Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion

And what happened after? the AFL did an inquiry into why Victorian clubs are losing, since then 2 non-Victorian winners who won in the dying moments.

The AFL must do another inquiry
Yes they did but did they actually implement any changes as a result of the inquiry beyond taking away the ridiculous salary cap increases for brisbane and Sydney?

I don’t have that info.

Something has to change. The AFL can’t just be victorian clubs winning, I don’t know what the solution, but something needs to be done. AFL were quick to help a Melbourne club who have been struggling for like 4 years (north) but completely ignore all non Victorian clubs who have been struggling for 17 years

Hardly cherry picking. If crime goes up during a certain time frame it makes sense to limit the scope of the investigations as to why crime has gone up to the time frame that is relevant.

If the murder rate only began increasing in 2007 it would be a bit odd to begin investigating the murder rate in 2001.
Wtf?
It's a game of footy, we've had 3 dynasties since then, they happened to all be from Victoria.

No Seeds.
Making changes is not the point that matters here. They had an inquiry so that proves vicbias.
I don’t have that info.
lol.

Est. 1997 btw.

Brisbane travel more so more chances to win more on the road. But Collingwood only lost 1 away game, won 3 times at Adelaide oval this year. I think any normal fan would admit Collingwood clearly were the best team in it this year
Green = loss interstate
Yellow = win interstate
Yellow stripes = win neutral interstate.

Look at the quality brisbane beat interstate. Collingwood played the same teams on their home ground. Far harder to win on the road. D9DC8261-A7EC-4F47-90F3-B30EAB39EE76.jpeg 5C13F520-65D1-467D-ADBE-E87659397205.jpeg

Mate the eagles have been doing that chant for 30+ years - never heard it at a gf.

Bet you a dollar to a million you would hear it at a perth gf but.

I've heard it at a GF.
You are mistaken, a Perth GF would see even fewer Eagles fans than at the G. It's not like a H&A game or weeks 1-3 finals. Tickets are split equally.

I've heard it at a GF.
You are mistaken, a Perth GF would see even fewer Eagles fans than at the G. It's not like a H&A game or weeks 1-3 finals. Tickets are split equally.
Mate id rather my eagles played hawthorn at optus with a 100% hawks crowd than at the g with a 100 % eagles crowd.

But you know what’s better than both those options?

Eagles vs hawks at adelaide/ sydney / brisbane / tassie in front of a neutral crowd at a neutral venue.

We play the game and the best team on the day wins.

Roll credits.

Swans living rent free in the heads of Doggies supporters for 7 years. For the record AFL apologised about the umpiring that day.
Apologised for the day? Correct me if I'm wrong but all I remember is them saying they were unhappy with 3 or 4 decisions. The worst ones IMO were some Swan's player karate kicking someone in the head and the JJ goal overule.
I also remember some salty poster in here falsely claiming the AFL said it was 3 or 4 goals.

You keep ignoring the inequality and just say be better. That is all well and good for those who don't have disadvantage to say. I just dont see how you can participate properly when you keep ignoring the actual issue
At least you get to play your QF and Prelims at your home ground, Geelong not so much.

At some point in time you need to admit the current run of interstate teams by and large aren’t good enough.

No teams in the history of the AFL were as advantaged as Port and Brisbane in 2020 and they still couldn’t get it done.

Port since 2020 are 2-3 in finals at AO 0-3 in knockout finals, they should have played in bare minimum 1 GF but haven’t played in any.

Brisbane are just as bad before this year. Finished top 2 in 2019 bombed in straight sets, finished top 2 in 2020 blown out in a prelim at home, got an unearned neutral game in 2021 blew it then got bundled in straight sets at home a week later. Finally this year they made good and made the GF but under any metric this game should be played at Collingwoods ground as the 1 seed.

Your stats are fine but what you actually should be looking at is how often has an interstate team been robbed of rightfully hosting a GF. ( My assumption is you believe higher seed should host, yes? Or do you think the GF should be Pre determined at the start of the year like the Super Bowl?)

