Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion Part 2

34 weeks, plus 3 byes =37 weeks. plus Finals = 41 weeks. + Pre season =49 weeks.

So 2 week holidays for the players.
Lets Go Reaction GIF by The Lonely Island

Tbh, people keep harping on about competitive advantage but there's also this thing called fans who want to attend the game. Everyone can keep harping on about bias this and bias that, but there's actual people who pay money, make the travel in, and get behind their team - these people specifically should not be disrespected so heavily.

The way it's panned out for Freo, we've had two 4 week blocks where we got one home game each block.

So Essendon, 5 of their twelve on the road hey? How about 7 of the 12 are in Victoria so your fans can watch your team. Let alone the 9 in a row to finish off the season.

For the most part I've been fine with the H&A alternate for the last two decades for, you plan your weekend accordingly... hell I actually got a little bit annoyed when Freo started getting night games because it broke my routine. But this year? It's been atrocious, but you lot are so far up your own behinds that you can't see how the fixture affects others.

Must be nice getting the chance to have 9 games in a row in Victoria, we'd be lucky to get three in row in WA (think it happened during Covid times, and yeah it was nice honestly but naturally impossible to replicate).

Is there a way to fix it? Of course there is, whoever designed the fixture broke it so they most certainly can fix it. End of the day would be best for all if the AFL came up a public methodology of how they design the fixture.

Now if anyone from Victoria genuinely thinks me being annoyed I've had to wait three weeks for one home game (twice this season) is an unreasonable of me then perhaps they need to assess their several depleted empathy levels.
We catch up, as a family, at Optus games. When you are a regular attendee, you really notice how long it is between games.

I think you'll have to get used to that as some of the solutions around travel will exacerbate it.

Probably the biggest disadvantage around travel is that it eats into recovery time. So you'd ideally have an away game before the bye. And then come back after it with an away game in Thursday or Friday night to maximise the recovery time after that travel.

You'd ideally also be part of opening round if that concept survives as that gives you an extra bye to do the same thing around.

Then if you also want to have a crack at road trips with two away games that's another block without home games.

Plus the resulting back to back home games mean that you can build shorter breaks between them in order to get longer breaks before and/or after travel.

With WA travel being firmly on the agenda, a lot of the solutions to minimise the impact on travel for WA teams would lead to you guys getting boom and bust blocks of home games.

What are you talking about?, non vic clubs are organically disadvantaged from the get go before they pull on the jumper because the league is an expanded vfl.

The only way to even it up is at the detriment of vic clubs, this has been explained eleventy gazillion times, and that ain't gonna happen because

A/ Whichever clubs are chosen to be at detriment, their at worst 100k fans won't accept it, so HQ won't, and it not up to HQ anyways, as has been explained eleventy gazillion times.

B/ Those clubs are foundation clubs who were here first, before any non vic club. So there's no reason those clubs and their fans should accept detriment at the behest of fans of franchise clubs fabricated to participate in this league. No, phuq off.

Thought that was obvious and has been explained eleventy gazillion times in this thread.

Also, the bulk of vic fans will concede that the league is indeed in their favour, call it bias, call it what you will.

What it ISN'T is a deliberate conspiracy against non vic clubs and their fans, which sooks on these boards (and others) spruik that it is.

What this league is a fact of life, like I've said eleventy gazillion times if you don't like it you can vote with your feet and remotes.
So the VFL had tons of money back in 1985?

So state leagues like the VFL had 600 million dollars in cash reserves?

Because a best of goes against the premise of a grand final.

The grand final is about performing under the biggest spotlight, watched by 100k people.

In America more people tend to watch NCAA college final (which is the single knock-out) compared to any of the NBA Finals.
So.... There is issues with west coast and Fremantle Dockers having 10 home games according to you.

Yet.... It's Collingwoods right to have 15 games at the MCG each year? LoL 🤣

The MCG already lock out enough fans to the grand final due to corporate ticket allocation imagine how many extra real fans will lose access if the game was played at a stadium with less seats by up to half in some cases

Because you better believe the corporates wouldn’t give up the seats they have access to regardless of where it’s played
Those Melbourne Cricket ground corporate dogs didn't have one seat in the 2020 and 2021 grand final didn't they? LoL

So.... There is issues with west coast and Fremantle Dockers having 10 home games according to you.

Yet.... It's Collingwoods right to have 15 games at the MCG each year? LoL 🤣
ALL clubs should be entitled to host ALL their home games at their preferred HOME ground.

