Under Age U17s - 2026 AFL Draft General Discussion

Harry Thomson?

Also:

Levi has to be Maddi and Teagan's brother.
Are any of the Murray's, Jai's brother?

Taj Murray is the younger brother of Jai. He was selected as a bottom ager, which is common for the south coast kids as they seem to weight selection to team performance as opposed to individual output. Looking at the last few years for example, in 2021 guys like Bridge, Barry, Annable and Harrison weren't picked as bottom agers, while Murray, Patterson and Addinsall were. Mainly because South Coast have won the u15 carnival about 10 years in a row because Brisbane is split into 3 regions, so their teams are comparatively weaker.

I don't think the 2022 team had very many bottom agers at all, if any.

Not really.

He was mentioned on this website a few times and was the glaring omission for me.

Some of the clubs and/or parents or people practicing their videography post footage of u15 D1 games on youtube.

If you wanted an early look at Cooper Hodge for example, you can see him in this game here:

#20 is Hodge and other kids selected in the state side are #11 Ellen and #7 Watts (who might be related to Southport legend, Clint Watts - though I'm not sure as he no longer coaches at Motningside, so assume his son doesn't play there)

This game is 2 teams near the bottom of the ladder, but for those really keen - there are heaps of games like this on youtube.

Here's another one:

Aspley absolutely flogged Morningside here, but all 3 of Morningside state boys not playing. Aspley team has Tom Levi #20 and Noah Rafter #7 from the state u15s, with Levi in my view a talent to watch (though he may not grow). For the father/son watchers, also has Tex Copeland in #23 in the pink headgear.

Southport vs Morningside here also:

Then there is a great game here decided by 1 point between top of the ladder Grange and Sherwood.

Notables would be #19 for Grange Noah Cameron who made the state team and #10 Magpies Harry Thompson. Watching this might give you an idea why people query Thompson missing out. There is also the younger brother of Harrison Bridge for Sherwood in this team, don't know much about him but he made the state u12 team a few years back, wearing #16. Number 10 for Grange looks pretty handy as well, name is Glover - also not picked in state team.

Other footage here is Sherwood vs Victoria Point. It's a good one as it has Owens #8, Phillips #5 and Paterson #41 who made the state u15 side and Thompson for Sherwood as well as the bottom ager Max Boothey #21 who is reported to be about 200cm already! Owens #8 for VP is considered the best of the Brisbane kids this age ahead of Hodge, Thompson etc.

Boothey kicks a bomb from outside 50 in this one - exciting talent at only 13!

anyway, I watch waaaay too much footy on youtube! :oops::p

Some of the clubs and/or parents or people practicing their videography post footage of u15 D1 games on youtube.

If you wanted an early look at Cooper Hodge for example, you can see him in this game here:

#20 is Hodge and other kids selected in the state side are #11 Ellen and #7 Watts (who might be related to Southport legend, Clint Watts - though I'm not sure as he no longer coaches at Motningside, so assume his son doesn't play there)

This game is 2 teams near the bottom of the ladder, but for those really keen - there are heaps of games like this on youtube.

Here's another one:

Aspley absolutely flogged Morningside here, but all 3 of Morningside state boys not playing. Aspley team has Tom Levi #20 and Noah Rafter #7 from the state u15s, with Levi in my view a talent to watch (though he may not grow). For the father/son watchers, also has Tex Copeland in #23 in the pink headgear.

Southport vs Morningside here also:

Then there is a great game here decided by 1 point between top of the ladder Grange and Sherwood.

Notables would be #19 for Grange Noah Cameron who made the state team and #10 Magpies Harry Thompson. Watching this might give you an idea why people query Thompson missing out. There is also the younger brother of Harrison Bridge for Sherwood in this team, don't know much about him but he made the state u12 team a few years back, wearing #16. Number 10 for Grange looks pretty handy as well, name is Glover - also not picked in state team.

Other footage here is Sherwood vs Victoria Point. It's a good one as it has Owens #8, Phillips #5 and Paterson #41 who made the state u15 side and Thompson for Sherwood as well as the bottom ager Max Boothey #21 who is reported to be about 200cm already! Owens #8 for VP is considered the best of the Brisbane kids this age ahead of Hodge, Thompson etc.

Boothey kicks a bomb from outside 50 in this one - exciting talent at only 13!

anyway, I watch waaaay too much footy on youtube! :oops::p

I thought Boothey was the same age group as Thomson.

