Vafa U/19 (3) - 2007

Final score for all those asking:

10.15-75 vs 16.16-112

Didnt see the game, but i noticed that Greer (#43) got best on for Ivanhoe whilst Benson got in the best for PEGS, so it must have been a good battle!

It appears as though OE did run out of legs, or OI came to play more so in the 2nd half, as it was 16 scoring shots to 9 in favour of OE in the first half, then 23 to 9 in the second half in OI favour.

The big pineapple, what area's would you say OE could work on to give them a better chance in the finals against OI. And OI people (if there are any on here) where do you see your improvement coming from in the 2nd half of the season.

I noticed Oakleigh are slipping under the radar, and Ormond are just starting to wind up in a big way, with Rodwell kiking 6 in another best on ground performance, what can people tell us about the way he plays? Onballer? Tall? He could hold the key for them for another suprise run at the finals.

Monaco has hit his straps again, and has joined Delmonte on the leaders board in the goal kicking, Stealhunter, i see Delmonte still managed 3 snags, although you said he didnt do much and was tagged out of it. Where OE happy to keep him to 3? Surely 3 is a good input in a game where the highest goal kicker was 4.

Well the hal way point is officially here i want:

Flag tip: OI

League B and F tip: Benson (catches umpires eye)

Goal kicking tip: Delmonte to nudge out Monaco due to weight of team goals

Final score for all those asking:

10.15-75 vs 16.16-112

Didnt see the game, but i noticed that Greer (#43) got best on for Ivanhoe whilst Benson got in the best for PEGS, so it must have been a good battle!

It appears as though OE did run out of legs, or OI came to play more so in the 2nd half, as it was 16 scoring shots to 9 in favour of OE in the first half, then 23 to 9 in the second half in OI favour.

The big pineapple, what area's would you say OE could work on to give them a better chance in the finals against OI. And OI people (if there are any on here) where do you see your improvement coming from in the 2nd half of the season.

I noticed Oakleigh are slipping under the radar, and Ormond are just starting to wind up in a big way, with Rodwell kiking 6 in another best on ground performance, what can people tell us about the way he plays? Onballer? Tall? He could hold the key for them for another suprise run at the finals.

Monaco has hit his straps again, and has joined Delmonte on the leaders board in the goal kicking, Stealhunter, i see Delmonte still managed 3 snags, although you said he didnt do much and was tagged out of it. Where OE happy to keep him to 3? Surely 3 is a good input in a game where the highest goal kicker was 4.

Well the hal way point is officially here i want:

Flag tip: OI

League B and F tip: Benson (catches umpires eye)

Goal kicking tip: Delmonte to nudge out Monaco due to weight of team goals

OE while not walking away with the 4 points, know that they are capable of beating OI. Their main area for improvement will be converting their chances -22 inside 50's for 3.7 in the 2qtr is not good enough. I also think the forward line needs to work harder at getting to the fall of the ball and locking the ball in the forward line.

Where OE was beaten all day was from the OI kick in. OE's zone was great and they worked hard to spoil. From 15 kick ins maybe 2 or 3 were marked. The problem was once the ball hit the deck OI were able to get the ball into space on the wing and moved the ball into the forward line like lightning. OE's wings and half backs needed to get smarter to shut this down.

Giechen was good but likes to hang out wide - Needs to be tagged. Delmonte was well held in the first half but popped up in the 2nd half - also worth tagging. Spargo was good all day - better around the ground than up forward. Pantano is their go-to man from kick ins and Hondromatidis was everywhere in the 2nd half. Greer is great around the ground and is advantaged by the support he gets from Young.

Indeed the halfway point of the season is upon us.

As the top 4 stands (as you all would know) OI , OE, Ormond then Oakleigh.

I'll put a few questions to the rest of U/19(3) fans

Will the top 4 change?
-If so who comes in/goes out.

Can OI be beaten?

Who is winning the league B&F?

Who is winning the club B&Fs?

What twists and turns can we expect to see?

Will the top 4 change?

Can OI be beaten?

