Trades: Round 9

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ok so heres my dilemma, I want to do

This week Out: Houli In: Wellingham

Next week out: Masten In: Swan

Week After Out: Gamble (7th forward) In: BJ/SJ

Going by xalia these trades should all be right to do but my 7th and 8th mids will be wellingham and Browne and i will have 7 trades left for injuries, what should i do?
All these sounds great!:thumbsu:
Do it..i guess that is what im meant to say!

what are people doing with S.Burgoyne. So very very happy with him this week and then he goes and copps a 3 week ban.

I could upgrade him to anyone in the comp, worth doing or worth holding onto. I have Browne and Ebert on the bench; only 10 trades left.

will get jon brown in this week.

then this week or next i need to upgrade scarlett...

what is the beast option will have about 335k to do so.

fisher, mcleoud, others????

I wrote this before; if you wanna have a bit of a read and help that will be great:D

Everyone this is 4 trades that I really dont want to use because I will only have 9 trades left.. but that might mean that I wont have to trade unless injury strikes or somebody peaks...
I find this very good

This week

OUT: Houli, Rioli
IN: Chapmen, Cotchin

Next week
OUT: Palmer, Gamble
IN: Swan, Franklin

I will only have 50k in bank but that means that my forward line and midfield are all the goods.
Will look like this;

Swan, Corey, Ablett, Stevens, Judd, Cornes

and my forward line

Franklin, Chapman, R.Murphy, Brown, Porps, Pav and Fevola

I have underlined the trade I im thinking about.
I have my midfield listed above..also underlined but I have an option.

Wellingham is getting 60+ scores and should secure a spot in the team.. maybe instead of getting Cotchi I can get Wellingham and then pickup Bartel >> Swan.

What do you think?

I may not be able to afford it in the end but it might help me with having an extra 40 grand in the pocket for laters.

Cheers:thumbsu:

You obviously have no idea what that man is capable off.

Watch him burn in the coiming weeks

message to all, get Bartel while he is still cheap
Cheap??
Mate you cannot be serious.
He has a huge BE..will go down heaps. 420,000 will be his lowest thoughh..

this week i was dead certain of trading in Carlile to Milburn, however, now that i have noticed that Hawthorn are playing Melbourne, i was thinking of trading in Buddy for Rioli. any thought on this?

Carlile and Milburn both have b/e of about 42, so shouldnt lose to much on that one if i wait a week (mite even gain money if Carlile outscores him, but unlikely against Sydney).

The main reason i was leaning towards Buddy was that they are playing melbourne this week, so with a big score from him, would have a better chance of stayin in Eliminator.

Rioli ----> Buddy

or

Carlile ---> Milburn

cheers

i think it was porps who said bartel wasn't cheap. well.. he is and he will get 130 without breaking a sweat against the pies who don't believe in tagging. he's in this week for me

What are peoples thoughts about King, Bock, Sam Fisher and Bowden.
I would love to pick up King but im concerned that Bowdens return might influence his scores, i know he still scored 85 but was struggling for much of the match (just whilst looking at fanfooty), did Bowden even play back?

Bock has been in superb form and may be playing like we all wanted him to last year.
And Sam Fisher was consistent as they come last year and has been underperforming all year. At $315k he is fantastic value and proved his worth this week scoring 113.
Bowden, DT gun Wallace finally brought him back in after dominating in the reserves for the past couple weeks, will be fantastic value in a few weeks.

Jake King $359k
Nathan Bock $348k
Sam Fisher $315k
Joel Bowden $367k and dropping fast...

Who's the best pickup?

cryptor said:
I'm thinking this,

OUT: Bradshaw IN: M.Spangher/J.Edwards (both $83,500 with a B/E of around -33 according to DreamTeamTalk.com's B/E calculator)

OUT: Leuenberger IN: Jeff White (already have Cox and this was originally going to be Simmonds but after that 35 from last week and seeing how many people have Simmonds in this comp I'd prefer to spend the extra on a more consistent ruck that not as many have)

First trade I'm not so sure about. There will be more games where Bradshaw kicks a bag and scores 100+. I think he is probably good to average 70 ppg from here on in - he is a versatile player who can switch forward/back and if JB doesn't fire, he will. If 70 ppg isn't enough to stay in your starting backs, by all means trade him. Maybe consider Myers over Spangher/Edwards though - more likely to get games IMO, which makes him better coverage on the bench.

Second trade is fantastic. Cox and White are the combo to have, no question about it. Simmonds was great value at the start of the season, but not so much now. If the second trade is dependent on the first... maybe look somewhere else - I wouldn't be wanting to start Spangher/Edwards (or even Myers).