WC and Freo both enjoy having ALL their home games at their preferred home ground.

Collingwood (like all the Melbourne clubs) dont get this, because of AFL House policy.

WA based fans are that entitled that getting their home games at their home ground is not enough, they actually think they should be able to dictate where their AWAY games are scheduled at!

The Northern clubs get an advantage with Academies and yet not included in the table?

It also doesn't split the big 4 vic clubs from the rest, which is where most of the Advantages gets funnelled into. Bulldogs, Saints and North Melbourne are as Disadvantaged as Sydney/Brisbane - and possibly even more.
And why do the northern clubs such as the new South Wales and Queensland teams get academies?

QAFL doesn't produce as much AFL draftees compared to SANFL or WAFL or VFL it under 18 talent league.

Go look at Richmonds 2017, 2019 and 2020 flags. How many players in those sides played in those Premierships and came from Queensland and NSW?

ALL clubs should be entitled to host ALL their home games at their preferred HOME ground.

WC and Freo both enjoy having ALL their home games at their preferred home ground.

Collingwood (like all the Melbourne clubs) dont get this, because of AFL House policy.

WA based fans are that entitled that getting their home games at their home ground is not enough, they actually think they should be able to dictate where their AWAY games are scheduled at!
North Melbourne are entitled to as much money as your mob. Even though North Melbourne are struggling and are on the AFL equivalent of Centrelink.

North Melbourne has a right to be competitive

Well then nuke the MCG and docklands and play home games at Victoria park then.

North Melbourne are entitled to as much money as your mob. Even though North Melbourne are struggling and are on the AFL equivalent of Centrelink.

North Melbourne has a right to be competitive
North have a right to thrive, not just be competitive.

The first step to being competitive, is sorting out off-field have a clear and known HOME GROUND.

This can help on-field as you then play your HOME GAMES and enjoy a HOME GROUND ADVANTAGE at your HOME GROUND.

North currently dont get this, if you dont have a home advantage you are starting from way back.

in 2009 we only played one game at the MCG during the H/A season, the last round. then we had to play all finals at MCG even though we were top of the ladder. that year Brisbane got a home final against Carlton. It's nothing to do with vic/non-vic its if you make the AFL money or not. if you don't you are not a priority. it's a vicious cycle, if you don't have a lot of fans you don't get favorable timeslots, you dont get televised very often. In a country with a birth rate lower than replacement level and a massive surge of immigrants every year good luck getting new fans if your not televised much. the small clubs are gonna keep being in debt with no real avenue of getting out of it themselves and the AFL will keep shitting on them come fixture time to make up for the fact that they arent making them money and so the cycle continues. Do we expect new fans to buy Kayo to see all the teams before they choose who to barrack for??
Spot on. The blockbuster bullshit and big Vic team double ups suck for the other Vic teams. They don't suck for the non-Vic teams though, as the non-Vic teams have been given an even better leg up by the AFL negotiating all their games into their target market on FTA. The AFL has intentionally put them in a better position to maintain and grow their supporter bases.

Well then nuke the MCG and docklands and play home games at Victoria park then.
A 3rd ground in Melbourne should be an option for a smaller club like North.

Just like in London, you have a club like Fulham playing from Craven Cottage which has a capacity of 25k.

Essendon and Carlton should pick which ground is their home, the co-tenant approach a massive mistake from both clubs.

A 3rd ground in Melbourne should be an option for a smaller club like North.

Just like in London, you have a club like Fulham playing from Craven Cottage which has a capacity of 25k.

Essendon and Carlton should pick which ground is their home, the co-tenant approach a massive mistake from both clubs.
My understanding is the Docklands co home ground deal has been really good financially for the Dons and they play the G often enough that they're not at a disadvantage there. And an advantage for lots of finals.

Just in the spirit of competitiveness, if Hawthorn is forced away from York park, where they have a 72% winning record, they need to be compensated just as other clubs have been

Go look at Richmonds 2017, 2019 and 2020 flags. How many players in those sides played in those Premierships and came from Queensland and NSW?
That’s because QLD teams at the time had first dibs on the quality players coming out of there.

Much like gc did last year getting four first rounders for a packet of chips.

read your posts mate.

VFL needed 4 million from west coast and 4 million from brisbane.

Or do you think the VFL had 400 million dollars in the bank account back in 1985?
WTF are you on about?

As has been pointed out, the then vfl wasn't going broke coz it was unviable, it was going broke because of an unfettered spend spree in order to win flags between clubs

That does not mean those clubs would've just died off into the sunset.