Unpopular Port Adelaide opinion you may have

1> why? the little fanbase they have left is becoming less engaged and smaller by the minute
3 , see Collingwood the very week before

1) 40,000 at a state league grand final against a reserves side shows support is there to >POTENTIALLY< sustain an AFL side. Throw in they'd represent the whole of East Adelaide, the rich side of town (money/secondary sponsors/private backing) and a few other factors and it makes sense for the AFL to look at it. I'll forever maintain it makes more sense than WA3.

3) Collingwood were playing for their favourite son to try and win a flag in his swansong finals campaign. Remember, we pushed the Hawks to the limit in the Prelim in 2014, and look what they did to a hugely better Sydney side the week after.

Trengove has an inflated trade value due to his rucking this year, but twice now he has proven that he gets beaten when played against multiple ruckman and a smart midfield. He ins't the answer to our ruck problems. He has also showed in the past that he is a b grade defender. Remember only last year when everyone was saying that he is so slow in our backline?

Take off your Ah Chee coloured glasses and realise that you need to trade fringe players when they have the most value. Young also plays as a tall lead up forward and isn't 193+cm, to me that spells He also doesn't have the tools to me a full time midfielder (has he even done better than his normal fourth quarter sub efforts efforts when put into the middle this year?). Whats young's goal tally been like when we have had two actual KPF's with him this year (Westhoff doesn't count)

I'd guess at best a goal a game. You won't win Premierships if he is our second marking option up forward
Ah Chee coloured glasses?

I've never said Trengove is the answer in Ruck, he's a backman who is a good pinch hitter.. He's performed extremely well this year under the circumstances, has a backbone & loves the club he stays.

Young can be used in a smarter way but of course he could be traded, blokes that can play forward as well as being very good contested ball winning midfielders don't exactly grow on trees though.. be careful what you wish for

I'm looking more at Broadbent, Lobbe, O'Shea for trade and I'd be tempted to give Westhoff the boot if a good offer was made but our average tall stocks probably don't allow it... Ah Chee could go for nothing depending on how the club see him.

We need to break up the band somewhere but Trengove actually has moxie it's hard to name too many others that do.

What's with the weird hope for Norwood in the AFL that a few Port supporters harbour?

It'd literally never, ever happen. Not in the next decade or two at least would another SA team be sustainable or indeed useful to the commercial interests of the AFL. After that, in the unforeseeable future, the only thing for certain is that no one would give a shit about them.

Ah Chee coloured glasses?

I've never said Trengove is the answer in Ruck, he's a backman who is a good pinch hitter.. He's performed extremely well this year under the circumstances, has a backbone & loves the club he stays.

Young can be used in a smarter way but of course he could be traded, blokes that can play forward as well as being very good contested ball winning midfielders don't exactly grow on trees though.. be careful what you wish for

I'm looking more at Broadbent, Lobbe, O'Shea for trade and I'd be tempted to give Westhoff the boot if a good offer was made but our average tall stocks probably don't allow it... Ah Chee could go for nothing depending on how the club see him.

We need to break up the band somewhere but Trengove actually has moxie it's hard to name too many others.
Ah Chee coloured glasses as in realise some players can appear to have breakout years then just flop from there. We could've got a 2nd rounder for him last year now we'll be lucky to get a bag of chips, Young might be in the same boat this time next year

I'm all for all of those players being traded, just didn't mention it as i figured it wasn't unpopular

Ah Chee coloured glasses as in realise some players can appear to have breakout years then just flop from there. We could've got a 2nd rounder for him last year now we'll be lucky to get a bag of chips, Young might be in the same boat this time next year

I'm all for all of those players being traded, just didn't mention it as i figured it wasn't unpopular
Ok yea that's a good point AFL history is littered with guys that pop up for a year and pop off there after.. I'm a Youngy fan but even I'm not convinced 100%

*Westhoof to Rihcmound 4 Tybone Vickery... that'll be unpopular

What's with the weird hope for Norwood in the AFL that a few Port supporters harbour?

It'd literally never, ever happen. Not in the next decade or two at least would another SA team be sustainable or indeed useful to the commercial interests of the AFL. After that, in the unforeseeable future, the only thing for certain is that no one would give a shit about them.

This thread does ask for unpopular opinions......

I just think Norwood in the AFL, eventually, would be a sustainable club. Whole Eastern (wealthy) side of the city would be theirs for support (they are big even in TTG/Modbury where there is over 100,000 people). I think we could sustain 3 AFL sides as it is, but only if Norwood was the 3rd one (you won't see me campaigning for #CentralsintheAFL ever).

