Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion Part 2

Caro Wilson was saying on the radio that Collingwood coaching staff's families got to come to the GF last year free while Brisbane had to pay (out of their soft cap), and there wasn't an equal number of training sessions on the MCG in the week leading up to it.

I think including travel and hotels for coaching staff's family to the GF for interstate clubs is a fairly reasonable request as is 2xminimum training sessions on the MCG which is what Fagan has apparently asked for and the interstate clubs have agreed.

Flowing on from the above Fagan also said he'd like to spend the entire week in Melbourne if we were to make another GF.

Was she talking about accomodation and flights or tickets?

If talking about tickets, both clubs in a grand final get given the same number, but different clubs distribute them differently, with some clubs giving a lot more to their top management and corporate partners. Any difference in that part of it is likely to be simply the club's priorities - with the Pies at the moment talking heaps about being a club that embraces the whole family and not just the player that's likely to have just been how we decided to distribute our tickets.

Accomodation and flights for families would have favoured Pies, but not as straight forwardly as Brisbane families live in QLD and Collingwood families live in Melbourne - that's just not the reality. Pies had a lot of interstate players in their team and Brissy a fair few Vics.

But yes, trying to even up that side of things should be a priority. Grand Final should be easier to do as the location is known years out - preliminary finals a different story.

For the Granny, I'm not so sure. It's a certainty for the AFL, interstate clubs don't know til after the PF. Sure, they can book now and cancel (tough shit on the hotel I guess), but it seems weird the AFL doesn't have something set up.

On SM-G988U1 using BigFooty.com mobile app

What's not known by the AFL is how many interstate teams will be in it. Anywhere from 0-2

I would have thought you could have an arrangement in place though. It's not like it's going to be hard for the hotel to sell beds in grand final week with a weeks notice.

Nah. Most teams have some comparative advantages and disadvantages and the size of all of them are unmeasurable. So bias makes us look at other clubs advantages and say they're huge and our advantages are small - or even refuse to see our own advantages.

Yep we all do it

Nah. Most teams have some comparative advantages and disadvantages and the size of all of them are unmeasurable. So bias makes us look at other clubs advantages and say they're huge and our advantages are small - or even refuse to see our own advantages.

The AFL measured them.

Big vic clubs are the big winners
Small vic clubs were next.

What measurements are you referring to?

Not sure if you know or not.

But what is the title of the thread? The topic being discussed?

Maybe........just maybe. There is some underlying Vic bias in the AFL media department.

Season 5 What GIF by The Office

Thats the point numb nuts!

Season 18 Omg GIF by America's Got Talent's Got Talent

Oh My God Wow GIF by The Roku Channel
There's underlying bias in all media in every state, who GAF?

Complain all you want to us >numb nuts< or you could raise your ire with the media.

If that's all you wanna wah about, carry on, no one gives a sh*t

The "travel burden" doesnt count for Hawthorn because they choose to travel is hilarious.

They have to head to the airport, wait around, fly, get to accom, settle in (away from family), then play a game of footy, and have recovery impacted by then again having to do it all before they get home.

If it really was a huge burden and impost on performance, Hawthorn wouldnt do it.

But they chose to and have won 4 flags as the Melbourne based team who travels 9-10 times a season, the same as an SA team.

Ground advantage is much more important during H&A, as H&A ladder and results show.

Also no compromised recovery after a GF, but BOTH teams have a compromised preparation with things like the brownlow, GF parade etc.

The winner is the team that handles it all better.

What the flight time to Tasmania again? Less than an hour.

And how many games did they choose to play there......for money. It is their choice to play there so not sure why that was discounted.

Would they choose to fly 5 hours interstate which turns into 9 hours on the road when adding travel to the airport etc? No they wouldnt.

Are the opposition also travelling? Yes. Further? Much further.

If the travel was a burded that affected performance they wouldnt do it.

There's underlying bias in all media in every state, who GAF?

