List Mgmt. Trade & F/A - 2020

The other one we aren't discussing enough is Mitch lewis, who isn't getting a game even despite Patton being out.

I really liked what i saw from him last year, so not sure what the issue is. He's probably not a world beater, but would fit nice structurally. Good age too.

I think Lewis would be a great fit for our structure. Aggressive, leads well and can stand under a high ball. Still a gamble because he is unproven but i'd take the gamble. I wonder if Hawks would consider it. Historically they're prepared to deal.

In terms of adding to our midfield I'd rather target a small lock down defender (Luke Brown from the Crows for example) and let us put Maynard into the middle full time. A small defender would come a lot cheaper and allow us to continue targeting players to fix our woes inside the forward 50.

With Darcy, Howe, Langdon, Crisp, IQ, Noble and Murphy/Shaz in the background, we already have enough intercepting and running players in the defensive 50. Maynard is a contested bull who would compliment Adams brilliantly on the inside, plus he's a beautiful long kick of the footy and looks to move the ball forward as often as he can, something a few of our mids need to be encouraged to do more of.

Don't think we need anymore defenders. We also have Bianco developing as that small defender. We play team defence anyway so don't need a specialist lockdown defender. IQ can take over the Maynard role if we want to move him to the midfield (which I wouldn't mind also - better than Jamie Elliott in there).

Maynard definitely has a skill set that makes him worth more than a small defender. He’s stood up massively in the absence of Howe as an aerial threat and you’d keep him back during an injury crisis, but yes, if everybody is fit or thereabouts, Maynard should play more midfield, specifically he’d be good at centre bounces I reckon. Has the aggression and strength to hunt the ball and pile drive any opposition player who dares win his football.

I personally would be locking in our backline with Crisp, Maynard and Quaynor. When we win, its because we rebound well off half back and keep teams to low scores.

The beauty of these guys is they are good 1 v 1 players, and great offensively as well.

Everyone raves about Johanissen and Daniel for the Dogs, but they arent great defensively which is why the Dogs have been opened up by the good teams this year.

Id be looking at more depth in the midfield so we don't have to move Maynard and Crisp out.

That could come if someone like Rantall or Sier came through, or maybe will be through the draft. At full strength, we are probably only 1 hard body short in the midfield...but greenwood in the side somewhat resolves that...as will De Goey playing in there 30%

We should be all over Hogan or Brown.

those comparing it to the Beams trade need to realise its slightly different, if pulled off successfully, one of those two would actually fill a much needed role in the side.

I can’t see it happening though, Collingwood trading in a talented key forward has never happened in my life time. I’m convinced Hogan would more likely end up at Brisbane, and Brown would more likely end up at Essendon.

Neale, Macrae, Martin, Fyfe, Mitchell, Petracca, Boak, Dangerfield, Merrett, J.Kelly, Coniglio, Bontempelli, Pendlebury, Cripps, Zorko, Prestia, Cotchin, T.Kelly, Yeo, Sidebottom, Cunnington, Dunkley, Adams etc.

Adam Treloar is not elite. And also not a top 20 mid.

Unfortunately.

LOL so apparently we don’t have any top 20 MIDS but then you go ahead and list two guys from our own team who are better than him? HAHAHAHAH
And somehow you’ve managed to list a bunch of guys who are more injury prone, have hardly played all year, and only shown glimpses?
Petracca? 14 games of good footy suddenly makes you a top 20 mid these days? Kelly? Shell of his former self without Danger. Cotchin? LMAOOOOO
Zorko and Boak have got Father time coming!!!
I agree 10 guys are better but the ones in bold make me laugh and suggest to me you seriously underestimate his worth to our side and should maybe watch some more football 🤣🤣

LOL so apparently we don’t have any top 20 MIDS but then you go ahead and list two guys from our own team who are better than him? HAHAHAHAH
And somehow you’ve managed to list a bunch of guys who are more injury prone, have hardly played all year, and only shown glimpses?
Petracca? 14 games of good footy suddenly makes you a top 20 mid these days? Kelly? Shell of his former self without Danger. Cotchin? LMAOOOOO
Zorko and Boak have got Father time coming!!!
I agree 10 guys are better but the ones in bold make me laugh and suggest to me you seriously underestimate his worth to our side and should maybe watch some more football 🤣🤣
When did I say we don't have any top 20 mids? I have clearly called out both Pendlebury & Sidebottom in that list, and never said anything to the contrary....

:drunk:

Arguably you've produced the most incoherent response I've ever seen on this board.

When did I say we don't have any top 20 mids? I have clearly called out both Pendlebury & Sidebottom in that list, and never said anything to the contrary....

:drunk:

Arguably you've produced the most incoherent response I've ever seen on this board.

I’ve gone back up and read the quote thread, seems you jumped in and old mate storm skye hasn’t responded with a list but you have ... my bad.

Still, the notion still stands. How you can name some of those MIDS above Treloar is appalling. Like I’m genuinely in disbelief that you think that. Anyway, move on

I’ve gone back up and read the quote thread, seems you jumped in and old mate storm skye hasn’t responded with a list but you have ... my bad.

