Happy to accept fwiwFWIW new vafa president creating a big footy account and the Herald Sun doing a write up on Div1-Div4 recruits, what other nuggets does 2024 have in store? Bedford as the new mod?
Jon Anderson in the HS this morning interviews Brett Connell , who has some really positive comments about the future . Lets hope it's backed up .
Great man around Ammo traps particularly with the lads from Como Park.
Presidents meeting on tonight and I believe on the agenda is a move to increase the serving of grog .
Think Bedford was referring to extending the hours alcohol can be sold in the dining areas rather than pandering to the outer can suckers.That was kyboshed early in the year, not sure overlords would be keen to breach subject again, even though our ground would be great to sit and have beer, same as other grounds!
Great 'Cat' man is the redoubtable Ando.Andos boys played at Oggs due to fallout with Skevvies, should’ve got them down to de la
CorrectThink Bedford was referring to extending the hours alcohol can be sold in the dining areas rather than pandering to the outer can suckers.
Did you go along Bedders? Any update on discussions?Presidents meeting on tonight and I believe on the agenda is a move to increase the serving of grog .
Not a President mate.Did you go along Bedders? Any update on discussions?
No feedback from El Presidento, Bedders?Not a President mate.
Jon Anderson in the HS this morning interviews Brett Connell , who has some really positive comments about the future . Lets hope it's backed up .
Can't speak for all leagues and don't really know what arrangments exist across the board, but the VAFA is the same as the SFNL and the EFL.Why isnt the same points system used in ammos as the rest of the state?
Surely its ruining country footy, as why would an ex afl player go home and coach when he can play ammos and set themselves up after footy.
Or does gil and co. Turn a blind eye to the ammos as it did get him the top job
I’m sure there are country clubs paying heaps of coin for ex AFL players to go back and play/coach. Can’t blame blokes for wanting to stay in melbourne if they are all set up here.Why isnt the same points system used in ammos as the rest of the state?
Surely its ruining country footy, as why would an ex afl player go home and coach when he can play ammos and set themselves up after footy.
Or does gil and co. Turn a blind eye to the ammos as it did get him the top job
I’m sure there are country clubs paying heaps of coin for ex AFL players to go back and play/coach. Can’t blame blokes for wanting to stay in melbourne if they are all set up here.
There is plenty of issues in Country Victoria that is effecting leagues and clubs before blaming it on the vafa.
Seriously mate? Happens all the time. Jason Tutt (around 40 AFL games) left my club last year to play at Tatura. He is from Canberra. We lost 5 players to the EFL last year - 4 to the one club. All for $ with none of the were returning to their home club. Swings and roundabouts.You only have to look at the demise in standard in the goulburn valley, ovens and murray and gippsland league over the last 15 years, where they are faced with less points than metro clubs, less salary and they cant compete with the ammos in terms of setting themselves up.
You only have to look at a guy like Will Hams for example, probably 20 years ago he would have gone back to his homeclub Sale and coached, but now Sale were never in the hunt after he finished vfl as they couldnt compete.
By no way is it the ammos fault, any young guy would do the same thing, however i find it strange that state government is trying to push growth to regional centres with further employment to try to take the pressure off melbourne yet afl victoria is doing the opposite encouraging young men theres more opportunity in the city whether it be in the ammos or getting paid a ton by metro powerhouses.
When was the last time a gun ammo, went to the country to play which wasnt their home club?
Seriously mate? Happens all the time. Jason Tutt (around 40 AFL games) left my club last year to play at Tatura. He is from Canberra. We lost 5 players to the EFL last year - 4 to the one club. All for $ with none of the were returning to their home club. Swings and roundabouts.
And points have only been in for a few years. MPNFL aside, I think most comps points limit is much the same.
No. It makes absolutey no sense. I think I'm done.Well name me any club that could fit the premiers side in their points system.
Wouldnt it actually make sense to base the points system on population, where metro and ammo clubs have the least points and country clubs have more points as they have less population
No. It makes absolutey no sense. I think I'm done.
Well name me any club that could fit the premiers side in their points system.
Wouldnt it actually make sense to base the points system on population, where metro and ammo clubs have the least points and country clubs have more points as they have less population
I think it is actually each league that sets there points mate. Fairly sure there are AFL Vic guidelines but each comp has the ability to set there points.
I think you’ll find a large portion of clubs in VAFA Premier actually do develop their juniors that attended the school/University. The overwhelming majority of their clubs would be made up of past students.Why you actually might have to play your juniors instead of just recruit
Thats the whole basis of the points system to retain your juniors, and develop your under 19's into senior players. Not just recruit and find a loop hole to get them as a 1 pointer.
Maybe you should try look outside your sheltered competition and see the impacts this is having on footy across the state, I would have thought that was the point of andos article was trying to highlight
View attachment 781882
Scott Van Noordennen has resigned as head of umpiring at the EFL. Wonder if he might be off to the vafa?
Why? He was well regarded during his time at the SFNL. That said, doubt it has legs.Let’s hope he isn’t