U 16 Championships VIC country / Metro Teams

I thought the boys did pretty well to get that close. The gap in standards and application is huge, most of the NSW team dont come up against opposition like this, that is why it is important for our boys to be exposed to them as often as possible, and to teach them that footy is not just about winning the ball and trying to deliver it. Working the other way is foreign to most of them and they are not put under that kind of pressure on a regular basis. I think it is great for their development.

Thats true, there were some bits of play where the NSW/ACT boys had lapses in concentration, at one stage the Country team were lining up for goal from about 45m out, the NSW/ACT boys must have though he'd have a shot so a number of them stayed around the 50m arc, the others went to the goalline and a country player floated down into the space between both and took an easy mark unmanned 20m out. But I doubt they'll let that happen again.

You're right that sort of game would've taught them a lot.

Typical Ziebs game till he got a corky and limped off. Not sure if he will come up for Sunday yet.

Didnt get to the game soupy how did ziebel play can you alaborate on a typical ziebes game?till he went off? Have seen him play at school level this year and against metro do they/you rate him ?How did priest play? Any stand outs?How did they cover Butcher?

Big dramas with the country boys butcher out of carnival confirmed, Tom Mckenzie suspected broken leg, christensen knee very suspect ,ziebel looked ordinary after the game couple of others sick but will be ok . One great point was luke lowdens form was terrific.

Thats true, there were some bits of play where the NSW/ACT boys had lapses in concentration, at one stage the Country team were lining up for goal from about 45m out, the NSW/ACT boys must have though he'd have a shot so a number of them stayed around the 50m arc, the others went to the goalline and a country player floated down into the space between both and took an easy mark unmanned 20m out. But I doubt they'll let that happen again.

You're right that sort of game would've taught them a lot.
Thanks footyman, what you describe is exactly right, the boys switch off too easily and playing against sides from Vic will teach them more than any other games they play all year. I will stop posting about NSW now people, thanks for letting me in though.

it's great to hear from you as an observer from another team what are your thoughts on the vic country team . Who did you think played well or looked the goods.There are certainly some good kids in nsw. I thought your fella (i assume is 15) was good Mc neil was good . the full forward looks a type . the little bloke with the helmet can play . I think it was just the intensity and quickness that they struggled with the skills wernt to bad but just found themselves under pressure to often .

I think it was just the intensity and quickness that they struggled with
Very true, even just strength and body contact when it came to marking contests they just seemed to always be that foot away from their opponent and it wasnt enough to stop some pretty solid overhead stuff from the country boys.

I havent seen any of these players before but as you said suspect1, Lowden was impressive overhead with his marking, bad luck for McKenzie with what you just said - he rucked pretty well til he got stretchered off. Steele Sidebottom was busy early, I reckon he was picking up a possession a minute in the first 10 minutes of the game, lesser impact later on. Vardy has some sort of vertical leap on him and was good in the middle. You could go through most of the team really cos everyone did things that impressed during the game.

it's great to hear from you as an observer from another team what are your thoughts on the vic country team . Who did you think played well or looked the goods.There are certainly some good kids in nsw. I thought your fella (i assume is 15) was good Mc neil was good . the full forward looks a type . the little bloke with the helmet can play . I think it was just the intensity and quickness that they struggled with the skills wernt to bad but just found themselves under pressure to often .
The Vic C boys are the best in their age group as far as I have seen. In Darwin last year they were very good and absolutly smashed the metro boys in the final. I know my son was really looking forward to playing against them as, like everyone, he wants to play against the best. There are some NSW boys who are good players and the more times they compete against the Vic teams the better they will get.
The Nationals in Brissie should be very interesting and should produce very good footy, weather permitting, I will take a note book along with me and give you my views on return.
Qld in Div 2 are the team to beat, even though Tassie is a bit of an unknown. I know I am looking forward to the week, (if only it means I dont have to go to work and I get to watch a heap of footy live). sorry but I cant wait.

Div.1 should be an interesting carnival. The weather should be fine around 24-ish most days. You would be stiff should a cold front with precipitation be coming through late July.
Just remember guys Metro rolled Country first time they met in Darwin. And Metro were faced with a huge battle Semi-final vs QLD. They trailed a minute before 3/4 time, and only kicked clear through a Tom Scully "Clutch" goal. from there they ran away with the game. It was a very physical confrontation with both teams not giving a quarter.
Vic country blew W.A away in the 1st qtr of their semi, and cruised from there onwards. No doubt the QLD match took its toll on Vic Metro.
With the injuries Vic country appear to have to key players, and have having Scully available the Div 1 final could be very close. Vic Metro's main concern might be going in with too much height.
This is a must see game for me.
On the subject of Grounds , both Southport and Coorparoo are decent sized grounds, open surroundings result in breezes popping up around 10 am and persisting till dark, ala Darwin. Spacious wings on both ovals, and by Vic. standards the grass will be thick and the ground firm. neither have cricket pitch centres.

Didnt get to the game soupy how did ziebel play can you alaborate on a typical ziebes game?till he went off? Have seen him play at school level this year and against metro do they/you rate him ?How did priest play? Any stand outs?How did they cover Butcher?

Yea gotta rate a bloke with talent and thats Jack. He's tough and skilfull - kicks beatifully with both feet and gets distance. Good footy head on him. Quick hands as well. Glad he's a country kid. He got a corky so will have to see how he is on Sunday, they might rest him. He'll be right by carnival time.

