Training Training Thread 2023

Something small which I’ll be interested in seeing is Bonar being the third man up. Athletically gifted and getting free run at it?
I think he could win spuds golden fist award.
the issue is i reckon they will pick ziebell ahead of bonar just due to leadership as that 7th defender

This is where I'm at with rd 1 at this stage. Bonar the 7th defender, goater to replace the resting wingers, greenwood Powell the extra mids. And when goldy is resting I'd flick comben in ruck rather than play a 2nd ruck. I think the 2 talls and zurhaar is more than enough fire-power with the likes or PC as another marking option. Stevo doesn't look best 22 right now but could be a handy sub.

I'd wait on tucker and Taylor untill they cherry ripe, and hopefully the warlord mayhe round 5ish. Perez maybe instead of hall, depends on his conditioning I guess.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20230220_081956_Samsung Notes.jpg
    Screenshot_20230220_081956_Samsung Notes.jpg
    88.1 KB · Views: 134

the issue is i reckon they will pick ziebell ahead of bonar just due to leadership as that 7th defender

Says a lot if you have a Captain in the backline but need someone else for leadership. The game on the weekend solidified for me that Jack should be way down the pecking order in the back half and Bonar looked good defending and had a better attacking game, although still needs to be more aggressive.

Jack was at his best when he played loose but I would much prefer someone more athletically gifted to have that role.

Still think we look a little slow all over the ground.

Says a lot if you have a Captain in the backline but need someone else for leadership. The game on the weekend solidified for me that Jack should be way down the pecking order in the back half and Bonar looked good defending and had a better attacking game, although still needs to be more aggressive.

Jack was at his best when he played loose but I would much prefer someone more athletically gifted to have that role.

more so as well out of respect to jack i think they will start him in the seniors

Either of those players are moot for R1 v West Coast. Who will play on Liam Ryan ? Ziebell or Bonar looks suicidal to me. Have to have someone quick back there to take him otherwise he will do as he likes. Archer ?

I’d love for them to give ownership to McKay, let him develop his voice rather then going to same route as previous.
He’s 25, it’s time to pass on the torch

Voice ain't his strong suit and not sure it ever will be.
It certainly won’t be if he’s in the shadow of someone else.

Sometimes you just have to push the person into an uncomfortable position and say, you’re it.
People never cease to surprise when they’ve been given ownership of the issue.

Personally if Jack is playing I would have him as a pinch hitting forward . We can’t have his inconsistent disposal down back it’s too costly.
I'm more worried about his defensive (in)ability. Even in the practice game, he was taking out his team mates / flying for balls as third man up without making any impact on the contest.

Either of those players are moot for R1 v West Coast. Who will play on Liam Ryan ? Ziebell or Bonar looks suicidal to me. Have to have someone quick back there to take him otherwise he will do as he likes. Archer ?

It is a big hole for us. Same with small forward. Can't see anyone on the list that would be a great fit just yet.

Mate he's in the side to kill some campaigner.

Preferably JHFF, I mean i don't really mean that, but yeah, if Free got 20 weeks for sending JHFF into orbit and having him doubt himself for the rest of his career at Poort, I'd suggest a good recruit was Free.

So we’ve brought him in as a hired assassin? Makes sense after watching him try to kick a footy. Mason Cox would’ve looked better 5 mins after getting off the plane.

Training Training Thread 2023