VAFA General Discussion

Ask the EFL people. Have lost of lot of numbers in their umpiring ranks.
Not au fait with his time at the EFL, Paz. Well liked while running down Peninsula way and while at the SNFL, so I'm told. As I suggested, don't think the speculation has legs. However, I was wrong once. Back in 2000 if my memory serves me correctly.:D

Giving the calicos another workout in 2020 are we?

Not au fait with his time at the EFL, Paz. Well liked while running down Peninsula way and while at the SNFL, so I'm told. As I suggested, don't think the speculation has legs. However, I was wrong once. Back in 2000 if my memory serves me correctly.:D

Giving the calicos another workout in 2020 are we?

Season #19 coming up mate. Geez that makes me feel old.

So apparently when a player registers for 2020 they are now required to pay an fee (I think around $10) which goes entirely to the VAFA (none to the club). Would anyone know what exactly this covers....?

Hopefully it's to pay for more umpires!

So apparently when a player registers for 2020 they are now required to pay an fee (I think around $10) which goes entirely to the VAFA (none to the club). Would anyone know what exactly this covers....?

New registration fee for all! $10 will go into the pot less the collection fee for sportTG. Many sports do have a rego fee so no big deal.

I’m told it’s a sponsorship app, where vafa sponsors advertise their special deals for vafa players.
Each club also submits their sponsors details and deals so their players can access them all in one place. If it’s done right, will be extremely valuable for all clubs to help promote their sponsors. One of the hardest things I’ve found with club sponsorship is getting the playing group to support the sponsors (and even just know who they all are!) so this will be a great tool, if clubs do it right.

Do the VAFA fine clubs for forfeiting. May also boost their coffers there. Clubs struggling to fill a side will have less people willing to fill in if have to pay to play 1 game?

Maybe will force more unregistered players to play, VAFA can then crack down on that too to get more fines.

Gold mine!

Do the VAFA fine clubs for forfeiting. May also boost their coffers there. Clubs struggling to fill a side will have less people willing to fill in if have to pay to play 1 game?

Maybe will force more unregistered players to play, VAFA can then crack down on that too to get more fines.

Gold mine!
$10.. please.

You only have to look at the demise in standard in the goulburn valley, ovens and murray and gippsland league over the last 15 years, where they are faced with less points than metro clubs, less salary and they cant compete with the ammos in terms of setting themselves up.

You only have to look at a guy like Will Hams for example, probably 20 years ago he would have gone back to his homeclub Sale and coached, but now Sale were never in the hunt after he finished vfl as they couldnt compete.

By no way is it the ammos fault, any young guy would do the same thing, however i find it strange that state government is trying to push growth to regional centres with further employment to try to take the pressure off melbourne yet afl victoria is doing the opposite encouraging young men theres more opportunity in the city whether it be in the ammos or getting paid a ton by metro powerhouses.

When was the last time a gun ammo, went to the country to play which wasnt their home club?
Who wants to drive 6 to 8 hrs a weekend for a game of footy. Stuff that..

WRFL is a basket case as a league..

Why do you say this? Although Deer Park have been dominant in winning the past 7 grand finals, the league has been extremely competitive. During the 7 peat Deer Park have played off against 6 different teams in the grand final. Wouldn't be too many comps that could claim that. The standard and professionalism of the WRFL has increased significantly from the bad old days (80s & 90s) when it was a rough as guts league. A lot of folk from the more wealthy areas like to take shots at WRFL purely as snobbery, and most would never have been that side of the westgate..

WRFL is a basket case as a league..

I find this whole ongoing war between the Ammos and other leagues tiresome. This one upmanship that goes on and on and achieves bugger all.

The fact is all Aussie rules competitions are struggling. Clubs are slowly disappearing and based on my observations attracting juniors from Under 13 onwards is extremely difficult as they are trying to compete with soccer and basketball. The A-League is a third rate competition and will never be a serious threat, b/c Aussies do not want to watch a poor standard of football. Moreso, we have people who work weekends and cannot participate in footy matches and therefore do not get associated with clubs. Back in the 1930's they played footy in mid week competitions. i have not heard or seen any interest in reviving such a concept. Nor surprised that the AFL would not do anything as they are inept. They employ hundreds of people pretending that they are working whilst paying them salaries to make the whole thing appear legitimate. My dealings with the AFL and Football Victoria were limited, and I found them totally disinterested in doing anything that involved them having to work after 5.00pm.

