Vic Country 2008

geewhynot

Jan 23, 2008
Country
Thought we could get a thread going now squads have been made.
Anyone game to put a side together? or just to discuss different players why they should/shouldnt be in the final squad :thumbsu:

Bendigo Pioneers:
Rhys Ellis, Josh Gaylor, Jake Hall, Rhys Healey, Scott Oakley, Chris Prockter, Shane Page

Geelong Falcons:
Lucas Boyd, Sam Hughes, Ayce Cordy, Tim Hunt, Jordan Jones, Zach Ledin, Callum Bartlett, Allen Christensen, Ben Cunnington, Tom Simpkin, Luke Thompson, Dane Tutton, Luke Rounds

Gippsland Power:
Darren White, Dean Woodhead, Nicholas Hayne, Koby Stevens, Nathan Vardy, John Butcher, Jared Risol, Jarryd Blair, Jack Weston, Edward Carr, Campbell Heath, Mitchell Golby

Murray Bushrangers:
Luke Lowden, Steele Sidebottom, Caleb Tiller, Jack Zeibell, Matt Pianto, Will Martinello, Tom Rockliff, Sam Wright, Andrew Browne, Dash Baroli, Jamason Daniels, Jamie Sheahan, Ben Birthisel

North Ballarat:
Nick Suban, Jason Linke, Ryan MacKenzie, Jordan Roughead, Andrew Hooper, Ben Peters, Will Young, Chris Curran

I counted 53 on your list, does any know who are the top and bottom agers?

The team (24?) I would think would be mainly top agers with a few bottom agers such as AIS guys like, Butcher, Ziebell, Sidebottom and maybe 3 other bottom agers,........... wouldn't think too many more than that.

Any one like to break the list into top and bottom?

gonna be a lovely squad thats for sure... i'm not an expert but i'd imagine Heyne, Butcher, Suban, Ziebell, Sidebottom and Cordy would be certainties

28 Top Age
24 Bottom Age

I've got a list with them categorised by "top age" and "bottom age" but I'm buggered if I'm typing it out!

Murray with 13, Geelong 12, Gippsland 11, Bendigo 7, N Ballarat 8.

Some of that lot are injured, we're 5 weeks away from the first match of the carnival and the fact is some blokes will not be ready to return by then.

As for having a crack at a final side - get back to me ;)

I think right now everyone in that squad deserves their place, those blokes have all achieved a goal they should be proud of reaching and deserve every bit of the next three weeks or so to prove themselves as worth of a Vic Country representatives.

28 Top Age
24 Bottom Age

I've got a list with them categorised by "top age" and "bottom age" but I'm buggered if I'm typing it out!

Murray with 13, Geelong 12, Gippsland 11, Bendigo 7, N Ballarat 8.

Some of that lot are injured, we're 5 weeks away from the first match of the carnival and the fact is some blokes will not be ready to return by then.

As for having a crack at a final side - get back to me ;)

I think right now everyone in that squad deserves their place, those blokes have all achieved a goal they should be proud of reaching and deserve every bit of the next three weeks or so to prove themselves as worth of a Vic Country representatives.

Ha ha FM I might have to check my score in the tipping comp, I counted 13 from Geelong and 12 from Gippy!:D which add up to 53. Cheers!:)

:D I was working off a different list to the one in the footy record this week. I think there are a couple of differences between the two lists, possibly due to injured players and/or late additions to the team.

I counted 53 on your list, does any know who are the top and bottom agers?

The team (24?) I would think would be mainly top agers with a few bottom agers such as AIS guys like, Butcher, Ziebell, Sidebottom and maybe 3 other bottom agers,........... wouldn't think too many more than that.

Any one like to break the list into top and bottom?

i think you will find that the team will be made up of topagers first or guys who are possible draftees for this year and then the good bottom agers.
Of the last years 16's Ziebell and Sidebottom will be in it for sure due to thier AIS involvement and eligibility to be drafted. Hooper will be in he's form warrants it as might Tiller .Christensen will be init for sure. Stevens might get a look in for reasonable form,Vardy could with his size . Bartlet is going ok all though the smaller blokes might be up against it due to the plethera of smaller guys in the older group. So rounds ,cunnington, giampolo ,ross ,pianto etc are going to have to wait a year their developmnent guys at the minute.

Theres a few boys in the same boat Lowden has not played a game.A lot of the u16's from last year were put in and have not been accessed yet.
Thats the problem with them selecting squads so early I suppose. Both Metro and Country had a squad session in January to kick things off, based obviously on 2007 form and U16 form.

For Country, the fact almost half the current squad are bottom age players indicates a lot of last years U16s were automatically included. Which I don't think is a bad thing. A lot will probably get cut from the squad, but at least it shows them what they need to aim for next year.