They'd eat into the Crows sure but they have 6 other clubs and thousands of other flogs who don't follow the SANFL for support, while I'm yet to see a Redlegs/Power supporter (if I ever see one, the cringe will be real).

Oh goody, this thread!

My one I've been feeling lately, Aaron Young has undone all his good work from the first half of the season and will not enter 2017 a first 22 player.

Somewhat related.

Jay Schulz is still comfortably the best set shot goal kicker we have.

This thread does ask for unpopular opinions......

I just think Norwood in the AFL, eventually, would be a sustainable club. Whole Eastern (wealthy) side of the city would be theirs for support (they are big even in TTG/Modbury where there is over 100,000 people). I think we could sustain 3 AFL sides as it is, but only if Norwood was the 3rd one (you won't see me campaigning for #CentralsintheAFL ever).

They'd eat into the Crows sure but they have 6 other clubs and thousands of other flogs who don't follow the SANFL for support, while I'm yet to see a Redlegs/Power supporter (if I ever see one, the cringe will be real).
Since when? no one in the Gully I know gives a shit about Norwood

Qualifier: Credit to Sam Gray for his effort over the last two weeks. One of the few out there who looks like he's trying.

Unpopular opinion: I'm a Port Adelaide Football Club supporter, not a Sam Gray supporter. The best thing for the Port Adelaide Football Club in the long run is not for Sam Gray to play well in dead rubber games and potentially get himself another contract to clog our list for another year. The best thing for the Port Adelaide Football Club in the long run is for Sam Gray to play so terribly for the rest of the season that he couldn't possibly be rewarded with another contract. I genuinely hope he spuds it up next week.

You can call this heartless or unfairly harsh if you like, and you're probably right, but that's why I bumped the unpopular opinions thread to post it.

Bump.

Ol' mate Slippery McFumbles is contracted until the end of 2017, and has played 14 games and counting this year which could have gone to somebody who isn't a 24 year old midget with poor skills instead.

Bump.

Ol' mate Slippery McFumbles is contracted until the end of 2017, and has played 14 games and counting this year which could have gone to somebody who isn't a 24 year old midget with poor skills instead.
The Sydney game proving once again, that unless you've got something exceptional in your bag of tricks (like Harvey or Daniel), that an undersized midfielder will not cut it against the big bodied sides (ie the ones making finals).

Put the Sam Gray experiment down as reaffirming what shouldn't have been needing reaffirmation and leave him to guide the SANFL midfield all of next year before delisting.

Yeah it's way, way too late for them.

Norwood and their 63 members probably won't exist by the time SA could even be considered for another license. No one in their right mind is gonna go "Hey let's ditch the Crows for that local team that dad went for 50 years ago".

The time for Norwood to elevate themselves to greatness was in 1990, but they f@#ked it through their own cowardice and jealousy, so it's over for them.

They can go #gnawwood as far as I'm concerned.

It's staggering.

When I came up in the time of polio and Glenn Ridge, Norwood were a mild annoyance. Like getting your pubes caught in your foreskin after a tins-themed alfresco piss on a chilly winter's morn.

Glenelg were the team to beat. Three Grand Finals. Two flags. Robin Kidney. Scott Salisbury-Holmes. Emily Seebohm Senior. A genuine force. The real deal. Graham folking Cornes. North Adelaide were thereabouts, as were the nouveau riche tilts nearby in the form of Woodville-West Torrens and Centrals.

Norwood? Literally all I remember is Michael Aish had curly hair in lieu of success and Garry McIntosh something or other. The rickety shithole they and the Adelaide Bite call home combined with the glee with which their few-hundred diehards celebrated their recent threepeat - while vascillating between claiming the league is ruined (no AFL is SANFL!) - is indicative of them.

An absolute minnow deserving of pity for what might have been, had they not been run by a confederacy of milquetoasts while we were piloted to our destiny of dining at the game's top table by titans named Bob McLean (irony) and Bruce Weber.

The only way Norwood get in is by replacing us. And this was actually their hope during the '08-'12 period. So yeah, **** Norwood. They're rotting exactly where they deserve to be.

The Sydney game proving once again, that unless you've got something exceptional in your bag of tricks (like Harvey or Daniel), that an undersized midfielder will not cut it against the big bodied sides (ie the ones making finals).

Put the Sam Gray experiment down as reaffirming what shouldn't have been needing reaffirmation and leave him to guide the SANFL midfield all of next year before delisting.

Sam Gray is there to pander to those who romanticise about the Magpies being a pathway up the the Port Adelaide AFL side. Someone with so few strings to his bow could be there for no other reason.