The second half of the second is shaping up nicely will some interesting matches to be played.

Ivanhoe - most certainly can be beaten with Essendon the most likely candidate, however if you shut down the guys previously mentioned on here a few other teams are in with a chance. Finish 1st

Essendon - having already played 7 of 9 games at home, the team now find it much harder with plenty of away games to come. Show still hold second spot and provide another close encounter with Ivanhoe. Finish 2nd

Ormond - are playing much better football recently and with Rodwell in the side it seems to be working a treat. Have a low but not too bad % which could prove costly. Finish 3rd

Oakleigh - another team under the radar of late but already a game behind Ormond after losing to them recently. Unfortunately for Oakleigh I seem them just missing out this season. Finish 5th

Trinity - have a few more players back from injury and with a couple in the seniors are a real dark house to make the top 4. Back in the winners circle last weekend and perhaps up and running once more. Could also beat Ivanhoe if fully fit. Finish 4th

Bulleen Temp - another solid performance on the weekend and will keep many teams on their toes in the second half. Finish 6th

Mentone - get schoolboys back for a couple of weeks and at season end so look to see them finishing strongly. However, too many early losses will hurt them at the business end of the season. Finish 7th

La Trobe - improving but not enough to be contenders, will fight it out with Bentleigh for potential relegation positions. Finish 8th

Bentleigh - another which are improving but again with only 1 win this season, more hard yards seem in order. Might catch La Trobe late. Finish 9th

MHSOB - potential for another win or two in the second half but more of the same to come for MEGA's men. Finish 10th

Will the top 4 change?

Can OI be beaten?

some great questions you present to the thread sandman, and might i add that its good to see this thread has overcome the sillyness of the past few weeks. im sure the real football interlectuals (Knight Rider, leftfootkick, mega jim and yours truely) will appreciate the topic of conversation being re-directed back to what makes getting out of bed each morning worth while... VAFA football.

whiteG does believe OI can be beaten, and contrary to previous comments it may come before rd. 18 in the rematch of the decade.... as the ever insightful nathan brown suggested (great game on the week end if you really are nathan brown) ormond and oakleigh who seem to be going through unnoticed could be the teams to end the OI winning streak....

it is just as likely that OE too could drop more than the one game in the second half of the season, with tough games away to all of the other teams in the top 4 (Ormond, Oakleigh, OI).

for mine one of the leaders, if not the sole leader of the league B&F is the self titled b-RAD (jones) from OE. when whiteG watches him play he sits in awe, and once likened his game to that of gavin wanganeen's circa 1993.

don't know too much about the other clubs, however i would be fairly confident in suggesting mega has already won the MHSOB B&F this year, and we're only half way through!!

Was a great game of footy, the ruck duel was amazing, as was the midfield match-ups.

I would agree, - having only seen him yesterday - that benson is the best player in the comp. It's not just his height, he is very athletic and a very good overhead mark. I don't really know what to say about the umpires, except that i did laugh at some of the comments from the OE bench directed at one particular umpire; "Did you forget your bra today umpire?...It's called a treadmill!" the ump would have been shattered.

Delmonte is definately not over-rated, he is a rare talent, he was quiet in the first half but was more than useful in the second half and giesch was his usual brilliant self. kicking 2 in the first quarter and was instrumental in the last.

Why hasn't anyone said anything about rardo's game? i though he was very good, was dangerous up forward and very hard at it.

League B&F; Benson, or gieschen, I'll say joint winners.

Goal kicking; Delmonte, only on the basis that monaco probably should be playing seniors

Flag; Not going to give a tip, as i play for OI

GF B.O.G; rardo.

Was a great game of footy, the ruck duel was amazing, as was the midfield match-ups.

I would agree, - having only seen him yesterday - that benson is the best player in the comp. It's not just his height, he is very athletic and a very good overhead mark. I don't really know what to say about the umpires, except that i did laugh at some of the comments from the OE bench directed at one particular umpire; "Did you forget your bra today umpire?...It's called a treadmill!" the ump would have been shattered.

