Strategy Trade and List management Thread Part 5 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

Rather us invest in the future. Then sell the farm for a player that’s almost 30.

It’s good to hear Power trying to lure good players to the Kennel though.

I don't think anyone suggests we sell the farm for Collins, but if we have 4 first rounders over the next 2 years after Dunkley and we use a lowish one (say Brisbane's future first or McStay compo) to fill our most obvious list hole for 3-4 years, I reckon it's the right move.

See...This is my problem with people coming in here with alleged inside info.

It only raises expectation to an unreasonable level of what is achievable and sets this board up for disappointment and fits of indignant outrage, when it doesn't happen. It creates an artificial issue where everybody is measured against the likes of our alleged approach to Tom Barass. Because for every Barass you are likely to be smacked in the face with the reality of an ok journeyman like Adam Tomlinson. Of course the club is going to go out and recruit to bolster our paper thin defensive stocks, but the likelihood of them recruiting one of the games tightly held elite defenders is pretty slim.

That Melbourne somehow managed to do it not once but twice to form the cornerstones of their premiership team was the exception. Not the rule.

Anyways...I'll wait and see who actually gets shaken out of the trade tree before flipping my table over.

Tomlinson played great footy at FB before he did his knee FYI. Didn’t come back looking very good, but then he was never going to get consistent game time once Petty broke out. He’s definitely better than Schache, he doesn’t shirk contests and he goes hard at it.

This joint whinges to high heavens that our backline is poor and we have no depth, but want to bring in speculative VFL defenders, some of which have been ordinary at that level at best.

I thank lord almighty that none of you are involved in recruitment at the club.

I’ve not been a Tomlinson preacher in the past, but we’re kidding ourselves if we don’t believe he’s a massive upgrade on the available 3rd talls we have at the club in Cordy and O’Brien.

Didn't Ben Brown come from Werribee also? From memory we were keen pre draft...
Yes. And Ben Hudson who wanted to come to us and our recruiters were keen on, but our coach didn't want him.

Tomlinson played great footy at FB before he did his knee FYI. Didn’t come back looking very good, but then he was never going to get consistent game time once Petty broke out. He’s definitely better than Schache, he doesn’t shirk contests and he goes hard at it.

Let’s not let the truth get in the way of a good story for some of our posters pls mate

This joint whinges to high heavens that our backline is poor and we have no depth, but want to bring in speculative VFL defenders, some of which have been ordinary at that level at best.

I thank lord almighty that none of you are involved in recruitment at the club.

I’ve not been a Tomlinson preacher in the past, but we’re kidding ourselves if we don’t believe he’s a massive upgrade on the available 3rd talls we have at the club in

He’s been pretty good for Casey this year hasn’t he?

Can we though? We don’t have that many list spots available without moving on some contracted players.

What we do know though is that we have draft picks available to bring in young talent, and going by reports, looking to bring in experienced talent. So although we don’t know list spots yet, doing both is highly likely.

You start with the out of contract players and adjust for those who are rumoured to have been offered to do around again. There’s not actually that many.

We do know that we’re bringing in top end draft talent, and also talking to established players. That’s enough to suggest we’re doing both.

What is the number of out of contract players? Coupled with the Dunks and Hunter (rumoured) spots, assuming we’d have 5-6 spots available?

Dunkley, Martin, Parker, JJ, Schache, Butler, Wallis, Duryea, Hunter. Possibly. Crozier.

There’s 10 few spots there that could open up. Even if just 6 of those, it gives a fair bit of wiggle room for inclusions.

We do know that we’re bringing in top end draft talent, and also talking to established players. That’s enough to suggest we’re doing both.

What is the number of out of contract players? Coupled with the Dunks and Hunter (rumoured) spots, assuming we’d have 5-6 spots available?
Someone posted this list the other day (brackets mine based on what’s been said in here).
  1. Dunkley (requested trade)
  2. Duryea (offered contract)
  3. Johannisen (offered contract)
  4. Cordy (offered contract)
  5. Schache (unknown)
  6. Wallis (offered to continue)
  7. Martin (apparently going on)
  8. Butler (unknown)
We need to take at least 3 picks and currently have #11, #29, #37 (and #65) with any value attached. Any extra received picks received in trades will obviously then need a spot if we intend to use them (some cancelled out by picks going back). Then we need free spots for any additional mature incomings.

Given there are only 3 above not offered to continue either something above is not true or we are definitely moving on Crozier / Hunter / other contracted players.

Someone posted this list the other day (brackets mine based on what’s been said in here).
  1. Dunkley (requested trade)
  2. Duryea (offered contract)
  3. Johannisen (offered contract)
  4. Cordy (offered contract)
  5. Schache (unknown)
  6. Wallis (offered to continue)
  7. Martin (apparently going on)
  8. Butler (unknown)
We need to take at least 3 picks and currently have #11, #29, #37 (and #65) with any value attached. Any extra received picks received in trades will obviously then need a spot if we intend to use them (some cancelled out by picks going back). Then we need free spots for any additional mature incomings.

Given there are only 3 above not offered to continue either something above is not true or we are definitely moving on Crozier / Hunter / other contracted players.

I thought Parker was one also. Might be mistaken.

I think we can safely say Dunks and one or two of Hunter, JJ, Croze, Cordy are gone. If we can pick up 3 at the draft (ideally two top end) and 2-3 established players, that’s a nice list re-jig imo.

I thought Parker was one also. Might be mistaken.

I think we can safely say Dunks and one or two of Hunter, JJ, Croze, Cordy are gone. If we can pick up 3 at the draft (ideally two top end) and 2-3 established players, that’s a nice list re-jig imo.
Parker is only a rookie, all others main list? If Parker is not retained then maybe we could rookie a Martin or Wallis to open up a main list spot?

Hey all, have some stats for you key defender chat. It shows what % 1 on 1 stats are elite, what we currently have which we already knew re cordy, I was surprised re Richards so it shows he should be punching more as he is a good player IMO. As you can see Jones will be a great get! Tomlinson nope!!!!! We need another key defender this trade period and draft. Someone like Logue or another with the Dunkley money please #sampower #keydefender

Defence loss 1 on 1 %

Zaine Cordy 60%
Tim Obrien 40%
Ed Richards 33%
Ryan Gardner 26%
Alex Keath 25%

Liam Jones 11.8% (2021 stats)
Lewis Young 29.8%
Adam Tomlinson 38.5%

Elite

Griffin Logue 9.8%
Steven May 10.8%
Darcy Moore 13.3%
Sam Taylor 13.9%

Source: www.wheeloratings.com/afl_stats.html
Bahaha Cordy really loses 60% of his one on ones, that’s almost unbelievable - but at the same time not surprising 😅

Imagine not being able to kick, or mark & losing 60% of your one on ones, and still getting a regular AFL game in defence, ahh life must be good

I remember similar Cordy stats when this forum was having the great Trengove debate. Iirc Trengove had significantly better 1 on 1 win stats. As we know Bev doesn't care about those in a team based defensive effort...But the strange part is what Cordy then offers to compensate. Not damaging at all with ball in hand. Can't intercept. Can't spoil like Gards.

I appreciate that he's hard as nails and will try his guts out, but that's all you can really say for him. Unfortunately he's just 5 or so cm too short for how he plays.

ToB was supposed to be the upgrade but failed hence going back to Zaine. Going for Tomlinson shows we're still desperately trying to replace Cordy yet again.