07- nope Geelong the 1 seed
12- nope Hawthorn the 1 seed
13- nope Hawthorn the 1 seed
14- yes Sydney could argue for a home GF
15- yes west coast could argue
16- more dicey, yes Sydney finished higher however by losing in the first round they gave up the 1 seed to GWS who the Bulldogs then took it off. Regardless this was a neutral site game so I’m going with no.
17- yep Adelaide robbed.
18- West Coast has an argument but won anyway 🤷‍♂️
19- no Richmond higher seed
22- nope Geelong 1 seed
23- nope Collingwood 1 seed

So in your run of 17 years it has happened 4 times and it is a 1-3 record.

West Coast affected twice 1-1
Sydney affected once 0-1
Adelaide affected once 0-1

No other interstate sides have been affected at all by the MCG GF advantage.

It wasn’t Vic Bias, Brisbane lost this game the minute Albo jumped on the bandwagon, he’s on a roll backing losers this year and everyone he gets behind, loses.

This is like arguing with a climate denier who argues that winter was a bit cooler than usual this year, which must mean climate change is a hoax.

It is about trends rather than individual moments and the trends show that Non-Victorian clubs are winning the flag a lot less than Victorian clubs. The individual moments almost don't matter, it is the trends that are important.

This is like arguing with a climate denier who argues that winter was a bit cooler than usual this year, which must mean climate change is a hoax.

It is about trends rather than individual moments and the trends show that Non-Victorian clubs are winning the flag a lot less than Victorian clubs. The individual moments almost don't matter, it is the trends that are important.
Lol it's a game of footy. Some teams come good, then others do.

At least you get to play your QF and Prelims at your home ground, Geelong not so much.

At some point in time you need to admit the current run of interstate teams by and large aren’t good enough.

No teams in the history of the AFL were as advantaged as Port and Brisbane in 2020 and they still couldn’t get it done.

Port since 2020 are 2-3 in finals at AO 0-3 in knockout finals, they should have played in bare minimum 1 GF but haven’t played in any.

Brisbane are just as bad before this year. Finished top 2 in 2019 bombed in straight sets, finished top 2 in 2020 blown out in a prelim at home, got an unearned neutral game in 2021 blew it then got bundled in straight sets at home a week later. Finally this year they made good and made the GF but under any metric this game should be played at Collingwoods ground as the 1 seed.

Your stats are fine but what you actually should be looking at is how often has an interstate team been robbed of rightfully hosting a GF. ( My assumption is you believe higher seed should host, yes? Or do you think the GF should be Pre determined at the start of the year like the Super Bowl?)

07- nope Geelong the 1 seed
12- nope Hawthorn the 1 seed
13- nope Hawthorn the 1 seed
14- yes Sydney could argue for a home GF
15- yes west coast could argue
16- more dicey, yes Sydney finished higher however by losing in the first round they gave up the 1 seed to GWS who the Bulldogs then took it off. Regardless this was a neutral site game so I’m going with no.
17- yep Adelaide robbed.
18- West Coast has an argument but won anyway 🤷‍♂️
19- no Richmond higher seed
22- nope Geelong 1 seed
23- nope Collingwood 1 seed

So in your run of 17 years it has happened 4 times and it is a 1-3 record.

West Coast affected twice 1-1
Sydney affected once 0-1
Adelaide affected once 0-1

No other interstate sides have been affected at all by the MCG GF advantage.

If Geelong want to play their finals at home I would support them, I believe that to be their right.

No, I don't think it should go to the higher seed's home ground. I like the idea of a neutral venue so there is no advantage. The ideal would be to have a Wembley type but this is obviously not feasible so yes, the next best would be to have a Champions League/NFL setup where it is predetermined and rotated. Ok we would have these conversations each year if the tenant club/s made the GF but at least it isn't going to be the same next year.

The only way I support a higher seed = home is if the GF became a series a la NBA, NHL where the Game 7 (or in this case Game 3) would be given to the higher ranked team. Putting all the eggs into one game each year and playing it at select clubs home ground cannot be accepted.

I think the point you raise re: underperformance of interstate clubs across the board whereby we don't often see that club go into GF week as the 'no 1 seed' has some merit but as some have pointed out already - where is the inquiry into that.

