Vent Thread Part 2

I am just as screwed over by the injuries, but i think it is disrespectful to the people that have proven over the years that skill certainly has a big big say in where you finish. If it was mainly luck then we wouldn't see the consistency from these guns that we do.

It is a lot easier for some people to blame their bad luck, rather than blame their bad skill.

We will all get a fair share of bad luck, some slightly more than others. Then if we combine it with our bad selections, sometimes it can just make everything seem terrible.

If DT was more about luck than skill, I would not enjoy the game as much.

I am just as screwed over by the injuries, but i think it is disrespectful to the people that have proven over the years that skill certainly has a big big say in where you finish. If it was mainly luck then we wouldn't see the consistency from these guns that we do.

I think theirs alot more luck involved than i anticipated. Theres probably about 30% luck i reckon and it may be even more this season. ATM, its whoever picked the best starting sides would be leading because trades used on upgrades have been scarce and also not really netted any extra points necessarily.

I think alot of duds wouldve picked J.Fraser, Ziebell ect. Whilst the extra research made me not choose these types of players. Injuries are a major concern this year. I have had plenty but am still trying to get a very good side at their whilst not trying to cop zero's.

injuries: Goodwin, Higgins, M.Brown, Didak, Skipworth, Hille, Jacobs, Kornes, Ablett, Dalziell (3 gun mids), Beams, Anthony, Raines, Broughton, Cheney, Houlihan.

I think i said 3 weeks ago, geez im lucky im not having to many injury troubles. I wish i hadnt of said that.

This year is turning to shit but im just trying to learn from it. But i just cant seem to stop the injuries these days. Just glad i brought Mackie in for Hodge (who appears injured and have heard on TV he may miss 2-3 weeks.

Think you have it around the wrong way, 85% skill 15% luck. If it was a majority luck then you wouldn't see gun's like SkankDanker dominate year after year.

Well there is the problem right there. No cover.

Chad you have a lot of good points in this forum but I think you might be over analyzing just a little bit. This IS the Vent Thread - where we come to sook & whinge about our bad luck!
FYI my forwards had NGB & Higgins both named to play. I had Dowler named as emergency who then came in for NGB. My other forward is Mitch Brown who had played every game up until this week.
I think I am entitled to vent at Higgins for this week in a DT sense in a DT forum - in a purely football conversation I think his comeback this season has been brilliant.
Keep up the good work!

out of your list you would have only have had to trade hille, skipworth and maybe goodwin. should have held onto/had cover for the rest. dont think it means you have to use 2 trades every week, like the people trading ablett seems absurd to me. with all the other injuries going around surely you can have him on the bench for 2-3 weeks.

Even with your two covers getting injured in the same week.

Beams and Hartlett

It is a lot easier for some people to blame their bad luck, rather than blame their bad skill.

We will all get a fair share of bad luck, some slightly more than others. Then if we combine it with our bad selections, sometimes it can just make everything seem terrible.

Agreed.

IMO, the best DTers know how to manage their team to reduce their risks. So many times i hear people say "have to take a risk if i want to win" - IMO this is NOT true. Managing your team to reduce various risks will save you trades, which means you gain more points. Taking risks and being unique is overrated - if you had the BF hype team you would be doing quite well wouldnt you tarquin? ( ;) )

All my opinion though.

Agree, that is the point i was trying to make in the previous post which has touched a nerve it seems.

Chad you have a lot of good points in this forum but I think you might be over analyzing just a little bit. This IS the Vent Thread - where we come to sook & whinge about our bad luck!

hehe ok ok. I will vent my frustration at the people that blame the fall of their sides on "unbelievable bad luck and injuries" :) oh and Nathan Bock, useless prick bocky!!

Agreed.

IMO, the best DTers know how to manage their team to reduce their risks. So many times i hear people say "have to take a risk if i want to win" - IMO this is NOT true. Managing your team to reduce various risks will save you trades, which means you gain more points. Taking risks and being unique is overrated - if you had the BF hype team you would be doing quite well wouldnt you tarquin? ( ;) )

All my opinion though.
So can picking all of the durable, consistent players who have played heaps of games in a row. Just ask all of the owners of Harvey, Kornes, Bock etc.

