2nds VFL Round 16 - Box Hill Hawks v Geelong, City Oval Box Hill, Sunday 8 August 2:00PM

Wade Skipper has kicked the first goal of the final quarter.

Gibson has been given a 50 mtr penalty to goal. 2 goals in 2minutes. The Cats look gone now. 4 goals down and they have only kicked 6 for the game.

Wade Skipper has kicked the first goal of the final quarter.

Gibson has been given a 50 mtr penalty to goal. 2 goals in 2minutes. The Cats look gone now. 4 goals down and they have only kicked 6 for the game.

I was reaaaaallly looking forward to some good news on the 2s after last night...
Sorry that I have to be a bearer of bad news.

Final Score

Box Hill 13 : 21 : 99 Defeated Geelong 8 : 14 : 62

Goal Kickers for the Cats were Jack Weston 2, with singles to Simpson, Simpkin, Hunt, Motlop, Allright, Dobson.

Went to the game.

We got overrun in the last quarter to lose 9.10 64 to Box Hill Hawks 13. 21. 99

I'll do a more detailed report tomorrow, but my bests were Laidler, Djerrkura, Blake, West, Hogan, Duncan and Simpkin.

In regards to the subject probably of most interest to you all, Blake played very well, shaded Skipper and Campbell in the ruck, but more importantly actually chased people around the ground and laid a couple of good tackles. I am no Blake lover but I would be willing to go In Blake Out Hawkins for next week based on today.

Blake was playing against a reject part-time ruckman in Skipper and a 2nd stringer on the comeback in Campbell. He should have slaughtered them. If he is to return it will be because he's sorted out his deficiencies. And it won't be at Tomahawks expense. Providing his foot stands up he'll play every remaining game. Pods -well.......

Good to see DJ was amongst the best yet again.

I'll do a more detailed report tomorrow, but my bests were Laidler, Djerrkura, Blake, West, Hogan, Duncan and Simpkin.

I will be interested in a detailed report P.O. I was not there. I was only putting up scores that I heard through a streaming of the game.

No DJ, Hogan or Blake in the best in this report.

13.21-99

Box Hill Hawks
2:00 PM
Sun 8/Aug

def.
8.14-62

Box Hill Hawks

Goal Kickers:
S. Gibson 3, R. Milne 2, R. Campbell 2, L. Breust, C. Peterson, B. Muston, W. Skipper, S. Savage, J. Lisle
Best Players: B. Whitecross, S. Gibson, L. Shiels, R. JACKSON, J. Morton, L. Breust

Goal Kickers:
J. Weston 2, T. Allwright, T. Hunt, D. Simpson, S. Motlop, J. Simpkin, B. Dobson
Best Players: J. Laidler, T. Hunt, J. Hollmer, R. Gamble, J. Simpkin, M. Firman

Hope you don't mind me posting on here.

I went to the game today and was very impressed with some of your young talent while also being left wondering about others.

Taylor Hunt was sensational today. Seemed a cut above. Ran all day, was creative and used the ball very well. He has the makings of an elite player IMO and will no doubt start getting more AFL games. Very impressed.

Laidler had a stack of ball and used it well. Liked his game also.

It was the first time I had seen Djekurra, Motlop and Edriwikki.. in the flesh and all of them did some silky things without really dominating. Any of these guys will no doubt give your midfield a futher X factor in the coming years.

Dawson Simpson was good I thought and I liked his versatility. He played forward for and looked damaging. He is a massive unit and used his size to crash packs.

A telling passgae occurred on the opposite wing so it was hard to see. A high kick to a pack and one of your big men (Vardy i think) runs from nowhere and crunches the pack forcing a spillage to one of your players and a forward entry. Great football and an inditement on my biggets let down for the game - Blake.

He really should be dominating at this level though to give us credit Robbie Campbell was his opponent at times and Robbie is playing better than you would expect.

Blake was OK at stoppages but in all honesty seemed disinterested. He offered little except as a stationary relief handball target in the centre.

Blokes like Simpson and Vardy (if that's who it was?) were throwing their bodies around and seemed hungry. Blake looked like he couldn't care.

Not trying to be negative here, just my impression. I would be furious if I was a Cat having kept Blake and let Mumford go. The other two rucks though look like they could be very good AFL ruckman so your cupboard is far from bare.

13.21-99

Box Hill Hawks
Sun 8/Aug

def.
8.14-62

Box Hill Hawks
Goal Kickers: S. Gibson 3, R. Milne 2, R. Campbell 2, L. Breust, C. Peterson, B. Muston, W. Skipper, S. Savage, J. Lisle
Best Players: B. Whitecross, S. Gibson, L. Shiels, R. JACKSON, J. Morton, L. Breust
Goal Kickers: J. Weston 2, T. Allwright, T. Hunt, D. Simpson, S. Motlop, J. Simpkin, B. Dobson
I was there and met PO who knows EVERY player on our lists. Blake, West and Simpson were rotated all avo and each probably only played max 40%, so bit hard to be in the best. What pleased us was Blake's willingness to get on all 4's and tackle a bit more, and West's mobility.

2Sewell4School, you are more than welcome to jump on and post stuff like that. Great to hear from a supporter from another club that looks at the game, not just your team. Cheers mate.

Oh come on,have a go at spelling it.The Mods might have a prize if you can get it right.Of course we won't be able to tell you if you got it right. ;)

The worst thing is I was copying from the record an just gave up half way through! :D

Seems that I might have mistaken Vardy for West in my summary but I'm sure you get the drift.

In all honesty Blake would get a game every week at Hawthorn and in the past I have admired his resilience to keep his head up and continue to improve.

I'm unaware if he is coming back from an injury or whatever but he just seemed like his mind was elsewhere at times today.

