MRP / Trib. Vickery Gets 4 Weeks - Back for Round 23

Do you actually think that's factually correct, or does it suit your argument this week?
Everyone views their team and players through rose tinted glasses and you are no different. Cox, champion player but has thrown more backhanders than many in the last 10 or so years. Thug might have been a bit rich, but at times he has been a real dog and if he didnt live up to that when he almost fractured Vickerys sternum then this thread would never had taken place.

Cox is a bonafide weak as piss bloke.

That elbow to the chest/rib area was a thuggery act by a guy well past his used by date. It showed the other night too. Had to get off. I think Vickery was doing him a favor.

Cox was lucky Ty didn't go down like a sack or shit like he did. Not our boy Ty. No way. He's made of the right stuff.

See you back in 4 weeks young man. Piss off after 5 weeks you dog Cox.

Vickery did go down, when the ump didn't pay the free kick he go right back up again however and acted as if nothing happened. He then went down again rather easily when Shuey and Lecras bumped him later on.

Everyone views their team and players through rose tinted glasses and you are no different. Cox, champion player but has thrown more backhanders than many in the last 10 or so years. Thug might have been a bit rich, but at times he has been a real dog and if he didnt live up to that when he almost fractured Vickerys sternum then this thread would never had taken place.
Wow

Hyperbole much?

I'll leave you to it

The umpire is the major issue in this incident, as he did not have the balls to blow the whistle when he should have. Seems to be happening more often as the years go by, the umpires not willing to make the obvious calls. Also players & coaches need to take some responsibility in this as well with constantly trying to use the rules to gain a major advantage.
In the end Ty got what he deserved & I have no issue with the 4 weeks as what he did was over the top, yet if the umpire pays the correct decision neither player would have been disadvantaged this week. So let's hope Jeff Dalgleish gets to have a couple of weeks off as well, since he was to piss weak to make the right call in the 1st place.
Imagine if the shoe was on the other foot & it was Tyrone knocked out under those circumstances, We would be furious with the player that perpetrated such an incident.

Vickery did go down, when the ump didn't pay the free kick he go right back up again however and acted as if nothing happened. He then went down again rather easily when Shuey and Lecras bumped him later on.

Did he drop to the ground? Did he go off the ground?

No he didn't. Of course he is going to feel a hit like that. But you know what? He got on with it. Our boy is tough.

As I've stated, I've copped elbows to the area and once had to go to the hospital later in the evening when my breathing wasn't quite right. That hit was a weak, dog act.

If Vickery did go down do you believe Cox would have had the minimal force required? No he would have been suspended.

So Ty helped him twice. Once by staying on his feet and the second by knocking him down so he could leave the field not to return, cause he was so shit.

Cox deserved the treatment. Other ruckman can thank Vickery. He won't be doing any weak dog things again.

Last edited by a moderator:
Is it safe to come back onto The Richmond board yet, have all the west coast supporters finished having a sook, really don't know why they are still upset 4-5 days after the game, it's not like the suspension is going to effect them, TV will miss games against GWS, ess, ade and stk, by the time we play west coast again TV will be running around tearing Nic ' I might do something in my career one day ' Natanui a new one.

As per the article the umpire didn't call a blatant free and TV responded (stupidly) to cox elbowing him = 4 weeks.

That the umps are not calling obvious frees really is annoying me this year. SO often you see the top line players grabbed and held, no free. It isn't the umpires fault. It is the AFL's policy that they are enforcing. Stupid policy that is causing problems. Let the umpires call the game as per the rules. This constant tinkering is stupid, and counter productive.

Anyway, on the incident. Cox was a great player, and he plays it hard. Too hard in this case - Yes! But then you play to what you are allowed to do, and if you are allowed to nail guys off the ball then that is what will happen. So does that mean next week we'll see elbows hitting bodies all over? It should. If the AFL in its wisdom has decided that rucks can physically hit their opponents off the ball, as long as it is not high, then let the war commence! That will last a week or two as players go down like nine pins and smaller rucks get annihilated by bigger more vicious guys. Letting Cox get away with what was effectively an assault on TV all but says it is OK to attack opponents to the body.