Outburst said:
Rioli>Valenti
Dew/Bradshaw/Sellar > Chapman

Which of dew/bradshaw/sellar is worth trading out for chappy?
Any of them. Chapman is a fantastic DTer.

samwise said:
10trades and 228k in bank. was gonna trade pfeiffer but will play this week and go up another 10-25k so could wait to trade him to chornes instead of say johncock.

what do people think?

I think your team is good enough it doesn't need to be posted here, and I think you know exactly where the best options to spend your money are. Trust your gut.

Butane said:
If CCornes plays i'll do:

Rioli --> Chapman
Houli --> L.Hayes

Time to start beefing up my team. Will also be in the bottom half of the Eliminator game this week so i need to surprise the 'better' opponent this week.

Those are some serious trades. 3 big in's to your team. Nice timing with Rioli/Houli too.

Porps_is_HOT_loz said:
Cheap??

130 odd is a huge BE for most DT'ers, but Bartel is no ordinary DT'er. He is a real shot of passing it playing Collingwood, particularly if it rains. Even if he only cracks 100, he's not going to drop that much. Maybe 8-9K. Hardly heaps. We would be lucky to see Bartel at 420K, 430K is probably as good as it gets. Bartel, for what he is, and the ppg he brings to a DT, is cheap. At 420K - cheap. At 430K - cheap.

What are peoples thoughts about King, Bock, Sam Fisher and Bowden.
<snip>
Who's the best pickup?
King - you've got questions over whether he can sustain it with Bowden back. He is carrying a minor wrist injury. He is playing well above his performance last year - is it a breakout year? Price is considerably higher than at the start of the year. Question marks abound.
Bock - you've got questions about whether he will pull a 2007. He is playing more consistent footy - is it form or role related? Price higher than at start of year. Questions.
Fisher - you think he is a consistent player who is coming good. Price lower than at start of year.
Bowden - you have confidence in him, but think he is currently priced too high.

The deviation in average between these players will probably be around 10-12 points at the end of the season. So, do you value consistency, value or uniqueness?

You already know what trades you think will be best. Trust your instincts.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ok so heres my dilemma, I want to do

This week Out: Houli In: Wellingham

Next week out: Masten In: Swan

Week After Out: Gamble (7th forward) In: BJ/SJ

Going by xalia these trades should all be right to do but my 7th and 8th mids will be wellingham and Browne and i will have 7 trades left for injuries, what should i do?

Honestly don't think Well/Browne are strong enough combination to go thru to end of year.

King - you've got questions over whether he can sustain it with Bowden back. He is carrying a minor wrist injury. He is playing well above his performance last year - is it a breakout year? Price is considerably higher than at the start of the year. Question marks abound.
Bock - you've got questions about whether he will pull a 2007. He is playing more consistent footy - is it form or role related? Price higher than at start of year. Questions.
Fisher - you think he is a consistent player who is coming good. Price lower than at start of year.
Bowden - you have confidence in him, but think he is currently priced too high.

The deviation in average between these players will probably be around 10-12 points at the end of the season. So, do you value consistency, value or uniqueness?

You already know what trades you think will be best. Trust your instincts.

I am having the same questions at the moment in regards to fisher and goddard in terms of consistency, value and uniqueness. I thought Fisher would be a unique pick but seem not as there are around 16-17,000 on fisher whereas only 5-6 on Goddard, will have to go and do some more research. However, as a wise man once said you don't lose your football brain from a knee-reco! :thumbsu:

I wrote this before; if you wanna have a bit of a read and help that will be great:D

I have underlined the trade I im thinking about.
I have my midfield listed above..also underlined but I have an option.

Wellingham is getting 60+ scores and should secure a spot in the team.. maybe instead of getting Cotchi I can get Wellingham and then pickup Bartel >> Swan.

What do you think?

I may not be able to afford it in the end but it might help me with having an extra 40 grand in the pocket for laters.

Cheers:thumbsu:

Cheap??

Get a clue, Bartel is an absolute bargain at the moment. And his HUGE BE is not HUGE for him.

He speaks the truth.

Porps, do you realise that he can rack up 110-120's at will? Last time he played Collingwood he got 121 and would not be surprised at all if he produced that again. 130 b/e pfffft thats nothing. You might be able to get him 5k cheaper but give me 121 points over 5k any day.

Crows88 said:
I am having the same questions at the moment in regards to fisher and goddard in terms of consistency, value and uniqueness. I thought Fisher would be a unique pick but seem not as there are around 16-17,000 on fisher whereas only 5-6 on Goddard, will have to go and do some more research. However, as a wise man once said you don't lose your football brain from a knee-reco! :thumbsu:
Not sure about the wisdom, apparently it's all BS...

apple said:
What is this uniqueness bs? You pick the best player available.
Assume both Fisher and Goddard are going to play every game from here on in. Prior to last week, Fisher was averaging 76.3, and Goddard 76.8 - close enough to be considered the "best player(s) available" (for their price). If 17K have Fisher, only 6K have Goddard and you pick Goddard, you have a chance of getting a leg up over the 17K with Fisher, should Goddard improve and Fisher average the same.