The worst thing is I was copying from the record an just gave up half way through! :D

Seems that I might have mistaken Vardy for West in my summary but I'm sure you get the drift.

In all honesty Blake would get a game every week at Hawthorn and in the past I have admired his resilience to keep his head up and continue to improve.

I'm unaware if he is coming back from an injury or whatever but he just seemed like his mind was elsewhere at times today.

Bomber indicated Blake was dropped because of deficiencies in his game which he'd fail to address.

Yes, West was the mobile unit you were referring to. We were standing where the players run off and Blake was definitely interested, but also a little frustrated at being rotated off so often He, West and Simpson would have got 30-40% match time, making it hard to dominate, and when they were on, your guys were ok and there seemed to be a third Hawk jumping up over the top at many contests. Good tactic. Blake was just being Blake. Has played with more authority in the 1's

13.21-99

Box Hill Hawks
Sun 8/Aug

def.
8.14-62

Box Hill Hawks
Goal Kickers: S. Gibson 3, R. Milne 2, R. Campbell 2, L. Breust, C. Peterson, B. Muston, W. Skipper, S. Savage, J. Lisle
Goal Kickers: J. Weston 2, T. Allwright, T. Hunt, D. Simpson, S. Motlop, J. Simpkin, B. Dobson

That's why I said it was MY best, not Amos' best. Forgot to add Taylor Hunt who was great with run and dash. Didn't put Firman in there simply because it's assumed he'll be in there, never plays a bad game the co-captain. Wouldn't have had Gamble in though. Can't quibble with the rest.

Was a good game today. We started well, biggest issue being that we didn't do much scoreboard hitting, 3.9 first half I think, which bit us later on. The third quarter was a real slogfest, BH really dominated the mids and locked the ball in their forward line, but didn't break it open goals wise. We struggled to clear the ball out of the back half, particularly from kickouts. 2 goals down at 3/4 I felt we were still in it but they kicked the first goal of the last quarter and from there we battled on, but really ran out of legs.

We had a couple of clear issues. Firstly Vardy was rested, presumably since we were playing 3 other ruckmen, and Johnson curiously didn't play, despite being named in the team earlier in the week (he and Drum watched the game from the boundary line). This really left our forward line a bit thin, Westy played mainly at full forward, with young Dobson as the other forward, and Menzel had his first quiet game of the year, so we really struggled for potency there. The other was like our senior boys, they overdid the handball which resulted in turnovers, but the endeavour was certainly there.

Player reports
Djerrkura-really good, stood out among our midfield of kids, as you would expect. Provided great run and dash and his long kicking was better than usual.

Hogan-not as dominant as in recent weeks but still good, used the ball really well and his hard tackling was noticeable.

Westy-hard gig playing mainly FF, but did his best. When in the ruck really got involved, for me the highlight of the day was a passage of play where he layed 2 tackles, then handballed (while on the ground) to Weston who kicked a beautiful goal from the boundary line. Good game from him.

Blake-dominated the hitouts, as you would expect. Didn't play heaps of gametime. I was pretty happy with his game, laid a couple of nice tackles, and got involved with handball, and even one mark on the lead which is so not Blake. I suppose whether the coaches rate his game depends on what they were looking for. Certainly his 'effort' as we call it was better than the usual Blake, but not quite as terrier like as West, if you know what I mean. But nevertheless I thought he was ok.

Dawson-baby giraffe really threw himself in at the contests and tried hard, but didn't do heaps.

Weston-great game from him, loved his run and dash.

Cowan-fairly quiet, got pushed off the ball a lot.

Gamble-less of a liability in 1-1's than usual, but not hugely impacting (considering he's meant to be a rebounding HB).

Laidler-played undersized KPB again and was great. Battled well with his opponent well and was good coming out of the back half. Decision making is improving.

Gillies-quiet, one or two good spoils but otherwise I didn't notice much of him.

Christensen-played more in the midfield today and did ok...faded in the second half.

Ranga-pretty good. Made a couple of handball errors (as did our whole side) but I liked how he was always trying to take things on.

Taylor Hunt-really good, not sure if he had heaps of it, but whenever he did he broke the lines and his disposal was noticeably better than most of our other players.

Motlop-a couple of flashes of brilliance, but otherwise fairly quiet.

Menzel-ditto.

Allwright-fairly quiet as a lead up HF, battled hard though and kicked a nice goal in the last qtr.

Mitch Duncan-noticeable how much bigger he is than most of our other players. Just used it with confidence and didn't seem to panic in the contested situations.

Among the VFL players, surf bum Hollmer :D (he so looks like one) was really agressive and good, Firman was his usual good self, Joffa broke the lines and I thought Dobson showed a bit up forward.

That's why I said it was MY best, not Amos' best. Forgot to add Taylor Hunt who was great with run and dash. Didn't put Firman in there simply because it's assumed he'll be in there, never plays a bad game the co-captain. Wouldn't have had Gamble in though. Can't quibble with the rest.

I wasn't having a go at you PO. Just noting those three important players didn't get a mention. I'm not sure Amos would have anything to do with the selection, btw. More likely to be someone in the media.

Thanks for your write-up.:thumbsu:

"Weston-great game from him, loved his run and dash."

I like this kid too P.O.

He has great pace and he is 189cm tall. He looks like he could be a versatile player.

"Weston-great game from him, loved his run and dash."

I like this kid too P.O.

He has great pace and he is 189cm tall. He looks like he could be a versatile player.

I like him too.

From Gippsland too, just like the Wojack :thumbsu:

2nds VFL Round 16 - Box Hill Hawks v Geelong, City Oval Box Hill, Sunday 8 August 2:00PM