AFLW Trade, Draft and list changes 2024

Only getting pick 18 is disappointing but there’s not much you can do once she picked North

If we had read the tea leaves (and they said she was leaving) we needed to point her in the direction of clubs who could give us a better trade. Any club would have taken her

Sheerin is / was a cross coder who came to AFLW late. Lavey too. You could even call Conti a cross-coder. Not sure these are a problem.

Can't really put MonCon in the crosscode bracket. She played footy with the boys at Douta Stars at 10.

Then again, she had played 5 years of basketball by then so maybe. :p

On that short interview with Sheahan:

"Montana Bureldsen comes from an athletic background, so her footy is ahh combative, competitive and aggressive....."
Maybe it is, but it's unlikely because she has an athletics background that she is combative......

..."yeah Imi was a much loved character in our group {shrugs} unfortunately we were left with 33 players on our list at the end of the season, and we had to move on some players to open some spots, ahh, Imi's a super athletic young player and I know she'll give a lot to the Sydney Swans and was certainly an important player in our group for Season 2024."
Over shot this that is for sure. Why unfortunately?

"Yeah, Eilish requested a trade in recent times, and due to some changing circumstances personally. We're better for Eilish....etc etc.... We are bitterly disappointed Eilish won't be moving forward with us, and these decisions were not made lightly, but, umm, at the end of the day she's got to North Melbourne, umm {as she looks up left} we wish her all the best."
Some massive arse covering her, but it is now what it is.

And do you have an update on Emelia Yassir:
"yeah, I mean this is a great situation, we ahh, didn't arrange or agree to trade with Essendon yesterday, and we've worked really, really hard to chat with Millsie about what her future looks like at Richmond, and there's a lot of love for Millsie in our football group and at Richmond and in the end the ahh, relationships built, ahh the love and care the footy club has always shown Millsie is um a big part of the reason she is going to remain a Tiger."
It's not a great situation. The salvation was a relief.

I know it's media, and a significant squirt of mayo has to go on each convo point, but her convo structure is not great.
She is rubbish.

I’d give her the ass and offer Sheerin player/Head of Football.

The problem is a lot of the conjecture is based on the so called deafening silence. For every thing that is published in public forums there is probably 100 discussions on internal what’s app groups etc. I didn’t notice any animosity during the season and Sheerin certainly played in a positive manner so I have no reason to think the wheels fell off.
Hmm likely came to a head tho when negotiations came to a fine point , Brennan and Hosko are leaders and and use social media to signal support when they choose , in this case N O T H I N G , that says plenty to me

Only getting pick 18 is disappointing but there’s not much you can do once she picked North

If we had read the tea leaves (and they said she was leaving) we needed to point her in the direction of clubs who could give us a better trade. Any club would have taken her
Sometimes players work with a club that way in other cases perhaps when disenchanted they don’t . I’m surmising the alternate option was national draft

Molan, Woods and others I don’t think there where many better options around them but to pick Reid ahead of Sherar (BnF winner this year) and Tess Craven is just pulling the wrong rein IMO.
Our recruiter…to think
Reid was the best available talent ahead of those two it’s just a poor decision.
We dont seem to be able to atttract talent. This mess with Yassir and how it’s played out, I know she’s going to play another year but it’s been pretty
clear that she didn’t want to.

The problem with Sherar is that she is a massive Carlton supporter (her whole family is Carlton).

She played for Carlton in the VFLW, Yassir played for Essendon in the VFLW. Yassir is also an Essendon supporter.
Maddy Prespakis moved to Essendon (she grew up barracking for Essendon).

My point is that I'm would have been worried that Sherar would have requested a trade to Carlton, exactly the same as Yassir to Essendon.

"Chosen". Haha. As if the club has 100% control over these things.

Earlier poster hit the nail right on the head when they said there are a lot more things going on in AFLW that effect list management than anyone realises.

Tamara Luke retired after a mere 6 months at the club and a stack of players posted tributes on SM. Same with the delisting of Woods, Peck and Eastman and with the trading of Brown. Very little re Eilish. Hmmm.

As for giving away a 34 year old for nothing, we received a first rounder which is about right given her form, just unfortunate it was the premiers who have the last pick of the round. Should have played harder you think? How about we get nothing at all when she just nominates for the draft like Yassir has threatened to do. Sure I'll fight but I'll take pick 18 thanks. Players move in AFLW a lot easier and a lot cheaper than AFL.
Sheerin's only just 32, only 3 years in, still new to the code, and an absolute fitness fanatic/freak. Hardest worker since Bruce Springsteen.

She will probably play for 5 years, at least. the great Staunton was still going at 41.

Hmm likely came to a head tho when negotiations came to a fine point , Brennan and Hosko are leaders and and use social media to signal support when they choose , in this case N O T H I N G , that says plenty to me
Like you I am only guessing but I don’t know what we expect. Should Brennan and Hosko come out publicly in support of a player they probably desperately wanted to stay ? They are also in the twilight of their footy careers and would realise that Sheerins decision to go has almost certainly scuttled any chances of finals success in the near future.

Hoskings is finished. She was horrible this year. If she was a real leader she would have retired. Brennan also had a very average year. Gave away way too many free kicks through undisciplined play.

I would have gotten rid of both of them plus Egan and made Sheerin captain on a Tier 1 package.

