Trouble in Demonland

Nothing to see here, move along.

No cheap swipes this time Morgoth?

It's the kick up the arse the club needed, no doubt about that. We have things in place but they won't kick in for a few years yet (Olympic Park etc.) and we need to put the front food forward instead of blowing hot air as we usually do.

If we can't listen to a frank assessment like this and make every effort to turn it around, well.... I don't want to think about what can happen.

See the post above you for one option of what might happen. And thats not worst case scenario by a long stretch

I don't see the AFL making a team in Tasmania, not in the near future anyway. They have given us a kick up the arse to see if we can turn it around and, if it doesn't happen or look like happening, then we are screwed. Maybe then Tasmania will come on the radar, maybe it won't. I'm not looking at alternatives, I'd rather look at what the club can do to turn it around. The ship hasn't sunk yet.

I doubt they will go below the current number of teams, unless of course the TV networks actually wanted less games to show. Why do you have no doubt?

Just my opinion.

14 teams would equal a 26 round season with a return to a 6 team finals scenario.

I think the ideal demographic based purely upon a financial basis would be two sides in W.A., S.A., N.S.W., Qld., five in Vic and one in Tasmania.

Seven clubs in Melbourne seems a little too high based upon that distribution.

I think if they go to an 18 team competition then all ten clubs will remain in Melbourne.

No cheap swipes this time Morgoth?

It's the kick up the arse the club needed, no doubt about that. We have things in place but they won't kick in for a few years yet (Olympic Park etc.) and we need to put the front food forward instead of blowing hot air as we usually do.

If we can't listen to a frank assessment like this and make every effort to turn it around, well.... I don't want to think about what can happen.

Mate it has all been said. The only new piece of info out of this was the fact the AFL and MCC will heavily reduce funding at a time when you really need it (re-building on field). Whilst you might be moving to OP, the rent will be huge (if ours is anything to go by) and it has to be fitted out. The drop in funding has to be a major concern.

Not a good time to allow the AFL to have you over a barrell. The other final comment that was interesing was the AFL 'taking over' your Chinese experiment.

Just my opinion.

14 teams would equal a 26 round season with a return to a 6 team finals scenario.

I think the ideal demographic based purely upon a financial basis would be two sides in W.A., S.A., N.S.W., Qld., five in Vic and one in Tasmania.

Seven clubs in Melbourne seems a little too high based upon that distribution.

I think if they go to an 18 team competition then all ten clubs will remain in Melbourne.

I personally think a 16 team comp is a good balance. I also think the AFL believes that. I also think that 10 clubs in Vic is too many in a 16 team comp. I think the AFL knows that, but is also aware that clubs, by nature, are a bit unwilling to merge or relocate.

Would teams really be interested in dropping down to the VFL?

I can safely state that the majority of North people I spoke to about this would support a stand alone North VFL club complete with it's Jumper, song, history, premiership cups, Arden Street ground etc., way before they would support a merged or relocated entity.

IMHO a merged or relocated North would only attract ~ 10% of the current supporter base and many existing supporters would simply walk away from the game altogether.

My family and I would personally throw our support behind the Melbourne Victory.

One difference we have compared with other recently relocated/merged and troubled clubs is that most North supporters have actually seen the ultimate glory at their club.

I believe this was a major reason behind any Victorian based Sydney and Brisbane F.C. interest in recent years.

Things don't happen by coincidence in the world of AFL media and propoganda.

I have no doubt that behind the scenes the AFL is negotiating with Tasmania over a license. The AFL needs an even amount of sides to maximise revenue. They are committed to the Gold Coast and Western Sydney meaning if a Victorian club goes under there will be an odd number of teams.

In this situation it makes sense for a new license to be granted. The AFL getting a government to back a team is a major bonus. I suspect that behind the scenes the AFL and Tasmania are working towards a license in the event that a merger or a team goes under. Tasmania would be there to take over immediately and could at short notice. I suspect there is every chance that one of the Bulldogs, Kangaroos or Demons goes under in the next five years.

The AFL being hard to get is probably just a negotiating the best package they can get from the government in terms of finance, stadium upgrades, conditions etc.

I just wish the club would come out and admit to the crisis. Now more bullshit from Gardner. North did (or were forced to) and look at what happened to them. Even if it's just a bit of temporary momentum, it's better than nothing.

Are there actually any quotes from the AFL in that piece of tripe, it just appears to be the usual Caro "it is understood..." rubbish.

Just because you don't like what she says most of the time, doesn't mean it is all tripe! I think many AFL and club insiders use Caro as a way to get the message out because they know that she won't sugar coat it!
She puts a lot of noses out of joint as a result but IMHO does deserve some respect for that reason alone.You don't get to be a chief sports writer by making crap up.....no matter what anyone says.

Just because you don't like what she says most of the time, doesn't mean it is all tripe! I think many AFL and club insiders use Caro as a way to get the message out because they know that she won't sugar coat it!
She puts a lot of noses out of joint as a result but IMHO does deserve some respect for that reason alone.You don't get to be a chief sports writer by making crap up.....no matter what anyone says.

Oh yes you do!

As reported on the North board:

From The Pulse / Daryl Timms in Herald Sun Thursday 17th April-

BRAYSHAW STAYS TRUE TO CALL OF DUTY

It WAS The Pulse that first alerted people to the logistical problems of James Brayshaw this season as he attempts to balance football-calling duties with those of North Melbourne chairman.