Delmonte is definately not over-rated, he is a rare talent, he was quiet in the first half but was more than useful in the second half and giesch was his usual brilliant self. kicking 2 in the first quarter and was instrumental in the last.

Why hasn't anyone said anything about rardo's game? i though he was very good, was dangerous up forward and very hard at it.

League B&F; Benson, or gieschen, I'll say joint winners.

Goal kicking; Delmonte, only on the basis that monaco probably should be playing seniors

Flag; Not going to give a tip, as i play for OI

GF B.O.G; rardo.

I completely agree rocco_s, having seen del monte play for many years he is a rare talent and should not be underestimated. by all means, over-rate him but this will come back to hurt you. as for the person who said (sorry can't remember who), that he just got cheap goals on saturday, surely the fact he nailed 3 when essendon missed 7 in the 2nd quarter alone shows his true skill when around goals.

On another note, i'm interested to hear from anybody else who has played oakleigh in recent weeks, as when we played them we just beat them and am curious to know if others rate them or not. are they a serious contender for the flag?

mega feels a touch let down after the weekend's footy. i will admit i must shoulder some of the blame for OE's defeat as the boys minds wer probly focused on finding a way onto my list at Room, rather than the big game. but guys this is a 2 way street - i look after u with a fun thursday night - and u make sure leftfootkick has nothin to brag about. this week my warm heartedness was not reciprocated, and mega feels like a maverick who lost his goose.
bad luck boys but sounds like it was a tuff game and u weren't completely disgraced, and if Big Pineapple is correct sounds like mardi gras boy up forward may even have broken a nail through some tuff footy.
as for you GOODMAN, the cut of your cloth gets better by the round - thats why u not only find urself on mega's list, but also a few drink cards for this thurs night - as always tell em MEGA sent u! with mega's heart beating strong, so too will the hearts of all MHSOB players, and think we will go one better than u say and reach 8th spot by season's end.

Thoughts:

Old Essendon v. Old Ivanhoe:

As has been said, I bet this was an absolute beauty and although I unfortunately wasn’t able to be there to witness the game it is good to hear people reports on it… I though OI ruckman may have taken it up to Benson but didn’t really think about posting anything about it earlier… good to hear the two had a hard fought battle between them and both played outstanding football… I’m sure both teams a looking forward to the re-match.

League B & F:

One would think that the League B & F would come from either OE or OI… both teams hold exceptional players who if wanted to could possibly go on and play at a higher level… but I think what the danger is for players in these teams to win a league B&F is that they have to many other talented blokes around them who can steal votes. My prediction is Kyle Rodwell from Ormond, 4 games, 3 best ons… not a bad start… and if he plays the rest of the year in the U19s could really cement his place… another willing contender IMO is Luke Pacioni (I think that’s his name) from Old Trinity #65… keep a close eye on him, knows how to find the pill!

Leading Goal Kicker

I will let Delemonte and Geishene fight this one out, both are worthy recipients of the medal… IMO Nathan Monaco from Bulleen is an “actress” and doesn’t deserve to be even in contention… he is as weak as piss and loves to act and jump in front of the umpires… couldn’t kick a goal if you had a bit of pressure on him.

Ladder:

I believe the top 3 spots are cemented. Old Ivanhoe, Old Essendon and Oakleigh… the fourth and final spot I think is up for grabs between Oakleigh and Old Trinity… with possible Old Trinity having the last laugh. The Old boys have players to come down from the seniors that would strengthen the side as for oakleigh, they don’t have a sole player playing in their seniors and I believe will struggle if injuries take a toll on them.

As for bottom of the ladder, I think the game between MHSOB and Bentleigh will have the winner finishing on ninth and the loser holding the ladder steady down the bottom.

Leading Goal Kicker

I will let Delemonte and Geishene fight this one out, both are worthy recipients of the medal… IMO Nathan Monaco from Bulleen is an “actress” and doesn’t deserve to be even in contention… he is as weak as piss and loves to act and jump in front of the umpires… couldn’t kick a goal if you had a bit of pressure on him.