Complain all you want to us >numb nuts< or you could raise your ire with the media.

If that's all you wanna wah about, carry on, no one gives a sh*t

Pointing out obvious Vic media bias that is 100% supported by AFL House is factual.

Not sure how that is crying.

You seem to be the one crying about facts and getting into personal attacks because you have no valid argument. And for sure Vics dont like facts that show how engrained the bias is. So many examples.

And no-one gives a sh*t about you and your one eyed veiws based on self interest. The SANFL and the WAFL should have just let the VFL die and go bankrupt. Then create a true national competition without 10 teams in one state.

Pointing out obvious Vic media bias that is 100% supported by AFL House is factual.
You make it out like AFL (chairman from wa) has a deliberate conspiracy. It's not, it's a byproduct of a league that has expanded and is centred around its largest vic. That's what drives the 'bias', not a 'punchdown' like you make it out to be.

Yeah I know you don't like it, ok then don't like it, couldn't give a sh*t
You seem to be the one crying about facts and getting into personal attacks because you have no valid argument.
You threw the insult first chum.
The SANFL and the WAFL should have just let the VFL die and go bankrupt. Then create a true national competition without 10 teams in one state.
Yep the league would've died, but the clubs wouldn't, we follow our clubs, not like you lot who dropped your wafl clubs like a toxic ex for an unknown new club to play in a league you all hated before you even joined.

.......... And are still here complaining about it

Wallow in your misery.

And how many games did they choose to play there......for money. It is their choice to play there so not sure why that was discounted.

Would they choose to fly 5 hours interstate which turns into 9 hours on the road when adding travel to the airport etc? No they wouldnt.

Better get used to your team travelling to Tassie regularly. It is a national comp after all

Or do we thing Tassie should be included in the teams ‘ rostered’ to play extra home games in WA?

Not sure how that is crying.

You seem to be the one crying about facts and getting into personal attacks because you have no valid argument. And for sure Vics dont like facts that show how engrained the bias is. So many examples.

And no-one gives a sh*t about you and your one eyed veiws based on self interest. The SANFL and the WAFL should have just let the VFL die and go bankrupt. Then create a true national competition without 10 teams in one state.
Oh my.

Are you aware that was compiled by the Gold Coast CEO and made no attempt ot actually measure the advantages/disadvantages and for some very obvious reason didn't include Northern academies. It also divided clubs into Vic vs Non Vic and attributed some advantages and disadvantages to all of them. If you were to run with that style of analysis and include the very obvious advantage of academies - Port, Adelaide, WCE and Dockers would be attributed with an advantage due to Non-Vic academies. It was biased nonsense with no attempt to actually measure the advantages.

Caro Wilson was saying on the radio that Collingwood coaching staff's families got to come to the GF last year free while Brisbane had to pay (out of their soft cap), and there wasn't an equal number of training sessions on the MCG in the week leading up to it.

I think including travel and hotels for coaching staff's family to the GF for interstate clubs is a fairly reasonable request as is 2xminimum training sessions on the MCG which is what Fagan has apparently asked for and the interstate clubs have agreed.

Just listened to that radio segment.

She said it didn't cost the Collingwood families anything, but she was referring to accommodation/flights, obviously the ones living in/near Melbourne would have very minimal costs, where as any families from interstate would have high costs. Saying it was free implies some sort of special treatment, which was not the case. I agree the AFL paying for families travel is a reasonable request, but it would have to include Vic teams with family interstate too.

As for the training at the G, she said not as many days to train there, not that they had fewer training sessions. Teams typically arrive in Melbourne on the Thursday, so can only train there late Thursday or some time on Friday. Brisbane did it on the Friday last year. I'm not sure Collingwood did it at all.

Flight time is just over an hour, basically the same as Melbourne to Adelaide flight. Hawks face the same travel burden as the SA teams.

Travel and sleeping in hotels is a minor disadvantage, massively off-set by having a ground advantage.

