Roast Turn it up Damien Barrett, you flog!

If I was pissing petrol I might

What if the stream caught fire, and your nether region caught fire. Trust me. Better to be safe than sorry. Let him burn!

I'd still do it. Take one for the team just to make sure he burned.
Though I may have to go hands free near the end of it

Burn, baby burn!
DAMO INFERNO!

Burn, baby burn!
DAMO INFERNO!
I actually get a good laugh from Barrett. Like with his last doors, I can picture him with a quivering bottom lip as he tries to find a way to say something spiteful at the bully boys for doing what they sort out to do, making hate himself for saying we would look very, very good with the addition of Yarran. "Yeh, well you tried to get all these other players so it no longer counts."

Then when its pointed pout that we rejected some and just showed exploratory interest with Trelor, he starts to tear up and mumbles "Ohh! You did so to want them." Hilarious.

Actually on many of his writings, I reckon he must be going for humour. I know I often chuckle at the weak humour that he writes.

I don't really pay attention too much to be honest but he has popped his head up on my radar occasionally.
Where these types of blokes lose me is when they forget their station in life.
Barrett is s reporter,a newshound and somewhere along the line has morphed into some sort of oracle,an expert who offers his opinions on players abilities etc.
Leave that to the former players who are employed for that reason.
It's why Mike Sheahan is so well liked and accepted by players and coaches alike.
He knows his role,he doesn't cross the line and he's got plenty of runs on the board.
Barrett is still in single figures and can't hit it off the square.

Barrett is a complete muppet.

He's a norf supporter and prior to them getting smashed by West Coast in the pre-lim he stated that North were already winners for 2015. LOL.

Damo is the Perez Hilton of the AFL. He has absolutely no talent or skills so it's his job to muck-rake. He's not good at anything other than that.

He has never liked the Tigers so don't bother ever reading anything or watching anything he does. The Ambulance chaser of journalists and one of the main reasons I never bother with the Footy show. Has a habit of "exclusives" that were an article or discussion earlier in the day on another medium.

Didn't he burn all his bridges at the Herald Sun as well?

Stuff Barrett, he's the absolute worst. Which is a massive achievement amongst the throng of arsebat AFL 'journalists'

I know it wasn't him (it was Peter Ryan and Nick Bowen) but I LOVE this from the AFL website. If you ever wondered about some in the media and their pre-conceived notions this is it...ranking the trades:

"it's hard to knock the Tigers given they held their nerve and got Chris Yarran for pick No.19 and Giants inside midfielder Jacob Townsend for a steal"

= LAST PLACE :drunk:

Meanwhile, Hawthorn missed out on THEIR big target (Carlisle) AND lost a promising midfielder (Anderson) for pick 15 in a weak draft to throw at that failed deal, then picked up a ruckman that Melbourne were going to delist! MELBOURNE!

The Doggies were "very quiet with retention set to be the focus in 2016 as they back their list to organically improve"...much like Richmond no? Oh and they overpaid Suckling (lol) and traded out pick 11 for 2 x later picks in said weak draft.

Barrett would absolutely have slammed us for overpaying Treloar if we'd got him for what Collingwood paid.

I don't care about him hating The Tigers.
Doesn't bother me what anybody thinks of us. In fact I like it when they hate us.
I just don't like flimsy, irrelevant opinions by these types who just get so far ahead of themselves.
I can't figure it out.
There is absolutely nothing new,appealing or vaguely interesting about the guy.
He offers absolutely nothing other than that really pathetically excited, salivating,stammering embarrassment when he thinks he has some sort of dirt on somebody.
Often, after the words "We understand that.....comes a whole lot of speculative crap that goes nowhere.
I can think of most other footy journos who have their ways and all are interesting in their own way.
Some are really professional about it like a Whately and he's careful not to cross to the silly side if he can help it.
His silly mate Robbo knows his role and whilst disliked by many at least he plays to his strengths mostly and his heart and passion are all for the game and players.
I'm ****ed if I know what this bloke is about.
Wants to be taken seriously and then can be instantly sucked into the Robbo type role at which he is ****ing useless.
Seems to revel in "breaking" news that will get people in trouble.
When you aren't funny it's best to just shut the **** up when the gags start flying.
And when the experts start assessing players and matches, again just shut the **** up and report the news.
Truthfully.

If our goal was to get A Grade talent then Barrett can be correct in his statement. Yarran is a good player and so is Townsend but do you guys really think they would have made the difference in the north game ?