Still, the notion still stands. How you can name some of those MIDS above Treloar is appalling. Like I’m genuinely in disbelief that you think that. Anyway, move on
Why do I need to respond with a list, I’ve told you my position, I’d be open to trading treloar. Doesn’t mean I don’t rate him as a player. You’ve taken it personally for some reason. We can disagree on things, it’s a forum it’s ok 👍, matter of fact if everyone agreed it would be a very boring and lacklustre forum

Why do I need to respond with a list, I’ve told you my position, I’d be open to trading treloar. Doesn’t mean I don’t rate him as a player. You’ve taken it personally for some reason. We can disagree on things, it’s a forum it’s ok 👍

I haven’t taken it personally, just hadn’t realised someone else had jumped into the conversation. All good mate 👍🏻

This came from multiple sources on EBnW who have proven correct many times before and involved at AFL level not herald sun.

Ok, show me one.

Not really sure what point you are trying to make anyway, that reports supports the point I was making. It said the idea got floated and AT swiftly knocked it on the head. So like I was saying, zero chance he gets traded unless he requests it...?

You've just offloaded 25% of our list in a year where the TAC Cup didn't run and our draft picks aren't anything to write home about. Also delisting two blokes currently in our best 22 (Madge and Thomas) and a bunch of others who have played recently/were emergencies.

There's probably enough spots just in Beams, Dunn, Varcoe, Reid and Broomhead. Could raffle off a spot or two between Atu, Shaz and Wills if needed.
I’m with you, Gab.
It’s not about gutting your list all at once. You need to keep 4 or 5 on your list that you can earmark as delisting/trading the following year given you have to move on three anyway. Best case scenario of those 4 or 5 is that they plug holes or a couple show incredible improvement to keep on for another year.

You've just offloaded 25% of our list in a year where the TAC Cup didn't run and our draft picks aren't anything to write home about. Also delisting two blokes currently in our best 22 (Madge and Thomas) and a bunch of others who have played recently/were emergencies.

There's probably enough spots just in Beams, Dunn, Varcoe, Reid and Broomhead. Could raffle off a spot or two between Atu, Shaz and Wills if needed.

Most are at their expiry date anyway, also talk there could be a reduction in list size hence the number. This is an offseason that is make or break with so many players available, we need to go hard.

yeah.
"
The Herald Sun also reported Treloar had signed a four-year contract extension with the Magpies — a deal the club has opted not to publicise.

Treloar originally signed a six-year deal on around $650,000 per season when he was traded from the GWS Giants to Collingwood during the 2015 AFL exchange period."

If he leaves a year late, just like Witts, I’ll SPEW!

Ok, show me one.

Not really sure what point you are trying to make anyway, that reports supports the point I was making. It said the idea got floated and AT swiftly knocked it on the head. So like I was saying, zero chance he gets traded unless he requests it...?

Your exact words were :

There was one report from the Herald Sun, with nobody attributed to the source or anything, that his name came up in a discussion. One of about 800 reported rumours that had no substance that the Herald Sun floated during that period.

So a few points here your initial comment was that the CLUB wouldn't consider it, i basically said well that's not true given we asked the question of him.

Secondly that quoted above has you acting as if it was a BS rumour from only herald sun, I said no it was also mentioned by posters on EBnW which it was. Pyeman and 1 other have made mention of it.

Clearly it was known in the inner circles that GC made the offer, Pies considered it and approached Treloar who said no.

We should be putting our time into McDonald, Brown and Sexton.

B: Maynard ~ Roughead ~ Howe
HB: Quaynor ~ McDonald ~ Crisp
C: Treloar ~ Pendlebury ~ Phillips
R: Grundy ~ Adams ~ Sidebottom
HF: Mihocek ~ Moore ~ DeGoey
F: Stephenson ~ Brown ~ Sexton

That starting 18 would go alright.

Trading a 1st round pick for a 30 year-old Brown would be terrible. Hopefully we don't do that in 3 years time, when Brown is actually 30
Haven’t you heard? Many on this forum believe Brown is the missing piece we need. If not Brown then Hogan.

In terms of adding to our midfield I'd rather target a small lock down defender (Luke Brown from the Crows for example) and let us put Maynard into the middle full time. A small defender would come a lot cheaper and allow us to continue targeting players to fix our woes inside the forward 50.

With Darcy, Howe, Langdon, Crisp, IQ, Noble and Murphy/Shaz in the background, we already have enough intercepting and running players in the defensive 50. Maynard is a contested bull who would compliment Adams brilliantly on the inside, plus he's a beautiful long kick of the footy and looks to move the ball forward as often as he can, something a few of our mids need to be encouraged to do more of.
I’m sold. Let’s do it.

Well this is where we disagree completely. Treloar is easily top 20 in the league, name me 20 better MIDS?
Treloar averages 29 touches a game, 15 contested, just shy of 6 clearances a game. 5 inside 50’s a game as well which is very very good.
What’s the point in trading him to get two new rookies in who don’t have the bodies ready or getting guys in from elsewhere whom can’t get a game because they’re not in the top MIDS in their team. I’m happy to do that but not if you’re trading away your own talent.
Treloar is elite, easily an A grade midfielder. To think otherwise is ridiculous.
A fit TAdams is also top 20 and there is no arguing that.
The only real knock on Treloar is disposal efficiency.
He has also lost a yard in pace and the depth of his kicking is not the same as before.