Tom McKenzie has a broken ankle -he's out as is John Butcher with his stress fractures. Once country had the lead they went on with the game - A good team effort all around. Faran quietish I reckon for him, - Rusty everywhere esp first qtr.

Bundy's knee will be ok for carnival too, wont rush him back for sunday. Bartlett will be ok as will Dean Gavin - they were just a bit under the weather Friday.

Well the metro boys look the goods on the country boys after yesterdays game . The metro team look a bit more balanced and even stronger than the country boys. They were very slick cleaner hands and better users of the ball country had a couple of good ones out in ziebel ,christensen giampolo and a couple of others but without butcher they look very suspect for talls compared to metro . Metro also had a few good ones out in watts who's as good as ziebel, cachia who's very good witkowski who's a good defender so they will only be stronger . The country boys need to get a bit more physical in the air.The country team was throwing the side around a lot and didnt play their real centre line up where they were smashed .Hooper played down back for most of it lowden was looked after and didnt ruck once and they played a couple of boys in the ruck that wont play there and on ballers that wont play there at all so i'd say there will be a fair bit of improvement on that line up. It's a matter of how good W.A and S.A are.

how did ben griffiths play for vic metro, there CHF

The metro boys did look good on Sunday.

I thought that Millard, Gysberts, Scully were great and Hood seemed to be everywhere.

Hooper was the best for country with a number of players, playing in foreign positions.

Gysberts for me was particulary impressive.

I know the country boys were a bit flat after all the travelling from Wed/Thurs then Sat/Sun.

The travelling was not the reason, but was a factor with some travelling 4 hours to the game, and playing in Melb earlier in the week.

See what happens in Brisbane with a few back for country.

The metro boys did look good on Sunday.

I thought that Millard, Gysberts, Scully were great and Hood seemed to be everywhere.

Hooper was the best for country with a number of players, playing in foreign positions.

Gysberts for me was particulary impressive.

I know the country boys were a bit flat after all the travelling from Wed/Thurs then Sat/Sun.

The travelling was not the reason, but was a factor with some travelling 4 hours to the game, and playing in Melb earlier in the week.

See what happens in Brisbane with a few back for country.

IMO Tom Hill best for Metro and Hooper best for Country

Allen Christensen another late withdrawal from the carnival for country with a broken leg?????? correct or not? wud be another massive blow, Allen is right up with with the top players.

i kno this mite be asking a lot but how did the following go:

castricum
ziebell
watts
cachia
scully
purcell

ive seen em all play just wondering how all the APS boys went

Ziebell was out with a corky, but will be right for Brisbane.

Scully had a top game.

I don't know what the sory is with Christensen's injury.

What TAC team do the Caulfield Grammar boys play 4?

Yeah Bundy has a break in his lower leg - not the tibia the skinny one down the side so he is out. Another blow for country - his magic will be missed. The other guys will all have to play at their best.

Watts didn't play but the drum is he is in anyway and the shoulder should be ok.

Yeah Bundy has a break in his lower leg - not the tibia the skinny one down the side so he is out. Another blow for country - his magic will be missed. The other guys will all have to play at their best.

Watts didn't play but the drum is he is in anyway and the shoulder should be ok.

thats bad news . Country boys need to stand up now no butcher no hutchison no bundy three good ones missing .
It's gunna need Ziebell hooper gavin and sidebottom to really lead the way . They are suspect in the ruck with lowden comming off injury (stress fractures) so he will be lucky to get through the week just on fitness let alone a suspect back vardy is not a ruckman, he's good player but not a real ruckman . the forwards are really going to have to improve thya have given nothing so far all look very timid at the footy for mine . Thompson looks ok at times but has to grab the moment and fire as does cunnington who hasnt played well yet. Priest needs to find confidence and i think he will be a key if he gets up and running again because he's as good as it gets when firing .playing his own age group should give him confidence and his last game he started to show the old form . Pianto looks like he's ready to have a good one to and they will need him to stop a couple . Blokes like tutton oakley ellis tiller will have to have a real crack and do thier bit and not leave it up to the others seize the moment !!.
Rounds looks a goer page can be clever and giampolo looks good at times but doesnt give it off much.
i wonder who will come in I'd be putting knott back in for bundy .
Gavin will have a good carnival lots to like about him.

Cachia
Scully (Depending on fitness)
Snell
Still
Melksham (dominated 1st 1/2 - gutsy player)
Hill
Witkowski (stong backman)
Amalfi (Played well 1st half but couple af bad mistakes later)
Lucin (fast / standout last quater when played in position)
Watts
cachia
gysberts
purcell
hanneberry - if he's in the squad
castricum
blease
theres 14 metro anyone else wanna add

country
Gavin
Hooper
Ziebel
sidebottom
butcher
pianto
priest
ellis
oakley
hicksj
jack geary
tate
stevens
tiller
maybe daly
christenson
irvine
page
rock small but a goer.
19 country

any one know of others that stand out in regions

Ben Jacobs
Although he's in yr 9 HE IS BY FAR THE BEST PLAYER IN YR 9 AND PLAYS SOME GAMES FOR THE BRIGHTON FIRSTS. IF HE'S NOT THERE THIS YEAR HE WILL definately be there next year.

U 16 Championships VIC country / Metro Teams