Hawthorn realised this and went for it, Geelong have kept a home ground and play a heap of their away games at the neutral Melbourne venues where they are now familiar with the grounds.

So you are right, can the SA sooks stop blabbing on about travel being a burden, when it is obvious that a 1 hr flight and a couple of nights in a hotel aint a burden.

SA teams get a free home game for Gather Round as well, clear advantage over WA, NSW and QLD teams.
The SA teams travel less than teams like NM and Melbourne and basically the same as Haw, Geel and Richmond in the air.

It is laughable that they try and align themselves with teams from WA and QLD.

North have a right to thrive, not just be competitive.

The first step to being competitive, is sorting out off-field have a clear and known HOME GROUND.

This can help on-field as you then play your HOME GAMES and enjoy a HOME GROUND ADVANTAGE at your HOME GROUND.

North currently dont get this, if you dont have a home advantage you are starting from way back.
Does Fremantle have the right to thrive and not just be competitive too?

North Have a home ground Advantage in Docklands. Its only Against 8 non vic clubs and Geelong.

Tassie and a 20th side like Canberra means North gets a home ground advantage vs 10 non vic sides.

Adding gather round and playing a rivalry match between co tenants at the same oval every year. Comparing the best case scenario an interstate side has with Collingwood.

Port and Crows the last 2 years have done very well inventing an extra home game into the fixture.

Brisbane supporters would happily sign up for 12/23 at the Gabba and 1/23 on the Gold Coast.

10 games on the road.
Need 3 played at the G every year for experience.
3 between WA/SA each year
4 between NSW and the shitty other ovals in Victoria and Tassie.

Done!

Again..... thank the dockers that All non vic sides get at least one game at the MCG every season.

Why? Because in 2010, freo only had one game at the MCG.... 2010 semi final vs the cats where we lost by 69 points.

Yep, freo got no MCG game in the regular season.

Do SA and WA fans not understand that home ground advantage and away ground advantage exists between teams from the same city.

In SANFL Port had a home ground advantage playing at Alberton, and away disadvantage when playing Glenelg at Glenelg Oval and Norwood at Cooper Stadium.

Arsenal enjoy a home ground advantage at Emirates over Chelsea. Collingwood enjoyed home ground advantage against Richmond at Vic Park.

When both teams are familiar with a ground, their is no advantage for either, it is neutral.

When both teams travel there is no travel disadvantage, as both teams are travelling and are not at their familiar home ground.

Port and Crows 2024 Fixture is the below

11 with a distinct home ground advantage
3 neutral games
9 with a distinct away ground disadvantage

Yet the SA sooking continues.
If you have Issues about all these poxy problems. Relocate to another state. Mirrabooka Magpies Sounds nice. you get your own home ground there.

If you want... I am Sure you can have your own Home ground in Tassie or Queensland or NSW if you think theres too many tenants in docklands or MCG.

Suns have an NT academy, so have more listed players who actually come from the NT. This also helps with crowd support, as Darwin people start to see the Suns as "their team".

The Suns players are more familiar with the challenging and unique conditions that Darwin provides, the heat and humidity.

It isnt really a surprise that they are 6-0 in last 3 seasons in Darwin, because it is clear they have developed a ground advantage in Darwin over their opponent.

This is despite BOTH teams having to travel to Darwin and sleeping in hotels and being away from home.

Having a ground advantage trumps whether you hopped on a plane and slept in a hotel.

So if the Grand final between Gold coast and Collingwood is played in Darwin, its an advantage to Gold coast?

Does Fremantle have the right to thrive and not just be competitive too?

North Have a home ground Advantage in Docklands. Its only Against 8 non vic clubs and Geelong.

Tassie and a 20th side like Canberra means North gets a home ground advantage vs 10 non vic sides.
What home ground advantage do North get over saints, Bulldogs, Carlton or Essendon?

Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion Part 2