Travis Cloke

I would think based on his form over the last month, or longer, this will now become the bargaining chip. This will allow more teams to get involved, because clearly he isn't worth anywhere near what he's asking.

But, some of the opinions here are right in saying we'd be negligent if we at least didn't explore the option. However I'd still hope we don't take him. The Cloke family will still ask for overs........

David would probably make us sign his two dud footballer sons as well...

Yes indeed a tough one to gauge. Lets face it, the majority of the no's are more to do with his old man, rather than what Travis can do on the field. I for one wouldn't die wondering and would love to have a CHF of that calibre in yellow and black. Where we draw the bar in terms of $$$ is up to the brains trust. At the end of the day, its as plain as this. In Travis, out ****ed up dysfunctional FL. Into September we march. Its as simple as that. We have fallen short this year on the back of injuries and the recurring nightmare that has been our FL. And that includes when Ty was in it.
Even taking into account Ty back and burning it up, if that were to be the case and we also had Cloke presenting and clunking mark after mark, tipping we might up the ante in terms of finishing position and look somewhat higher.

Personally I'd prefer Roughead but Cloke could be huge. Still in his prime for another few years, and while his worst is not that good his best is phenomenal. Would love to see a backline trying to double team both Cloke and Riewoldt, with potentially Maric or Vickery resting down there as well.

I know there could be a lot of bs with his father, but once the contract is signed then he doesn't need to be seen or heard. Actually, I think for most of Travis' career he has been mostly silent apart from contract time, so if we got him on four or five years we would not have too much to worry about for three or four years. By that time if Cloke wanted a new contract he'll have either proven himself worth all the money (and hopefully have helped to deliver a premiership) or not (and then he gets a much reduced offer for his twilight years, if one at all).

Monster KPP players are rare to come by, and because of this all clubs will always be trying hard to keep the ones they have. We might say pass on Cloke thinking we'll get one next year but we just don't know who, if anyone, would be available.

I guess $$$ is the big issue, and I think we'd be silly to offer more than the rumored amount the Pies have already laid on the table, so very unlikely anyway.

I'm not so much stressed about Cloke senior and not even about the $$$$$ in the first year or two... it's the likely length of the contract that they would probably want that I don't like at all.

His best footy may well be behind him... do we know that it isn't?

I'll pass, too money hungry. Has had one good year. I agree with grant Thomas on this one... Overrated.
Didn't someone from the club rule it out a few weeks back?
Yes Brendon Lade at the cairns function ruled it out. I was quite surprised to hear we are in the hunt this morning.

Only thing that would worry me is Eddie. He would do all he can to destroy our club..

come on FFS, its the business of footy, its not a schoolyard footy match where kids throw tantrums. Its a professional sport and by and large if it got watered down to the pits where "Eddie" got that upset and actually wanted to do all he could. Well I will say this, Benny will be ready and waiting right across the road from Swan St, with the ME bank center, a VFL team playing at its newly turfed home ground, 50K+ members and an emerging ****ing senior team with a tigerarmy flooding the G. So yeah let Eddie do all he can if thats the case.

Article in yesterdays age made it sound like money wasn't the major issue (cant be effed finding the quote) so it sounds like contract length. He wants five years and that would be his last and only contract with us. So no worries with Cloke senior causing this sort of ruckus at the next contract time as there will not be a renegotiation. If he takes a 5yr contract at $700k per year I'd go it. That might even leave enough space to get Goddard as well.

we are still reeling from the clokes first visit and exit from our club, david left when captain and started the rot we have been through for the last 30 years
i would rather not

He would certainly give us a formidable forward line..Jack ,Vickery,Cloke,would be very hard to contain..but i do worry about his fathers influence on the club..if we did take him sign him for the long haul so we dont have to worry about contract crap taking the focus off what the club is trying to achieve.. i dont think it would hurt to at least have a look at him . :)

I dont really understand what all this "father's influence" is all about. At the end of the day its an old man wanting what's best for his son's future and for that matter the family's. Right now its getting a contract signed that suits. After that, what influence can he have? His son will be on top money, future life after footy secure, job done, just sit and watch from now on. What do we all expect? 5 years down the track that he will rise up again and demand another 5 year contract for a mill a year? Tipping even if it were remotely possible that it happened, if it came to him wanting a mill a year for 5, after this contract, tipping that we would have won a flag on the back of a ****ing awesome CHF who now commanded a mill a year...

What is a Premiership worth?

Cloke wouldn't necessarily guarantee a flag, but if the powers to be thought he could increase the odds by a large percentage it would be something they should seriously look into.

Even if we gave him 5 years knowing the last two might be ordinary, and he wouldnt be worth the dosh, but the first and second years he helps get us into the 8, then top 4, then the third year at least make a GF, then surely that would be worth it. The extra revenue alone would pay his wages, and yes i know we only have so much to go around, but look at the Cats players, they took success over cash.

Also we did give Lids a 5 year contract so a precedent has been set.

From todays Hun

Richmond's head of football Craig Cameron last night said his club had not made an approach for Cloke, but yesterday's decision would prompt discussion.

"We are duty bound to investigate all options," Cameron said.

Not allot in it, but they haven't entirely ruled it out.

I think the Cloke family has had it's time at the RFC and while sure, "due diligence" says always look at every option, I don't think a 5 year deal + the money he's after would be money well spent on him.

Cameron says "duty bound to look at it" but I'd be surprised if anyone at RFC has even spoken it out loud.

My read on the situation is that the Clokes are acting a bit like mercenaries, and that is their right to do so. But I don't like the idea of putting a lot of resources into recruiting that kind of person. You will generally have to pay overs to get them, and then it's hard to gauge if you really will get value for money.

I'd much rather our funds were used when someone is ready to move clubs for other reasons. Eg. go home factor, club treating them like shit, etc. I think your chances of getting value for money are much better, and you can be a bit more confident of adding a person of quality character.

My read on the situation is that the Clokes are acting a bit like mercenaries, and that is their right to do so. But I don't like the idea of putting a lot of resources into recruiting that kind of person. You will generally have to pay overs to get them, and then it's hard to gauge if you really will get value for money.

I'd much rather our funds were used when someone is ready to move clubs for other reasons. Eg. go home factor, club treating them like shit, etc. I think your chances of getting value for money are much better, and you can be a bit more confident of adding a person of quality character.

With all due respect its not that hard to gauge if we get value for money. It inevitably will have a flow on effect, re. sponsors wanting in, since it ultimately gets more media spotlight, more members wanting i and crowds up, based on improved team performance, etc etc...tipping that at least half, if not more of his salary will be covered by increases in sponsorship and member numbers. The flow on effect financially aint the issue IMO. And I am confident that blind freddy can understand what Travis's inclusion to this list would have on our team performances. Why? tipping we are in a log jam to knock on his door and that door has Eddie standing in front of it, hanging on for dear life. So you can understand that its not a pie in the sky attempt to recruit an unknown quantity.

We should absolutely go after him.

Imagine Jack and Cloke in the forward line?

In reality how many players on our list would be commanding $350,000.00+/year? I reckon Cotchin, Deledio, Riewoldt, Foley and Newman (with half of it to be paid by the AFL next year as he will be a vet.) That leaves alot of space in our salary cap.

Front end Cloke a deal worth say 4 mil of five years. By that stage our second tier players like Conca, Maric, Rance, Vickery, Ellis, Grimes, etc will be after the larger coin.

Travis Cloke