The AFL has funnelled tens of millions of dollars into GWS & GCS. Neither will bear fruit for 20 years, and frankly the GWS is probably better suited to the ACT where they have a following.

Is there a demand for a mid week competition for male and female? 4X15 min quarters, perhaps 16 players or less if required? We have huge unemployment rate amongst people over 55. They could be asked to volunteer to help and possibly paid if Gil could throw a few crumbs and talk to the Govt. More interaction with migrant communities to sell the game and the benefits of participation to them. Not hard to do, but it always manages to fall back on the shoulders of the same committee people in the usual competitions to do something.

I heard an interview with a committee member of a club in the Essendon District League, and what he had to say was alarming. Kids dropping away, clubs struggling with numbers etc.Not going to be much of a draft if you have to rely on the private schools to develop kids for the AFL draft.

If we continue to stick our heads in the sand we may discover in 10 or 20 years that the Ammos & EFL are the only remaining competitions.

Why do you say this? Although Deer Park have been dominant in winning the past 7 grand finals, the league has been extremely competitive. During the 7 peat Deer Park have played off against 6 different teams in the grand final. Wouldn't be too many comps that could claim that. The standard and professionalism of the WRFL has increased significantly from the bad old days (80s & 90s) when it was a rough as guts league. A lot of folk from the more wealthy areas like to take shots at WRFL purely as snobbery, and most would never have been that side of the westgate..

I was referring to the offield organization which has been all of the place the past few years. Perhaps you should read their forum site which has outlined all of the issues over the years. Not sure if it has improved.

DP accused of numerous things and talk that they were going to be kicked out of the finals and then miraculously they managed to win another flag. Lack of depth and development in the lower grades making the 1st Division a closed shop.
Port Colts forced to move to Southern to rebuild, whilst Albion had cricket scores kicked against them. It seems to be a league of boom and bust.

What happens to DP next year? Do they stay or do they go?

There are 5 or 6 clubs across the Divisions that a treading water to survive. Meanwhile Western United opens a new soccer stadium in Truganina and plays in the A League. Where do you think the kids will move to?

Are kids not playing afl because they didnt make the under 14s squad and see no pathway, instead of just enjoying playing footy, without worrying if an APS school recruiter is watching ready for a scholarship.
Should scholarships for footy be only 1 per school? So more kids play and it dosnt turn into an elitist game so early.
Do they stop playing because they see limited opportunities in senior footy down the track due to recruiting by metro and vafa top tier clubs?

Why dont the VAFA and metro leagues instead of having a points system, only allow 4 non juniors or players to have played less than three years at the club per senior team and instead of playing open age interleague just have under 21 interleague.

Theres already talk of upping the draft age, as would Nathan Buckley, Garry Ablett snr or Greg Williams be drafted today? i doubt it.

Surely footys all about keeping people playing for as long as possible

I find this whole ongoing war between the Ammos and other leagues tiresome. This one upmanship that goes on and on and achieves bugger all.

The fact is all Aussie rules competitions are struggling. Clubs are slowly disappearing and based on my observations attracting juniors from Under 13 onwards is extremely difficult as they are trying to compete with soccer and basketball. The A-League is a third rate competition and will never be a serious threat, b/c Aussies do not want to watch a poor standard of football. Moreso, we have people who work weekends and cannot participate in footy matches and therefore do not get associated with clubs. Back in the 1930's they played footy in mid week competitions. i have not heard or seen any interest in reviving such a concept. Nor surprised that the AFL would not do anything as they are inept. They employ hundreds of people pretending that they are working whilst paying them salaries to make the whole thing appear legitimate. My dealings with the AFL and Football Victoria were limited, and I found them totally disinterested in doing anything that involved them having to work after 5.00pm.

The AFL has funnelled tens of millions of dollars into GWS & GCS. Neither will bear fruit for 20 years, and frankly the GWS is probably better suited to the ACT where they have a following.

Is there a demand for a mid week competition for male and female? 4X15 min quarters, perhaps 16 players or less if required? We have huge unemployment rate amongst people over 55. They could be asked to volunteer to help and possibly paid if Gil could throw a few crumbs and talk to the Govt. More interaction with migrant communities to sell the game and the benefits of participation to them. Not hard to do, but it always manages to fall back on the shoulders of the same committee people in the usual competitions to do something.

I heard an interview with a committee member of a club in the Essendon District League, and what he had to say was alarming. Kids dropping away, clubs struggling with numbers etc.Not going to be much of a draft if you have to rely on the private schools to develop kids for the AFL draft.

