Training Training reports 2024

The players pre season MVP's. The Nostradamus will be happy the Hugh Greenwood gets a thumbs up.

Good to see my observations on Dawson this pre season be backed up by the playing group. Hope it translates once the real stuff gets under way, got himself in a good position to this point.

Good to see my opinions on Dawson backed up by the playing group. Hope it translates once the real stuff gets under way, got himself in a good position to this point.
It would be great if he can make the transition to AFL standard. The club desperately needs depth in the back half when it comes to talls. It would be nice to pluck a diamond out of the rough.

I believe as much as a the Gold Coast game was a dead rubber, it gave players like Kal Dawson a real belief to take into preseason.

Yeah mate , my young fella wanted to wear his jumper just in case we ran into clarko again haha. Come say gday if you see us around 😉
Will do. I was the bloke with the kanga visor. Keep repping it mate!

It would be great if he can make the transition to AFL standard. The club desperately needs depth in the back half when it comes to talls. It would be nice to pluck a diamond out of the rough.

I believe as much as a the Gold Coast game was a dead rubber, it gave players like Kal Dawson a real belief to take into preseason.
Anyone who says that win wasn’t important to the players is a fool.

And imagine if we were starting this season on a current 21 game losing streak.

I’ve watched that win against the Gold Coast 69 times and still get a massive hard on. :stern look

How is the weather there?
Gaso how do you change user names? I was once working in Cologne, hence the name, but now I’m working in Inverloch and really should be Rob in Inverloch where it was a bloody cracking day to be at either the Inlet or surf beach. Sun, and importantly little wind. I’m going to walk to the inlet bbq soon and enjoy a beach barbie 🐳👍

The players pre season MVP's. The Nostradamus will be happy the Hugh Greenwood gets a thumbs up.

This is a great post.
The boys give Darcy the nod. Tucker starts R1, let’s hope he is the player I thought we were getting from Freo ✨ And Kal Dawson, the boys give him the nod and Powelly too.
Well done boys!

Gaso how do you change user names? I was once working in Cologne, hence the name, but now I’m working in Inverloch and really should be Rob in Inverloch where it was a bloody cracking day to be at either the Inlet or surf beach. Sun, and importantly little wind. I’m going to walk to the inlet bbq soon and enjoy a beach barbie 🐳👍

Mate don’t ask me

As the Mods can verify I haven’t changed shit since 2002

A lot of speculation about my great friend IUB; but he was a drunk and probably riding the Gumbuya Park water rides as we type

If you know me in RL, of which one poster does, I am fairly dumb and wouldn’t have the capacity to run two accounts.

Inverloch is a great place. Sat on the beach with my fiancé in 2000 and we planned our future. 2024 years later still happily married with a grown up kid. All thanks to Inverloch

Interested to see Tucker now given what everyone is saying. Not sure where his best spot is given Scott and Stephens are likely locks on the wings and we have a glut of half backs now.
High half forward for mine and defensive half forward would be the two roles to get the most out of his strengths.

100%. If anyone watched/watches that game and doesn't believe Touk Miller, Noah Anderson, Matt Rowell, Jarrod Witts and the rest of those boys are trying then enough is enough, you should be stripped of your shirt and flogged with a bike chain until you utter the words "I promise from now on to watch with no pre -conceived ideas, and to use common sense". After all that I'm actually lost for words, there is no way on gods green earth that Gold Coast laid down in that match, I've watched a lot of football over the years and this utter nonsense they had nothing to play for, they were lethargic and the last game meant nothing to them is so ridiculous that I'm not sure if some posters aren't taking the p*ss.

Even Gold Coast supporters have admitted, we were to good on the day, but NO, lets not give our team the credit they deserve and just say it was a dead rubber it meant nothing. This was one of the best wins I've seen by our club since our premiership years and I've highlighted this before, not because we didn't beat the premier or top four team but with all the adversity, young players still learning the ropes and several other reasons this is the game that will be looked back on in years to come, for when it all started, mark my words. :north:

100%. If anyone watched/watches that game and doesn't believe Touk Miller, Noah Anderson, Matt Rowell, Jarrod Witts and the rest of those boys are trying then enough is enough, you should be stripped of your shirt and flogged with a bike chain until you utter the words "I promise from now on to watch with no pre -conceived ideas, and to use common sense". After all that I'm actually lost for words, there is no way on gods green earth that Gold Coast laid down in that match, I've watched a lot of football over the years and this utter nonsense they had nothing to play for, they were lethargic and the last game meant nothing to them is so ridiculous that I'm not sure if some posters aren't taking the p*ss.

Even Gold Coast supporters have admitted, we were to good on the day, but NO, lets not give our team the credit they deserve and just say it was a dead rubber it meant nothing. This was one of the best wins I've seen by our club since our premiership years and I've highlighted this before, not because we didn't beat the premier or top four team but with all the adversity, young players still learning the ropes and several other reasons this is the game that will be looked back on in years to come, for when it all started, mark my words. :north:
I still remember the round 23 game against Gold Coast the year before. Similar positions to last year and GC smashed us by almost 70 points. I went into that game hoping the players would show some fight given we had just announced Clarko as coach. It's night and day really a year later.

Very true Farthers, it did seem Gold Coast were our bogey team lately and as I've said before I thought early in the game we were going to get whitewashed again. The same point applies here again, they didn't make finals the previous year, why not let us win by 10 goals, nope they had there way with us and pushed the sword in so deep to finish us off, the point being last year WE didn't let them, we gave them a head start and then blew them off the park even at THIS stage of our development, that's the scary bit.

In years to come this will be talked of the beginning of our rise to a shit load of flags.

We’d go a long way to improving if the likes of Kal Dawson, Lazz & Tucker all step up and become reliable and dependable AFL footballers. It’s that sort of reliable depth that we’ve been lacking since we showed Atley, McMillan and co the door.
For us to be a good team, ideally a good VFL team and players 18-30 on our list being interchangeable parts in a system, is the go.

The obsession posters have with say WiPhi or Lazz making it or not, is not what matters. If their presence pushes say a Powell to another level, sets training standards, competition and perform in VFL and AFL when required, is.

It is no different with say Paul Curtis and Cooper Harvey. Harvey might do a Mitch Marsh.

We’d go a long way to improving if the likes of Kal Dawson, Lazz & Tucker all step up and become reliable and dependable AFL footballers. It’s that sort of reliable depth that we’ve been lacking since we showed Atley, McMillan and co the door.

Definitely. Tucker is a neat kick, doesn’t waste it. Just hasn’t got enough footy so far, if he could add another 5-10 possessions to his game that would be great.

Training Training reports 2024