Under Age U17s - 2025 AFL Draft General Discussion

The RMC crew have another draft guide to read about and, for the latest one, 25 for 2025 was published.

Beau Addinsall.
Daniel Annable.
Thomas Burton.
Lachlan Carmichael.
Noah Chamberlain.
Sam Cumming.
Cody Curtin.
Jack Dalton.
Cooper Duff-Tytler.
Willem Duursma.
Louis Emmett.
Ollie Greeves.
Noah Hibbins-Hargreaves.
Max King.
Josh Lindsay.
Archie Ludowyke.
Tom McGuane.
Riley Onley.
Dylan Patterson.
Fred Rodriguez.
Ben Rongdit.
Dyson Sharp.
Aidan Schubert.
Zeke Uwland.
Kalani White.
Two from WA? In 2025? What?

The RMC crew have another draft guide to read about and, for the latest one, 25 for 2025 was published.

Beau Addinsall.
Daniel Annable.
Thomas Burton.
Lachlan Carmichael.
Noah Chamberlain.
Sam Cumming.
Cody Curtin.
Jack Dalton.
Cooper Duff-Tytler.
Willem Duursma.
Louis Emmett.
Ollie Greeves.
Noah Hibbins-Hargreaves.
Max King.
Josh Lindsay.
Archie Ludowyke.
Tom McGuane.
Riley Onley.
Dylan Patterson.
Fred Rodriguez.
Ben Rongdit.
Dyson Sharp.
Aidan Schubert.
Zeke Uwland.
Kalani White.
How do you find this?
I’ve spent way too long on the trying to find it myself.

Beau Addinsall.
Daniel Annable.
Thomas Burton.
Lachlan Carmichael.
Noah Chamberlain.
Sam Cumming.
Cody Curtin.
Jack Dalton.
Cooper Duff-Tytler.
Willem Duursma.
Louis Emmett.
Ollie Greeves.
Noah Hibbins-Hargreaves.
Max King.
Josh Lindsay.
Archie Ludowyke.
Tom McGuane.
Riley Onley.
Dylan Patterson.
Fred Rodriguez.
Ben Rongdit.
Dyson Sharp.
Aidan Schubert.
Zeke Uwland.
Kalani White.
Allies are looking good

How do you find this?
I’ve spent way too long on the trying to find it myself.

Pages 132/133

Cheers mate. Some very exciting talent coming out of Queensland next year.
Allies are looking good
Keep in mind, the Queensland U17 team defeated the Vic Metro U17 team by 20 points in Melbourne back in August. Add a few standouts from NSW, Tassie and/or the NT and suddenly you've got a VERY strong Allies team. It reminds me of the 2023 Allies team that was led by four Queensland standouts as well as two from Tassie. It's entirely possible/probable that we're going to see a second Allies' victory at the U18 National Championships in a matter of 24 months.

And a litany of but hurt fellow Victorians.

If we can get past 30 picks in the first round, I look forward to it.

And a litany of but hurt fellow Victorians.

If we can get past 30 picks in the first round, I look forward to it.
The AFL wants to grow the game in the northern states. Two championships in three years for the Allies clearly indicates big growth in the northern states. It should be celebrated, not criticised.

Yep I think the allies next year have more depth than the 2023 version , re their top end it’s going to be pretty close

If they gel well they should be favs to win it again

Early top 30 for 2025 draft based on u16s and CTL form
1. Dyson Sharp 188cm Central Dist
2. Oliver Greeves 190cm Eastern
3. Blake Kelly 180cm Swan Dist
4. Lachlan Dovaston 175cm Eastern
5. Blake Oudshoorn-Bennier 182cm Nth Adel
6. Louis Emmett 198cm Oakleigh
7. Marcus Cassidy 186cm Est Perth
8. Archie Ludowyke 193cm Sandringham
9. Jack Dalton 176cm Sandringham
10. Noah Roberts-Thompson 180cm Sturt
11. Tairon Ah-Mu 199cm Dandenong
12. Noah Hibbins-Hargreaves 185cm Dandenong
13. Harry Morphet 175cm Geelong ...(broke his leg at champs)
14. Basil Hart 183cm Peel
15. Riley Onley 194cm Murray
16. Xavier Bamert 184cm Sandringham
17. Jadd Hill 176cm Perth
18. Dylan Patterson 183cm GCS A
19. Judd Marcello 189cm Wst Perth
20. Giuseppe Posterino 175cm Geelong
21. Jamie Gilchrist 185cm Eastern
22. Zeke Uwland 176cm GCS A
23. Raphael Geesu 175cm Bris A
24. Toby Whan 180cm Sth Fremantle
25. Jobe Scapin 186cm Gippsland
26. Aidan Schubert 194cm Central Dist
27. Mitchell Moate 180cm Northern
28. Jim Kelly 178cm Norwood
29. Zach O'Keefe 176cm Gippsland
30. Jack Harrison 183cm Bris A

Mentions: Willem Duursma 189cm Gipps, Taj Longmuir 179cm Sth Frem, Thomas Burton 177cm Western, Thomas McGuane 176cm Western, Sam Allen 181cm Oakleigh, Tyson Gresham 170cm Northern, Hunter Wright 186cm Bendigo, Jesse Nye 172cm Sth Adel, Lachlan Sands 179cm WWT, Luke Candy 183cm Glenlg, Sam Cumming 186cm Nth Adel, Josh Reichelt 180cm Central Dist, Louis Kellaway 182cm Sturt, Harley Baker 186cm Sturt, Will York 172cm Peel, Darcy Montgomery 180cm Subiaco, Jai Murray(gcs), Beau Addinsall(gcs), Daniel Annabel(bris), Charlie Hewitt(bris) didn't like anyone from syd, gws, tassie or NT, 2 QLD teams the only teams in div 2 playing good footy from my pov...

