Banter TRTT Part 14: 2022 Goodbye (To 2023)

If you're getting into the water, pretty much anywhere round the Aus coast, you have to be taking into account the risk of sharks. I'm somewhat terrified of them

It's a bit of an heartless comment though tbf. Anytime there's a road fatality we should hit up the forums with "Hey if you're going to get behind the wheel..." Seeing road deaths are what 50x more common 🤷🏼‍♂️
It is pretty hard to avoid being on the road.

I reckon the last time I swam at the beach was Gold Coast over a decade ago and massive black shadows were darting underneath me as I dove under each big wave.

Was saying to myself it's seaweed... it's seaweed

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
Went snorkeling with Fur Seals amongst the kelp forests off Kaikoura NZ a few years back
All I could think of was the Jaws theme

This was an almost Janus tier post. I should have scrolled past without reading like it do his.

I’m not sure what my post has in common with Janus posts.

Every time there’s a shark attack there’s the same comment. It’s such a weird thing to say. I think people say it cause they’ve heard it and it’s stuck in the zeitgeist but don’t really think about how dumb a comment it is.

Who is it aimed at? The people who don’t know there’s sharks in the water?

Why don’t we say the same when footballers get paralysed on the footy field?

“Well that’s why you shouldn’t get on a footy field” comments after some dude gets his spine snapped

I’m not saying you’re a horrible bloke lol. It’s just a really bizarre saying that has made its way into our general vocab that doesn’t make sense when you think about it.

I don’t find it offensive, I find it bizarre.

I mean it's a little different because in nature, the animal kingdom, the water is not human territory. It is still belonging to the predators like sharks. You are going in to hostile territory where you are prey, so it doesn't fly with many analogies above like traffic accidents.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

Are the Zinc Lakes as appealing as they sound.
Everyone loves the zinc lakes, going to feed the ducks.

I went and checked that place out today for sobrave I had a gander over the back fence, it looks like it comes with a free selection of shopping trolleys and suitcases that aren't on the ad. It's close to the servo too so that's a bonus, they just knocked out a brand new OTR across the road on the old BP site where my HQ used to go for 40 years. It outlasted the mechanic who worked on it, RIP Peter.

I mean it's a little different because in nature, the animal kingdom, the water is not human territory. It is still belonging to the predators like sharks. You are going in to hostile territory where you are prey, so it doesn't fly with many analogies above like traffic accidents.

That explains why people may say it, but it doesn’t mean it makes any sense.

Track the logic…

water = not human territory so tuff luck keep your ass out of the ocean but 20,000 feet in the air in a giant metal bird, 200 m up in a metal and concrete box, and hurtling 100kms down a highway are totally natural human environments?

There’s just holes everywhere whichever way you look at it.

That explains why people may say it, but it doesn’t mean it makes any sense.

Track the logic…

water = not human territory so tuff luck keep your ass out of the ocean but 20,000 feet in the air in a giant metal bird, 200 m up in a metal and concrete box, and hurtling 100kms down a highway are totally natural human environments?

There’s just holes everywhere whichever way you look at it.

In how many of those situations are humans being killed by predatory animals? I enjoy that to some extent human society isn't aiming for complete dominance over everything, some sort of equilibrium remains in place somewhere.

And you do see the same sort of thing whenever there's some sort of beachside disaster and people lose homes on the coast. Oh, you take that risk living there, and they're wealthy enough to rebuild.

I’ll never get the “if you’re going to get in the water bruh” comments after shark attacks

Like who are you talking to?

people who claim sharks are a myth?

The people who think there isn’t sharks in the water? Or think all sharks should be killed entirely?

It’s a bloody weird comment that’s somehow become part of our vocab.

If a brick falls off a building and kills a pedestrian do they also go online and say, “well there’s buildings on the street fella”

Theres also a different reaction to a footballer getting hit and turned into a paraplegic versus a surfer getting taken by a shark. Like one knew the risks but the other was a horrible tragedy.

I’m scared shitless of sharks, I’ll still get in the water cause it’s fun, and the risk is low.

Reckon sugar and fats is gonna kill more of the guys posting on this forum than sharks.
true

but sugar and bad food do it slowly.

You're not chilling on the couch and your Twix rips your legs and midriff out and a Curly Wurly pops by and finishes u off.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

When someone dies of lung cancer lots of people say oh well when you're a smoking campaigner that's what happens.

Which is kind of fair enough. It follows that if you smoke all your life there's a pretty high chance it's gonna get you in the end.

Whereas being in the ocean, the chance of getting munched is still exceedingly low. And in the meantime you're doing something that's good for your body and health and (presumably) you enjoy.

People swimming or surfing a fair way out aren't unaware of sharks, they've just taken the chance that all of life involves calculated risk. Lots of people like climbing mountains or mountain biking which can also kill you.

Imo it's usually fat lazy campaigners who are scared of everything and won't do anything who go oh well you went outside, that's what happens! Me, I like to stay inside and drink me coke zeros and ham and cheese toasties where no harm can befall me.

When someone dies of lung cancer lots of people say oh well when you're a smoking campaigner that's what happens.

Which is kind of fair enough. It follows that if you smoke all your life there's a pretty high chance it's gonna get you in the end.

Whereas being in the ocean, the chance of getting munched is still exceedingly low. And in the meantime you're doing something that's good for your body and health and (presumably) you enjoy.

People swimming or surfing a fair way out aren't unaware of sharks, they've just taken the chance that all of life involves calculated risk. Lots of people like climbing mountains or mountain biking which can also kill you.

Imo it's usually fat lazy campaigners who are scared of everything and won't do anything who go oh well you went outside, that's what happens! Me, I like to stay inside and drink me coke zeros and ham and cheese toasties where no harm can befall me.
THE INFLUENCE OF THE HAM SANDWICH RACE IS WANING