Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion

That's right, you wouldn't have seen the free that didn't get paid.
But that's ok I wouldn't have expected you to.

Anyway, I got over it even before the game finished, I don't dwell on crap I can't change, like sooks do.
1 free V a game where 2 teams we're umpired differently.
Please, youre embarrassing yourself now.

1 free V a game where 2 teams we're umpired differently.
Please, youre embarrassing yourself now.
You are just showing me that you are the one that biased and nearly ever post you have changed your argument, you don't even know what you are arguing.

Have a look at your own team, if they didn't choke so often the score would be completely different, Port are letting the non-Vics down.
I'm sorry to say sook, but that's not Vic bias, that's just a crap football team.

This is what I said, WC cant imagine being minor premier and not getting a home ground advantage. As it doesnt happen
you are the minor premier and you wont leave your home ground.

Your “penalty” is to play a neutral game.

Ours was to fly to play a lower ranked opponent on their home deck.

These things are not the same….

Referring back to Hank Heavenly originally post. I don't believe their is a VIC bias, but I believe the reason people think their is a VIC bias is because the vast majority of media coverage over the years has been out of Victoria.

Some of the nationally watched footy shows below, have individuals on them that live, work and most likely born in Victoria.
On The Couch / Footy Classified / The Front Bar / AFL 360 / The Sunday Footy Show

The ability of people on these shows to be across all 18 clubs is difficult, so they focus on their state news, much like the journalists and opinionists in WA/SA/NSW/QLD do in their states. This therefore means there is an uneven amount of discussion/news about Victorian clubs over clubs outside of Victoria. We as consumers of this media should demand a more balanced view of all clubs, but we don't, we just blame VIC bias.

Read a newspaper or watch the sports news in Western Australia, or South Australia, and you'd be forgiven for thinking there were only two teams in the AFL.

The loudest and most broadcast voice is from Victorian journalist, and this is construed as VIC bias, when in its not. There are now podcasts, radio shows etc that are all focused towards our individual team/states so hopefully in time the long rooted thought of VIC bias disappears.

For me VIC Bias is a myth

I can tell you after living in Perth and being in Adelaide for the port game this year the one-eyed propagandic manner in which the interstate local media pump the tyres up of the home teams is way worse than any perceived “vicbias” of Melbourne based media

For me its not any worse, the difference is the there is a higher proportion of journalists/opinionists reporting on their state.
In Vic the Victorian based media can spread their news across more then two clubs.
Media know what side of their bread is buttered. e.g. write about Collingwood in the age or the herald sun and you get more clicks, responses, and radio content. The same can be said for West Coast and Adelaide in their states, the difference being is only two teams are spoken about.
I am from Perth, have lived in SA and now VIC and all are as bad as each other because of what gets clicks/responses/retweets etc.
As I said I don't believe in VIC Bias, I believe the media makes interstate followers believe their is a VIC Bias, it makes us believe their is a voice of affirmation etc.

See this thread is still going, so we've established

• the competition is not equitable
  • non vic do have more hga than Melbourne teams
  • g tenants are advantaged in the gf against non g tenants
  • there is more market in Vic than all other footy heartland combined
  • the competition is not truly national it is a rebranded vfl
  • there are more vic participants in the industry than other footy heartland combined

Yet the non vic sooking continues in perpetuity.

So why do you all still follow? I've asked this eleventy gazillion times and no one will answer

If really hate the competition that much. Get off your collective asses and follow your state leagues.

No excuses for wa and SA fans, all have your afl teams in your state leagues except freo.

Yet you're all still here throwing your toys. Do everyone a favour and go back to your state leagues so we can too.

Can't see why you all wouldn't want this.

• there are more vic participants in the industry than other footy heartland combined

So why do you all still follow? I've asked this eleventy gazillion times and no one will answer

If really hate the competition that much. Get off your collective asses and follow your state leagues.

No excuses for wa and SA fans, all have your afl teams in your state leagues except freo.

