Roast Training standards / skills and fitness

We have the smallest midfield. Actually dont understand what we do at training.

Swans have a small midfield.

Problem is we don't apply pressure and players drop their heads.

Also the fitness regime of the off-season was to run marathons it seems and no one got in the gym.

We recruited runners too.

Meanwhile the competition moved away from running up and down the ground and shifted towards applying heaps of pressure with bigger bodies.

The game will change again but the program was behind the curve and that is a collective failure of the football department and you do wonder if the players are demoralized because of it but I nonetheless still blame them because dropping your head like they do is crap.

Anyway we need to be ahead of the curve and get everyone on the same page. I don't think mass sackings gets us anywhere.

Swans have a small midfield.

Problem is we don't apply pressure and players drop their heads.

Also the fitness regime of the off-season was to run marathons it seems and no one got in the gym.

We recruited runners too.

Meanwhile the competition moved away from running up and down the ground and shifted towards applying heaps of pressure with bigger bodies.

The game will change again but the program was behind the curve and that is a collective failure of the football department and you do wonder if the players are demoralized because of it but I nonetheless still blame them because dropping your head like they do is crap.

Anyway we need to be ahead of the curve and get everyone on the same page. I don't think mass sackings gets us anywhere.

Superb post. Nailed the current game style and what we have at our disposal.

Who chooses or organises the training and gym regimes at our club anyways?

Before they got rid of player weights 🙄 I saw that we were the lightest and skinniest team in the afl by a mile.

I agree with the mindset being important but we all know the bigger and stronger you feel and look the more intensity and confidence in your application (tackling) because you know you’re not going to get pushed off and intimidated easily

I can’t imagine any team coming up against us rn and being worried that we’re going to be too strong lol we can barely take a contested mark this year as we get pushed out so so easy

Many years ago I was watching a doco on the NBA, not that I give a shite about basketball, but I have an interest in basket cases it would so seem.

This lovely chap was talking about the main aim is to remain on the roster, ensures great money without needing to play. Now we haven't reached those levels.

But take LDU, who hasn't really got the best out of himself, but will command a mil per season in 2026. Which would suggest whatever he's doing is clearly enough.

Stephenson, getting 700k to play VFL, hardly a hard luck story.

So some clubs may well be able to demand 100% effort, others will be there to ensure the players have a good life once they get the arse after 4/5 years.
You could go one further The acurate one and check out the Carlos Kaiser story …

Dear Clarko and everyone else at our club.

No more soft bullshit and excuses for our mediocre fitness and physical development. We need all the boys bringing their mouth-guards to training and the gym this preseason.

Enough is enough and frankly its been a issue for nearly 20 years now.

Training standards are obviously low and soft. That’s why the midfield gets out hustled every week we’re not versing a top 8 side and the forwards can’t create seperation.

It’s all laying bare for us to see. Cut the crap you trained hard. No you didn’t.

Training standards are obviously low and soft. That’s why the midfield gets out hustled every week we’re not versing a top 8 side and the forwards can’t create seperation.

It’s all laying bare for us to see. Cut the crap you trained hard. No you didn’t.

Our standards are wayyyy behind

Yeah I thought he played for North. A fascinating story. I did look into it . There’s a doco from memory
Haven’t seen the doco but did catch an interview with the people behind it. Sounds like an interesting cat.
Getting a red card in the tunnel to avoid having to actually play was a highlight.
He somehow managed to be signed by numerous big clubs by pretending to be a footballer. So he enjoyed all the side-benefits of being a professional player without having to perform on field… kinda like quite a few on our list 😳😬

Strength. Skills. Fitness. Those three words need to be painted Life of Brian style all over the walls of Arden.

We are going to continue to regress as a footy club until this is fixed. We could have the best list and some awesome requirements / leadership and it wont move the needle.

We will continue to be bullied and left behind. No club is scared of playing us and we are no where near being a threat lol

We are also twigs, and get beaten around so easily forward and in the middle
This^

Look at virtually every player who has been on our list 3+ years & tell me who has put on noticible size.

One of the commentators actually mentioned something along the line that most of the Hawks players look hard & fit eg Newcombe, Moore, Worpel looked ripped & even Ginivan is the fittest & strongest he's been.

It's no coincidence that the players who commit to a dedicated off season & pre season have the best years.....

This^

Look at virtually every player who has been on our list 3+ years & tell me who has put on noticible size.

One of the commentators actually mentioned something along the line that most of the Hawks players look hard & fit eg Newcombe, Moore, Worpel looked ripped & even Ginivan is the fittest & strongest he's been.

It's no coincidence that the players who commit to a dedicated off season & pre season have the best years.....

Who is in charge of our weights training?

Not only that, we are all allowed to just coast and be skinny athletes around the gym. At hawks, if you are a player, you see your mate get bigger over the preseason or put on size, its contagious. Its this competitive nature of "Stuff this, now i feel and look small! Look how strong he is" no one wants to be outdone by a young kid coming in and looking fit and strong when you've been at the club for 5 years or more. That should be embarrassing IMO.

We cant even be competitive on the field so its no wonder we got no banter nor everyone driving each other to hit the gym hard. We are just allowed to exist like this as we are so soft. Is it to protect our feelings? Lets not list the weight of the players in-case they get hurt or upset? Harden the **** up.

I would legit put all their weight measurement, their lifts and their progress on a huge whiteboard in front of the weights room, and make them feel guilty for not doing shit for the entire career LOL This includes the track and the footy field too BTW.

This^

It was noticeable looking at Kai Lohman from Lions. Not sure what draft he was but he's added some size to his arms, a few years ago he was linguini arms. Ginbey at Eagles another one.

bump, we are renown for having the worst culture in the comp.
What a ****ing shit idea that is. Thats not culture bound, its ****ing juvenile. Its pretend, make believe shit.

You know what ****ing culture is? I have your back if you have mine. THATS ****ing culture. You put in, i’ll ****ing do it too, You work harder, I’ll Work harder. Then at days end.. you’re not a bad bloke, lets have an ale.

Roast Training standards / skills and fitness