Strategy Trade and List management Thread Part 5 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

I think an off season of adding Jones and Lobb and then two well rounded draftees with our pick 11 and the Dunkley compo is a very good one.

Our midfield will still have enough. We’d have a very good ruck dept. Deep key defence. Just need a couple of true bloody footballers with the draft picks and I think we have enough to win it all next year

Can’t wait to see how many goals Jones can kick in our forward line in 2023!
Marvel Studios Reaction GIF by Disney+

Please don’t consider it Bevo! 👀
He was actually pretty good playing next to BBB 🤔

Absolute scenes when Ljizz plays all 25 games next year to win the flag, hit 100 club games then retires & breeds two athletic beasts to lock down CHB & CHF in 19 years
Under Bevo that will be 26 games! Because we never make top 4, we will have to watch the finals on television as they will mostly be interstate.

Look at Dylan Shiel's trade. Four years ago. Same age, vaguely in the same ballpark as output of players, with Shiel's AA-output two years before his trade counterbalanced by Dunkley having about four years of proven output. Essendon traded pick 9, and future first out for a future second to return.

I'd be very disappointed if that wasn't the starting point of the trade discussions. I very mucb doubt we do a deal with Port that doesn't involve Pick 8, without even touching our pick 11.

Brown was low-balled after an AA season, not a fan of the guy but we didn't have the cash to keep all of our stars.
We apparently offered Brown an insulting 3 years/$1mil ($333k per year), arguing we didn't have any more money/cap space for an AA, top 10 in the comp level player, yet then were happy to offer Rawlings (not one of the top 10 key forwards in the comp at the time, let alone all round players) 4 years/$1.6mil ($400k per year and more security) barely a month later.

I reckon there'd be quite a few similar examples across the last 15 odd years of under-valuing quality, existing options/players right under our noses and offering more to outsiders who offer much less in the long term.

White bread is the equivalent to bland, vanilla, boring (and in a demographic sense - firmly middle class). It's common vernacular. Again, I didn't mention race nor what that what I implied.

TBH I had Butler in mind when I made that comment - late pick, 'neat' kick, okish footballer, not really an outstanding type but a 'safe' pick when late in the draft it is exactly when we should be taking risks (and he wasn't in a desperate position of need either).
We currently have a list imbalance and we haven't even tried to address it with late picks which is what I'd prefer we do.
Don't know where you are getting your bread from, I have a Vietnamese bakery just down the road and their white bread is absolutely amazing. 🤤
Im also pretty keen on their Vienna loaf.😂😂
You got to try a new bakery mate😉

Don't know where you are getting your bread from, I have a Vietnamese bakery just down the road and their white bread is absolutely amazing. 🤤
Im also pretty keen on their Vienna loaf.😂😂
You got to try a new bakery mate😉
Banh Mi > white bread

No harm. My post really is about late draft strategy. I know a few here have mentioned they don't agree with us taking a Footscray VFL plyer every year, and I kind of agree with that too considering there are often better options around (e.g. McNeill PSD)

Based on the list of late(ish) small forward the WA teams have found, I really do believe it's one position where you can find competent players late in the draft. Almost on par with rucks, who can be found as rookies (e.g. The Big O is a lock for Brissie and he was a rookie the same year we drafted English).
This is something we have not done well, i really wanted Charlie Dean KPD.
We had a free hit at him at the end of draft.
My mate at the pie's was raving about him before his foot injury, Blind freddy could see we needed KPD depth.

You’ve said that 10x now. Still worth nothing
A player we've actively chased, under contract, in the most in-demand position in the AFL right now is worth nothing?

Ah.... sure

This is something we have not done well, i really wanted Charlie Dean KPD.
We had a free hit at him at the end of draft.
My mate at the pie's was raving about him before his foot injury, Blind freddy could see we needed KPD depth.

It's why I want Ethan Phillips, early 20s key defender that just took home the best young player medal in the VFL.

Don't diss a Vietnamese noodle salad, they're the most expensive lunch option that a Vietnamese bakery offers but they're always good.
I thought we were helping Mofra's selection in bread.
Moving to the noodle salads, fine choise but i love the Vietnamese spring rolls with hoisin sauce.....but we digress😂