Strategy Trade and List management Thread (cont in Part 2)

No mate he isn’t

Constantly broken kills his value unfortunately. He is too big for AFL footy with his frame and his body will continue to break down unless he loses mass.

I’m neither here nor there with him but if we are offered a second I’d take it and run like a bandit

Why do you feel he is too big for AFL out of curiosity? Jeremy McGovern is shorter, weighs the same and looks like a truck or like he's had a donut or few compared to Adams, yet dominates when he plays. Think his size is overstated given there are other players with a higher height/mass ratio.

Why do you feel he is too big for AFL out of curiosity? Jeremy McGovern is shorter, weighs the same and looks like a truck compared to Adams, yet dominates when he plays. Think his size is overstated given there are other players with a higher height/mass ratio.

Just an assumption I’m makin from my knowledge of local footy players and their issues with bulking

Yes I’m aware I’m a nobody on that world but my experience is some bodies can carry that weight and others can’t. Those that can’t have alll the injuries that he has had especially back and feet.

As I said I’m only guessing but I’ve seen a lot of this at state and local level in blokes that are overly muscular.

Adams is so far from an AA defender it’s not funny. God some of us over rate our players

He is clearly not happy at the club and hardly gets on the field.

No point keeping a bloke that doesn’t want to be there and is as injury prone as Tom Williams
Agree with this, ship him off if he doesn't want to be here, he plays like 5 games a season anyway so it's no big loss probably better for us he's gone frees up a spot for someone who can manage to stay fit

Adams has low body fat which gives the illusion that he is "huge". Is about the size of a standard key defender.

Adams is a beast of a man. Have you stood anywhere near him? He is a lot fuller than most afl players

Straight swap Adams for Moore
I’d spew. Shoulder/foot injuries V soft tissue ones that will come at a much heftier price tag. The foot injury was a big concern but from the out that seems to have sorted itself
I’d be holding him and hopefully he starts enjoying the club a bit more without the brat pack. Unless of course he likes the brat pack

Yeah if there’s nothing of value on offer keep him. If he stays on the park and has a solid year he might choose to stay or will at least pump his asking price up.

Clubs just won’t offer someone in Adams current position much at all. If worst case scenario he’s injured all next year as well, your not losing anything worth worrying about by not trading him now.

I agree on the not denigrating him part. Severely disagree that he's a potential AA player. He's okay when going well but has some weaknesses that I don't think he'll ever get over.
All good. Happy to agree to disagree. I’m a big fan of his.

Adams is so far from an AA defender it’s not funny. God some of us over rate our players

He is clearly not happy at the club and hardly gets on the field.

No point keeping a bloke that doesn’t want to be there and is as injury prone as Tom Williams

Just an assumption I’m makin from my knowledge of local footy players and their issues with bulking

Yes I’m aware I’m a nobody on that world but my experience is some bodies can carry that weight and others can’t. Those that can’t have alll the injuries that he has had especially back and feet.

As I said I’m only guessing but I’ve seen a lot of this at state and local level in blokes that are overly muscular.

“He’s not an AA defender because he’s too big because I saw some big guys who were too muscly playing for Deer Park and it didn’t work for them.”

Come on mate, you’re much better than that. That’s an appalling take.

Yeah I agree on the part where some players can handle a big build better than others. Too many people on here get sh**ty because our players don't put on mass fast enough. There is a reason they only put on 3-5kg at a time an offseason, you need your body to adapt to the extra weight to minimize the risk of injury and to make sure the players do not lose speed and agility etc. It's not like you can just go out and jack up to 10-15kg in one season like a gym junkie which they could if they wanted to, but it would severely disrupt the player. The body needs to gradually adapt.

