Roast Vent Here

Get it out of your system venters!

season 6 episode 13 GIF

But dont forget, you're 'Freo' forever

It doesn’t matter who we have , why do people continue to sprout this line?
It’s blatant AFL/Vfl corruption … every single time- freo players will be made examples of meanwhile a Carlton player (ironically Cerra again)gets off for a much more obvious dangerous tackle.

They don’t even hide it these days …
Medium impact ?????
The bloke got up immediately and played out the game to receive 10 coaches votes ffs
Why do we spout that line? Because in reality it's a bit more likely than the 'VFL corruption' line that some people keep spouting.

On Pixel 4a using BigFooty.com mobile app

Youth/inexperience impacts execution of a gameplan. Our problem isn't the execution, it's the nonsensical conservative and uninspiring ball movement that was successful years ago but has since been made redundant. I cannot fathom how posters see Ryan bombing it to a pack (which he is instructed to do) and blame the 'youth' of our team. There is no excuse to get smashed by Carlton on our home deck.
Well you need to go back a step further. Why is it Ryan's hands in the first place? Because we've lost clearance and we're turning the ball over in defence. We were awesome last year because we turned the ball over in midfield or forward.

It ain't Ryan's fault, he is holding up the dam wall back there.

Why do we spout that line? Because in reality it's a bit more likely than the 'VFL corruption' line that some people keep spouting.

Farken lol yeah … nah you’re right the AFL would never manipulate its own procedures and rules to get it’s desired outcome.
Unheard of

Btw so I guess we’re the only club with shit lawyers then ??
Fmd

My case is that when we are switched on we can mix it with the best. So why can’t we back that up the following week? If we had one hell of a physical game the week prior, fair enough, but players literally play out of their skins one week and go walkabout the next. I don’t question that our general age would come into that, but everyone keeps harping on about it, which just gives it legs and player’s, coaches something to hide behind. At what data point are we no longer a young team? I think Collingwood are a great example of a team that have it right between the ears, maybe with time and maturity we will to.
One of the key attributes of a young teams/players is inconsistency. I think they can also really ride momentum if they can click.

Well you need to go back a step further. Why is it Ryan's hands in the first place? Because we've lost clearance and we're turning the ball over in defence. We were awesome last year because we turned the ball over in midfield or forward.

It ain't Ryan's fault, he is holding up the dam wall back there.
Definitely not blaming Ryan, I think he is critical to our defense. I am just pointing out that the reason Ryan takes the same kick out of defence is because the coach doesn't switch it up. Our only plan out of D50 is to bomb it long to a pack.

Farken lol yeah … nah you’re right the AFL would never manipulate its own procedures and rules to get it’s desired outcome.
Unheard of

Btw so I guess we’re the only club with s**t lawyers then ??
Fmd
Whose desired outcome? Who's the AFL people who are corrupt? Michael Christian is incompetent but not sure about corrupt.

You know the last 10 days really sums up where the Fremantle football clubs place in the pecking order is.
We are an utter irrelevance to the competitions central heartland in Melbourne. No one there knows or cares much about the dockers.
We should have the biggest chip on our shoulder as a club, a sense of pure defiance and a **** you attitude to the Melbourne based media. We have a big fan base in Perth desperate for success. Nearly 50k fans there on the weekend and 45k cheering for us.
Coming to Perth to play Freo should be the hardest roadtrip in footy. Clubs should be scanning their fixture list each year and singling out the dockers away as a place it’s nearly impossible to get a result in. Regardless of where we are at as a footy club.
Instead we are just softies. A pushover the minute any adversity hits. Desperate to be “liked” by the vic media. Afraid to challenge anything or be outspoken on any issues. The tribunal today was a joke. We accepted it meekly and slid off into the night. Forcing Caleb Serong, one of the very few leaders we have to make a disingenuous statement he clearly doesn’t believe a word of, about the outcome was ****ed up. Masochistic almost. The AFL rubbing our faces in the mud.

