VAFA D1 new thread for 2007

52 shots at goal Mick?
A solid day-out in anyone's language.
I'm interested to know...did you guys miss some gettable ones? You could conceivably have won by over 200 points?? Did Therry seem disinterested or did they have a go?

Didn't really fire a shot. Didn't stop trying, but they're just not up to it. Plenty of wayward goalkicking that would normally be standard practice. As proven in the previous encounter 200 points could've been a realistic result with straighter kicking. No point dwelling though. Percentage isn't an issue. Building the W's column is all that matters.

You can be certain that when the D1 scribe in the Amateur Footballer names his 'Team of the Year' at the end of the year (which could be the team that'll line-up for D1 in the Section of Origin,if that ever happens) the there's very little chance of players from Therry Penola being in the team.

I'll say this much - there's a better chance of a Therry player making the TOTY than of there ever being a Section of Origin game for the side to play in. ;)

Hey guys, first post.
Seems to be a lot of banter on this forum, makes for some interesting reading. Dont want to pump us oakleigh boys up too much but we're pretty happy with our current situation. A narrow loss a couple of weeks ago against a low skilled team that played with a lot of luck on a pretty ordinary day but bouncing back well now and getting ready for the business end of the season. It's a long season and still plenty of footy to be played.

Look forward to some intersting topics regarding the D1 season.

get over it you parade nerd! sick of you blokes drumming up your chances on this forum. people are trying to have serious converations on here and all you do is diminish that!

and you, uncle mick... you were trumped by uglybullen or whatever his name was... just wear it. hobart schmobart.

tom brain 4 PM!

Settle down buddy. Im just a proud Parade boy that is genuinely excited about the team we have at the moment and i reckon we could give it a nudge in the second half of the season.
Don't have a dig at me for trying to pump a few of the boys up!

Come on Parade....We are WINNERS!

Hey guys, first post.
Seems to be a lot of banter on this forum, makes for some interesting reading. Dont want to pump us oakleigh boys up too much but we're pretty happy with our current situation. A narrow loss a couple of weeks ago against a low skilled team that played with a lot of luck on a pretty ordinary day but bouncing back well now and getting ready for the business end of the season. It's a long season and still plenty of footy to be played.

Look forward to some intersting topics regarding the D1 season.

You have got to be having a laugh DC????

Low Skill?? How do you expect any team to show case their skills on that heap of Sh*t of a cabbage patch?

Any wonder your home record isn't too bad, i think only oiled up girls in bikinis are used to playing any sport in thoses conditions...

As for the game you jumped out to a 28 to zip lead and got out worn down by a harder more determined unit who where more prepared to put their head over the ball..

I can't wait to get you guys back on to our track and pinch the double chance off you on the final week of the home and away..

Assuming OG win out at Domeney and the Rovers account for OP, it's a massive game for BT and Peninsula. The loser can virtually write off their year...slipping two games and a whopping chunk of percentage behind 4th.

In reality, we are down to 5 teams. Both Bt & Peninsula haven't done enough and probably won't figure in finals action.

OG's and HR both running into form and will give it a big shake.

We are still a long way from home but here is my predicted finishes:

Oakleigh 13 - 4 - 1 54points
Hampton 13 - 5 52 points
Prahran 12 - 5 - 1 50 points
Mentone 12 - 6 48 points
OG 12 - 6 48 points

Oakleigh - Have a good run for the next few weeks until they play OGS (home), Ment (away), Prahran(home). If they can win 2 out of 3, will be in good stead. Huge game against the Rovers round 18 (battle for top spot?)

Hampton - good possibility of winning 10 in a row, with the big test in rounds 16 (Oggers - home), 17 Praharan (away) and round 18 (Oak - home). win 2 of these for a 13/5 finish.

Prahran - I'm tipping 5 wins/3 losses for the run home, starting with the big game this week against OM. Rounds 15-17 against OGS (away), Oak, Hampton (away) will be the big test.

Mentone - Huge home ground advantage. Unfortunately play a couple of danger games at the Domeney and at Ajani. Also play Prahran, Oakleigh and Hampton. Tipping 4 wins, 4 losses.

Oggers - Starting to live up to the pre-season hype after a relatively slow start. Heaps of match-winners. Guessing at 6 wins/2 losses homeward bound, with tough games against Oakleigh (away), Prahran (home) and Hampton (away) the big test.