Yet you're all still here throwing your toys. Do everyone a favour and go back to your state leagues so we can too.

I can only speak for myself personally as a Western Australian, Eagles supporter and someone who currently lives in Victoria that I don't believe in a VIC Bias, and that i do follow the WAFL (South Fremantle not West Coast)

The "why do you keep sooking" or "Why don't you get of your collective arses and follow your state leagues" argument/retort is as tiresome as the VIC Bias argument.

Because you live in Perth as a Collingwood supporter, I can understand how much you would hear the VIC Bias argument which is purposely directed/driven by the media, as much as me living in Victoria as West Coast supporter gets annoyed at the next to no coverage about non VIC based clubs, but no one cares because 95% follow VIC Teams

"Do everyone a favour and go back to your state leagues so we can to"
Collingwood may survive (and that might be fine for you), but if all non Victorian clubs left the AFL I'm not sure how many of St Kilda, North Melbourne, Melbourne, Dogs would be able to financially survive as purely a state based competition. 6 Club VFL competition sounds awesome. Maybe Carlton can add to their 16 Flags......

And for Crows fans living interstate? After the debacle that was the Adelaide/Sydney game... I'm out for the rest of the season. Not interested in watching finals - something I have done every year for the last 45! I am slowly losing the passion I had for footy... and that's a massive loss. I'll follow the AFLW now until the AFL no doubt screws us over again.

I can only speak for myself personally as a Western Australian, Eagles supporter and someone who currently lives in Victoria that I don't believe in a VIC Bias, and that i do follow the WAFL (South Fremantle not West Coast)

The "why do you keep sooking" or "Why don't you get of your collective arses and follow your state leagues" argument/retort is as tiresome as the VIC Bias argument.

Because you live in Perth as a Collingwood supporter, I can understand how much you would hear the VIC Bias argument which is purposely directed/driven by the media, as much as me living in Victoria as West Coast supporter gets annoyed at the next to no coverage about non VIC based clubs, but no one cares because 95% follow VIC Teams

"Do everyone a favour and go back to your state leagues so we can to"
Collingwood may survive (and that might be fine for you), but if all non Victorian clubs left the AFL I'm not sure how many of St Kilda, North Melbourne, Melbourne, Dogs would be able to financially survive as purely a state based competition. 6 Club VFL competition sounds awesome. Maybe Carlton can add to their 16 Flags......
Well why not follow a league that is more equitable for your club? It's a win win for everyone.

As for the argument that clubs wouldn't survive in a state league has no merit.

All of those are basically held up by members and league hand outs. It's all about market and there's more than enough to support them.

I like your pov re the media and the perception it drives. The reality is though that regardless if we have a rebranded vfl like now or my suggestion. Non vics will still be salty regardless.

At least with my suggestion they can't complain about inequity.

You are just showing me that you are the one that biased and nearly ever post you have changed your argument, you don't even know what you are arguing.

Have a look at your own team, if they didn't choke so often the score would be completely different, Port are letting the non-Vics down.
I'm sorry to say sook, but that's not Vic bias, that's just a crap football team.
Ok, I'll play, my team is shit.

Now, explain why, since 2007, none of the other non Vic sides have been able to drag them selves up to be flag winners.
In that time Vic has seen 3 dynasty's worth 11 flags alone.
Richmond came from nowhere, Bulldogs came from nowhere, Melbourne came from the lows of being accused of tanking, yet no non Vic club outside of the AFL's project in Sydney or the leagues richest club has been able to win even 1.

I guess we all just 'shit the bed', how convenient
Or is it that Vic clubs are just run better now, which only took a season to turn around from the floggings you copped between 2001-2006, yet in the past 16yrs non Vic clubs haven't worked out how to be better too, how convenient.

Ok, I'll play, my team is s**t.