I don't really see the issue is regarding what Cox did to Vickery.Every ruckman does it,Part of a Ruckmans life really.Going by the letter of the rules,yes Vickery should have got a free,And if he did i'd seriously question where our once tough game was heading.

That should be a free every day of the week. It's like saying frees for 'too high' shouldn't get paid unless someone gets hurt. There is no way a player should be able to use one of the hardest parts of his body to strike an opponent off the ball and get away with it. That Tim Lane article was so on the money.

The elbow issue is a distraction

Does it happen often, yes

Its it against the rules, yes

Should umps be doing more to stop it (and all other features that downgrade ruck contests into a scragfest), yes

Does any of this in any way justify the degree of retaliation Vickery did, no

Cox should have given away a free, but people wanting weeks are kidding themselves

That should be a free every day of the week. It's like saying frees for 'too high' shouldn't get paid unless someone gets hurt. There is no way a player should be able to use one of the hardest parts of his body to strike an opponent off the ball and get away with it. That Tim Lane article was so on the money.
Happens every game.Ruckman jostle for position etc.How much was it fair dinkum vs Vickery trying to milk a free?

Wow

Hyperbole much?

I'll leave you to it

hyberbole, from a WC supporter after this week ???? fair dinkum. You guys acted like Tyrone kicked Cox in the head several times while he was prone on the floor. You guys have been renowned for gutless " play for the free" footy for years. You guys have had fair dinkum thugs like Lewis who rammed peoples heads into fences but there was surprising little outrage from your supporters....pathetic

Just because every ruckman does it, doesn't make it right. Also throwing elbows & fists is just piss weak, using body strength is what I call old fashioned footy, they have even taken this out of our game as players can't come together until after the umpire releases the ball.
Yes our game used to be tough, yet they have decided to protect the head more than they used to do. The only problem with this is even accidental head contact (such as head on head) are reportable now, which is taking it too far now.

I agree DrMike . The free for all in terms of elbows was one of the first things to come to my mind as well. I guess time will tell ?

Maybe lock the thread to stop the stench of WC supporters trying to prove a point ?
Then they won't appreciate my feedback

Our boards privileges shouldn't be limited because of opposition posters, if our board wants to discuss this further they can

Imagine if the shoe was on the other foot & it was Tyrone knocked out under those circumstances, We would be furious with the player that perpetrated such an incident.
I agree 100%

It is always interesting to view these incidents from a far. Normally the supporters from the teams directly involved do not provide a fair and balanced response. And this incident is no different. While there are a number of reasonable and pragmatic posters on this board, most are not. If the roles were reversed, this board would be in meltdown calling for Cox's suspension for the rest of the year. It always constructive to step into someone else's shoes before passing judgment.

I don't think anybody is disputing that Tyrone got the suspension he deserved.
This is more about ******* sook hypocrite West Coast supporters coming on here for a cry.
It's like they are seeking something more??
From us?????
For one there is nothing anyone can do about it and secondly nobody really cares.
Is it for sympathy because it was a Cox milestone?
Nobody likes him.He doesn't get called Ucka on here for nothing.
I just don't get what it is West Coast fans are looking for????
You'll get no sympathy on here.

Man the self righteous dudes on the WCE board (and isn't that all of them? :p ) are so far in denial it's embarrassing.
I think I might get carded for having an opinion...

Anyway, as I see it, Vickery responded (badly) to a big elbow in the guts.

Which, according to the Eagirls, makes Cox the victim.

Still, they 've always been the same, haven't they?

Oh, and they didn't seem to mind Woosher sniping his way through an AFl career, did they?

Hey, let's not be too logical!