And it was The Pulse that commended him on his unbiased call on Triple M of the Round 3 North v Hawthorn game.

Yet some haven't been as understanding towards Brayshaw, who last year saved North from being placed under AFL control on the Gold Coast.

One journalist claims to have spoken to someone from Triple M, who told her Brayshaw would have been granted leave to attend the weekend's Roos-Melbourne game had he asked, instead of having to call the Geelong-St.Kilda game at Tesltra Dome at the same time.

"That is a total fabrication", Triple M boss Ben Amarfio said.
"She hasn't spoken to myself, she hasn't spoken to (Austreo national executive producer) Lee Simon.

She claims to have spoken to people at Triple M. I don't know who these people are, but the only two people who matter in this instance, she hasn't spoken to," he said.

Brayshaw said this week he had declared his radio commitments to North staff and supporters, and that he would not have taken the role of chairman had anyone felt there was a conflict of interest.

Magnificent work once again by our new administration in shooting down malicious and untrue reporting.

Fancy the same woman who said that Adam Simpson told her that all of our players wanted to go to the Gold Coast, poor woman must be developing a hearing problem.

Exactly. A lot of insiders at all clubs use their friends in the media. She is not alone here.Some HUN journos get good information as well from the inside.

Oh yes you do!

As reported on the North board:

:confused:WHAT? I don't think that a denial by 2 people necessarily means that she didn't speak to either of them. Perhaps Lee Simon told Ben Amarfio that he didn't speak to her to save his arse? Have you ever told one person something confidential and had to deny it to someone else who's nose you have put out of joint???

Start getting your head around this now. There will be a merged club from Melbourne and will be called the Melbourne Kangaroos.

It's just so obvious.

We have a Perth Demons already with the same colours. They (melb) could slip straight in and target the Perth inner suburbs. Move West Coast north to Joondalup, leave Freo with the south. The toaster would probably get all hot because the think they have some sought of ownership of Subi but all that will change anyway once the new stadium is built. 3 teams out of WA would be a good thing.

Instead of moving west coast north, why not just dees out of joon?? Falcons. Same colours also.

Wont happen though. Surely if it does come down to relocation it is tassies in. There govt will throug money at it. The distance is more bareable for current supporters. However will they be followed?? I think a new team is tassie is more likely to "steal" supporters from there current team than an established one. So I think merger creating a spot for tassie is most likely. Possible Melbourne Kangaroos. But there is so much water to go under the bridge.

If Melbourne where 4-0 would this have come up??

:confused:WHAT? I don't think that a denial by 2 people necessarily means that she didn't speak to either of them. Perhaps Lee Simon told Ben Amarfio that he didn't speak to her to save his arse? Have you ever told one person something confidential and had to deny it to someone else who's nose you have put out of joint???

You automatically assume two people are lying and one person isn't.

Fair dinkum, I give up.

Start getting your head around this now. There will be a merged club from Melbourne and will be called the Melbourne Kangaroos.

It's just so obvious.
It's the logical solution to these financial issues but since when has logic had anything to do with footy and people's passion for their club. Melbourne fans know, or at least should know, that without a merger or a relocation their club is doomed to long term mediocrity, living off welfare payments from the AFL, and the Roos are in the same position whether they want to believe that or not. But its passion that builds a football club and makes it what it is. That can not be denied and I'm betting the fans of these clubs would prefer to passionately support their financially unstable clubs as they stand today then supporter a merge entity that's financially sound but has lost the history, culture and tradition that made Melbourne and North what they were.

PS: Why do these sorts of stories always pop up when a club is struggling on field and then die away when the club starts winning again? Surely the finances of the club, especially a club like North or the Dees, aren't going to improve from one week to the next just because they've won a game or two?

We have a Perth Demons already with the same colours. They (melb) could slip straight in and target the Perth inner suburbs. Move West Coast north to Joondalup, leave Freo with the south. The toaster would probably get all hot because the think they have some sought of ownership of Subi but all that will change anyway once the new stadium is built. 3 teams out of WA would be a good thing.

Currently West Coast draws supporters from all areas of Perth, including Fremantle (a suburb in Perth). You can't move the Eagles, theres nothing to move, they are omnipresent. I live in a suburb in the South and barely know a dockers supporter at all. The same goes for the dockers really, they may be called Fremantle, but its just a name, they draw supporters from the inner city suburbs and north of the river suburbs just as much as the South. I don't have a problem with another team in Perth, but it doesnt require anybody moving anywhere at all. People will support the new team regardless of which part of Perth they live in if the team markets itself well.

However if you want to get supporter for a new team, dont move a Melbourne club to Perth, will put people righ off!

Instead of moving west coast north, why not just dees out of joon?? Falcons. Same colours also.

Wont happen though. Surely if it does come down to relocation it is tassies in. There govt will throug money at it. The distance is more bareable for current supporters. However will they be followed?? I think a new team is tassie is more likely to "steal" supporters from there current team than an established one. So I think merger creating a spot for tassie is most likely. Possible Melbourne Kangaroos. But there is so much water to go under the bridge.

If Melbourne where 4-0 would this have come up??

I doubt we would have another team in the West for sometime. The next team has to be named the Perth....whatever. By using the Perth Demons neither the WCE or Freo can register the name to block it's use. It would just be a matter of getting the Football Commission to allow it's use.

Myth or fact I heard the toasters registered all soughts of names to block Freo from using them. One of the reason we finished up being the Dockers.

Trouble in Demonland