Now, explain why, since 2007, none of the other non Vic sides have been able to drag them selves up to be flag winners.
In that time Vic has seen 3 dynasty's worth 11 flags alone.
Richmond came from nowhere, Bulldogs came from nowhere, Melbourne came from the lows of being accused of tanking, yet no non Vic club outside of the AFL's project in Sydney or the leagues richest club has been able to win even 1.

I guess we all just 's**t the bed', how convenient
Or is it that Vic clubs are just run better now, which only took a season to turn around from the floggings you copped between 2001-2006, yet in the past 16yrs non Vic clubs haven't worked out how to be better too, how convenient.
You just don't give up.

Maybe if you didn't shit the bed you would be one of those dynasties.
Maybe Richmond are in that group because Port let them in.

You also nearly stopped Hawthorn, but to be honest that was a great effort.

You just don't give up.

Maybe if you didn't s**t the bed you would be one of those dynasties.
Maybe Richmond are in that group because Port let them in.

You also nearly stopped Hawthorn, but to be honest that was a great effort.
Funny you mention those 2 games. One Matt Stevic had crucial roles in each.

Well why not follow a league that is more equitable for your club? It's a win win for everyone.

As for the argument that clubs wouldn't survive in a state league has no merit.

All of those are basically held up by members and league hand outs. It's all about market and there's more than enough to support them.

I like your pov re the media and the perception it drives. The reality is though that regardless if we have a rebranded vfl like now or my suggestion. Non vics will still be salty regardless.

At least with my suggestion they can't complain about inequity.
Why is a going to a state based competition more equitable for clubs? Hypothetically what happens if the WAFL or SANFL becomes the premier league when we all go state based as they are able to offer more money to players. Will you enjoy watching your stars leaving the VFL to join the WAFL or SANFL?

Although the AFL is run more professionally then it was prior to the Non Victorian clubs entering the competition, I think the argument that clubs wouldn't survive has merit.
  • Prior to the Eagles getting acceptance into the league, the VFL and football across Australia was at a crossroads. Despite an agreement of $400K over 10 years for acceptancence into the league, on the night of the VFL teams vote to expand the league, the Eagles had to agree to hand over $4 Million up front, as the following VFL clubs were INSOLVENT Fitzroy/Cats/Dogs/Pies/Melbourne/North Melbourne/Richmond. I just don't think despite 4 odd million people living in Melbourne, there is the money to hold clubs that are already being held up long term. agree to disagree on this one.
  • TV/Streaming rights would significantly diminish thus cutting significant income to what would become a state based run league
  • Revenue from attendances and memberships at games would significantly diminish
"The reality is though that regardless if we have a rebranded vfl like now or my suggestion. Non vics will still be salty regardless.
At least with my suggestion they can't complain about inequity."

Isn't that all part of the fun and banter of it all, the reality is that ALL supporters are salty for one reason or another?
  • Non Victorians - "The AFL is VIC Bias, thats why we lose" / "VIC clubs have an advantage only having to drive from the MCG to Marvel" bla bla bla
  • Victorians - "The Voice of affirmation is why we lost, there has to be an investigation" / "How many home games do you get" bla bla bla
Even if we ended up with an even draw of playing each other once or twice a year, there will be perceived and real advantages and disadvantages. VIC bias is perceived in my opinion.

Anyway, I've no doubt strayed way off topic.

You'll see it on display when Amiss gets robbed of Rising Star.

Kicking 40+ goals as a rookie is far more impressive than picking up meaningless disposals in the midfield.

There has been more non Victorian club winners of the Rising Star Award than from Vic clubs, so you might want to check facts and get that chip off your shoulder.

Not the point I'm making, Amiss will likely finish 4th or 5th in the Rising Star this year when he should be finishing 2nd at the least because the panel will have watched four games max of his this year.

He's had a better year than both Owens and Ashcroft, Sheezel is the only one up for debate.

Not the point I'm making, Amiss will likely finish 4th or 5th in the Rising Star this year when he should be finishing 2nd at the least because the panel will have watched four games max of his this year.

