Roast Waite out for the season [Merged threads]

Blueinblood

Sep 18, 2007
Western Australia
Scans have confirmed Waite has a partial tear of his ACL. Carlton will decide a course of action on monday.

If the club opts not to put him in for surgery, how long would would he be out for?

Re: Waite Partial ACL tear.

FFS, surgery has to be the only option, even if he's out for the rest of the season..

Much better to go for the conservative/safer route, then 'rolling the dice' and throw him back again this year, where he could do it again, and make it even more 'serious' ...

Send Waitey to the Operating Table Carlton FFS ..

I don't want to be watching him run at 50% because his knee is no good. Just get the surgery and we will look forward to seeing him next season. If he waits till the end of the year he might not get a full preseason which will important for us next year.

Scans have confirmed Waite has a partial tear of his ACL. Carlton will decide a course of action on monday.

If the club opts not to put him in for surgery, how long would would he be out for?
Is that from the CFC website?

Giansiracusa and Reiwoldt both had partial ACL tears and did not opt for surgery and made successful recoveries. Don't think surgery is necessarily the best option. Gia returned from the injury and played his best season of footy last year. Let's not jump the gun. Jarrad will be consulting his surgeon now that the prognosis has been made

ACL injuries are terrible to come back from. There's the option of surgery, but that puts you out for about 6-8 or so months, roughly.

Without surgery, it's still a very tricky process to get back. At best, it takes about 10 weeks to get back to practical activity. On top of that is how long it takes for Waite to get back into shape as well as hone his skills.

ACL injuries are terrible to come back from. There's the option of surgery, but that puts you out for about 6-8 or so months, roughly.

Without surgery, it's still a very tricky process to get back. At best, it takes about 10 weeks to get back to practical activity. On top of that is how long it takes for Waite to get back into shape as well as hone his skills.
10 months minimum if they use patella or hamstring...

A partial tear is perfect for a malceski type reco in which the synthetic will act purely as a guide for the ACL to regenerate around it...

Prognosis of an ACL tear

With appropriate management, most patients with a minor to moderate ACL tear (grades 1 and 2) can return to sport or normal activity within 2 – 8 weeks. Patients with a complete rupture of the ACL will frequently require surgical reconstruction followed by a length rehabilitation period of 6 - 12 months or longer to gain optimum function. Patients who also have damage to other structures of the knee such as the meniscus or collateral ligaments are likely to have an extended rehabilitation period.

- read more here: http://www.physioadvisor.com.au/9410850/acl-tear-torn-acl-acl-injury-physioadvisor.htm

Really depends on how "partially" torn the ligament is, so we won't know until tomorrow when they announce the course of action. :( fingers crossed.

I'm no Quack, but I still prefer the surgery option ...

Much prefer the 'conservative' route in all honestly, esp as I think we'll be a better side/more experienced next year ...

I'm no Quack, but I still prefer the surgery option ...

Much prefer the 'conservative' route in all honestly, esp as I think we'll be a better side/more experienced next year ...
the conservative route is not to have surgery... surgery causes imense trauma to the knee area as it involved either taking a portion of the hamstring tendon or patella tendon... either way you'll have two areas trying to recover... the best option is the non surgery option and let it recover on its own... maybe a slight arthroscope just to clear it up and bit and adjust the cartilage a bit which no doubt took a bit of a pounding with the bones hitting each other...

agree - surgery to get the the ACL means you have to go through tissues that are not damaged and basically rip them open. That has to heal as well. You cannot do keyhole surgery for this injury. The best doctors will assess and make the call. No definates with this type but risk v benefit will have to be weighed up

you cant "key hole" however if you go with a patella (like i did) you end up with a big scar down the front of your knee and a small key hole for the camera up near the quad... if you go with hamstring tendon there is three little cuts one to get the tendon, one for the drilling and one for the camera

naa mate but I am hoping they go to the best... I can vouch for Hoy when it comes to shoulders he did a terrific job on mine, did a great job on warney and it only took the blues two goes at walker before they sent him there and I would dare say walkers shoulder is as good as fixed now...

as for knees you cant go past julian feller or hayden morris... i dare say the two best in the state... david young at the avenue is also a genius (and has the mansion to prove it!)

Wow, I didn't think we had so many specialists here. :D

I think I'd prefer to leave it to the medical team on Monday, thanks.

Wow, I didn't think we had so many specialists here. :D

I think I'd prefer to leave it to the medical team on Monday, thanks.
some of us are in the medical field and many have had lots of surgery due to sporting injuries. You could say we know what we are talking about and trying to help others to understand things

haha close to it!

As for specialist i researched my operations to the n'th degree and knew the whole process short of intricacies such as where to drill and all that... i even self diagnosed my own MRI after I had it done prior to heading in to the surgeon... there is a lot of material on the net... I just wasnt comfortable with some one cutting me open unless i knew what they were going to do to me!

as for waite depending on the definition of "partial" i still reckon the 6-10 week lay off and let it heal it's self is the best option... zimmerman brace and plenty of R & R should be the best course of action!

More information here guys:

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,20797,25530202-5018851,00.html?from=public_rss

Carlton star Jarrad Waite to meet specialist to determine if season is over

Carlton star Jarrad Waite will meet with a specialist on Monday to determine whether he needs a full knee reconstruction, which would end his AFL season.
Scans on Sunday showed that Waite, who hyperextended his left knee against Adelaide at AAMI Stadium on Saturday, had partially torn the anterior cruciate ligament (ACL).

While it was not as severe as a full ACL rupture, Blues football manager Steven Icke said it would need specialist consultation to determine whether a reconstruction would still be needed.

"We're not sure what the recommendation will be," Icke said.

"It could be a conservative rehab approach where he is placed in a brace for six weeks and it is allowed to recover.

"He might have arthroscopic surgery to assess the damage to the other parts of the knee, or they might recommend that he has a full knee reconstruction.

"It's not as bad as a full ACL rupture but the prognosis may still be a knee reconstruction."

Along with the ACL tear, there is also bone bruising and damage to the meniscus.

If the more conservative approach is decided on, Waite might still be able to return to playing later this season.

:thumbsdown:

More information here guys:

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,20797,25530202-5018851,00.html?from=public_rss

Carlton star Jarrad Waite to meet specialist to determine if season is over

Carlton star Jarrad Waite will meet with a specialist on Monday to determine whether he needs a full knee reconstruction, which would end his AFL season.
Scans on Sunday showed that Waite, who hyperextended his left knee against Adelaide at AAMI Stadium on Saturday, had partially torn the anterior cruciate ligament (ACL).

While it was not as severe as a full ACL rupture, Blues football manager Steven Icke said it would need specialist consultation to determine whether a reconstruction would still be needed.

"We're not sure what the recommendation will be," Icke said.

"It could be a conservative rehab approach where he is placed in a brace for six weeks and it is allowed to recover.

"He might have arthroscopic surgery to assess the damage to the other parts of the knee, or they might recommend that he has a full knee reconstruction.

"It's not as bad as a full ACL rupture but the prognosis may still be a knee reconstruction."

Along with the ACL tear, there is also bone bruising and damage to the meniscus.

If the more conservative approach is decided on, Waite might still be able to return to playing later this season.

:thumbsdown:
the secondary damage when the ACL goes
on the money chels!

Just really bad luck for Waite, who was in career best form. Hopefully the specialist advises that he doesn't need surgery, and that he can wear a brace, and perhaps even come back later in the year. If he can avoid surgery, then I reckon this will be the path the club takes.

Roast Waite out for the season [Merged threads]