Umpiring

Are they?

• Yes

Votes: 52 49.5%
  • No

Votes: 17 16.2%
  • They will until this group has officially been broken, Hardwick aint Coach and Gale isn't CEO

Votes: 36 34.3%

Went to a 90th out in Ballarat today. Met my cousin’s partner finally and turned out he’s an absolute DIEHARD football lover. Carlton supporter but also a good bloke, and he said he doesn’t mean anything bad but he just happens to absolutely hate Richmond.

Anyway, he said that despite all that, and something he was just telling a mate the other day, was that Richmond get absolutely wrecked by the umpires, and he has no idea why. We never get the same 50-50 calls as other sides. He said in comparison he reckons Blues have been getting a good ride recently, but that yeah whenever he watched Richmond he can’t believe how badly we cop it.

To have that coming from a super passionate Carlton supporter who openly hates us, that just tells you, something is NOT ******* RIGHT.

Sure enough I turn on the AFL app and see 17-5… what in the actual heck…

Don't need a Carlton strop to tell us what the stats tell us even more clearly - but thanks anyway Rob!

Disgraceful effort by the maggots.
Razor ray can go fu** himself
#26 is a cheat
#6 is a cheat

Did you watch Friday night - Meredith is an absolute weak turd who should not be in the game. Needs to go back and complete pre-school!

Love to know the last time we won or even got close to winning the free kick count?

And I’m still waiting for someone to explain to me exactly how our game style results in such a lopsided free kick tally?

I reckon Richmond are on the nose at AFL house and that’s also the case with the umpiring fraternity

And finally the day Chamberlain hangs up the whistle the game will be better for it

Love to know the last time we won or even got close to winning the free kick count?

And I’m still waiting for someone to explain to me exactly how our game style results in such a lopsided free kick tally?

I reckon Richmond are on the nose at AFL house and that’s also the case with the umpiring fraternity

And finally the day Chamberlain hangs up the whistle the game will be better for it

this our last year of frees

1652528640493.png

Balta got done by the rule invented cause cotchin was too good at getting the ball
That was an absolute bullshit interpretation and a perfect example of how umpires continually get this wrong.
The rule was brought in to stop people charging at the ball and following through to take out a stationary oopo players legs. It can break bones and effects careers. Ask N Brown.
What we have got is umpires paying it if a player jumps on the ball, or collects it and the oppo players momentum carries them over the ball winner, this is the oppo players fault, not the ball winners.
Lewis (?) completely changed direction and cut in front of Balta who was already low and collecting the ball and couldn't deviate. Ergo bullshit.

That was an absolute bullshit interpretation and a perfect example of how umpires continually get this wrong.
The rule was brought in to stop people charging at the ball and following through to take out a stationary oopo players legs. It can break bones and effects careers. Ask N Brown.
What we have got is umpires paying it if a player jumps on the ball, or collects it and the oppo players momentum carries them over the ball winner, this is the oppo players fault, not the ball winners.
Lewis (?) completely changed direction and cut in front of Balta who was already low and collecting the ball and couldn't deviate. Ergo bullshit.
Yep not to mention he jumped up! Which compounded it and made it look worse. There was no slide

The most frustrating thing with umpiring across the board is the inconsistent interpretation. There were more dangerous tackles than what Jack got pinged for in other games tonight and they weren't called. Sliding in and taking legs out also ignored.

Dissent is another thing, so if you remonstrate a decision against you it's 50 yet a non decision and a player seems to have open slather, what's the difference. Either the AFL want to stop dissent full stop or they don't. Buddy didn't get a free and threw his arms up in the air, cannot for the life of me understand why that is considered acceptable.

The most frustrating thing with umpiring across the board is the inconsistent interpretation. There were more dangerous tackles than what Jack got pinged for in other games tonight and they weren't called. Sliding in and taking legs out also ignored.

Dissent is another thing, so if you remonstrate a decision against you it's 50 yet a non decision and a player seems to have open slather, what's the difference. Either the AFL want to stop dissent full stop or they don't. Buddy didn't get a free and threw his arms up in the air, cannot for the life of me understand why that is considered acceptable.

why do the AFL even want to stop dissent? umps are making 6 figures for a part time job where they don't have to perform well, none of them give a shit about being abused. as for the game it misses the pure rage infused atmosphere of a crowd and whole team melting at the umpires

this our last year of frees

View attachment 1400158

So in 15 of the last 23 matches we lost the free kick count and in 8 of those we won it. That seems bad enough……….but our best free kick “win" was by 8 free kicks. We have had 10 counts as bad as that or worse against us, ie we have lost the free kick count by 8 or more in 10 of our last 23 matches. That is epidemic proportions.

