Travis Johnstone a lion!

Best of luck with the boy - after nearly 10 years with the club, he will welcome a new bit of land to run off.

He will add some good extra experience, but hope he can put in a consistent effort like a few years back.

An astute pick up IMO....probably planning for a tilt at the premiership in 2009/10 where our team will be choc full of 100 gamers and only losing Lappin to "age issues" :thumbsu:

As good as anyone in the AFL over 50m and can break games open with his precise kicking. Midfields win games of footy these days; ours is coming along quite nicely:

Black
Power
Lappin
Adcock
Johnstone
Selwood

........and a host of players who can rotate through ;)

wow certainly didnt expect johnstone at brisbane :O really hope he is another martin pike :D

not happy at all wood going to collingwood :(

pick 14 even though this isnt supposed to be a deep draft like last season is still alot to pay for a 27 yr old

lets hope that johnstone will be worth pick 14 and more :D

wonder what number he will be? seeing clark is number 1

I don't reckon he'll be able to keep his number 16

Good luck with him you guys. He was always the type of player who you'd think if he went to another club he'd dominate. I seriosly think he is going to be more than capable of getting a couple of all aus jumpers with you. Its sad for us but probably better in the long run. Good luck your my 2nd fav team with Borwny

Thanks mate, we'll take care of him. :thumbsu:

good luck with TJ, I hate to say it but I think he'll do more in the Lions team than if he'd stayed with us. He needs a change and a hard arse coach.

He is awesome, and you'll all know why next year. Great pick up for the lions, you'll all understand why he was a fav at the Dees even though he never consistantly performed the way we know he can.

Those that go on about his off-field problems really have no idea about the bloke. Please tell us about his problems?

Although I hate to see him go, all the best jonno, show 'em what you've got!

good luck with TJ, I hate to say it but I think he'll do more in the Lions team than if he'd stayed with us. He needs a change and a hard arse coach.

He is awesome, and you'll all know why next year. Great pick up for the lions, you'll all understand why he was a fav at the Dees even though he never consistantly performed the way we know he can.

Those that go on about his off-field problems really have no idea about the bloke. Please tell us about his problems?

Although I hate to see him go, all the best jonno, show 'em what you've got!

Wasn't he down to play a Andrew MacLeod type roll this year? If so does that mean he's lost a step or so?

heyy guys.
good luck with TJ, hes a great player and if leigh can really get him in to line and increase his work ethic you will have one of the best middies in the league.
i just dont know why we didnt get pick 11 off sydney for him?? apparently it was offered and we took 14 instead?? anyway im happy he's a lion..
good luck TJ!

I can only reiterate what other MFC supporters have said. Good pick up for you guys. I'm sure Leigh will get the most out of TJ.

Hopefully with Normy's silky kicking skills he can do some work with Mitch to show him how it's done!

Imagine Browny's receives with Normy coming down the wing and centre? :thumbsu:

Yep. Expecting the commentators to call 'Johnstone hits Brown on the chest' a fair bit next year.

Let's just hope Johnstone can bring his 'A' game up to Brisbane.
I was thinking about this. I reckon we've already got about 38 blokes who know how to deliver the ball the Browny. The big advantage of a player like Johnstone is that we now have someone who'll actually be able to ignore the Brown lead and spot up the other targets.

By the way, I wonder how big a factor Johnstone's Fitzroy connection was? Was that a reason why the Lions were interested in him or is it just a coincidence?

Yes - Fitzroy supporter as a kid
Yes - His Grandpa was the Fitzroy TOC legend - Normie Johnstone - i think played 244 games or something.
Jumper Number Prediction - Like someone else said, i am going 4 as my tip.

Travis Johnstone a lion!