We are heading for a bottom 5 finish after trading out first round pick to Melbourne and as someone said before on here one day - our coach seems like the kind of guy who if you took a shit on his doorstep, he would come out to the front door and give you some toilet roll, then bring you inside for a cup or Nescafé instant blend and wrap his arms around you.

When is this ****ing club going to stand for something?? To say enough is enough?
The tribunal was a small thing tonight but why in earth would you humiliate Caleb by making him come out with that degrading statement. Tell the AFL to **** off for once and pay the fine.

There should be fire and brimstone this Saturday at the MCG from our lads. Instead I expect we will roll over like meek puppies and have our heads patted while Nick ****in Daicos swans about the MCG and breaks his AFL disposal record with barely a finger laid on him.
We will be sitting 15th on Monday morning and a few pundits will be getting excited about what Melbourne are going to do with pick 4 while everyone laughs at us and our predicament, and our coach mumbling about “the contest”.

I would so love for this team to draw a line in the sand this weekend and come out all guns blazing on Saturday but I just have no hope of it happening.

What’s more - for all the optimists on here. Name the clubs you think Fremantle will definitely finish ahead of in 2024? I have north and west coast. That’s it. Right now I wouldnt put a ten cent piece on us finishing ahead of any of the other 15 clubs in 2024.
Hawthorn - maybe? Wouldnt bet on it. They have big ambitions for 2024 make no mistake and a big winning culture
GWS - they are simply more talented than us
Sydney - I trust the Swans more next year
Saints - maybe. But we couldn’t beat them this season
Richmond or Carlton - nah. We are their bunnies
Essendon - possibly but they are improving and an AFL favourite.

It’s bleak.

It’s not the losing that hurts, it’s the same old shit and not changing that does it.
The midfield is absolutely garbage this season. No accountability. What happens? It’s the same JOM, Aish, Brayshaw, Seeong. No one else.

Change it up. Bring in different rotations. Put Jackson on ball if he can’t jump. Or Banfield, Schultz. Anyone. Why hasn’t this been the case during games?

JOM isn’t the answer. Cannot believe he gets 4 years. He hasn’t been dropped, very vanilla player.

Season is over. Change the players, just tell the players to take the game on and dare. Not this kicking around, trying to protect the margin.

You know the last 10 days really sums up where the Fremantle football clubs place in the pecking order is.
We are an utter irrelevance to the competitions central heartland in Melbourne. No one there knows or cares much about the dockers.
We should have the biggest chip on our shoulder as a club, a sense of pure defiance and a * you attitude to the Melbourne based media. We have a big fan base in Perth desperate for success. Nearly 50k fans there on the weekend and 45k cheering for us.
Coming to Perth to play Freo should be the hardest roadtrip in footy. Clubs should be scanning their fixture list each year and singling out the dockers away as a place it’s nearly impossible to get a result in. Regardless of where we are at as a footy club.
Instead we are just softies. A pushover the minute any adversity hits. Desperate to be “liked” by the vic media. Afraid to challenge anything or be outspoken on any issues. The tribunal today was a joke. We accepted it meekly and slid off into the night. Forcing Caleb Serong, one of the very few leaders we have to make a disingenuous statement he clearly doesn’t believe a word of, about the outcome was ****ed up. Masochistic almost. The AFL rubbing our faces in the mud.

We are heading for a bottom 5 finish after trading out first round pick to Melbourne and as someone said before on here one day - our coach seems like the kind of guy who if you took a s**t on his doorstep, he would come out to the front door and give you some toilet roll, then bring you inside for a cup or Nescafé instant blend and wrap his arms around you.

When is this ******* club going to stand for something?? To say enough is enough?
The tribunal was a small thing tonight but why in earth would you humiliate Caleb by making him come out with that degrading statement. Tell the AFL to * off for once and pay the fine.

