Umpiring

Are they?

• Yes

Votes: 52 49.5%
  • No

Votes: 17 16.2%
  • They will until this group has officially been broken, Hardwick aint Coach and Gale isn't CEO

Votes: 36 34.3%

But...but...but....the AFL had other vision from a better angle remember ? The vision that nobody ever saw or talked about ever again .

It took maths geniuses days to come up with the trigonometry and vectors and angles required to show that "the right decision was probably made in hindsight' - yet arc nerd got it all done in 20 seconds apparently....
The ARC review job would be the easiest job in footy. Sit there with a beer in one hand, and ‘umpires call’ in the other. **** making a decision. Let the umpires do what they’ve always done.

The AFL have come out and said it was a correct decision to not pay 50m against the Collingwood players. Do they honestly think we are stooooooopid?

She said it needed to be called play on or ‘stand’, but was not called either. The umpires NEVER call stand immediately, EVER! Because they wait and see if the players want to stand the mark or retreat back 5 metres.

So if the umpire has not called play on … which they did NOT, then the default position after blowing his whistle is obviously that a mark has been paid, and players cannot run over the mark.

Geez I hate the management of the AFL. They are just incompetent fools who think they’re doing a great job because ratings and attendances are strong … really really pi**ing me off that they’ve green lighted the non-50m call. Beyond belief.

The AFL have come out and said it was a correct decision to not pay 50m against the Collingwood players. Do they honestly think we are stooooooopid?

She said it needed to be called play on or ‘stand’, but was not called either. The umpires NEVER call stand immediately, EVER! Because they wait and see if the players want to stand the mark or retreat back 5 metres.

So if the umpire has not called play on … which they did NOT, then the default position after blowing his whistle is obviously that a mark has been paid, and players cannot run over the mark.

Geez I hate the management of the AFL. They are just incompetent fools who think they’re doing a great job because ratings and attendances are strong … really really pi**ing me off that they’ve green lighted the non-50m call. Beyond belief.

You just know if it was 2 Richmond players that it would have been a 50 in a heart beat.

It has gone from comical to absurd.

When indigenous kids played marngrook hundreds of years ago that was a 50 metre penalty for running over the mark. In the 1970's that was a 15m penalty for running over the mark. In the 1980's it was a 15m penalty for running over the mark. In the 1990's it was a 50m penalty for running over the mark. In the 2000's it was a 50m penalty for running over the mark. In the 2010's it was a 50m penalty for running over the mark. In the 2020's, up until the last minute of the 5th match of round 14 of the 2024 Toyota AFL season, it was a 50m penalty for running over the mark.

But from that point on we now know it is fine to run over the mark if a player is on the move whilst taking a mark and doesn't stop dead the instant he completes the mark....

That is the biggest red herring ever that stupid person saying the umpire should have called play on. That has never ever been play on in my lifetime. The players roughly know where the mark is and they are not allowed to encroach until play on is called. If not called to stand there is nothing to stop them moving sideways, but they know they are not allowed to encroach over the mark.

If she is dumb enough to accept the role as mouthpiece publicly explaining all this absolute stupidity, then she deserves every bit of derision she gets. We need to be careful how we phrase things these days. So I will just say they are a dumb campaigner.

The answer is pretty simple , in game odds for a pies win when they were 54 points down, spot fixing , someone at AFL house made a killing

It has gone from comical to absurd.

In the 1970's that was a 15m penalty for running over the mark. In the 1980's it was a 15m penalty for running over the mark. In the 1990's it was a 50m penalty for running over the mark. In the 200's it was a 50m penalty for running over the mark. In the 2010's it was a 50m penalty for running over the mark In the 2020's, up until the last minute of the 5th match of the 2024 Toyota AFL season, it was a 50m penalty for running over the mark.

But from that point on we now know it is fine to run over the mark if a player is on the move whilst taking a mark and doesn't stop dead the instant he completes the mark....

That is the biggest red herring ever that stupid person saying the umpire should have called play on. That has never ever been play on in my lifetime. The players roughly know where the mark is and they are not allowed to encroach until play on is called. If not called to stand there is nothing to stop them moving sideways, but they know they are not allowed to encroach over the mark.

If she is dumb enough to accept the role as mouthpiece publicly explaining all this absolute stupidity, then she deserves every bit of derision she gets. We need to be careful how we phrase things these days. So I will just say they are a dumb campaigner.
The red herring mate is the in match betting

Laura Kane is absolutely wrong. It's only play on if the umpire signals play on and it doesn't matter if a player leaves their line and there is a delay in calling it. It is no different to end a quarter, it's not when the siren goes but when the umpire hears it and blows his whistle to signal the end. It's why an umpire can call 50 when the player with the ball fakes a handball or something and you hear the player on the mark plead their case that the player played on. The reply from the umpire is always "I didn't call play on".

