Training Training Thread 2023

I know 2022 was hard on all of us, but…

View attachment 1558165

Old mate looks five years older than the last time I saw him!
So great to see the Goat out there. Just has this look about him that screams STAR!.
As noted he looks older, and he's already filling out into a big body for a kid his age.
Speed, skills, vision, height, endurance and X-factor. Looks like he'll be a tough bugger as well.
So excited to see what he'll bring in 2023 under Clarko.

Didn't people say Powell had put weight on last pre-season and yet he still looked like a praying mantis when the games rolled around. Has he actually put on any size this time? He's definitely someone that's gone under the radar with his injury issues and Judas kerfuffle. Could be a surprise packet.

Ppl say everyone has put on size after a few photos day 1 😅 but it seems every other clubs players always look bigger

So great to see the Goat out there. Just has this look about him that screams STAR!.
As noted he looks older, and he's already filling out into a big body for a kid his age.
Speed, skills, vision, height, endurance and X-factor. Looks like he'll be a tough bugger as well.
So excited to see what he'll bring in 2023 under Clarko.
I still can't believe he was held back until the last game of the season. It was good that we at least got to see him in that game and I am sure his performance has not escaped Clarko's attention.

Was due to lack of defensive pressure, so yeah, certainly rated him internally. They thought Bergman was better defensively hence him getting the earlier call up.

oh well.

dfKHY6Xc.jpg

I wonder if Al has had 'the chat' yet? As in "Ziebs, you are playing twos if you are not up to it."

dfKHY6Xc.jpg

I wonder if Al has had 'the chat' yet? As in "Ziebs, you are playing twos if you are not up to it."
Going to be fascinating to see what Clarko does with Jack, there is no way he's best 22.

Does he make the call at some point during preseason or does he let him play the first couple of games so that everyone can see he's not up to and then drop him?

Going to be fascinating to see what Clarko does with Jack, there is no way he's best 22.

Does he make the call at some point during preseason or does he let him play the first couple of games so that everyone can see he's not up to and then drop him?
Jack you’re off the leash, go and hurt some people.

After slacking off on the repercussions for incidental contact to the head you just know when Jack bumps someone the AFL will do an about face, make him a scapegoat and suspend him for 16 games.

dfKHY6Xc.jpg

I reckon it's just part of his introduction to everyone individually:

"Hey, Alastair, everyone earns their spot in the 22 or plays vfl, nice to meet you."

Diligent workout regime fires Archer, duo impress defender​

Young defender Jackson Archer says that his impressive shuttle run effort was a result of his extra off-season activity.

First-to-fourth-year players, as well as several experienced Roos, returned to training on Monday morning and it was Archer who finished ahead of the pack in the 1.8km run.

"I just put it down to coming into the club as much as I can," Archer told North Media.

"It was a group of us that pretty much just tried to come into the club most days, Monday, Wednesday and Friday (for) running and then on Tuesday and Thursday it was about a group of six to eight of us that would come in and do boxing with our boxing coach.

"I just try to work as hard as I can, so it was good to take out the time trial."

Archer managed three games in total in his debut season at Arden Street and displayed his fearless attack on the contest and the opposition in each of them.

The 19-year-old confirmed that starting the pre-season off strongly was a goal for him as he looks to add to his career games tally.

"Yeah definitely (it was a goal)," Archer said.

"(I) got a taste of AFL footy last year and loved every second of it and I'd love to playing some more games next year."

In his official return to training, Archer also mentioned a couple of teammates that had caught his eye on day one.

"Jack Mahony is running really well and he's looked good with his skills," Archer said.

"Tarryn Thomas barely missed a target all day (on Monday), so he was impressive too.

Diligent workout regime fires Archer, duo impress defender​

Young defender Jackson Archer says that his impressive shuttle run effort was a result of his extra off-season activity.

First-to-fourth-year players, as well as several experienced Roos, returned to training on Monday morning and it was Archer who finished ahead of the pack in the 1.8km run.

"I just put it down to coming into the club as much as I can," Archer told North Media.

"It was a group of us that pretty much just tried to come into the club most days, Monday, Wednesday and Friday (for) running and then on Tuesday and Thursday it was about a group of six to eight of us that would come in and do boxing with our boxing coach.

"I just try to work as hard as I can, so it was good to take out the time trial."

Archer managed three games in total in his debut season at Arden Street and displayed his fearless attack on the contest and the opposition in each of them.

The 19-year-old confirmed that starting the pre-season off strongly was a goal for him as he looks to add to his career games tally.

"Yeah definitely (it was a goal)," Archer said.

"(I) got a taste of AFL footy last year and loved every second of it and I'd love to playing some more games next year."

In his official return to training, Archer also mentioned a couple of teammates that had caught his eye on day one.

"Jack Mahony is running really well and he's looked good with his skills," Archer said.

"Tarryn Thomas barely missed a target all day (on Monday), so he was impressive too.
I’m going to laugh so hard if he ends up becoming a wing, Scott on one, Arch on the other.

I’m so out of whack with the last few months’ saga that I forgot that pre season is more than one day.

I was so pleased to see them out there with Clarko yesterday that I had a moment of thinking “that was so cool, I wonder when I’ll get a chance to see that again”

😂

I know this isnt a popular opinion, but he was pretty useless forward and id rather him down back. In saying that, there is no room for him down there now.

Training Training Thread 2023