Trade/Delistings/List Management 2010 Thread

Re: Stanton is gone

In that case Hodge beat Welsh. :D:thumbsu:

Clever.

Stanton played the majority of the second half deep forward and took Bateman out of the game. Bateman is a dangerous player, he's their best runner and is a very good attacking player. They took Bateman off him in the end because of it.

16 disposals for a bloke that spent so much time deep forward, isn't really that low.

Hodge had no impact on the game. Stanton did because he actually took Bateman out of the game and still got a bit of ball himself.

Clever.

Stanton played the majority of the second half deep forward and took Bateman out of the game. Bateman is a dangerous player, he's their best runner and is a very good attacking player. They took Bateman off him in the end because of it.

16 disposals for a bloke that spent so much time deep forward, isn't really that low.

Hodge had no impact on the game. Stanton did because he actually took Bateman out of the game and still got a bit of ball himself.

Hodge had an impact because he took Welsh out of the game. :D:rolleyes:

Stanton is a decent player. A solid B grade accumilator type. But lets not be so overly biased when he has a down game. Hawthorn identified how important he is to us, gave Bateman the defensive role on him and Bateman shut him down. You can twist it around and make it out as if it was Stanton that shut Bateman down but any unbiased football follower would know otherwise.

Hence why i sarcasticly suggested Hodge beat Welsh. Welsh clearly had a job of shutting down Hodge and did it. This equals a win for Welsh.

And Bateman is one of their best midfielders. Stanton, got more of the ball than him. Nearly three times as much.

I actually think Bateman is more important to their midfield than Stanton is to ours. We had Winderlich and Prismall to provide run and carry, they only had Rioli.

I was rapt to see Bateman spend half the night on the last line of defense.
If it was Ladson that did that job then yep, I'd agree, in terms of impact on the contest it would have been huge. The fact that it was Bateman and that he only six disposals worked for us.

Im not debating the merit of Clarksons tactics. This is a totally different matter. Bateman can only do as instructed. He was given a specific task of shutting down Stantons run and he acheived this.

I still think that the 10 less disposals we missed out on from Stanton were worth giving up to take Bateman out of the game.

I think Bateman would have had expectations on him to work off Stanton and try and exploit him the other way and Stanton going forward eliminated that.

The matchup had an overall influence that tipped in our favour, it was 16 disposals to 6 and Stanton had a good last quarter and a half and Bateman, their best runner and linking midfielder was made redundant. On that basis, I think Stanton won the contest.

Re: Travis Boak -> Essendon?

What i was talking about the other week.

http://twitter.com/RalphyHeraldSun

"Hurley playing like the weight of world off his shoulders. What a Dons spine in 3 years - Pears, Hooker, Dangerfield (!!!), Hurley, Gumby"

http://twitter.com/RalphyHeraldSun

jon ralph, says hes only stirring latter i think tho but rekons will come back at one stage

Stanton with 35 possessions or Bateman with 35 possessions?

Pretty sure Stanton's 35 would be of far greater impact than Batemans...

This whole "we took Bateman out of the game" is just utter bullshit..

Pretty sure we would worry about (in no particular): Franklin, Hodge, Rioli, Mitchell, Lewis even..

Stanton was well beaten on the night by Bateman, as most on here seem to need to realise, "Bateman was given a job" and did it superbly.

Stanton with 35 possessions or Bateman with 35 possessions?

Pretty sure Stanton's 35 would be of far greater impact than Batemans...

This whole "we took Bateman out of the game" is just utter bullshit..

Pretty sure we would worry about (in no particular): Franklin, Hodge, Rioli, Mitchell, Lewis even..

Stanton was well beaten on the night by Bateman, as most on here seem to need to realise, "Bateman was given a job" and did it superbly.

Of course he did it well, I acknowledged that in my first post on the subject. I presume I'm one of the most you speak of then.

If you don't realise the offensive prowess of Bateman and his importance to them as a running midfielder, much like Stanton is to us, then I presume you only watch Essendon games.

Bateman would have as big an impact with 35 disposals at Stanton.

What you're failing to do is look beyond the match up and look at the set up overall.

Going in I thought either Mitchell or Sewell would go head to head with Watson and was confident he'd get the job done and that NLM would go head to head with the other. In the end it was Sewell and Jobe smashed him.
Mitchell probably shaded NLM.

I thought Welsh would get Hodge and thought he would at least minimise his impact to below that of recent weeks.

Rioli was never going to spend big minutes in the middle and Lewis, well I'm stunned you mentioned him really.

I expected Young to go to Stanton, he has in the past. I was worried about Bateman, I cringed when I saw he was an inclusion and I reckon if you asked most Hawthorn supporters they would have been rapt to see him back in because of his running power and how he helps set them up.

I understand that Bateman holding Stanton to a performance that is below his best means that he won the contest and that at the same time he had a job to do and he did that and that he's been playing some run with roles lately.

If you want to believe Bateman won the head to head that's fine, despite a 16-6 disposal count and I can understand the argument, but I think they robbed Peter to pay Paul and any influence that Bateman might have had in reducing Stanton's output was taken away by the fact that their best offensive runner (as Stanton is ours) had zero influence, at least Stanton had some influence in the last quarter and a bit.

Good post Longy :thumbsu:

I agree though.

However, if Bateman has a good game, he runs and carries, but the work is often finished off by Franklin, Roughead, Rioli.

I was merely pointing out that Stanton's best is better than Batemans..

Do you think that is selling Bateman short?

Personally, no. Bateman is a wonderful player, and a superb runner. However if Stanton has it 35 times, you know it is going to hurt you (thus the reason he is tagged ahead of Watson, Yaco read here :p).

From a Hawthorn point of view I think we'd be very happy with Batemans game and consider it a win, regardless of compromising his own game. Stanton has tore us a new one the last few times we've played. Lewis was one of our best so not sure why the negativity towards his game, apart from probably disliking the bloke. Also, Bateman didn't play the last quarter due to concussion which is when Stanton seemed to get most of his disposals IIRC. I think to way up the merits of who was compromised more by these 2 having below average influence, it comes back to midfield depth. Stanton is your 2nd?/3rd? best midfielder, Bateman is our 6th/7th, but as noted he is our best runner.

Still think he's had a pretty good season, no one will be in the best every week.

Errr He always plays on the wing, mate. He might go into the middle on occasion but he has always played most of his footy on the wing.

his a midfeilder, he gets most of his footy when he is in the middle, never gets touches on the wing, he doesnt seem to be in the play lately.

have it on good authority that the club is quite worried about a foot problem he is suffering from. any noticed him limping of late?

Re: Dons, Tigers armed for raid

Bumpty Bump
With talk surfacing of Travis Boak leaving and bombers chasing certain players, does anyone actually think we will land a big fish? Michael Rischitelli for example is Victorian and Brisbane tried to trade him last year. He is probably winning their B&F ATM, and is still youngish (25 next year) do you think he could be a target? Any more wishful thinking ideas?

Re: Dons, Tigers armed for raid

I don`t mind Ralph, but that was a rubbish article. When was the last "big fish" we landed ? Judd knocked us back, Burgoyne knocked us back to name a couple. To get good you have to give good, or finish on the bottom and get the first pick in the pre-season draft, and how have clubs that have finished stone motherless last gone in landing a "big fish" ?