Half the comp nearly is interstate teams and yet their performance is worse than what you would expect if you ran randomised sims. Why? Is it really 8 x clubs being run like shit? If so then find out why. The fact that this argument can be posited but people seem to want each interstate club to just do better doesn't make sense. If what you say is true then the failures aren't individual clubs but systemic - that SHOULD be worth looking at. The AFL has history doing this re: Vic clubs.

Anyway regardless of whether interstate clubs underperform or not, the conversation will always exist whilst the system works like this.

Yet 2 of those grand finals weren’t even played in Melbourne and still the interstate sides couldn’t win.

It’s just a poor group that came up against some once in a generation teams like the Hawks and Tigers.

For all the vic bias and MCG home ground advantage ignores the MCGs no1 tenant hasn’t won a final at the G this decade and their only premiership in 60 years was played in Perth!!!

Brisbane were 6 wins, 7 losses away from the GABBA this year, if it was played in Adelaide or Perth they’d still have lost! Only the GABBA or Marvel are safe hunting grounds for the Lions.

Yet 2 of those grand finals weren’t even played in Melbourne and still the interstate sides couldn’t win.

It’s just a poor group that came up against some once in a generation teams like the Hawks and Tigers.

For all the vic bias and MCG home ground advantage ignores the MCGs no1 tenant hasn’t won a final at the G this decade and their only premiership in 60 years was played in Perth!!!
Once in a generation tigers team that was utter dogshit away from the mcg.

*makes jerking off motion and rolls eyes.

It isn't just Grand Final location, though that is important in the close games.

I suspect, and this is only me suspecting but there are a lot of other factors going on including travel time which really does wear a person down, free agency and how I think this makes it harder for non-Victorian clubs to trade in for needed talent and makes it more likely they will lose top talent too. I think a lot of Victorian clubs have an advantage when it comes to promising their players other salaried gigs that fall outside of the salary cap and I think having much more freedom of choice in the draft helps too as Victorian clubs don't need to actively avoid drafting players like a lot of non-Victorian clubs do due to the go home factor.

Some of these may not be right, but I think the AFL needs to do a full review to find out the answer as 2 Grand Final wins in 17 is no longer just a coincidence, it is a trend.

It isn't just Grand Final location, though that is important in the close games.

I suspect, and this is only me suspecting but there are a lot of other factors going on including travel time which really does wear a person down, free agency and how I think this makes it harder for non-Victorian clubs to trade in for needed talent and makes it more likely they will lose top talent too. I think a lot of Victorian clubs have an advantage when it comes to promising their players other salaried gigs that fall outside of the salary cap and I think having much more freedom of choice in the draft helps too as Victorian clubs don't need to actively avoid drafting players like a lot of non-Victorian clubs do due to the go home factor.

Some of these may not be right, but I think the AFL needs to do a full review to find out the answer as 2 Grand Final wins in 17 is no longer just a coincidence, it is a trend.

You may have a point for some teams, but Brisbanes team today shows they clearly don’t have any trouble attracting players from other clubs!

Do you think Hawthorn would have gone in to the 2015 grand final as favourites if it were to be played at Subiaco?

Similarly Richmond if 2017 was played at Adelaide Oval?

Bulldogs in 2016 if the gf was at the SCG?

Etc etc etc

Would you say that the Home teams (as would have been earned in those years) in the scenarios above would have ‘had an advantage’?

Sure, the Vic teams may have still won all of those grand finals (as the were clearly the ‘better side that season’) but there would have been an ‘advantage’ to the home sides.

Perth Stadium can fit 17k members (today’s allocation) of competing teams in pretty comfortably, likely even more with no ‘MCC neutrals’ clogging up ticket allocation.

So why not? (If WC or Freo earn it by finishing higher on the ladder of course)

Those 04-06 grand finals between two ‘interstate teams’ held in Melbourne were ridiculous. Making club members all pay upward of $1.5k (minimum) for return flights just to be able to attend (on top of the ticket price of course)

It’s just time to play the gf at the ground of the highest ranked team. The MCG will still end up with the vast majority of grand finals, it just opens it up the possibility to those sides that could potentially earn a home grand final (which is completely fair and equitable in a national competition)

I would have loved for the Swans to play the 2014 and 2016 Grand Finals at the SCG. May not have made a difference in 2014 as Hawthorn were probably too good but it could have easily made a difference in 2016.