over Preuss.

Preuss is not a low buy option

He will cost a late 1st rounder AND minimum 500k
Is he any better than Campbell?

He also was pretty dominant in the VFL.

Regardless Preuss will cost a lot to get in

He is not a cheap get at all.

I’d be all over Preuss.
I disagree Preuss will be a lowish-cost option

Will need at least a second rounder to acquire via trade and probably around the 400k x 3/4 years mark.

He's a ready made player and I like him as a prospect, but he's not for us. He would suit maybe Geelong if they see Stanley as unreliable moving forward due to his durability issues (Zac Smith is finished there, like Campbell is for us), or St Kilda if they can move on a Hickey or Longer (though they seem like they want Lycett). In a year or two Brisbane may look there to replace Martin or Goldstein may be done by then himself if he bides his time at North.

We already have Trengove on a similar deal who is an absolute competitor in the ruck and played far better footy there compared to his role as a KPD/KPF, he was far more settled in the ruck and he's my preferred short to medium term option, while also Boyd has obviously had various issues in not being able to play out a whole year and have an impact, but his contract would be difficult to move on so we just persist with him for now with three years left to run.

If we go Preuss then we'd have to cash in on English and I'm not keen on that. English could be an amazing athletic ruck/KPP in 2-3 years time and will take over from one of Trengove or Boyd in our side.

If we need another ruck on our list then I'd rather it's a cheap jack of all types state type who can pinch hit forward also, not someone on solid money. Carlton got themselves into their current mess by overpaying the likes of Warnock 400/500k a year to sit in the VFL, we do not need to go down the same road with Trengove/Boyd/Preuss.

Why is Braydon Preuss even being discussed in this thread? He's a plodder in the Campbell mode who beats up on lesser opponents in a lower league. I know that oxygen doesn't always get to the top floor of guys when they are over 2 metres tall, but the last I heard this is a guy so stupid that even though he has a year to run on his current contract, has just committed career suicide by naming the team with the games most dominant ruckman as his preferred trade destination. A ruckman who is 3 years younger than Goldstein who is currently stopping Preuss from getting a regular game in the side that he currently plays for.

We're ok for rucks until Tim English the games next rucking overlord stamps his presence on the game in the next 18 months or so.

I disagree Preuss will be a lowish-cost option

Will need at least a second rounder to acquire via trade and probably around the 400k x 3/4 years mark.

He's a ready made player and I like him as a prospect, but he's not for us. He would suit maybe Geelong if they see Stanley as unreliable moving forward due to his durability issues (Zac Smith is finished there, like Campbell is for us), or St Kilda if they can move on a Hickey or Longer (though they seem like they want Lycett). In a year or two Brisbane may look there to replace Martin or Goldstein may be done by then himself if he bides his time at North.

We already have Trengove on a similar deal who is an absolute competitor in the ruck and played far better footy there compared to his role as a KPD/KPF, he was far more settled in the ruck and he's my preferred short to medium term option, while also Boyd has obviously had various issues in not being able to play out a whole year and have an impact, but his contract would be difficult to move on so we just persist with him for now with three years left to run.

If we go Preuss then we'd have to cash in on English and I'm not keen on that. English could be an amazing athletic ruck/KPP in 2-3 years time and will take over from one of Trengove or Boyd in our side.

If we need another ruck on our list then I'd rather it's a cheap jack of all types state type who can pinch hit forward also, not someone on solid money. Carlton got themselves into their current mess by overpaying the likes of Warnock 400/500k a year to sit in the VFL, we do not need to go down the same road with Trengove/Boyd/Preuss.
With all that said why on earth would Preuss choose Melbourne. Doesn't want to be second fiddle to an ageing Goldy but wants to go play vfl behind gawn for the foreseeable future. The mind boggles

Cox just had 5 disposals and 2 marks and 1 hit out in a final. He was absolutely useless last night. Didn’t even bring the ball to ground, the Eagles defenders just marked everything.
Agree with you. Cox was basically a liability for collingwood. i think it was a selection error. not mobile, did not mark the ball and was far too slow. a more mobile player and collingwood win.

