List Mgmt. Trade & F.A. 2017 (if a scenario sounds wrong - read on before posting)

I agree. I spoke with a Carlton mate of mine and he says they lost an extra game this year compared to last, but there's no doubt in my mind they are on the improve. I think we're exactly the same and just a small improvement is all that's needed for us to win a bunch of extra games and make the 8.

The year after that we'll be in a good spot with the development of our kids. We were in most games this year bar a few.

What do you reckon we need to take that next step up?

Don't worry, Apex is like Matt Damon from team America, he's the world police of bigfooty. He's the authority on everything, and if you get something wrong he'll tell you off but not explain why.
Are you still salty that I suggested you go back and watch Stringer at his best?

Build a bridge sunshine.

I agree. I spoke with a Carlton mate of mine and he says they lost an extra game this year compared to last, but there's no doubt in my mind they are on the improve. I think we're exactly the same and just a small improvement is all that's needed for us to win a bunch of extra games and make the 8.

The year after that we'll be in a good spot with the development of our kids. We were in most games this year bar a few.

Look at the rapid rise of the dogs last year... Richmond this year.
Their lists didn't change dramatically but their kids got an extra pre-season, more game time and more confidence in the game plan and therefore, themselves.

There was some dude on SEN earlier this year who said the best teams were those who had played a lot together. It was a common thread over the last decade of GF teams. Pretty sure he said Richmond were destined to click in 2017.

It's not rocket science is it. Get a group that gels and knows how each other plays and you'll succeed. So many on here are suggesting we have 30 elite players on our list. It won't happen. I suggest we all go and watch Moneyball.

Don't worry, Apex is like Matt Damon from team America, he's the world police of bigfooty. He's the authority on everything, and if you get something wrong he'll tell you off but not explain why.

Apex36 didn't have a go at his grammar at all. His qualm was the fact that Dave took comment A and turned it into comment Z for no apparent reason. Happens all the time.

Time. I think we should go to the draft, maybe have a stab at Tom Lynch next year. A bit of toe and pressure in the forward line if cheap.

I like the idea of trading some dead wood for picks and taking 5-6 players in the draft this year. Reassess our list next year and hit trade week hard.

The biggest correlation between the rise of those two clubs was sweeping changes to the FD. We had the perfect opportunity to do the same recently but it looks like we've blown that opportunity.

It's not rocket science is it. Get a group that gels and knows how each other plays and you'll succeed. So many on here are suggesting we have 30 elite players on our list. It won't happen. I suggest we all go and watch Moneyball.
This is why next year we need to replace greenwood and Blair from game one with broomhead and aish and find out if they have what it takes. Goldsack needs to be slowly phased out throughout the year as well as Varco. 2019 we should be phasing Lenny Kravitz out although I suspect injuries would probably do that anyway.

What do you reckon we need to take that next step up?

I think the biggest improvement we'll see in 2018 is in team chemistry and cohesion. Coming off 3x injury riddled years with so many new faces playing with each for the 1st time it was shambolic this year at times. There were times this season when it clicked and it looked fantastic. It'll click more instinctively in 2018.

I like Phillips personally because he does the one thing that you can't teach which is finding the ball. Beyond that though there are question marks because of the role he plays.

IMO, to be a top level outside player you need two of an engine, composure and speed. Phillips has the engine and is lacking in the other two areas currently. A player with similar issues is Rohan who has the speed although he lacks the engine and composure to be a consistent top level performer. Seedy has the speed and lacks the others as well. Steele has the composure and engine. Scully has all three.

He isn't going to get any quicker so moving forward I would work on his composure when he receives frontal pressure (fortunately he isn't Smith/ Oxley poor under pressure). If that continues to remain an issue an increased focus on contested ball will also see him improve, but it does mean a bit of a role shift. Overall I think he'll wind up about the same level as Brandon Ellis which is great value for a guy selected in the fourth round.

I can see why he's polarising too because those outside types usually are. Relying heavily on others feeding you the ball in order to be effective makes it difficult to be universally rated. Hence why the very best can do it inside and outside. Its not rocket science and it's odd to see posters getting hot under the collar over it.

FWIW if I were told we were losing one of Phillips or Sidebottom and I was given the choice of which one we keep I'd be letting Steele go. It's about value to me and the market overrates Steele and underrates Phillips, IMO.

Have to disagree, Steele has been and will be for a few more years one of our top performers, Philips is not in Steele's class, at least not yet. Still chalk and cheese, especially when potential is only that, it needs to be realised. I hope one day you're right because we will have something but not now.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Apex36 didn't have a go at his grammar at all. His qualm was the fact that Dave took comment A and turned it into comment Z for no apparent reason. Happens all the time.
Don't bother mate, that guy is just salty that I dared to say that Stringer at his best is better than Fasolo.

Richmond is a great example of a team which has built cohesion over the past 2 years, but they have also had a dream run at it this year. There is just a feeling of destiny about it all.

They literally only have 1 player on the injury list which is unbelievable considering the time of the year. They also got a dream draw for finishing so low last year.

If we can somehow buck our injury trend, we can be similarly placed as we'll get a favourable draw you would think given our bottom 6 finish.

The other thing is that pressure is seemingly the key these days. The Doggies won a flag last year based purely on fanatic pressure. Richmond are going about their footy similarly. The Dogs dropped of this year because their pressure dropped 5% and they lost momentum. It was enough for them to drop out of the 8 completely.

It just shows that the talent on your list isn't necessarily the be all and end all...there's also elements of luck, timing and good player management.

To be perfectly honest, I don't think Richmond's list or the Doggies list are the best in the AFL. But they have had momentum and have played at a high level of intensity.

At our best, we can play at this level, we just haven't shown it consistently.

I'd be more than happy to just use our pick 6 this year on Fogarty and throw everything at Tom Lynch next year. I reckon cohesion is the way to go. We've had so many list changes over the past few years, it's time to just settle it down a bit and give the list the chance to gel and build that momentum.

I like the idea of trading some dead wood for picks and taking 5-6 players in the draft this year. Reassess our list next year and hit trade week hard.
I interpreted Phillips' comments in much the same. In any case it's a forum, people are free to communicate in their own way and nobody needs to be told how they can and can't communicate. If you don't like what you read move on, let the people be.