Unpopular Port Adelaide opinion you may have

I'm aware of the sprinkling of historical references and the wider rationale behind the mascot choice, i'm saying it's just too intangible to stoke any proper emotional response, etc.

ie, if the club had come out during the nadir of 2010-12 and said "oi cuns, we're gonna rebrand and we're dropping the Power moniker" would anyone beyond a few MySpacers and hobos have cared?

But if they'd have said, "yeah nah, we're South Coast Power aye", it would've been pitchforks and death threats galore.

And do put what in its place?

Since black-and-white Magpies was not an option, they included "teal" (greenish blue) for the sea (it is "PORT Adelaide," after all, right?) and "Power" to link PAFC's past and future through the club's creed.

Both choices are absurdly underrated.

I'm aware of the sprinkling of historical references and the wider rationale behind the mascot choice, i'm saying it's just too intangible to stoke any proper emotional response, etc.

ie, if the club had come out during the nadir of 2010-12 and said "oi cuns, we're gonna rebrand and we're dropping the Power moniker" would anyone beyond a few MySpacers and hobos have cared?

But if they'd have said, "yeah nah, we're South Coast Power aye", it would've been pitchforks and death threats galore.

Funny I could count on one hand the amount of times an old port tragic like my father has let 'Carn' the Power' slip out in an exciting moment,
I think that's an indicator when a fair swag of the old Port folk barely acknowledge it.

"We, the Players and Management of the Port Adelaide Football Club, accept the heritage which players and administrators have passed down to us; in so doing we do not intend to rest in idleness but shall strive with all our...

... POWER...

... to further this Club's unexcelled achievements."

Power was taken from the creed to link PAFC's AFL team with the club's SANFL history. The meaning of "Power" is in accepting "the heritage... passed down..." and striving "to further this Club's unexcelled achievements."
I did not know that!

Willem Drew is unlikely to cut it at AFL level. Early days, but it's the unpopular opinions thread..........
Said the same thing about Houston last year.. Players develop at different speeds. Not everyone is gunna come into the system and be a SPP..

Drawing conclusions of an 18 year old in his first year of AFL football is not unpopular it's just plain idiotic

Realistically we shouldn't win the flag this year ( not that i'm hoping we don't) we are basically rebuilding going into finals.
Keep playing Marshall, AJ, Dougal, Houston etc. They are the way forward.
I haven't ruled out Impey as he has had a tough 12 months, let's see what he gives us next year.

Said the same thing about Houston last year.. Players develop at different speeds. Not everyone is gunna come into the system and be a SPP..

Drawing conclusions of an 18 year old in his first year of AFL football is not unpopular it's just plain idiotic

Not my choice of words, but you have a point.

It's not the worst club song but it's average they could at least record it again dice the dreadful intro & give it a more manly stripped back musical n' vocal style.
u0TLcaeJzsXpVDqCol9whmNvgX4=.gif

I don't dislike 'Power' as much as I did, but it literally means nothing. You can't have an affinity with it as a thing like you can with a Magpie, Cat, Bomber, Red Devil, Blue Devil or Bull, etc.
Uhhhm, try again sweetie.

ThundaPower.JPG

Power's mascot should be Zeus (Jupiter):
thKG0W32WA.jpg
zeus-final-low.jpg

Realistically we shouldn't win the flag this year ( not that i'm hoping we don't) we are basically rebuilding going into finals.
Keep playing Marshall, AJ, Dougal, Houston etc. They are the way forward.
I haven't ruled out Impey as he has had a tough 12 months, let's see what he gives us next year.

100%

I'd rather build for a premiership rather than waste building opportunities by playing sub premiership standard players

It's the intangibility of Power that gives more power and precedence to Port Adelaide. Also it was enough to win me over.

'Power, like the emperor shoots out his fingers at Luke Skywalker? Cool! That beats a Saint!' And my dad was just a little more dead inside than before.

Also wtf is a blue? A red? Red devil? What relevance do biblical concepts have in the modern day anyway? Could a side call itself the turn dial telephone?

Sent from mTalk

Willem Drew is unlikely to cut it at AFL level. Early days, but it's the unpopular opinions thread..........
Unpopular and possibly wrong. He doesn't accumulate a lot of possessions like Atley but i reckon he is equal in talent. I believe both will become OK AFL players ... next season will sort out whether they have something special and a long career ahead of them.

I hope I'm wrong. I just haven't been very impressed.

Yeah it's not a conclusion it's an immediate impression/opinion. I hope I'm wrong.

It's the intangibility of Power that gives more power and precedence to Port Adelaide. Also it was enough to win me over.

'Power, like the emperor shoots out his fingers at Luke Skywalker? Cool! That beats a Saint!' And my dad was just a little more dead inside than before.

Also wtf is a blue? A red? Red devil? What relevance do biblical concepts have in the modern day anyway? Could a side call itself the turn dial telephone?

Sent from mTalk

Us old farts would call that a rotary dial phone Edgie.

Go the Rotaries seems like an ill fit for footy though.

I hope I'm wrong. I just haven't been very impressed.

Yeah it's not a conclusion it's an immediate impression/opinion. I hope I'm wrong.

Interestingly your unpopular opinion is unpopular cookie boy, but I can see where you're coming from with that opinion. ;)

I can see the other side of the story as well though, who would have thought the DBJ who got dragged for a very feeble tackling attempt at Balaklava a few years back was the same DBJ we see today?
I suspect many supporters had him ear marked for the chop at the end of that particular season, I know I did.

Matthew Lobbe's form at Westies was abysmal before he was selected as the last ruckman standing, and to his credit he performed well, but if he hadn't got that chance he was probably going to be delisted, and in hind sight it may have been better for all concerned if he had. :rolleyes:

never is a long time

It should be done within 5-10 years imo

We're going to have to eventually. Only us and the Swannies didn't apply for a team this time around. You can safely assume all of those teams will keep trying until they get a team. Being the only team or one of only a few teams not to have an AFLW team would be a poor PR move. The corporates wouldn't like it and it further diminishes our already low profile national brand. I understand the reasons why we're not going for it at the moment but there will come a time where we'll just have to get on board.

Unpopular Port Adelaide opinion you may have