People say it is the way we play, we give away so many free kicks. Well, yeah, we have the most free kicks paid us against us per game in the AFL this season. But we also get the least free kicks in the AFL this season. And where we are getting 13% more free kicks paid against us than AFL median, we are 17% below AFL median for free kicks received.

Oh, people say, well you are probably giving away free kicks where other teams receive them, explaining why your AFL leading deficit in free kicks received correlates with your AFL leading surplus in free kicks conceded.

Ah, ok let’s have a look at the other high conceding teams to see if this rings true:

ClubAverage Frees Conceded% Above AFL MedianAverage Frees Awarded% From AFL MedianCorrelation/Difference
Richmond24.9+1318.1-17Yes/-30%
Swans24+821.70No/-8%
Dockers23.5+623.8+8No/+2%
Eagles22.8+319.9-10Yes/-13%
Kangaroos22.6+223.7+8No/+6%
Power22.6+221.4-2Yes/-4%
Saints22.20220Yes/0%
Giants22.20214No/+4%

So of the 8 teams who concede greater than AFL median free kicks per match, 4 have no discernible correlation whatsoever between higher than AFL median free kicks conceded and lower than AFL median free kicks received. Of the other 3 that do have a correlation, all are a relatively negligible amount away from AFL median free kicks against. And only the hapless Eagles are more than a negligible amount away from ALF median free kicks received.

Richmond’s figures are an outrageous outlier and it can be seen there is no other team who concedes above AFL median free kicks with any significant deficit compared to AFL median on both sides of the ledger.

Looking at this, whatever is afflicting Richmond’s free kick count to this point in the season appears unique to Richmond, and cannot be dismissed simply by saying it is the way we play, as this wouldn’t explain our incredibly low free kicks received count relative to the rest of the AFL in 2022. And I don’t think it can be explained away by saying there is a natural correlation between teams giving away more free kicks and earning less, as the above table does not seem to support that.

Any other ideas? Anyone with better than my very basic mathematic acumen able to put any more sense to it?

Being at the game surrounded by Hawks at the time i didn't thinks the umpiring was that bad, but now looking at the count it's funny how much they melted and felt hard done by

So in 15 of the last 23 matches we lost the free kick count and in 8 of those we won it. That seems bad enough……….but our best free kick “win" was by 8 free kicks. We have had 10 counts as bad as that or worse against us, ie we have lost the free kick count by 8 or more in 10 of our last 23 matches. That is epidemic proportions.

People say it is the way we play, we give away so many free kicks. Well, yeah, we have the most free kicks paid us against us per game in the AFL this season. But we also get the least free kicks in the AFL this season. And where we are getting 13% more free kicks paid against us than AFL median, we are 17% below AFL median for free kicks received.

Oh, people say, well you are probably giving away free kicks where other teams receive them, explaining why your AFL leading deficit in free kicks received correlates with your AFL leading surplus in free kicks conceded.

Ah, ok let’s have a look at the other high conceding teams to see if this rings true:

ClubAverage Frees Conceded% Above AFL MedianAverage Frees Awarded% From AFL MedianCorrelation/Difference
Swans24+821.70No/-8%
Power22.6+221.4-2Yes/-4%
Saints22.20220Yes/0%
Giants22.20214No/+4%

So of the 8 teams who concede greater than AFL median free kicks per match, 4 have no discernible correlation whatsoever between higher than AFL median free kicks conceded and lower than AFL median free kicks received. Of the other 3 that do have a correlation, all are a relatively negligible amount away from AFL median free kicks against. And only the hapless Eagles are more than a negligible amount away from ALF median free kicks received.

Richmond’s figures are an outrageous outlier and it can be seen there is no other team who concedes above AFL median free kicks with any significant deficit compared to AFL median on both sides of the ledger.