Hoskings is finished. She was horrible this year. If she was a real leader she would have retired. Brennan also had a very average year. Gave away way too many free kicks through undisciplined play.

I would have gotten rid of both of them plus Egan and made Sheerin captain on a Tier 1 package.
I agree Hosko is finished was never that good in first place
Brennan is 32 and holding her own , won’t be peaking further at her vintage
You don’t get rid of Egan when next best kid would struggle to get double digit possessions ea week

Like you I am only guessing but I don’t know what we expect. Should Brennan and Hosko come out publicly in support of a player they probably desperately wanted to stay ? They are also in the twilight of their footy careers and would realise that Sheerins decision to go has almost certainly scuttled any chances of finals success in the near future.
Not if they were on good terms I reckon they’d acknowledge the TY post from the club , the ceo didn’t either
Might have been a few reputations thrown under the bus throughout negotiations, leaving a few bruised egos ,,, just my take , I’m just putting 2&2 together

The problem with Sherar is that she is a massive Carlton supporter (her whole family is Carlton).

She played for Carlton in the VFLW, Yassir played for Essendon in the VFLW. Yassir is also an Essendon supporter.
Maddy Prespakis moved to Essendon (she grew up barracking for Essendon).

My point is that I'm would have been worried that Sherar would have requested a trade to Carlton, exactly the same as Yassir to Essendon.
There is always going to be that draw for some to move to the club they grew up loving. Alyssa Pisano went to Dee's at pick 5 in 23', and is a massive Tigers fan. Dees would want a first round pick in return, but wouldn't surprise, if knowing there's a chance Yassi will request a trade in 12 months, that we go down the path to get Pisano to the Tigers.

Not if they were on good terms I reckon they’d acknowledge the TY post from the club , the ceo didn’t either
Might have been a few reputations thrown under the bus throughout negotiations, leaving a few bruised egos ,,, just my take , I’m just putting 2&2 together
Fair enough, I just like a few more actual facts before jumping to conclusions. A poster on PRE who seems to have some good inside knowledge of the AFLW program reenforced Sheerins connection with the North Head of footy and said she informed the club some months ago that she wanted to leave. Another poster said she had no issues with the Richmond hierarchy. So weighing all that up I think Sheerin has wanted to go to North for a while now and has jumped ship the first chance she got. She has been terrific for the Tigers and I wish her well but others may see it differently.

Yes we get new talent and I’m looking forward to seeing them and I do think we haven’t had access to as big a pool of talent as say the SA clubs have had and some of our busts..Molan, Woods and others I don’t think there were many better options around them but to pick Reid ahead of Sherar (BnF winner this year) and Tess Craven is just pulling the wrong rein IMO.
Our recruiter…to think
Reid was the best available talent ahead of those two it’s just a poor decision.

Whoa. Let’s not rewrite history here.

Reid was around the top 5 pick in just about everyone’s 2021 phantom drafts.

Sherar definitely not and some had her in the 30s. She 100% was never rated above Stella pre draft.

Craven was around the same pick numbers as Stella but slid as the draft approached. To be honest she has been a slow burn and prior to this year I pretty much felt she was a bust. Stella was definitely ahead of her early days into their careers.

Ella Friend was a pick before Stella and went to St Kilda. She’s another who was top 5. Ella is lucky to still be on a list. Hasn’t been able to get a regular game in a poor side.

I’m just saying hindsight is a wonderful thing. Stella was genuinely rated pre draft. There are heaps of high pick misses in the first 4-5 years of the drafts.

Sherar definitely not and some had her in the 30s. She 100% was never rated above Stella pre draft.

Craven was around the same pick numbers as Stella but slid as the draft approached. To be honest she has been a slow burn and prior to this year I pretty much felt she was a bust. Stella was definitely ahead of her early days into their careers.

Ella Friend was a pick before Stella and went to St Kilda. She’s another who was top 5. Ella is lucky to still be on a list. Hasn’t been able to get a regular game in a poor side.

I’m just saying hindsight is a wonderful thing. Stella was genuinely rated pre draft. There are heaps of high pick misses in the first 4-5 years of the drafts.
Reid was always high risk. Played forward in a dominate team and most of her goals were opportunistic snaps. Never any standout qualities. It was a thin draft that year but we still butchered it.

The point about players wanting to go to a club they support is garbage….if that’s how they feel well then **** off and choose a suburban club

It’s AFLW …..the premier comp for footy ffs …not some bullshit school comp
Everything you say is true but they are also human beings and if the club you barracked for is chasing you hard and you are out of contract, I think anyone would be tempted.

It becomes a factor coz wages are fairly flat across the comp , pretty rare in men’s for that to be a driving force

Hindsight being key here.

You could argue that it was astute drafting by the Blues to take Sherar at pick 11, when predicted to go in 20-30 range, however before her the Blues opted for Annie Lee at pick 10, again predicted range 20-30. Where is Lee now, offloaded to the Pies alongside Paige Trudgeon for Tarni Brown.

Both Sherar and Lee were seen as big reaches at the time, so not so much astute drafting as just plain bloody good luck.

The second part is acceptable (just)….but still ….there are players loyal to the club ( Dusty, Jack, Cotch and others) and those that choose otherwise….

AFLW Trade, Draft and list changes 2024