Autopsy vs Geelong

Bullshyte. We have a team that can’t handball yet we play a handballing game plan. This is all on the coach. EVERY SINGLE BIT OF IT.

Giving Kelly and Ablett acres of space, too. Atley started right on Gaz' hammer, then for some reason we switched to Turner sitting 4m off him?

First quarter 1.5, last quarter 2.6. Add all the almosts that didn’t become scoring shots, and that’s the day. Created opportunities through pressure, didn’t make the most of them through poor skills and some ordinary decisions.

Pleased with the pressure and keeping at it when Geelong bolted ahead a few times. Not pleased with the skill errors and the looseness with checking their best players. Turned out much better than I expected today but disappointing .

Positives -

Thomas - poetry in motion with a hard, defensive edge

Larkey

Negatives

Turner - refused to man up on Ablett, flew for marks for no reason leaving Ablett at ground level to kick goals. He just has terrible judgement

Wright and MacMillan - massive plodders

We were very dangerous when they moved the ball fast into the forward line
Every time we stopped and waited they got numbers back and opened up the middle.

At some stage our coaching staff will stop the over use of hand ball.

I think we backed up the effort from the carlton game. The type of footy we played today would beat a lot of teams in the comp. Thomas is showing he could be a special player and Larkey is showing he can play. LDU needs to be getting games in the centre asap

I’ll say it - we’re a better team than Geelong. But we lost and I feel seriously frustrated. We lost it in the first quarter, plain and simple. This allowed Geelong to play without being under real pressure. The result was that they kicked numerous goals out of their proverbial hind quarters. We missed a host of kickable goals. If we had kicked like last week, we would, almost certainly, have won. Great effort but all for nothing in the wash up.

Far out, how about the sooking on this board. We took essentially the flag favourites right down to the wire, while blooding Curtis Taylor and losing 2 key defenders in Marley (who would have taken Ablett) and Scott Thompson who would have been very handy giving Tarrant a chop out against Hawkins. As well as this, we had more bloody scoring shots. I just don't understand it, 95% of people on this board reckon we are useless, and then we show we aren't, and yet there is still no positivity. If Brown hadn't tripped over in the goal square, or they didn't score that one that bounced through from 70 metres out, the game is a coin toss.

If LDU and Ahern don't play every single game for the rest of the year, then you have to ask what the **** is the point of this season? What are we actually getting out of it? Needs to be a development year now so the next coach can see what he has to work with.

The point of having our own VFL team is development isn't it? :S

Hey, there hasn't been a limerick thread about Brad yet...
Brown has a new foil in Larkey.
I'm so glad he's stayed on the parkey.
Too long he was down,
Playing VFL grounds.
For that, Brad can go and get farkied.

There was a passage of play that was illustrative of how certain players can switch off in key moments, which can cost significantly.

Cats won the ball on the wing and swung it into the middle where Stewart took the mark. Can't recall who was on the mark, but Simpkin was near the mark but pushing wide to cover a runner, Brown was running across the square towards Stewart with Bliczavs peeling back towards their D50. 10 meters ahead of Stewart was Parfitt, all by himself in the center of the ground in a very dangerous poaition. Brown had a choice to cover Parfitt or follow his direct opponent back behind Stewart towards the Cats D50. He chose to follow Bliczavs, ball went over the top to Parfitt all by himself and he drove it long into the F50 where i believe they scored.

It was one event, but Brown clearly chose the wrong option at a key time and we regulary do this kind of thing. Its just not good enough. We need our best players to be better at all aspects of the game. We need to be smarter and see the game around us.

Such a disheartening team to support. They give you hope, then slap you down as soon as that glimmer emerges.
Don’t get this
Didn’t go myself but we seemed somewhat competitive.....Young blokes showing something and Catters are in good form
Quite happy to see us flying the flag
Wot did u expect?

For the love of god, after a chain of 2 handballs, please make the third possession a kick where possible. Preferably forwards.

As has been the case since forever, with space, our forward line looked unstoppable.

When we were slow, and if we didn’t over-possess and turn the ball over, it was just ‘bombs away’

Bad kicking is bad footy. Had our chances. Blew it.

Turner, if you are going to fly 3rd man up, try getting a fist on it. Ablett stays down, kicks the goal. Will learn from it but he might make way for Williams if he comes back in for next week. Or Taylor and Turner goes back forward.

Might make way? Realistically did Taylor offer any less in his forward role, not really. Is he a better defender than Williams, unlikely. If they want to play him back he needs to earn the position and learn it in the 2's.

There was a passage of play that was illustrative of how certain players can switch off in key moments, which can cost significantly.

Cats won the ball on the wing and swung it into the middle where Stewart took the mark. Can't recall who was on the mark, but Simpkin was near the mark but pushing wide to cover a runner, Brown was running across the square towards Stewart with Bliczavs peeling back towards their D50. 10 meters ahead of Stewart was Parfitt, all by himself in the center of the ground in a very dangerous poaition. Brown had a choice to cover Parfitt or follow his direct opponent back behind Stewart towards the Cats D50. He chose to follow Bliczavs, ball went over the top to Parfitt all by himself and he drove it long into the F50 where i believe they scored.

It was one event, but Brown clearly chose the wrong option at a key time and we regulary do this kind of thing. Its just not good enough. We need our best players to be better at all aspects of the game.

Yeah, but if he’d followed Parfitt, the ball would have gone to Bliczavs and we would have been opened up and you’d, probably, be on BBB ‘s back for that now. That’s not why we lost. We lost because we didn’t kick straight and they did.

Taylor, Thomas, Larkey and Durdin were all impressive.

We will flog the Swans next week

Thomas very good. Larkey played well. Good effort Taylor on debut.

At the ground, I thought Durds was below whats required. He had the chance to kill a few balls as 3rd man up and wasn’t strong. Missed Thompson... EVW is also one we forget who would be smarter in those situations too.

I know they will be staunchly defended by Supercoachers based on their numbers, but I reckon a majority of Higgins 31 were of more benefit to Geelong than us, and if Dumont was responsilbe for Kelly, concentrate more on stopping him than boosting your own numbers, actually I just checked the DE% stat's, and those 2 were last and second last with 58 and 55, no where near good enough, especially for Higgo.

Autopsy vs Geelong