Strategy Trade and List Management Thread Part 7 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

Clearly we'd be offering a multi year deal and he stayed at a club who won't play him for 1 year.

Whether you rate him or not is irrelevant to the above.
There is no way you genuinely think he'd turn down a multi year contract to sign for 1 right?

But following this logic, why prevent pure freedom of movement at all?

Why have a national draft at all?

Smith has to accept that part of the process of being an AFL footballer is that you lose out on that full freedom of life and career. The trade-off is that he gets a bit more money for doing so. He's a union member of the AFLPA. They negotiate more money for Smith (indirectly, through the salary cap * 18 being the amount paid to all union members as a collective), but the union itself loses some of the freedom of which of the 18 employers they want to get to.

It's not, because at least the Dogs would have gotten an additional two years of his service after being the team to initially identify and develop his talent, of which he could have contributed to success for the Bulldogs in that time. That is not moot.
You are going way off topic. So last one. I dont want to annoy anyone.

The National draft is there for people who want an opportunity. Anywhere.
After the initial contract they can move wherever they want (effectively).

I joined the army and knew I would be sent anywhere. I accepted that. But I always knew that there was a time in the future where I'd be able to ask to get closer to home.

Smith settled on the purchase of his Bellbrae property a week ago.
So at a minimum he bought it 60 days ago. Probably 90.

He was never staying. And won't.

After the initial contract they can move wherever they want (effectively).
No, they can't because in this instance the AFL and AFLPA negotiated that free agency only exists after specifically 8 years of service.

The fact that Smith is trying to barrel his way into the specific club that he wants to, irrespective of how that's allowed in the rules or how that impacts the Dogs doesn't change the written down difference between out of contract players before 8 years and from 8 years.

But I always knew that there was a time in the future where I'd be able to ask to get closer to home.
And the AFL and AFLPA have agreed that that time in the future, is after eight years.

Not six.

Smith has only served six at the Dogs.
Smith settled on the purchase of his Bellbrae property a week ago.
So at a minimum he bought it 60 days ago. Probably 90.

He was never staying. And won't.
Practically speaking, he's almost certainly will play for Geelong, I get that.

There's two factors at play here though:

• If he has to enter through the draft, another club is entitled to draft him, provided they can fit him into their salary cap, irrespective of Smith's motivation or mental or physical presence at the Geelong football club or Geelong region. His union accepts that as rules, and Smith would have to break rank with the AFLPA rules to fight that legally.
  • Smith aside, in the wider interests of the AFL attempting to create a list management ruleset that equalises the competition, the fact that Smith can do this in practical terms, means that the AFL is simply not doing a very good job at creating rules that do equalise the competition. Dogs fans are as upset with the system as much as they are with Geelong or Smith, because what's the point of being successful in drafting and developing Smith in that you lose a top 10 pick, gain a top 20 pick, but the only gain you get is six years service (as opposed to the material difference of eight years service, plus an AFL determined compensation pick, which would be greater than pick 20).
Hi mate, I have already read your board rules as requested.
And I dont believe I have.

Have a good day.

This is fine, I can disagree with you but you're fine to be here.

RILEY Garcia has signed a three-year contract extension to remain at the Western Bulldogs until the end of 2027.

The 23-year-old had been assessing his options in recent months after playing a career-high 12 games in 2024, around a dominant season in the VFL. But despite late significant interest from Sydney in the past fortnight, Garcia has opted to remain at the Whitten Oval and fight to become a permanent fixture under Luke Beveridge.
The Swans are understood to have made a late push to sign the West Australian after losing the Grand Final to Brisbane.

Port Adelaide had expressed interest across the season but Joe Richards was always viewed as a priority for them, with the Collingwood small forward requesting a move to the Power on Monday.
West Coast, St Kilda and North Melbournealso expressed varying levels of interest in Garcia.

But after overcoming the durability issues that limited his early years at the kennel, Garcia will remain in red, white and blue.

With Bailey Smith and Jack Macrae requesting moves away from the Bulldogs and Caleb Daniel contemplating a trade, more opportunities will present to Garcia in 2025 and beyond.

Lol Derwayne just said he rates Thilthorpe higher than JUH & he should've been pick 1

I remember a few weeks ago on SEN Derm saying something similar and that you’d build a forward line around Thilthorpe.

So?

That doesn't mean we were offering a multi year deal
Fair enough.

The issue isn't that we didn't get him. It's probably neither here nor there.

What i was concerned about is missing out on everyone, potentially even to 1 year contracts to a club who isnt going to play that player.

IF a contract was offered.

Because that actually is a concern

Fair enough.

The issue isn't that we didn't get him. It's probably neither here nor there.

What i was concerned about is missing out on everyone, potentially even to 1 year contracts to a club who isnt going to play that player.

IF a contract was offered.

Because that actually is a concern
Depends what contract was offered IF it was

I am happy with JUH

The media will always compare JUH and Riley simply because there is nothing to fill in time and they need to amuse themselves and keep their jobs

The AFL Media could be cut by 70% for the sport it is
I'm not happy with JUH.
Goes OK against weak opposition with no pressure, tends to disappear when the heat is on. Among the least reliable kicks at goal in the AFL. Slow as a wet week when the ball hits the ground. Appears generally disinterested. Is being played where Sam Darcy (a generational talent) should be played.
Shows lots of promise but doesn't really deliver, and I doubt that he ever will.

Not sure why he has to come out and say anything if he doesn't want to be traded. He's a contracted player so no reason for him to make any statement unless he wants to leave.

Furthermore, not once has he actually said he was looking around at other offers, all that was just implied by journalists.

Most people on this board (and the footy public in general) over-rate contracted salary numbers.
Increasing cap costs (amongst other things) will always mean that we all should add 20-30% on a figure we "expect" to make it normal.

Having said that, CD on $700+ is pretty wild imho.
Sure the extra 2 years Norf offered weren't at that rate?!
If he could get a guaranteed $3mil (even 2.5) in the next 4 years he's got to jump on it, surely!

I'm not happy with JUH.
Goes OK against weak opposition with no pressure, tends to disappear when the heat is on. Among the least reliable kicks at goal in the AFL. Slow as a wet week when the ball hits the ground. Appears generally disinterested. Is being played where Sam Darcy (a generational talent) should be played.
Shows lots of promise but doesn't really deliver, and I doubt that he ever will.
Harsh.

He kicked 12 goals in that stretch of 3 games against the top 3 teams in the league, kicked 3 in the other game against Sydney, 2 against Brisbane, I reckon he was actually better against better opposition this year..

Pick 17 is under for Smith but if it netted us someone of the calibre of Richards, English or Ward you’d be ok with it.

By all means we should push for more (there’s still uncertainty at that pick range) but I’m pretty fed up with the Smith festival.
The issue is we're trading a definite for a maybe, and that definite cost us far more than pick 17 in the first place

Geelong's first round pick this year blows out well beyond pick 17 so is well under what Baz is worth.

Strategy Trade and List Management Thread Part 7 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)