Banter TRTT Part 15: David KOCH on Epstein List!!!11!!!!!!

How much does it cost for one quality cigar these days Papa G ? 30 bucks? lol

Jeezus no wonder there's a black market

A guy I work with was in Florida during the election and he paid US$9 so say AU$14 for a cigar (at a lounge where you can smoke it inside). Same one over here costs $58. We get absolutely ripped off no doubt about it.

Tobacco tax has been shown to be a regressive tax.

Government got greedy feeding off addiction and created a black market that they have no chance stopping

Every xmas I buy those cadbury jars of chocolate nuts for assorted idiots in my family & I reckon this year they are 50 to 80 grams smaller and cost more lol is that right? BLOODY ALBO!!

What's the best Christmas present you've received as an adult?

Im sick of small Chris cringles
Unless there is. Budget of 50/60+ I'm not interested

What's the best Christmas present you've received as an adult?

Im sick of small Chris cringles
Unless there is. Budget of 50/60+ I'm not interested
‘Er indoors gets me excellent gifts every year, it’s a nightmare as I’m nowhere near as good at them as she is.

A pack of darts and a can of beer at the local shop cost less than 5.50 euro in Greece. So like 9 bucks. The tax here is ****ing out of control.
The first thing I did on any Ryanair odyssey was go to the corner shop close to my hostel and buy a pack of Marlboro golds. Under $15AU every time. I don't even smoke darts normally but on holiday they don't count

It's as wasteful as the war on drugs. Wasting money on a fight that they have no chance of winning

It’s not quite the same.

They were winning the war on nicotine. New users had plummeted.

Then vapes came and ****ed it.

There's certain places you go, like footy/golf/bowling clubs or sometimes front bars during happy hour where a pint of proper old school draught beer costs around $7 and I just think to myself this is what a pint should cost. It feels about right. Unfortunately, now it's double digits for a pint in most places. HTF does a Uni student afford that? It's why most pubs these days are quasi restaurants.
This country is far too over regulated.

There's certain places you go, like footy/golf/bowling clubs or sometimes front bars during happy hour where a pint of proper old school draught beer costs around $7 and I just think to myself this is what a pint should cost. It feels about right. Unfortunately, now it's double digits for a pint in most places. HTF does a Uni student afford that? It's why most pubs these days are quasi restaurants.
The old solution still applies load up at Dans or wherever & get pissed with ya mates in a park or under the interchange bridge before you head into the city for the night lol.

Old man post but 10-15 years ago you could still find some great deals. There was a place near Hindmarsh Square I can’t even remember the name (Shapes maybe?) that sold schooners of Coopers Pale for $1. Try finding anything near that value today.

Is it over regulated or just pure greed by commercial landlords (and penalty rates) driving up prices so pubs have to chase bigger margins?

Genuine question here, not rhetorical

Pubs aren't used for drinking as much, the profit margin isn't there, and women wanting to frequent the same area as men meant they had to change the nature of the area for the client.

This added to the massive cost and value of real estate has changed things, as well as the market share of the big breweries.

Food makes more money, as do pokies. Customer expectations of good food, live music etc. etc. also blows out costs. There is also the expectation of 50 different beers and wines to be available, again increasing wastage and overheads.

Drinking at home with the big TV's and the massive pergola has also caused a huge dent. People of a certain age don't meet at the pub any more to socialize. You can get hold of people in so many ways. Bak in the day, you wanted to see how Jim was doing, you went down the pub to ask him, nowadays its a text.

Basically the model is ****ed if you just want a quick beer.

Banter TRTT Part 15: David KOCH on Epstein List!!!11!!!!!!