Gieschen is a down hill skier... would be a shame for a lurker to end up winning the medal. Delmonte has talent and would be a worthy winner.

What makes you think this TBP? If it was the fact he kicked 2 goals from the goal line "downhill skiing", wouldn't you say its good play to not get sucked into a contest that your team mate is going to win anyway? Rather than go up for a contested mark, why spoil his team mate who will bring the ball down to the right spot 9 times out of 10? Fair enough his man (cerantonio) went to the contest, he needed to, but was just outsized. Has no doubt layed more tackles than anyone at OI, is the first to back up a team mate in a tussle and constantly on the bottom of every pack.

But if that's your opinion, then so be it.

What makes you think this TBP? If it was the fact he kicked 2 goals from the goal line "downhill skiing", wouldn't you say its good play to not get sucked into a contest that your team mate is going to win anyway? Rather than go up for a contested mark, why spoil his team mate who will bring the ball down to the right spot 9 times out of 10? Fair enough his man (cerantonio) went to the contest, he needed to, but was just outsized. Has no doubt layed more tackles than anyone at OI, is the first to back up a team mate in a tussle and constantly on the bottom of every pack.

But if that's your opinion, then so be it.

It is good to not to get sucked into the contest, especially inside the forward 50, but from what I saw he did it all around the ground and did it all day. Not saying he doesn't do the hard stuff, just didn't see him do any on Saturday. he also relies on Spargo to win the ball far too much.

I'd also say he doesn't use his size nearly as well as his brother does.

He's a good player I agree... I would just like to see him win more of his own ball.

It is good to not to get sucked into the contest, especially inside the forward 50, but from what I sore he did it all around the ground and did it all day. Not saying he doesn't do the hard stuff, just didn't see him do any on Saturday. he also relies on Spargo to win the ball far too much.

He's a good player I agree... I would just like to see him win more of his own ball.

Just interested why your opinion of Gieschen differs so much from everyone else TBP? from all reports on this forum and the record so far hes one of the best players in the comp... + he kicked four Vs OE this week (the most physical team in the league). Surely OE wouldn't let a "downhill skiier" kick 4 without puttin some sort of pressure on him, and if he was in the middle there is no way that he could of dodged the physicality of the game is there?. Also if they didn't pay him any attension than i spose OE payed the ultimate price...

It is good to not to get sucked into the contest, especially inside the forward 50, but from what I sore he did it all around the ground and did it all day. Not saying he doesn't do the hard stuff, just didn't see him do any on Saturday. he also relies on Spargo to win the ball far too much.

I have to agree with TBP on this issue. No doubt the guy is a good player but he didn't go near one contest on the weekend. Granted it's good to have a couple of outside players but lurker out the back avoiding an opponent isn't champion material.

He gets away with it in most games but he might pay dearly at seasons end when other teams are aware of this and have a player watch him closely.

Just interested why your opinion of Gieschen differs so much from everyone else TBP? from all reports on this forum and the record so far hes one of the best players in the comp... + he kicked four Vs OE this week (the most physical team in the league). Surely OE wouldn't let a "downhill skiier" kick 4 without puttin some sort of pressure on him, and if he was in the middle there is no way that he could of dodged the physicality of the game is there?. Also if they didn't pay him any attension than i spose OE payed the ultimate price...

Maybe I am being a bit harsh on the kid, but I've played against his brother for a number of years and have a hell of a lot of respect for him and the way he plays. I guess I was a bit shocked to see the difference in style of play.

Yeah, he plays in the middle but like I said he relies far too much on Spargo for clearances. He also spent a lot of time up forward. OE paid the price for not being accountable early. He kicked 2 pretty cheap goals in the 1st qtr before Butchy did a pretty good job on him for the rest of the day. He did kick 2 more but 1 was another cheap one and the other I think came in the last when the game was over.

I also think Spargo, Delmonte, Pantano and Hondromatidis should get more of the accolades for OI's great start to the season.