So basically, anyone saying they'd like Norwood to be in the AFL is pretty much saying we should forfeit our license and give it to them. lol.
I get that it comes from the nostalgia of the rivalry but the time has surely passed and all that has transpired between the PAFC and the SANFL and its clubs should have maybe changed those rivalries from being something supporters long for to just being a nice memory. Sport is a very emotional, illogical thing, though.

By the way Established1870 this isn't just directed at you, I've seen it come up a few times.

Sam Gray is there to pander to those who romanticise about the Magpies being a pathway up the the Port Adelaide AFL side. Someone with so few strings to his bow could be there for no other reason.
Hes on the list /now/ because he showed a very good ceiling in a solid block of games. It probably should have been a one year contract though.

Yeah look, his game against Hawthorn was good late last year, but the rest of that block consisted of a struggling GWS, and a Freo team who pretty much picked the tea lady they were resting so many players.

I get that it comes from the nostalgia of the rivalry but the time has surely passed and all that has transpired between the PAFC and the SANFL and its clubs should have maybe changed those rivalries from being something supporters long for to just being a nice memory. Sport is a very emotional, illogical thing, though.

By the way Established1870 this isn't just directed at you, I've seen it come up a few times.

The SANFL and it's clubs sought during our horror years to financially cripple us to a point where our license would need to be forfeited back to the SANFL and they could re-distribute it how they saw fit. Norwood was one of the clubs circling like a shark. They can **** off.

It's staggering.

When I came up in the time of polio and Glenn Ridge, Norwood were a mild annoyance. Like getting your pubes caught in your foreskin after a tins-themed alfresco piss on a chilly winter's morn.

Glenelg were the team to beat. Three Grand Finals. Two flags. Robin Kidney. Scott Salisbury-Holmes. Emily Seebohm Senior. A genuine force. The real deal. Graham folking Cornes. North Adelaide were thereabouts, as were the nouveau riche tilts nearby in the form of Woodville-West Torrens and Centrals.

Norwood? Literally all I remember is Michael Aish had curly hair in lieu of success and Garry McIntosh something or other. The rickety shithole they and the Adelaide Bite call home combined with the glee with which their few-hundred diehards celebrated their recent threepeat - while vascillating between claiming the league is ruined (no AFL is SANFL!) - is indicative of them.

An absolute minnow deserving of pity for what might have been, had they not been run by a confederacy of milquetoasts while we were piloted to our destiny of dining at the game's top table by titans named Bob McLean (irony) and Bruce Weber.

Well that's Norwood taken care of :D

The Sydney game proving once again, that unless you've got something exceptional in your bag of tricks (like Harvey, Daniel, or Snelling), that an undersized midfielder will not cut it against the big bodied sides (ie the ones making finals).

Fixed that for you

I would keep The Hoon on the list and probably give him a couple of games before the end of the season. I think he performs a valuable link man type role. Our defensive transition has been trash, he could help with that. He always has a knack for finding the ball, which is handy.

Positive:
Cameron Hitchcock is a handy footballer who's worth persisting with.

Negative:
Paul Stewart as a forward is overrated based on a few memorable moments. He played two very good games there and we all remember his cameo against North Melbourne, but apart from those three games he showed very little. He should be played permanently off of a HBF, he's too inconsistent when he's played further up the field.

Campbell Heath has done nothing to excite me. Not yet anyway.

One horrible call followed by two nice ones

The loss of Danyle Pearce will hurt us more than the loss of Shaun Burgoyne did.

Port Adelaide FC will have folded from the AFL by 2020

Butcher will be a gun, AA standard

Moore is worth persisting with

Kane Cornes will go down as PAFC's best ever player (on the limb that we will have folded/merged by 2020)

Brett Ebert is underrated on this board, whilst overrated in the facebook realms

Tom Cluery will be the best out of our 2012 draft picks

Chad Wingard will be Port Adelaide's next brownlow contender
I was wrong on all levels
- Renouf, Mitchell, Colquhoun and J.Butcher will all be retired or delisted within 3 years
- Gray will never be the same after his last injury
One good call (Mitchell, Colquhoun and Butcher all might be gone by this year )

Gray went on to win the coaches MVP the following year
We won't have the capacity, desirability or ability to recruit a true 'big name' to club for at LEAST 5 years.

Im unsure if Dixon Ryder or Polec count?
People who doubt Boak are going to feel pretty silly in 6 months unless he gets injured again. He was so good in the 2nd half of last year.

His next two years were AA years

dunno if this is unpopular, but

I'd love it if Port (and the whole AFL) had their numbers on the front left of the jumper like they do at U18 state champs

i still want this

Some shockers in this thread also included some great calls
Just from the first ten pages of this thread

Unpopular Port Adelaide opinion you may have