Constantly broken kills his value unfortunately. He is too big for AFL footy with his frame and his body will continue to break down unless he loses mass.
Adams 192cm 98kg May 193cm 101kg. Guess May is stuffed then. Amazed he gets out on the park.
I don’t think he size is a worry. If he has no value then keep him on as as we lose nothing. Potentially we get a good player for whatever pick but potentially we know Adams can play IF fit.
Oh I love that IF word

" Beauty in the eye of the beholder "
By my eye Adams has got huge ability , of coarse he has some weakness's , name me someone who hasn't ?
Those that are happy for him to be shipped start by saying he is never on the park , which no one can argue with , but then seem to want to downgrade his ability.

I must be watching a different game , but to me he is already a very good AFL footballer.

Reckon Adams either stays or he leaves in a trade which leaves most here underwhelmed.

Hopefully the Dogs set the high price he *should* be worth rather than settling for some crappy pick in the 30-45 range, which is probably the price most clubs would be willing to pay. Then we keep him, he hopefully has a good, injury-free season and either leaves for a significantly improved price or he stays
I reckon for once our List manager comes out and says "Marcus is a required player and is still under contract" then if pushed say "he is staying here or it would have to be a very good deal for us to even consider trading him."
It sends a message to Adams that he isn't easily going to break a contract, that we are toughening up on keeping players to contracts and that if we don't get a reasonable deal we aren't interested.
What is wrong with saying "No mate you are required" ? If he walks out, so what. I'm sick of us being a pushover at trade time. Time to harden up.

All good. Happy to agree to disagree. I’m a big fan of his.

“He’s not an AA defender because he’s too big because I saw some big guys who were too muscly playing for Deer Park and it didn’t work for them.”

Come on mate, you’re much better than that. That’s an appalling take.

I didn’t say anything like that Pann

I said he isn’t an AA defender because he isn’t good enough

His size imo stops him getting on the park

They are two seperate matters I NEVER made one relevant to the other, you are better than that sorry.

Adams 192cm 98kg May 193cm 101kg. Guess May is stuffed then. Amazed he gets out on the park.
I don’t think he size is a worry. If he has no value then keep him on as as we lose nothing. Potentially we get a good player for whatever pick but potentially we know Adams can play IF fit.
Oh I love that IF word

Size and weight are completely different for every player

Some at 190cm can carry at
100kgs some can’t, anyone that thinks people of the same size have the same body composition has never dealt with sportsman at any level

I reckon for once our List manager comes out and says "Marcus is a required player and is still under contract" then if pushed say "he is staying here or it would have to be a very good deal for us to even consider trading him."
It sends a message to Adams that he isn't easily going to break a contract, that we are toughening up on keeping players to contracts and that if we don't get a reasonable deal we aren't interested.
What is wrong with saying "No mate you are required" ? If he walks out, so what. I'm sick of us being a pushover at trade time. Time to harden up.
It’s been previously suggested this has already happened in private. If he hasn’t actually asked for a trade yet I’m not sure why we would publicly comment.

100 per cent. Unless there are seriously pressing issues we are unaware of on here which give rise to letting him leave on some kind of compassionate grounds, this is the stance the club must and probably will take

No point trading Adams for anything other than an established player. We don’t need picks.

People have all said that if Dahl and Libba don’t wanna to be at the club or aren’t dedicated they can go

Yet Adams who is obviously interested in leaving must be kept

Am I the only one that sees this hypocrisy? If he wants to go bounce him why are some different to others?

Can someone explain why we have launched some sort of “Mercedes Benz Vans trade and draft news hub” on the WB website if there is likely not going to be much news?

Is it something that all clubs are doing automatically through the AFL or is it a Bulldogs initiative?
Mercedes want some airplay for their bucks.

No point trading Adams for anything other than an established player. We don’t need picks.

What could we get for him in terms of an established player though? I really can’t think of anyone without a sweetener.

If they want him then either they’re on him as a backup and will lose interest after getting May or May isn’t going to them

People have all said that if Dahl and Libba don’t wanna to be at the club or aren’t dedicated they can go

Yet Adams who is obviously interested in leaving must be kept

Am I the only one that sees this hypocrisy? If he wants to go bounce him why are some different to others?

Made more AFL teams of the week in his first year than any Dogs defender I know.
Guy can play just been injured lately.