As you can see it's pretty tight at the top, and not forgetting we are still just past the half-way mark of the season.

thoughts anyone?

Assuming OG win out at Domeney and the Rovers account for OP, it's a massive game for BT and Peninsula. The loser can virtually write off their year...slipping two games and a whopping chunk of percentage behind 4th.

In reality, we are down to 5 teams. Both Bt & Peninsula haven't done enough and probably won't figure in finals action.

OG's and HR both running into form and will give it a big shake.

We are still a long way from home but here is my predicted finishes:

Oakleigh 13 - 4 - 1 54points
Hampton 13 - 5 52 points
Prahran 12 - 5 - 1 50 points
Mentone 12 - 6 48 points
OG 12 - 6 48 points

Oakleigh - Have a good run for the next few weeks until they play OGS (home), Ment (away), Prahran(home). If they can win 2 out of 3, will be in good stead. Huge game against the Rovers round 18 (battle for top spot?)

Hampton - good possibility of winning 10 in a row, with the big test in rounds 16 (Oggers - home), 17 Praharan (away) and round 18 (Oak - home). win 2 of these for a 13/5 finish.

Prahran - I'm tipping 5 wins/3 losses for the run home, starting with the big game this week against OM. Rounds 15-17 against OGS (away), Oak, Hampton (away) will be the big test.

Mentone - Huge home ground advantage. Unfortunately play a couple of danger games at the Domeney and at Ajani. Also play Prahran, Oakleigh and Hampton. Tipping 4 wins, 4 losses.

Oggers - Starting to live up to the pre-season hype after a relatively slow start. Heaps of match-winners. Guessing at 6 wins/2 losses homeward bound, with tough games against Oakleigh (away), Prahran (home) and Hampton (away) the big test.

As you can see it's pretty tight at the top, and not forgetting we are still just past the half-way mark of the season.

thoughts anyone?

Not bad, but not getting sucked into this. We're confident and have a considerably favourable draw.

Cleary is definitely having a laugh. Low skills don't produce consistent results throughout the season. But you'd expect him to have a crack when he couldn't get near it. In 10 rounds we've had our pants pulled down once by a side that was mentally prepared for an important game. We've since learnt a valuable lesson and I'd be surprised if it happened again.

Personally I'd rate OG's as the best side we've played this year.

So using the predicted finishes as a guide, the first week of the finals series in D1 would be like this:

First Semi Final:

Prahran v Old Mentonians (Junction Oval)

Second Semi Final:

Oakleigh v Hampton Rovers (Punt Rd Oval)

By the way, when will the VAFA bump the finals contenders up to five instead of four, as is now the case? This is how the final five scenario would've looked like, if the VAFA decided to introduce a final five system:

Elimination Final:

Old Mentonians v Old Geelong

Qualifying Final:

Hampton Rovers v Prahran

First Semi Final:

Loser of Hampton Rovers/Prahran v winner of Old Mentonians/Old Geelong

Second Semi Final:

Oakleigh v winner of Hampton Rovers/Prahran

Preliminary Final & Grand Final are decided under the final four system.

So using the predicted finishes as a guide, the first week of the finals series in D1 would be like this:

First Semi Final:

Prahran v Old Mentonians (Junction Oval)

Second Semi Final:

Oakleigh v Hampton Rovers (Punt Rd Oval)

By the way, when will the VAFA bump the finals contenders up to five instead of four, as is now the case? This is how the final five scenario would've looked like, if the VAFA decided to introduce a final five system:

Elimination Final:

Old Mentonians v Old Geelong

Qualifying Final:

Hampton Rovers v Prahran

First Semi Final:

Loser of Hampton Rovers/Prahran v winner of Old Mentonians/Old Geelong

Second Semi Final:

Oakleigh v winner of Hampton Rovers/Prahran

Preliminary Final & Grand Final are decided under the final four system.

no need for 5 teams from 10 competing in the finals after 18 weeks - you have to give some reward for performance in the home and away season

allowing teams who win half or just over half their games is rewarding mediocrity

also the premiers normally come from the top two so can't see too many coming from 5th

no need for 5 teams from 10 competing in the finals after 18 weeks - you have to give some reward for performance in the home and away season

allowing teams who win half or just over half their games is rewarding mediocrity

also the premiers normally come from the top two so can't see too many coming from 5th

Yet at the elite level half the competition can make the finals winning 11 of 22 games. And correct me if I'm wrong, but didn't Adelaide win the premiership from 5th position??? Another goose cackles his way into the forum.....

you knob, He is talking about winning a flag from 5th in a 5 team final series. Adelaide came from 5th in a now disused 8 team series.