But the process of adding and deleting guys as the season goes on seems to work alright. Others may disagree, but I think both Metro and Country have added those deserving of a tryout based on the first four weeks of footy.

If I get time later tonight I'll take a closer look at the Country squad and put something up on it.

Thought i'd list a few of the definities....open to debate

Suban
Cordy
Ziebell
Browne
Roughhead
Hooper ( cant fault his form atm )
Heyne
Sidebottom
Rockliff
Mackenzie
Christensen
Risol
Gaylor
Healey

Probables:
Stevens
Tutton
Tiller
Young
Peters
Hall
Pianto
Vardy??? got enough ruckmen....o

Close:
Blair- too small
Butcher? unsure where he might fit in
Cunnington
Thompson
Page

Unsure: Dont know alot about.......
Prockter
Boyd
Hughes
Hunt
Jones
Ledin
Simpkin
Martinello
Wright
Baroli
Daniels
Sheahan
Linke
Carr

Now...... debate....

Thought i'd list a few of the definities....open to debate

Suban
Cordy
Ziebell
Browne
Roughhead
Hooper ( cant fault his form atm )
Heyne
Sidebottom
Rockliff
Mackenzie
Christensen
Risol
Gaylor
Healey

Probables:
Stevens
Tutton
Tiller
Young
Peters
Hall
Pianto
Vardy??? got enough ruckmen....o

Close:
Blair- too small
Butcher? unsure where he might fit in
Cunnington
Thompson
Page

Unsure: Dont know alot about.......
Prockter
Boyd
Hughes
Hunt
Jones
Ledin
Simpkin
Martinello
Wright
Baroli
Daniels
Sheahan
Linke
Carr

Now...... debate....

Butcher will definatly go we have forgotten about him but he is highly regarded AIS and in some good form he will be in for sure great player .
Baroli is good at the moment as is sheahan

Butcher will definatly go we have forgotten about him but he is highly regarded AIS and in some good form he will be in for sure great player .

spot on:thumbsu: he's been selected in everything and anything.. once this boy hits the gym hardcore he'll be a force to be reckoned with.. good to see a few people rating stevens as well:thumbsu: surely gippsland grammar has got to be one of the strongest regional schools in victoria?? Heyne, Costigan, Butcher, Heath, Stevens all go there and are prominant power players

All games this weekend are going to be made up of draftables and non draftables.

U/17 VM v VC on Saturday at Vic Park 9.30 Game 1 and 11.30 game 2

Not sure in which order teams are playing

u/18 VM v VC on Sunday - don't know venue.

Yeah I don't think there's anything on Sunday either.

But haven't heard exactly what they're doing. Do they even have enough players in the squads to play three games anyway?

does anyone know enough about all the squad members to put a team together?
footyman hows your team coming along?
I've hit the brick wall mate! Slotted about a dozen certainties into positions, then it gets hard to split the next lot. Hopefully we get to see them on the weekend that might sort it out a bit more!

no worries :thumbsu: should be a v good game or 2 on the weekend are you going? would love to hear a bit of a write up and scores :)

Yeah i'll be there on saturday, should be a good day of footy. I expect that Country U18s will smash the Metro U17s which will be made up of a lot of fringe TAC guys. But it'll be good for the country team just to get some match practice I suppose.

While I'm at it just some useless statistical info on the squad (based on the one listed on the first page).

By Height (no of players):

175cm or less - 5
176-179cm - 5
180-189cm - 25
190-199cm - 15
200cm+ - 3

You'd assume they can only carry half of the guys less than 180cm - Martinello, Sheahan, Mackenzie and Christensen lead the way on 'form' and 'football ability'. But they're real small. Will the selectors go with them all or attempt to find others a bit taller and perhaps with a higher degree of draftability?

They should go with Cordy and Browne as the over 200cm players.

By Times in TAC Cup Best players during first four weeks:
4 games - 1 (Golby)
3 games - 3 (Healey, MacKenzie, Hooper)
2 games - 16
1 game - 15
0 games - 18

Super effort from Golby to be the only one of 53 players to be in the best players in each game over the first month of footy.

By Average Disposals:
Less than 10 possessions per game average - 14 players
10 to 20 possessions per game average - 30 players
20 to 30 possessions per game average - 9 players

Leading Disposals (match average):
MacKenzie - 25.5
Sheahan - 23.3
Christensen - 23.0
Martinello - 22.5
Rockliff - 22.5

Rockliff the odd one out among that lot - strange because he plays forward and kicks a lot of goals too. Did similar last year when averaged about 17 possessions a game and had a season where he kicked 40 goals.

Three Murray boys in the top five average disposals in the comp four weeks in - these guys may have longer stints on the ground than others, or Murray might just handle the ball a bit more. Across the whole team their averages are very high.

Goalkicking (season to date):
Gaylor 11
Tiller 11
Young 11
Rockliff 10
Wright 10

Vic Country 2008