I actually hate this sport and don't spend a cent on it anymore after letting my memberships lapse. I haven't watched it since 2020 (the season that football died and the AFL realised they could get away with just making it up as they go) and it's hearing shit like this that I hate it even more. They can't admit they got a decision wrong that would have most likely affected an outcome due to the risk of litigation from betting companies. Looking at the new appointment for the former CEO I'm sure they're already in bed together anyway.

Laura Kane is absolutely wrong. It's only play on if the umpire signals play on and it doesn't matter if a player leaves their line and there is a delay in calling it. It is no different to end a quarter, it's not when the siren goes but when the umpire hears it and blows his whistle to signal the end. It's why an umpire can call 50 when the player with the ball fakes a handball or something and you hear the player on the mark plead their case that the player played on. The reply from the umpire is always "I didn't call play on".

I actually hate this sport and don't spend a cent on it anymore after letting my memberships lapse. I haven't watched it since 2020 (the season that football died and the AFL realised they could get away with just making it up as they go) and it's hearing shit like this that I hate it even more. They can't admit they got a decision wrong that would have most likely affected an outcome due to the risk of litigation from betting companies. Looking at the new appointment for the former CEO I'm sure they're already in bed together anyway.
Those in AFL house don't care about the game, they don't care about the players and they sure as hell couldn't give two ****s about the fans. Their only motivation is profit and lining their own pockets. Laura Kane knows FA all about football yet she is one of their brightest stars proves that.

This is one of the problems with the stand rule. It seems like the Collingwood players expected the umpire to call play on and just assumed they hadn’t heard the whistle. We have seen it before where players simply have not heard the call. Remember when Baker was tackled over the line against Brisbane when he didn’t hear the umpire call “advantage”and stopped. The stand rule is just a stupid rule which every way the look at it. It seems to me that the umpire made the right call but unfortunately the AFL are prepared to come up with these nonsensical explanations rather than admit that the stand rule is rubbish.

Seems you haven't watched since 2020 I'll fill you in mate...

we suck again GIF

The AFL is like Fonzie. They can never admit they are...wr...wr...wrong

It’s just incredible these half wits come out with these absolutely ridiculous explanations. It just goes to show how stupid they really think the average punter really is. Just a pack of over paid big heads all looking to leave their mark on the game forever. The most incompetent run sporting league in the world.

Hawks kicked one straight over the post Saturday, paid a goal.

I was waiting for the great triangulators in the ARC to do their finest work on it.

Not even reviewed. ****ing corrupt campaigners.
Where I was sitting you could see clearly that it wasn't a goal, we were all shocked when a goal was given

You could also see it pretty clearly on TV. At the very least a third of the ball went over at least part of the post.

Triangulate that cheating campaigners.

Sodebottom and McQuery were riding the sudden umpiring momentum wave and just wouldn't have expected any 50 metre free kick paid against them. You can clearly see this in the Pies games when the Umpire momentum swing comes. In particular last year in all their come from behind wins. They know the Umpires were suddenly favouring them so they play to it... It's disgraceful and I am wondering who is pocketing the cash behind the scenes?

Is there a signal coming from someone in the crowd?
Does the signal come from the ear piece?
Is it a pre set, pre arranged time in a quarter that the switch is flicked??

It's absolutely happening...

**** the umpires. If they are going to cheat all the time like corrupted sucks, how the hell are we supposed to tell when they are cheating from when they just made an honest error? It was a free kick to Martin paid as a free kick to Hawks = 2 free kick swing. If they don't want to be considered cheating every time they make an honest error then stop ****ing cheating campaigners.

LOL you said yourself you thought it was a fair freekick to Hawks at the time & only changed your mind after seeing a slowdowned replay

It what reality do you expect the umpire to be able to see something first time, in real time, that required you to see it via a slo-mo replay?

Just because someone cheats, doesn't mean every thing they do is towards cheating. They just cheat enough to get the result they are aiming for.

Gill just appointed the head of Tabcorp. Who would have thought...

😲

LOL i just googled it and your right.

That is insane. ****ing Insane.

What is with these AFL big wigs? when they finally move on, they go kneel to their master

Gil = Tabcorp
SHocking = Cats

That is literally the worst job a guy who used to run a major sporting league could transition into. Gambling. Far out this league is rooted, they have absolutely zero ****s anymore on the optics & keeping up appearances. It's just out in the open corruption.

Umpiring