Absolutely, when North were strangling us in the third we were crying out for someone to break free and run, Yarran. When we were being smashed in the middle we were crying out for a tackling machine to put the brakes on them (and smash Jacobs), Townsend.

Actually I think they might have ....houli got shut down ...yarran would of given us another avenue forward ..Townsend would of been a huge help to Miles as it seems no one else was interested in putting in ...but ultimately we will never know.....the next game against Nth Will be interesting though and Adelaide for that matter ..we need to find a way to deal with those teams with the bigger bodied mids

Collingwood added treloar and aish great for them they also lost seedsman,kennedy,freeman and 2 first rounders and paid Jeremy howe a shit load lol there forward line is going to be choke,howe and Jessie white wow I'm scared of that shit
Firstly, Paul Seedsman wasn't required. He was being shopped around to create salary cap space, and then he decided to find his own club. I'm personally glad he's gone, but I hope it works out well for him.

Ben Kennedy was a depth player. He may be good in time, but to include him in a trade for Jeremy Howe suited Collingwood more, and Howe isn't getting a "shit load." He turned down more money to play for Collingwood.

Nathan Freeman was a required player. He hasn't played a senior game yet though, so therefore only a potential loss. There are serious doubts on whether he can recapture his explosive pace due to his hamstring problems, which makes sense because he doesn't feel he can get a regular game at Collingwood.

That isn't a great attitude to have around the club. It's best to have players who are determined to be their very best, but Freeman wanted it easy, so he took St.Kilda's easy guaranteed lesser offer over Collingwood's potentially more lucrative performance based contract.

As for Collingwood's forward line, they did out score Richmond in 2015, even without Adam Treloar and James Aish delivering the footy inside-50. I think Collingwood's forward line can improve further next season for a few reasons, but time will tell.

Absolutely, when North were strangling us in the third we were crying out for someone to break free and run, Yarran. When we were being smashed in the middle we were crying out for a tackling machine to put the brakes on them (and smash Jacobs), Townsend.
Gee I wanted us to run the ball that day. Couldn't find targets so run and break the lines. :'(

Firstly, Paul Seedsman wasn't required. He was being shopped around to create salary cap space, and then he decided to find his own club. I'm personally glad he's gone, but I hope it works out well for him.

Ben Kennedy was a depth player. He may be good in time, but to include him in a trade for Jeremy Howe suited Collingwood more, and Howe isn't getting a "shit load." He turned down more money to play for Collingwood.

Nathan Freeman was a required player. He hasn't played a senior game yet though, so therefore only a potential loss. There are serious doubts on whether he can recapture his explosive pace due to his hamstring problems, which makes sense because he doesn't feel he can get a regular game at Collingwood.

That isn't a great attitude to have around the club. It's best to have players who are determined to be their very best, but Freeman wanted it easy, so he took St.Kilda's easy guaranteed lesser offer over Collingwood's potentially more lucrative performance based contract.

As for Collingwood's forward line, they did out score Richmond in 2015, even without Adam Treloar and James Aish delivering the footy inside-50. I think Collingwood's forward line can improve further next season for a few reasons, but time will tell.
We can all see that Collingwood has traded away developing players for starting 22 players which should have some instant improvement, however you better hope that you have the majority of the squad you want to push for a flag now as you've traded away a big chunk of your future to do it. You can only try and land a big player by free agency now as not only do you not have a 1st rounder next year, you're not allowed to trade any future 1st rounders for another 3 years.

Going on the figures Collingwood and Richmond's forward lines are pretty comparable, and despite the high profile questioning of Cloke I wouldn't have thought there was reason for Collingwood people to be too worried.

Where I think Collingwood want to improve is in their backline. Their points against were well above those conceded by the clubs in premiership contention (i.e. the top four).

I don't know Collingwood's list all that well. Do you have the sense that there's improvement to be had from the back half?

PS: just to keep the thread on topic, please include in your answer an explanation of why Barrett is a flog. :p

Barrett is very hit and miss - however it seems he's on point here.

3 pathetic failures in a row? Check.
Tried for higher profile players? Check.
Got Yarran only (who the hell is Townsend)? Check.

Seems like three facts to me.

Barrett is very hit and miss - however it seems he's on point here.

3 pathetic failures in a row? Check.
Tried for higher profile players? Check.
Got Yarran only (who the hell is Townsend)? Check.

Seems like three facts to me.

He also said we had to trade pick 12 because we had to make a deal happen and it was the only way it could occur for Yarran

Don't let the door hit your arse on the way out

Roast Turn it up Damien Barrett, you flog!