Training Training Thread 2023

No you're not.

I think that is now a given. The question is do we play another tall to support Goldy in the ruck. On current output, I'd rather have another mid option than a tall that doesn't impact much ie a Xerri, CCj, or Free.

But if I had to choose one it would be Free.
Free struggles to kick the footy. His set shot yesterday was embarrassing.

Mate he's in the side to kill some campaigner.

Preferably JHFF, I mean i don't really mean that, but yeah, if Free got 20 weeks for sending JHFF into orbit and having him doubt himself for the rest of his career at Poort, I'd suggest a good recruit was Free.

Agree with the sentiment around who impressed. A couple other things worth mentioning:

CCJ looked a different player. Was really pleasing to see him influence regardless of which side he played for. I just can’t help but think that Goldy & CCJ + Souv & Chom is the mix that gives us the most forward threat whilst not losing too much from a ruck perspective. X might just need to wait for Goldy to hang up the boots.

Perez is round 1 half back flank. Would have loved to see how Hall fitted in, but was very pleasing to see us have multiple exit paths from d50. Very pleased that Flynn is clearly in Clarksons plans.

I said it when we landed Grif, but he and McKay really could make the best KPD combo in the competition.
Tell 'em their dreamin' son.
I reckon it's Xerri first ruck, chopped out by Goldy who also goes forward when Comben needs a rest.

If there were another set of goals on the left of the goals then it still would have gone out on the full, it was a shank for the ages.

Mate he's in the side to kill some campaigner.

Preferably JHFF, I mean i don't really mean that, but yeah, if Free got 20 weeks for sending JHFF into orbit and having him doubt himself for the rest of his career at Poort, I'd suggest a good recruit was Free.
For maiming purposes, I’m all aboard the Free freight train.

I know what you're referring to. I'm saying that the fans all back him, and that that comment doesn't indicate that anyone, not even the writer of the comment, is turning on him. I was pathetic enough to have a look at the Port board, and it's all support for him and justification for why he'd be acting in that way
Sounds like most on here about 9 months ago!

Am l one out in thinking;
CHF - Larkey
FF - Comben

Just think Souv has the games / nous to be the lead up - Charlie the big mark.
I think other way around. Larkey is a dead eye inside 40. While I don't want Comben playing in the ruck, I thought he is valuable as a mobile big man around the ground.

Sounds like most on here about 9 months ago!
My thoughts exactly. But we didn't turn on him until all the shit started leaking out of the bag, and we could tangibly smell it. Even when he had a go at Goldy, a lot on here were dismissive with the rationale that 'he's a young bloke who likes to win and he's frustrated that he isn't winning.' Port fans will go through the exact same process should he show further signs of petulance. As problematic as he was with us, I don't think it'll be the same at Port. I think he'll be there for a good decade, with the odd behavioural blip, and most Port fans will ride the bumps rather than turn on him

I think other way around. Larkey is a dead eye inside 40. While I don't want Comben playing in the ruck, I thought he is valuable as a mobile big man around the ground.
I agree.

It would be nice for Larkey to get on his bike but his set shot is so accurate within 30-40m that it is too important to keep him inside 50. Comben has the ability to reproduce Waite's output. We need that strong marking option up the ground and I think Comben will definitely provide that.

My only issue with Comben is set shots. Didn't seem like he had a proper technique last season and I think it will or should've been addressed. Everything else is great though. Great hands, long kick and a smart forward. Interestingly enough Waite had issues with set shots at times during his early career at Carlton? Didn't seem to get into a rhythm but then became a more reliable shot for goal as his career progressed. By the time he got to us, he was kicking goals from everywhere.

Best thing if Comben can get continuity in the seniors it allows Larkey to stay deep forward instead of having to play both CHF and FF . Often we would go forward and Nick was too far up the ground so we had no talls at FF. Will help us greatly going forward.

Comben and Logue added into the bookends for a full season is a massive injection into the side

Yeah, just watching Logue play a half, I can't help but think between him and McKay (plus Corr) we have gone from one of the worst to one of the best key defensive setups in the League and hopefully sets us up for the next 10 years. Logues recruitment I think has knock on effects, particularly guys like Bonar, McDonald, and even Ziebell who were forced to play on bigger opponents. Bonar is one that really interests me this season with Logues arrival, it could really be the making of him using his athletic traits off half back. At the other end, with Comben and Larkey, I think what's important is the medium guys, Zurhaar, Curtis, Sheezel, possibly Ford, learn to crumb it rather than flying and getting in each others way.

Something small which I’ll be interested in seeing is Bonar being the third man up. Athletically gifted and getting free run at it?
I think he could win spuds golden fist award.

The knock on effects ,as you said ,are very important and will help us improve greatly in all areas.

Training Training Thread 2023