Looking at this, whatever is afflicting Richmond’s free kick count to this point in the season appears unique to Richmond, and cannot be dismissed simply by saying it is the way we play, as this wouldn’t explain our incredibly low free kicks received count relative to the rest of the AFL in 2022. And I don’t think it can be explained away by saying there is a natural correlation between teams giving away more free kicks and earning less, as the above table does not seem to support that.

Any other ideas? Anyone with better than my very basic mathematic acumen able to put any more sense to it?

spot fixing

Swans24+821.70No/-8%
Power22.6+221.4-2Yes/-4%
Saints22.20220Yes/0%
Giants22.20214No/+4%

So more importantly, and going hand in hand, what explains the lack of positive reviews when Richmond does summit good in a match...sound of crickets...
The constant high lighting of supposed Richmond footy errors by the media!?
Seems to me like a total concerted anti Richmond bias...

They were all over Buku Khamis on Friday night and his was barely a remonstration compared to buddy

You mention if you remonstrate against a non decision it’s open slather which seems to be the case but yesterday the ball went out of bounds for a throw, Lynch said to razor I was being held and you hear razor on the mic say nup and paid a free against Lynch for dissent! Un****ingbelievable

Umpiring is so pathetic and random in the AFL

Not sure what they AFL is trying to do with umpiring. That call against Lynch for showing that he had his arm chopped is not dissent, well technically it may be, but is that where we want the umpiring to go, absolutely no discourse with an ump at all. So there is no questioning at all of the ump's decision.

I understand and support the general idea that too much remonstration against umpiring is not a good look, some of Jack's pleading, Richo even better. But Lynch, like that kid the other night for the Doggies just asked where was the hold/push in the back. They weren't even animated, just querying a decision.

So from now on every decision the ump makes will be met with silence. Next time if you are going to give away a 50m, just as soon Lynch barrelled a torp into the top deck of the Southern stand, at least it would make footy more entertaining. After decades of watching footy, I downed the pot, left the pub and thought what am I doing watching this shite.

The only thing consistent about the umpiring is that they are going to ream us on a weekly basis. There are certain unos like razor ray that give us nothing. I can't recall him giving us a single free kick in his zone yeaterday. When you combine that with our inablitly to question their decisions or hold the umps accountable for their calls and non calls both on and off the field and the pack of anti Richmond bias in the commentary box by the likes of BT and Garry'slyin then it seems to be the perfect recipe for the bias to be enabled forever and a day...

It's funny that we're on the nose at AFL house. That organisation is the worst run sporting body in the world.
So many grey areas. So many stupid decisions.
What other sport changes in the rules every year? Just the AFL. It's laughable.

The ex CEO has shown himself to be a real stand up Citizen at Crown.

I'm surely Polo Gill will head into a corporate gig and soon display his true colours as well.
The bloke didn't even read the report into female umpire abuse until he had to. WTF is that? Great leadership!

And we're on the nose? Lol

It's funny that we're on the nose at AFL house. That organisation is the worst run sporting body in the world.
So many grey areas. So many stupid decisions.
What other sport changes in the rules every year? Just the AFL. It's laughable.

The ex CEO has shown himself to be a real stand up Citizen at Crown.

I'm surely Polo Gill will head into a corporate gig and soon display his true colours as well.
The bloke didn't even read the report into female umpire abuse until he had to. WTF is that? Great leadership!

And we're on the nose? Lol
You often hear that it (AFL) is a boys club and reckon that’s pretty much spot on.

Steve Hocking is the classic example, promoted to a role that was beyond him. And they’ve always promoted from within.

Benny is just way too smart to be working there. Glad that those narrow minded pricks don’t like him, the best administrator in the game stays with us.

It's time for the club to address the issue of lop-sided umpiring. The figures are striking in terms of quantity but I believe they are even more striking when we consider the overall impact of inconsistent umpiring. I believe we need to look at scoring chains and record which ones were facilitated by a free kick. If a score is a result of a free kick, whether it's awarded in defense, midfield or wherever it should be recorded as such. We then obtain a clearer understanding of how much umpiring may affect the final result. We need a representation of data so let's start with this year but can go back a couple of years to illustrate this worsening trend. Perhaps the club already has this data but I can see that opposition momentum surges and free kick runs are directly correlated. Once the data is available, if nothing else it will show that we are justified in calling it out.

Umpiring