If we continue to stick our heads in the sand we may discover in 10 or 20 years that the Ammos & EFL are the only remaining competitions.

Could be way off here but I think fitness has a lot to do with it. Back when I was a kid and there were still horse-drawn milk carts at night, I played outside with the neighbours and spent ages running around playing chasey or cops and robbers and shit. So sports was a natural transition. These days kids are pried off their keyboard or xbox and dragged to training once a week and play on Sunday, and do bugger all at school.

Once they lose a bit of fat and gain a little muscle and aerobic capacity, they're good. But it's that uncomfortable (and for some, humiliating) transition that might put some kids off making the jump from Auskick or U9/U10 to a more competitive level.

Just throwing it out there...

Are kids not playing afl because they didnt make the under 14s squad and see no pathway, instead of just enjoying playing footy, without worrying if an APS school recruiter is watching ready for a scholarship.
Should scholarships for footy be only 1 per school? So more kids play and it dosnt turn into an elitist game so early.
Do they stop playing because they see limited opportunities in senior footy down the track due to recruiting by metro and vafa top tier clubs?
One idea is to grade the early teen years by physical maturity (size) rather than purely by age. In a group of 14/15yos, you will have some who will pass for 18 and some who look 12 - and it can be pretty daunting if you are one of the latter. Maybe levelling them out a bit by size would help. I think one of the rugby codes may have tried this approach, but the issues are a bit different (weedy kids can end up with a broken neck in rugby) and I don't know the outcome.

The other observation is that sport is virtually compulsory at a lot of schools, especially private schools. I have a mate who quit soccer after playing U17s, not because of a softer life / online gaming / whatever, but because it was his first chance to do so: he had not wanted to play at any point. We shouldn't confuse (forced) high participation with high enthusiasm.

Could be way off here but I think fitness has a lot to do with it. Back when I was a kid and there were still horse-drawn milk carts at night, I played outside with the neighbours and spent ages running around playing chasey or cops and robbers and shit. So sports was a natural transition. These days kids are pried off their keyboard or xbox and dragged to training once a week and play on Sunday, and do bugger all at school.

Once they lose a bit of fat and gain a little muscle and aerobic capacity, they're good. But it's that uncomfortable (and for some, humiliating) transition that might put some kids off making the jump from Auskick or U9/U10 to a more competitive level.

Just throwing it out there...
Na mate zero to do with it. Today you have 10000 more choices regarding what sport you want to play. So the competition for sports to attract kids is greater than it ever has been. Add to that that while some junior clubs are struggling if you go to the growth corridors you'll find clubs bursting with numbers some clubs having up to 3 or 4 teams per ages group.

It is, but theres not much point bringing in a state wide system for points allocation, if theres no system for how points are allocated for each team, and each league does what they like is there?

I think you’ll find a large portion of clubs in VAFA Premier actually do develop their juniors that attended the school/University. The overwhelming majority of their clubs would be made up of past students.
Any my old club has lost 8 players in the last 4 years to country clubs offering them coin, and we have picked up 0 country blokes who have played with us over going back to their home club. So jog on back to your country footy threads and start thinking of solutions for those leagues instead of sooking on here.
Well why not offer them a course to do then sign them, making them a 1 point player? And get them a cushy job from a mate of a mate that is good coin regardless of whether they can do it, which then won't affect the VAFA salary cap. Because there isn't one. As it's not a match payment.
University Blues having the same points as Nyah Nyah West is laughable, and your supreme leader is concerned some club's may become powerhouses like Vermont etc. Any ****in wonder. He allows it.

Great to see Jono ORourke go back to his junior club for the love of the game, or did he just sign on to the premiers🤔

How can this happen?

Well why not offer them a course to do then sign them, making them a 1 point player? And get them a cushy job from a mate of a mate that is good coin regardless of whether they can do it, which then won't affect the VAFA salary cap. Because there isn't one. As it's not a match payment.
University Blues having the same points as Nyah Nyah West is laughable, and your supreme leader is concerned some club's may become powerhouses like Vermont etc. Any fu**in wonder. He allows it.

Great to see Jono ORourke go back to his junior club for the love of the game, or did he just sign on to the premiers🤔

How can this happen?
Heaps of room. Only used 28/45 Points in their GF romp.
Like the pres said of 3 point player Brendan Goddard, just giving back mate...
But probably got 5hr/week job for 100k with alh group or Probuild.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20191209-195110_Samsung Internet.jpg
    Screenshot_20191209-195110_Samsung Internet.jpg
    94.5 KB · Views: 166

VAFA General Discussion