He's had a better year than both Owens and Ashcroft, Sheezel is the only one up for debate.
So non- Vics win it more, but you think this year they will ignore Freo players?

Yeah that makes sense, bloody Vic bias.

Why is a going to a state based competition more equitable for clubs? Hypothetically what happens if the WAFL or SANFL becomes the premier league when we all go state based as they are able to offer more money to players. Will you enjoy watching your stars leaving the VFL to join the WAFL or SANFL?

Although the AFL is run more professionally then it was prior to the Non Victorian clubs entering the competition, I think the argument that clubs wouldn't survive has merit.
  • Prior to the Eagles getting acceptance into the league, the VFL and football across Australia was at a crossroads. Despite an agreement of $400K over 10 years for acceptancence into the league, on the night of the VFL teams vote to expand the league, the Eagles had to agree to hand over $4 Million up front, as the following VFL clubs were INSOLVENT Fitzroy/Cats/Dogs/Pies/Melbourne/North Melbourne/Richmond. I just don't think despite 4 odd million people living in Melbourne, there is the money to hold clubs that are already being held up long term. agree to disagree on this one.
  • TV/Streaming rights would significantly diminish thus cutting significant income to what would become a state based run league
  • Revenue from attendances and memberships at games would significantly diminish
"The reality is though that regardless if we have a rebranded vfl like now or my suggestion. Non vics will still be salty regardless.
At least with my suggestion they can't complain about inequity."

Isn't that all part of the fun and banter of it all, the reality is that ALL supporters are salty for one reason or another?
  • Non Victorians - "The AFL is VIC Bias, thats why we lose" / "VIC clubs have an advantage only having to drive from the MCG to Marvel" bla bla bla
  • Victorians - "The Voice of affirmation is why we lost, there has to be an investigation" / "How many home games do you get" bla bla bla
Even if we ended up with an even draw of playing each other once or twice a year, there will be perceived and real advantages and disadvantages. VIC bias is perceived in my opinion.

Anyway, I've no doubt strayed way off topic.
  • state based competition would immediately do away with FIFO for starters
  • the real point of this discussion really is about equity but we can't have that in the current comp
  • it goes deeper than the perception of bias driven by media look around at these boards alone. Non vics feel hard done by and they, but there's not much choice
  • as for if it was vfl, all those clubs would survive. Whatever comp runs it aren't gonna piss off a million plus paying fans. Those clubs are being held up because of that.

So your proof of Vic Bias is the fact that a Queenslander will finish higher than a West Australian? :drunk:

• state based competition would immediately do away with FIFO for starters
  • the real point of this discussion really is about equity but we can't have that in the current comp
  • it goes deeper than the perception of bias driven by media look around at these boards alone. Non vics feel hard done by and they, but there's not much choice
  • as for if it was vfl, all those clubs would survive. Whatever comp runs it aren't gonna piss off a million plus paying fans. Those clubs are being held up because of that.
  • Point 1 - agree
  • Point 2 - agree
  • Point 3 - "Non vics feel hard done by". I disagree, but know what living in the bubble of Western Australia and South Australia can be like. It's a narrative, not necessarily what people believe when you have a "normal" conversation with them, rather then a forum like bigfooty.
Maybe my head is in the sand on this point, because all of the people I know who follow Non Victorian Clubs don't feel "hard done by".​
I know this thread topic is about VIC Bais, but as you said the point of this conversation is about equity, thus I don't think there is a VIC bias, I think everyone has an issue with the equality of the AFL e.g. Collingwood are a wealthy club, why should you be stopped in spending as much money as you want both offfield as you want instead of being restricted by a soft cap because you run your business so well and have made smart decisions, is that a Pies bias if the majority of Collingwood supporters believe this point of view?​
IMO the VIC bias conversation is tiresome, repetitive and a great narrative to push.​
  • Point 4 - I disagree
Side note: I have enjoyed the balanced/mature conversation back and forth even though we have differing views