I didnt say that, and of course it can come undone? No player is immune to injury/role change/spilling beer...oh wait, more importantly, hitting girlfriend. Every player has risks.

I think the better DTers pick players (particularly premiums) who are:

Durable, and
Have improvement in them

Personally, I didnt like harvey nor bock as selections, nor did i prefer kane. If I was gonna get someone over 400k, it was gonna be one of ABC (as i did), and then I went for two underpriced mid keepers/premiums (gibbs and montagna).

I can see your point though.

You have got to admit though Lakey, Kane did have some upside to him - averaged 107.4 in 2008 before dropping to 98.4 as the Power dropped down the ladder. With a DT-friendly side and with perceived improvement for the Power as a whole, I picked Kane with the expectation that he was going to improve his average to, at the very least, > 100.

WTF WHY LEON DAVIS WHY!!!!

I DONT F**KING GET IT!!! ARGHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!

WAS HE DROPPED??? HOW THE HELL? WHATS THE MATTER WITH YOU?!?!?!?!

F**K THIS IS MY 8TH F**KING PLAYER TO NOT PLAY THIS WEEK.:mad::mad::mad:

FML AND F**K DT!!!!!!

Houlihan and Mitch Brown out. Nathan Brown, Leon Davis and Shaun Higgins as late changes. Is this bad luck or poor skills?

Bad luck that is all happened in the one week, but not completely out of the question.

Houlihan, Brown, Davis and Higgins are not the best examples of durable players.

If someone told me that one of these players was going to miss a game during the year, I would not have been very shocked. Kornes, Harvey do come as a little more of a surprise.

DT is still about 22 rounds not 6, everyone will get their fair share of bad luck.

You have got to admit though Lakey, Kane did have some upside to him - averaged 107.4 in 2008 before dropping to 98.4 as the Power dropped down the ladder. With a DT-friendly side and with perceived improvement for the Power as a whole, I picked Kane with the expectation that he was going to improve his average to, at the very least, > 100.
Yeh i know, kane is very very unlucky. Most durable player with a little upside so was a very solid pick.

I was more making a point about people thinking they have to take ridiculous risks...

DId all my shit Thursday night, had a couple of emergencies covering for some injuries and was expecting 21 scoring players.

Ended up with 4 zeros through late withdrawals ffs :mad:

Not even going to bother to check my score, after getting 2100+ last week, I'm not expecting to hit 1800 this week.

I don't usually whinge about my DT because everyone gets injuries but I can't help but feel a little hard done by when I trade the most durable man in football into my team (Kane Cornes) and he goes down 24 hours later. :thumbsdown:

Yeh i know, kane is very very unlucky. Most durable player with a little upside so was a very solid pick.

He was 10ppg down on the previous year, port expected to improve, Chad back in the side means more cheapies, i think there was more than a "little upside". 10ppg is enough upside i think for a premium.

Which he has so far (101.86). I seen some upside plus durability (although when we play sydney in round 9 that average will surely drop :) Would be great if we could get away from that horrid SCG and onto the olympic stadium :)

I don't usually whinge about my DT because everyone gets injuries but I can't help but feel a little hard done by when I trade the most durable man in football into my team (Kane Cornes) and he goes down 24 hours later.

Ahh, so it is your fault. Finally the truth comes out.

This could go either way since i'll probably score more given he's out injured, but for now i'm venting. T. Cloke you spud, you devalue yourself and then go and get injured for 2-3 weeks. Rest up, as soon as you go back up you're out!

Which he has so far (101.86). I seen some upside plus durability (although when we play sydney in round 9 that average will surely drop :) Would be great if we could get away from that horrid SCG and onto the olympic stadium :)

Pretty sure in the past he's tagged Kennelly. Can't see that happening this time:)

This is a premeditated Vent.

I am about 75% sure Bowden will be dropped this week.

I'll be devastated he was doing so well for me, Playing well, getting high scores and making it impossible for people to pick him up.

Once he gets dropped I doubt he will make it back in the team unless the new coach has a new role for him...

I guess we will wait untill tommorow. The Irony is he got tagged last week because Brisbane thought he was dangerous and now he will most likely be dropped.