The only goose I can see is you!!

I totally agree that the leader of the comp after round 18 should get more of an advantage than the others, but the VAFA have got a number of restrictions regarding a 5 team series. On top of this list is avaliability of grounds.

News have come through from VAFA HQ that Scammell Reserve have been closed off until further notice. And with Oakleigh assured (at this stage) of a top two finish, it's unlikely the VAFA would want to give Oakleigh home ground advantage. My suggestion is have the finals played at these venues:

Moorabbin (former home of St Kilda)
Junction Oval (best football surface in Australia)
Punt Rd Oval(Over the road from Richmond station ideal parking factilities from the MCG)

Have the first semi played at Moorabbin, second semi at Punt Road Oval, preliminary final at Moorabbin, with the grand final at the Junction Oval.

You have got to be having a laugh DC????

Low Skill?? How do you expect any team to show case their skills on that heap of Sh*t of a cabbage patch?

Any wonder your home record isn't too bad, i think only oiled up girls in bikinis are used to playing any sport in thoses conditions...

As for the game you jumped out to a 28 to zip lead and got out worn down by a harder more determined unit who where more prepared to put their head over the ball..

I can't wait to get you guys back on to our track and pinch the double chance off you on the final week of the home and away..

Whatever mate!
We lacked some structure and didn't stick to the team rules and game plan. I was running hot early on with a few shots on target and then none of the boys continued to use me even though coach instructed them too. They just had to use me!
Anyway, look forward to the rematch.

2007 will be KRUSHED!

Whatever mate!
We lacked some structure and didn't stick to the team rules and game plan. I was running hot early on with a few shots on target and then none of the boys continued to use me even though coach instructed them too. They just had to use me!
Anyway, look forward to the rematch.

2007 will be KRUSHED!

Jeez mate - you're not half into yourself. So you are saying that if they had of used you more you would have won the game against Hampton? :eek:

And yes by the way you are missing something. My choice of finals venues was sarcastic.

They are the two worst grounds going around. The VAFA has done the right thing closing W.A Scammel, they should do the same with BT's Ted Ajani Reserve.

i concur dev. worst grounds ever!!! as for you cleary... you were clearly dazzled by my the flash of my golden boots as i zipped across the scammell mud bath like jesus over water!

Hahaha!:D You're a deadset clown Holt! Most that day were mesmerised by your decision to kick on your left, somehow hit it cleanly and put it through the big sticks.....

News have come through from VAFA HQ that Scammell Reserve have been closed off until further notice. And with Oakleigh assured (at this stage) of a top two finish, it's unlikely the VAFA would want to give Oakleigh home ground advantage. My suggestion is have the finals played at these venues:

Moorabbin (former home of St Kilda)
Junction Oval (best football surface in Australia)
Punt Rd Oval(Over the road from Richmond station ideal parking factilities from the MCG)

Have the first semi played at Moorabbin, second semi at Punt Road Oval, preliminary final at Moorabbin, with the grand final at the Junction Oval.

None of the above grounds are ever used for finals matches in the VAFA. Usually VFL grounds are sourced.

Historically:

A section - Elsternwick Park
B section - Elsternwick Park
C section - Sandringham FG
D1 section - Box Hill FG or Preston City Oval
D2 section - Box Hill or Preston
D3 section - not sure
D4 section - not sure

The VAFA are unlikely to veer too far away from the above.

NB - Southern FL used Moorabbin for their finals, Richmond and Melbourne FC charge way too much to hire their grounds and the VAFA prefer to use grounds a bit further out of the CBD.

Doesn't seem logical to have the games out as far as Box Hill and Preston considering the sides that are in genuine finals contention. Unless Bulleen come home strong, Mentone, Oakleigh and Hampton will have to endure unnecessary travelling - moreso the former 2 given their current ladder positions. But if it is to be, then so be it.....