It's about diversity between teams - if we all had the same team, the leaders would move as a pack. If you want to move out of the pack, you have to differentiate yourself from them. If you have 320K, and there are two "best" choices around this price, you pick one and hope they'll do better than the other. If you're interested in making your team more unique, you have to be different.

Assume both Fisher and Goddard are going to play every game from here on in. Prior to last week, Fisher was averaging 76.3, and Goddard 76.8 - close enough to be considered the "best player(s) available" (for their price). If 17K have Fisher, only 6K have Goddard and you pick Goddard, you have a chance of getting a leg up over the 17K with Fisher, should Goddard improve and Fisher average the same.

It's about diversity between teams - if we all had the same team, the leaders would move as a pack. If you want to move out of the pack, you have to differentiate yourself from them. If you have 320K, and there are two "best" choices around this price, you pick one and hope they'll do better than the other. If you're interested in making your team more unique, you have to be different.

Possibly, but realistically there are more important factors that differentiate between players than their relative 'uniqueness'. In the example you cited, Goddard has averaged more, is cheaper and has a more impressive DT history (bar his injury afflicted season obviously). Surely these are the factors that would be influencing your selection process, as opposed to the number of teams that have picked him.

The top teams are likely to have similar players as they are the best available. Selection based on differentiation is likely to handicap you in the long run, as you are picking 'riskier' players.

Possibly, but realistically there are more important factors that differentiate between players than their relative 'uniqueness'. In the example you cited, Goddard has averaged more, is cheaper and has a more impressive DT history (bar his injury afflicted season obviously). Surely these are the factors that would be influencing your selection process, as opposed to the number of teams that have picked him.

The top teams are likely to have similar players as they are the best available. Selection based on differentiation is likely to handicap you in the long run, as you are picking 'riskier' players.
Damn straight there are more important factors. Consistency and durability are key for me, but some folks place more stock in uniqueness (all other things like cost, previous averages, etc being equal).

I just picked Goddard and Fisher as an example because Crows88 had raised them above. In this particular example, I would weight Goddard being undervalued based on his previous consistency as being far more valuable than uniqueness. Perhaps better examples would be taking some names from pre-season; eg Priddis and McPhee - both at 388K. Priddis far more likely to be selected, in this case (based on current performance) for good reason; uniqueness would not be a good thing in this scenario. But consider Kane Johnson and Nathan Foley (350K and 352K respectively). Johnson would be by far the more unique pick, and in this instance a good thing (based on current performance).

All I'm saying is that at some point you need an edge to get ahead - it's more likely to be Captain choice than one of these unique picks, but they have a role (ie choosing Salopek and Didak in my initial team over Hayes and Riewoldt gave me the cash to upgrade another forward).

Probably nothing this week. Houli looks toppy and there's 180k+ sitting there as a swap for Cotchin next week. Jack gave away about 6 free kicks dropping his score and looks ok for more $ yet..and guaranteed a game. Worst back >240K for Myers looks sensible.

is a bird & wellingham combination for my mids bench strong enough to last the year. the way i see it everyone keeps saying birds about to get dropped yet he has played all 8 games. he is strong bodied so shouldnt miss many games. i see him as the tippet of my midfield. he should play majority of the season and provide decent backup and wellingham could easily hold his spot for the most of the year. and who knows bird could find some form and make enough money for a downgrade. right now just don't think 183,600 is enough to make a downgrade considering i have masten that i can use. i will be doing masten >> wellingham & houli >>> bartel this week.

need some advice

i had an average week this week an that was due to my captain... lost by under 40 which hurts.... but this week i need to upgrade a player by downgrading one of my rookies im not sure who tho....

houli, bird, palmer, kruezer, tippet, rioli and i also have dew

im thinking then to upgrade either, gram, griffen,

but if i downgrade one of the forwards - rioli or dew i will need to upgrade one ...

need some advice

i had an average week this week an that was due to my captain... lost by under 40 which hurts.... but this week i need to upgrade a player by downgrading one of my rookies im not sure who tho....

houli, bird, palmer, kruezer, tippet, rioli and i also have dew

im thinking then to upgrade either, gram, griffen,

but if i downgrade one of the forwards - rioli or dew i will need to upgrade one ...
downgrade bird or houli to wellingham cotchin or even myers and then upgrade griffen gram or rioli/dew to a gun

Trades: Round 9