With all that said why on earth would Preuss choose Melbourne. Doesn't want to be second fiddle to an ageing Goldy but wants to go play vfl behind gawn for the foreseeable future. The mind boggles
It is definitely a strange one

Already said previously Melbourne would be better off with someone like Campbell as a back up for Gawn. They've regularly used Pedersen as Gawn's back up when needed but he's getting older now (think he's 30-31 now)

He'd be a clear number two behind Gawn, like he is already under Goldstein. Geelong or St Kilda imo would suit him most for regular opportunities, maybe even GWS if GWS use Lobb as the forward ruck rather than as a ruck forward, he'd be heaps better than Dawson Simpson.

Jarrod Witts went for 44 and 62(?) from memory - surely he was more highly rated than Preuss? How anyone could pay more than that for him has me beat.
Barely played for a year or two while Grundy flew past him very quickly and was a more known quantity already then imo. Whoever gets Preuss would be paying for potential imo.

Given our new recruiting manager, Nick Austin, has been a key recruiter at Richmond over recent years and they seem the team who have a surplus of what we need (small medium forwards/outside mids), it makes sense that they'd be a good moneyball target for a cheap option to complement our list.

Austin will know their list better than almost anyone. Any player he targets should be of great interest

Having a plough through their list, I reckon the two (other than Lloyd, who seems likely) we may well feel suit us will be Connor Menadue and Tyson Stengel.

Menadue has serious pace (he won the GF sprint last year). He is also a Western Jet product who followed the Dogs as a kid. He's 187 cm and was only 68 kg when drafted so was in need of development, is 80 kg now but probably still a year or 2 from being fully physically developed for Afl competition (he's 21). A winger/flanker who is good overhead, in his draft year was most commonly compared to Rob Murphy.

Stengle is a 19yo forward who is small but has a footy brain and natural forward smarts. A cousin of Mick O'Loughlin and related to Eddie Betts. Is nicknamed Wombo, apparently because he has great core strength and evasive skills and is very hard to tackle. Most commonly compared to Charlie Cameron.

Given our new recruiting manager, Nick Austin, has been a key recruiter at Richmond over recent years and they seem the team who have a surplus of what we need (small medium forwards/outside mids), it makes sense that they'd be a good moneyball target for a cheap option to complement our list.

Austin will know their list better than almost anyone. Any player he targets should be of great interest

Having a plough through their list, I reckon the two (other than Lloyd, who seems likely) we may well feel suit us will be Connor Menadue and Tyson Stengel.

Menadue has serious pace (he won the GF sprint last year). He is also a Western Jet product who followed the Dogs as a kid. He's 187 cm and was only 68 kg when drafted so was in need of development, is 80 kg now but probably still a year or 2 from being fully physically developed for Afl competition (he's 21). A winger/flanker who is good overhead, in his draft year was most commonly compared to Rob Murphy.

Stengle is a 19yo forward who is small but has a footy brain and natural forward smarts. A cousin of Mick O'Loughlin and related to Eddie Betts. Is nicknamed Wombo, apparently because he has great core strength and evasive skills and is very hard to tackle. Most commonly compared to Charlie Cameron.
Think someone on here linked us with Stengle recently.

Good luck winning a flag without Boyd

I with Doggy on this one. I think Boyd is quite valuable, he looked good at times in 2018, seemed to run out of gas after awhile because he was rucking solo but you can see the basic potential is there. If he unleashes it in 2019, watch out all the other teams - Trengove, English, Boyd as the tall timber division won't be beaten.

Stengle is a a great and likely option I have been harping on about since mid season.
Menadue would be ok on the cheap but doesn't get enough of the ball for mine.
Townsend is another option

Stengle is a a great and likely option I have been harping on about since mid season.
Fair point with Menadue but he is still a work in progress. In his last game he actually won 11 intercept possessions so he is progressing. Probably needs a bit of confidence also. Not completely sold but definitely a cheap option IMO if Austin is a fan.

I would be targeting Menadue ahead of Lloyd

Menadue strikes me as someone who will improve rapidly with experience. Good kick, good mark and quick. Doesn't get a lot of opportunities at the Tigers.

Don't know much about Stengle.

I'd be ok with Townsend as insurance, particularly if Picken struggles to get up.

Absolutely flat out no on Menadue and your Corey Ellis types. Lynch and Williams are miles ahead of Menadue (and yes I absolutely agree he struggles to find his own footy), while a C Ellis type = Webb, also doesn't find enough of it, don't see where his improvement comes from.