Sam Grij Oakleigh mid/wing would be in the list if he played in the champs.

Vic Metro won with WA coming runners up, with SA and Vic Country competitive
Brisbane dominated div 2 with GCS A coming runners up then the other 4 teams(GWS, Tas, Syd and NT)
Hey Davo-27, apologies if it’s here and I can’t see it, but have u or anyone done a recent 2025 projected top 30? Interested to read that.

Yep I think the allies next year have more depth than the 2023 version , re their top end it’s going to be pretty close

If they gel well they should be favs to win it again
At what point do we start having legitimate conversations about the Allies needing to be split up? This Queensland cohort already beat Vic Metro in Melbourne a few months ago so I'm inclined to believe a Queensland U18 team would more than hold its own in the National Championships next year.

Queensland already competes on its own in the female version of the National Championships so it's not like this can't be done. It'd be better for the juniors as well because they wouldn't have to fly to states all over the country just to participate in the Allies program and could remain based in south east Queensland while they juggle school commitments.

At what point do we start having legitimate conversations about the Allies needing to be split up? This Queensland cohort already beat Vic Metro in Melbourne a few months ago so I'm inclined to believe a Queensland U18 team would more than hold its own in the National Championships next year.

Queensland already competes on its own in the female version of the National Championships so it's not like this can't be done. It'd be better for the juniors as well because they wouldn't have to fly to states all over the country just to participate in the Allies program and could remain based in south east Queensland while they juggle school commitments.
Lets not get ahead of ourselves. It was a trial U17 game and not every vic kid was playiing, and it was only a win by a small margin.
Lets cool our jets until next year and see how everyone performs.

Agree.

And although people were a little startled when I first mentioned it.

Replace QLD in the Allies with Papua New Guinea and New Zealand.

PNG did once field a stand alone team in what was then the teal cup. They get AFL on free to air tv up there and have a fairly strong league. I would be surpised if they weren't able to provide a couple of Allies level players each year.

NZ isn't quite at that level by the sounds of it but their comp does seem to be getting better slowly but surely and might be able to provide a player or two to the Allies now and then.

U17s games don't mean anything, they are a showcase event, NSW and QLD nearly beat both vic metro and Vic country late last year, yet at the u18s champs the vic teams were undefeated until they played each other and the Allies were last with 1 win, they are experimental games, also this year they kept 10 of the best vic players out of the u17s for some reason, maybe to test the squads depth?, which is probably why they lost both games.

Not yet but will happen for sure

Think it’s working well as it is right now

Just to add in relation to my proposal to expand the Allies, even if QLD remain part of combination for the time being.

Later this month U/17 teams from NZ, PNG, South Africa, Nauru, Fiji and Tonga will be competing in the Pacific Championships in Queensland.

All the matches are live on youtube and by then I'll need a footy fix.

Hopefully the Allies folks send some people up there to see if amongst these sides if there are 3 or 4 players up to the level.

Right age group to slot into an Allies squad also and it can't hurt to find out.

Not yet but will happen for sure

Think it’s working well as it is right now
I suppose one of the main concerns would be that you can't guarantee the production line of high end talent from Queensland will continue beyond this golden period that we're seeing at the moment. Zeke Uwland looks amazing, but it's unlikely that we're going to see a talent of that quality coming out of Queensland every year and I think you need that to genuinely compete at the National Championships every year. If it continue for another five years or so then you're looking at close to a decade of producing high talent and that's probably a good time to break Queensland away from the Allies.

It will definitely get there

I've still got nightmares from 2023 when the Allies crushed WA 18's by 16 goals. And that was a talented WA side that ended up with quite a few (maybe 12/13) drafted from that squad alone.

It was a special Allies group that year with 4 top 10 picks all in the same team. WA only had a single top 10 pick that year.

Depth is great, but I think top end talent is often the deciding factor in these kinds of tournaments. We saw the same thing happen when top 5 picks Rankine, Lukosius and Rozee led SA to a National Championship back in 2018. That's why I think Queensland could legitimately compete as a standalone team in the National Championships one day if the production line of top end talent that we're currently seeing continues.

It was a special Allies group that year with 4 top 10 picks all in the same team. WA only had a single top 10 pick that year.

Depth is great, but I think top end talent is often the deciding factor in these kinds of tournaments. We saw the same thing happen when top 5 picks Rankine, Lukosius and Rozee led SA to a National Championship back in 2018. That's why I think Queensland could legitimately compete as a standalone team in the National Championships one day if the production line of top end talent that we're currently seeing continues.
They could eventually, but you'd need faith talent is continuing coming through year on year, and not just a select few. Would need to have depth, so might be a few years away before they are confident in that.

Under Age U17s - 2025 AFL Draft General Discussion