I think Thompson is a December 08 and Boothey is a Jan 09, so very close in age - but when it comes to rep footy, they are in different age groups, in club footy (done via school years) they are the same age group. Footy in QLD can be confusing like that!

check out the 40second mark of that last video above I posted. Mark and goal from outside 50, while only 14 and close to 200cm!

He's a behemoth.

Gold Coast have a ripper for the 2030's.

I am familiar with most of these kids, so can give some more accurate comments.

Ellen is a 2009 born kid, he was selected in the u15 State side.

Watts is in fact the son of Clint Watts of Southport fame and current Labrador QAFL Coach. He is a nice little left footer.

I don't know anything about Rafter, didn't notice him when we played Aspley. Tom Levi is one of the better ball users you will see of either side of the body, simply elite. I'm not even sure if he is left or right foot. His issue may well be that he has been as big as he is now since he was 12, but not growing won't make his kicking any less elite.

Copeland is a pretty good key position player at either end, he is a 2009 kid. Cameron is a manchild that hasn't grown, size and speed were previously his advantages - I think he plays Rugby League also and it may be his preferred sport. I didn't see a single Met North game at the state carnival, but he must have played really well.

I'll refrain from saying too much about Thomson, given he's my kid. But comments about selection/non-selection aren't fair on the system, as he was injured at the carnival - they can only pick from what they see.

Bridge is in fact Harrison's younger brother. Different type of player, he is 2009 born and is a more contested, inside player - though we use him in club footy at half back as he is still eligible to play u13s. Glover wasn't picked in state side because he is 16 this year. Club footy is u15.5, so still eligible if you turn 16 post june 30.

Owens in my view is the best 2008 born kid in Brisbane, I don't know a heap about the GC kids apart from watching my club footy against them this year - but Owens is elite. Phillips I haven't seen much of, but I don't recall much from our club games and Paterson I just remember having a 60m leg, which really stands out in u15s!

Final one is Boothey. I've coached him for years, he isn't 200cm - I'd say around 196-197cm - but yes he is 2009 born and has another year of eligibility. Massive upside!

I thought Boothey was the same age group as Thomson.

Jan 2009 and Nov 2008, so different years

I think Thompson is a December 08 and Boothey is a Jan 09, so very close in age - but when it comes to rep footy, they are in different age groups, in club footy (done via school years) they are the same age group. Footy in QLD can be confusing like that!

As above, but H is November

Boothey will be massive in 2027.

200cm and born in 2009.

DAMN!

He was 196cm at last chatter about him.

196cm is closer to the mark, hes certainly a big lad and I am confident he will be well over 200cm in the next 24 months. I'd guess he has grown 10cm in thr last 12 months

What a bummer.

Turns out, you have to pay to watch the games.

A bit cheeky and naughty.

Something about it was said either yesterday or Friday on the SSA FB page but it didn't mention having to pay to watch the games.

What a bummer.

Turns out, you have to pay to watch the games.

A bit cheeky and naughty.

Something about it was said either yesterday or Friday on the SSA FB page but it didn't mention having to pay to watch the games.
Do we have any results yet? Vic Navy v SA should be done and QLD v WA should be happening right now.

Unfortunate result after the progress made last year, but it was inevitable with the side they picked.

Think the benefit of the 2022 State Carnival being virtually a washout was that there was probably more input into the team selection from those with better knowledge of the players available.

Maybe the 2008 intake just doesn't have as much talent?

2nd last year, even though they missed Lillico, Geesu, Olver and Slater.

Thumped in game 1 this year, but to my knowledge, only a handful of glaring omissions at best. 2 kids aren't going to fix 94 zip!

More competitive vs Victoria's 2nd side today
Seems like WA have a very strong team this year. They belted ACT to the tune of 86 points to follow up their 94-0 win over Queensland. I'd expect WA to beat Vic White (Country?) tomorrow as well.

From a Queensland perspective, the standouts appear to be Gold Coast's Archie Hill & Jackson Jarvis as well as Brisbane Cooper Hodgey (yes, Hodgey's son). All three have been named in the bests for Queensland in both games and you'd probably expect that to continue against the ACT tomorrow. So perhaps those three are potentially in line to be named in the U15 AA team this year. It would appear that the real standout for Queensland this year is Broadbeach's Archie Hill from what I can tell. Can anyone confirm these thoughts?

Under Age U17s - 2026 AFL Draft General Discussion