He gets away with it in most games but he might pay dearly at seasons end when other teams are aware of this and have a player watch him closely.

Have to agree with both TBP & Knighta on this one. When OT played OI we had someone tag Geishen (or however its spelt) and he barely got a touch or did anything for the side the whole day. Pity we didn't tag Spargo aswell, he killed us especially at the stoppages.

i disagree fellas, underestimate him at your own risk...hes not the most physical bloke in the middle, but he holds his share. his talent is reading the play. id say one of the best footy minds in the game. knows where to run and when.. i guess thats why he gets so much of the footy.... but anywho...

another thing i noticed was a discrepency in the goal kickers for OI on the vafa site. in actual fact.......

R. Hondromatidis 4 not 3, R. Gieschen 3 not 4, A. Delmonte 3, E. Greer 3 not 2

WHITE'S WINNERS
ROUND 10

round 10 is drawing nearer and revenge will be on the cards for many teams who went close, or were up set in round 7; a round that saw MEGA high get win number one on the board, and OM defeat an out of sorts Ormond.

No doubt all teams will be improving as the season goes on, and as we begin the turn for home, the 4pts will be as crucial as ever.

Bentleigh v Old Essendon: the last time these teams met bentleigh came to keilor hill and threw the gauntlet down to the OE boys, who responded in the second half to run out to be 36 point victors. Again this time they should be too strong, and despite the game being played at Bentleigh, i would anticipate the OE boys would be looking to at least double that margin (especially with the silkworm back in town), against a team who, in all honestly, should be sitting on the bottom of the ladder.

Old Ivanhoe v Old Trinity: OTstayed with them for a half last time, but with a stronger team on the track this week, will be able to push OI to the final siren, however OI are good, real good, and should bring home the bacon this week, yet again.

Ormond v OM: after a shock loss Ormond will be looking to smash OM this week, however im not sure they have the fire power to do so. Although they do have some goal kickers these players fail to perform against top teams. Having said that OM highest goal scorer has racked up a measly 13 goals. the 16 yr old 'wounder boy' that Johnny Aitken blew his load over in last weeks edition of the vafa record is reportly unable to play this week because he is sitting is Learner's test at VicRoads on Saturday at 3.40pm, and will be dearly missed.

La Trobe v MHSOB: Mega's boys to make it two from two against the uni boys, who keep telling every one they have some superstars, yet for some reason no one else seems to notice them, and they keep losing. Mega to kick 7 big ones from the back pocket in a best on performance.

Oakleigh v Bulleen Temp: going under the radar, but at the half way point of the season are sitting comfortably in the 4. they are a team that no other looks forward to playing, and will assert their authority all over BT with Paola to continue his good form with another bag this week.

Quick thought...

Do many teams have big enough lists where players actually miss out on selection on thursday nights??

If so, what happens when the dominant team plays a much weaker team, do the coaches tend to give less talented players a go or do they still put the best team on the park... e.g what will OE do this week against Bentleigh, will they want to give them a thrashing or rather give a couple of their other blokes more of a go?

Same question goes out to teams like OI and OT?

WHITE'S WINNERS
ROUND 10

Ormond v OM: after a shock loss Ormond will be looking to smash OM this week, however im not sure they have the fire power to do so. Although they do have some goal kickers these players fail to perform against top teams. Having said that OM highest goal scorer has racked up a measly 13 goals. the 16 yr old 'wounder boy' that Johnny Aitken blew his load over in last weeks edition of the vafa record is reportly unable to play this week because he is sitting is Learner's test at VicRoads on Saturday at 3.40pm, and will be dearly missed.

The player he mentioned was in fact Nick Campbell from MHSOB you idiot?? i'm assuming you are an OE player as your ability to read is very questionable.

WHITE'S WINNERS
ROUND 10

The player he mentioned was in fact Nick Campbell from MHSOB you idiot?? i'm assuming you are an OE player as your ability to read is very questionable.

Maybe there's two? But i do agree, the one that Johnny was talking about was the MHSOB one...