Trade Rumours & Discussion

Re: Trade Talk

sharpy36 said:
Listening to SEN this morning and a trade came up. Nick Stevens for your first round pick. Sounds intersting i would take it.

Our first pick is about 9 or 10. No way i would trade this away when we could pick up a possible jetta or selwood.
I would consider our second round pick however i do not believe that Nick stevens is the solution to our problems

Re: Trade talks at the lexus centre...i was there

i dont see why the dogs would trade ray unless they got tarrent and a high draft pick

FadeAway said:
After work today, i went down to the lexus centre to take a look around and while i was going into the bathroom i overheard Neil Balm talking to some other guy i didnt know about a deal at the moment going down...Pies want Polak from Freo and willing put Tarrant in a 3 way deal...that will see the following:

Farren Ray to Freo
Polak to Collingwood
Tarrant to Dogs.

Sounded like a done deal from they way they where talking.

I would be so dissapointed if this trade went through. Why does Fremantle have to be in this trade, they are screwing the dogs and the pies over for a player that cant even get on the field and offfield issues which we will not discuss. If this trade did occur, which i hope it doesn't, i would like to to do a straight tarrant-ray swap

sharpy36 said:
Tarrant is an overated football player and 4 polak it will be the best trade you will ever do.
Would you **** off our board spoonboy?

why would balmey talk about trades like this in the open. TARRANT isn't going anywhere.

WE NEED A MIDFIELD and Tarrant isn't going to get us one.

I can assure you that trades would not talked seriously about in the open if they were yelling. Maybe of course if they were spoken about in the staff toilet but Why were you in the staff toilet anyway?

Leg_Spinning_Sensation said:
I can assure you that trades would not talked seriously about in the open if they were yelling. Maybe of course if they were spoken about in the staff toilet but Why were you in the staff toilet anyway?

Probably talking to Cox:eek:

im sure this was not true
this would not be talked about till after ground final and it would be behind close doors.

tarrant will be for atleast another year at collingwood, remember still got another year on contract and collingwood would be forced to pay some of his contract if traded.

there is no one around that would be up for trade worth tarrant by his self.
it would have to include a player and high draft pick.

i hate how everyone is so quickly to jump on tarrants back about trade dieals and getting rid of him!!!!

why isnt there talk about rocca? he hasnt had the best year, i think tarrant showed better signs then rocca.

i heard rumours going around that collingwood were after daniel bradshaw now what are peoples thoughts about that? i think he would maybe be a good fit have tarrant up the ground rocca CHF could maybe work.

magpies42 said:
i would be mightly ****ed off about that! our first round pick + player for stevens and your up and coming yound ruckmen forget his name!
They don't have any decent ruck prospects - That's why they're looking at Michael Gardiner

If the Bulldogs were willing to give Farren Ray for Chris Tarrant, and we didn't take that deal, I would be fuming with our staff.

There is no chance anyone would trade Farren Ray for Graham Polak, and so it's simple mathematics:

If Chris Tarrant = Farren Ray in trade value

And Farren Ray > Graham Polak in trade value

Then Chris Tarrant > Graham Polak in trade value

I wouldn't trade Tarrant for Ray in a million years.

I don't rate him as highly as some. Front running midfielder who needs it hand fed and has problematic kicking. Has good attributes, but I doubt he'll be a top line midfielder.

Taz on the other hand, like it or not, is our #1 forward.

Me too i heard balmy say there is 2 clubs keen on TEX WALKER!

Re: Time To Trade Tarrant And Rocca

Jesus you blokes have short memorys....

You are all quick to blow smoke up these blokes arses when things are fine and rosey. Anyone would think half of you are on the Carlton board, the way you rip the knives out looking for scapegoats.

Get up with it.

Rowe or Fanning and a second round pick for Stevens. That might not be enough to win him over, but so be it. He'd be handy but he's not the answer to our problems. And he's on a big wage.

(Mind you, the club might be a lot keener considering Holland and Didak will be missing for a large chunk of the season, and Buckley and Burns will be yet another year older)

FIGJAM said:
I wouldn't trade Tarrant for Ray in a million years.

I don't rate him as highly as some. Front running midfielder who needs it hand fed and has problematic kicking. Has good attributes, but I doubt he'll be a top line midfielder.

Taz on the other hand, like it or not, is our #1 forward.
Taz is nowhere near our no1 forward, hell these days he aint even our highest paid forward

Re: Time To Trade Tarrant And Rocca

bingo11 said:
what? a bunch of freaks?? mate collingwood would kill to hav a team half as good as west coast. u nuff nuffs r kidding yourselves if u rekon ull get nething decent for those 2. no wonder pies cant get nehtin in trade week (gehrig, nick stevens, everitt), they expect heaven and earth for their hacks. u need to stop living in tooth(less) fairy land and get fair dinkum, ur not gona get anything 4 that fat prick rocca and that otha *****men who cant get off the eccys. and the first thing u doll bludgers will say is "ohhh cousins is a drugie"...yer well mayb so, but i dnt see a brownlow wrapped arount tarrants neck, or 6 all australian gernseys.

go cry to your mama, its gonna be fun as when WCE loses the Grandfinal again this year coz your foward line is ****, and nuff nuff> you listen to sheedy? you must be fluent in ******, and you suck at typing, even im better then you, you should go live in a cave so no one has to see your ugly face

eddiesmith said:
Taz is nowhere near our no1 forward, hell these days he aint even our highest paid forward
Rocca kicked more goals than him, but he finished in very limp condition. So limp in fact, that I'm not particularly confident that he will ever find the form he was in at the start of the season again.

Didak is a forward midfielder.

Travis is statistically a worse shot for goal than Tarrant by miles. Rusling is about even. Both kids have talent, but have plenty to prove.

About the only case you can mount is for Buckley, but then he's better than pretty much everyone no matter where you put him and his zimmer frame!

In contrast, Tarrant had serious problems with his legs. After a layoff, he returned to average 17.5 possessions, 10 marks, and 3 goals 3.

What is interesting is that his statistics this year are very similar to his All Australian year, except for he had 67 shots on goal instead of 98. In both years he averaged about 55% on goal excluding out on fulls and whatnot. He was this year generally played a bit further up the ground, so that may explain some fall in shots at goal. As is the fact that in 2003, he had a peaking Buckley and Burns delievering the ball lace out.

We know his faults. His set shooting is below par. But then in 2003, we weren't slashing our wrists, as we were clearly top two or three in the comp. Now we're middle of the road coming from a spell at the bottom and we want to convince ourselves that he's to blame, that he isn't our best forward and that he's worth about the same as Ray or Polak. Sorry, but I ain't buying it!

An aside, I reckin FadeAway has started this thread just to see how far a bogus rumour can spread! ;)

Say what you like about Tarrant. Results count. He has been an average performer at best for a long time.

In 2002 he had 2 shots that he should have kicked and that may have cost us a grand final. Since that day his kicking has not improved one iota. If possibly kicking away a flag does not motivate you to do everything humanly possible to improve and the club to do everything possible to demand and then assist that then what on Earth will make Tarrant an acceptable kick on goal and what on earth will make the club demand it? Short of a brain transplant for a mentally fragile under performer the answer is nothing. I am not in the get rid of Tarrant at all costs camp but realistically he is a flawed forward at best and he isn’t often at his best.

We have other forwards. We don't have other midfielders. If Tarrant never played again we could win a premiership if we fixed the midfield. If we don't fix the midfield Tarrant cannot win us a flag.

Trade Rumours & Discussion