There should be fire and brimstone this Saturday at the MCG from our lads. Instead I expect we will roll over like meek puppies and have our heads patted while Nick *in Daicos swans about the MCG and breaks his AFL disposal record with barely a finger laid on him.
We will be sitting 15th on Monday morning and a few pundits will be getting excited about what Melbourne are going to do with pick 4 while everyone laughs at us and our predicament, and our coach mumbling about “the contest”.

I would so love for this team to draw a line in the sand this weekend and come out all guns blazing on Saturday but I just have no hope of it happening.

What’s more - for all the optimists on here. Name the clubs you think Fremantle will definitely finish ahead of in 2024? I have north and west coast. That’s it. Right now I wouldnt put a ten cent piece on us finishing ahead of any of the other 15 clubs in 2024.
Hawthorn - maybe? Wouldnt bet on it. They have big ambitions for 2024 make no mistake and a big winning culture

It’s bleak.
If you’re old enough what you said basically sounds like the eagles prior till Malthouse arrived.
Difference is they got concessions.
But he challenged everything, players, WA vs VIC, state of origin, etc.
They also had a young ruthless Captain who took no prisoners.
It’s the same story at the Lions with Voss and Mathew’s.
To win premierships you need an iron fist in a velvet glove.
Sure times have changed, but you still need that stereotype at the club
in some capacity.
It’s mental strength, alarm bells went off for me with our leadership selection.
That and the No DH policy.

Lol he was 20 years old and worth every bit of pick 22 ffs.
For me, you don't trade in players during a rebuild full stop.

You can make some exception for A graders, but Clark is not an A Grader.

Otherwise you end up with a team of B graders, who can make finals, but won't get you in the top 4.

Once your team is in the finals, in my opinion it becomes a good trade. Rebuild over, topping up has started.

With 20/20 hindsight it looks to be a win for us (the clark trade), but I feel on average the more picks you trade away for players, the longer the rebuild takes. The only exceptions I can think of are Dawson, and Rankine for the crows, but they were already 3 or 4 years into the rebuild, both are A graders and Dawson only cost pick 15 roughly.

Otherwise you end up with a team of B graders, who can make finals, but won't get you in the top 4.

Once your team is in the finals, in my opinion it becomes a good trade. Rebuild over, topping up has started.

With 20/20 hindsight it looks to be a win for us (the clark trade), but I feel on average the more picks you trade away for players, the longer the rebuild takes. The only exceptions I can think of are Dawson, and Rankine for the crows, but they were already 3 or 4 years into the rebuild, both are A graders and Dawson only cost pick 15 roughly.
I would argue Jackson is also in that bracket. We probably paid too much though but he should be a 12 year star for us.
We need to pull off something similar to the 2016 draft by Wallsy this year I reckon.
Pick 38 - Darcy
Pick 41 - Cox
Pick 66 - Ryan

With those kind of picks, we need to get some similar talent.
Last years draft haul is looking underwhelming with Emmett at 40 and Davies at 34 and Wagner at 57 still young but perhaps not in the same bracket as the lads from 2016, though Knobel has time on his hands to build.
For me, if you are bringing in Wagner or Emmett, they have got to be making the B22 within 10 weeks as mature ager to be a chance of being successful. Otherwise they are on the Brett Bewley train…

It make you wonder where we might be had it not been for the bye (again). Which does speak again to between the ears for mine.
The bye is a really interesting factor. I reckon it operates as a disruptor to the synchronicity of a team. Some of that's psychological of sorts, but it's something that gets worked through on the field rather than off it (ie getting a chance to get the teamplay humming in actual games). What most people don't factor in is the other team in the equation. The team coming off the bye has paused for a week, whereas the other team has had that week to continue honing their gameplay as a team at the forge.

Playing a team that's off the pace (due crapness, form or whatever) is one way to get that synchronicity tuned up. Another way might be to be so up against the (perceived) odds that it simplifies and hones the team focus for a critical mass of them.

I would argue Jackson is also in that bracket. We probably paid too much though but he should be a 12 year star for us.
We need to pull off something similar to the 2016 draft by Wallsy this year I reckon.
Pick 38 - Darcy
Pick 41 - Cox
Pick 66 - Ryan

With those kind of picks, we need to get some similar talent.
Last years draft haul is looking underwhelming with Emmett at 40 and Davies at 34 and Wagner at 57 still young but perhaps not in the same bracket as the lads from 2016, though Knobel has time on his hands to build.
For me, if you are bringing in Wagner or Emmett, they have got to be making the B22 within 10 weeks as mature ager to be a chance of being successful. Otherwise they are on the Brett Bewley train…
With a Tassie team to come, VIC Metro boys like mums cooking, and the Allies
kids tied to northern clubs.
The WA/SA boys champion results will leave a few sliding.
Country kids can stand on their own.
We need a proven small forward, midfielder with size and pace, and another
KP.

Do really think overly rigid rules work with something as fluid and dynamic as a team list?

Is a rebuild even an actual thing? What constitutes a rebuild? When does it start/stop? What if you think you need to rebuild the middle third age bracket of your list, to match the developing and experienced thirds?

We should have the biggest chip on our shoulder as a club, a sense of pure defiance and a * you attitude to the Melbourne based media. We have a big fan base in Perth desperate for success. Nearly 50k fans there on the weekend and 45k cheering for us.

We are heading for a bottom 5 finish after trading out first round pick to Melbourne and as someone said before on here one day - our coach seems like the kind of guy who if you took a s**t on his doorstep, he would come out to the front door and give you some toilet roll, then bring you inside for a cup or Nescafé instant blend and wrap his arms around you.

When is this ******* club going to stand for something?? To say enough is enough?
The tribunal was a small thing tonight but why in earth would you humiliate Caleb by making him come out with that degrading statement. Tell the AFL to * off for once and pay the fine.

There should be fire and brimstone this Saturday at the MCG from our lads. Instead I expect we will roll over like meek puppies and have our heads patted while Nick *in Daicos swans about the MCG and breaks his AFL disposal record with barely a finger laid on him.

It’s bleak.
Outstanding rant!

Some impressive melts here. I'm in agreement.

Less of a vent and more of a resignation.

If the season thus far has taught me anything it's that this side is not a complete 22 that just lacks depth and experience to start pushing into the top 4.

It's actually a very young team with several key players who still need replacement and probably only about 14 players who are clearly good enough and young enough to be part of a very good team 3-4 years from now.

Some impressive melts here. I'm in agreement.

Less of a vent and more of a resignation.

If the season thus far has taught me anything it's that this side is not a complete 22 that just lacks depth and experience to start pushing into the top 4.

It's actually a very young team with several key players who still need replacement and probably only about 14 players who are clearly good enough and young enough to be part of a very good team 3-4 years from now.
So no flag in 2025?😔

Do really think overly rigid rules work with something as fluid and dynamic as a team list?

Is a rebuild even an actual thing? What constitutes a rebuild? When does it start/stop? What if you think you need to rebuild the middle third age bracket of your list, to match the developing and experienced thirds?
Probably not. but trading away top 10 picks rarely does.

Well you mentioned Jackson the CEO said prelims by 2025 so using those 1st rounders on a gun like him last year was the absolute right thing to do.
I don't think i did mention Jackson.

He is 50/50 for me.

I think he will be a good player, but we have overpaid by at least 2 2nd round picks. Ideally, I would have liked to keep our future 1st safe.

The benefit of Jackson is his youth. He will mature along with the rest of the group.

it’s a long game for us now. The players we take in the next two drafts will find Jackson at 27 years old when they are maturing at 23 and 24. Young, Walker, Clark, Chapman, O’Driscoll Erasmus and Johnson, Amiss and Treacy will all be prime age in 4-5 years time, with Brayshaw at 28 or so.

this is a slow build now unfortunately

Roast Vent Here