News We’re going to Dingleyland! Teams to move in mid 2025!

A boutique stadium that could host around 30,000 people would cost between $200-300M on top of the other Dingley build costs. Despite my selfish reasons for not wanting to schlep to Dingley to watch games - there is no way we could afford that and it would take decades to make up the costs through having a better share of the gate takings.

It surely has to be a long term ambition though.

Funding doesn't need to be found now, guess that's the utility of the Hawks Foundation.
Plus there will always be government funding...

That being said, it looks like the Dandenong Stadium near the train station will come to fruition this decade as part of the CFG/Melb City relocation to Casey Fields.

It surely has to be a long term ambition though.

Funding doesn't need to be found now, guess that's the utility of the Hawks Foundation.
Plus there will always be government funding...

That being said, it looks like the Dandenong Stadium near the train station will come to fruition this decade as part of the CFG/Melb City relocation to Casey Fields.

I doubt it will ever happen because it would only be used by us. Geelong is a one team town so of course they get a stadium of their own. If there was to be a third ground for AFL usage in Melbourne there is no way known that state and federal governments and the AFL itself would chip in for a stadium that would only ever be used by us. Particularly with the AFL as it would chip into the AFL membership revenue because they would want to sell to Hawthorn people as part of their stand at the MCG. Training facilities serve a community use so governments can spend the money. I think if a smaller stadium was to be built it would be closer to the city and would be shared by a few teams as well as Marvel and the MCG, and if anyone was to build it the AFL would so they could retain the revenue stream like they do with Marvel. Also it would need to be close to multiple transport options - I am sick to death of what happens on game day with traffic in and around the inner suburbs so a stadium that could almost solely rely on public transport would be brilliant. The Victorian government should also do what the Qld government does and allow free transport for anyone attending a game - that's a whole other argument mind you.

I hope our focus is on having a state of the art facility and getting as many games as we can out of the MCG once the Tassie arrangement ends.

If the club were to do it they wouldn't just jump straight in like that. They'd build something similar to Mars stadium in Ballarat. Construction costs for that were about 10% of what you've estimated. Basically a premium suburban / state-level ground with a capacity of ~10k, the majority of that capacity provided by one main stand. It would then service AFLW and state level games for mens, womens and junior footy comps/carnivals - which would get money from the AFL and governments. Closest AFL footy would get to it would be a pre-season game. Then over time they'd look at staged upgrades to increase capacity in line with demand and the ability of surrounding infrastructure to support transport of crowds.

What you've suggested is likely already in on the plans. However - a boutique stadium that seats 30,000 that would be fit for purpose for hosting AFL regualr season games would absolutely cost in the hundreds of millions overall. CommBank Stadium in Sydney and Queensland Country Bank Stadium are both in that price range. While being rectangular that is still the cost of a stadium that seats around 30,000 people and is catered for a professional sporting team. To me the outlay would not be worth the returns you would get from it - particularly as nobody would want to share the ground with us and you can't adequately use an AFL ground for rectangular sports. It would be a complete boondoggle and is superfluous to requirements when our present home ground is sensational and seats 100,000 people.

We should play all our home games there. That part of Melbourne has always been our zone and it stretches out to Frankston as well. I'm sure people from that area would love to have local AFL games rather than having to get into the city, and the AFL would also like to have an outer suburban foothold once again.

Maybe we'll get smaller crowds, but the revenue would be all ours, and we could sell virtual memberships/tickets to fans who want to watch from home. Plus there's the advantage of having our own home ground and home advantage.
Yeah cause that is a good idea to attract new members.....

Sorry sir/madam, you'll have to go on a waiting list to see your team live....

What you've suggested is likely already in on the plans. However - a boutique stadium that seats 30,000 that would be fit for purpose for hosting AFL regular season games would absolutely cost in the hundreds of millions overall. CommBank Stadium in Sydney and Queensland Country Bank Stadium are both in that price range. While being rectangular that is still the cost of a stadium that seats around 30,000 people and is catered for a professional sporting team. To me the outlay would not be worth the returns you would get from it - particularly as nobody would want to share the ground with us and you can't adequately use an AFL ground for rectangular sports. It would be a complete boondoggle and is superfluous to requirements when our present home ground is sensational and seats 100,000 people.
I agree, we're not going to be planning for a stadium the likes of those. That would just be trying to replicate the pro stadiums of the MCG and Marvel on a smaller scale (with all the quality of life features that drive up cost).

You'd go for that premium suburban ground experience. One main stand on the wing (capacity 10-15k), the rest is standing room and GA on a hill or something like that. Arrange for food trucks to provide catering options. Aim to be the premier ground for the AFLW and VFL comps. Then the only AFL games you might play there would be the preseason games and maybe the odd game that you know won't draw a big crowd (like the Mother's Day fixtures).

Basically don't try and make it an AFL thing. Make it an AFLW and VFL thing that can cater for the odd AFL game in very specific circumstances. Ideally the AFL side will be strong again soon and even our weakest home crowds won't make sense there.

You have heard of free to air television, foxtel and kayo.....?

Going to a game is infinitely superior to watching on TV. I get a better perspective on the game live and don’t have to endure idiot commentators.

We don’t need to, as we get $5million per year in sponsorship
That’s why we play low drawing sides in Launceston

A crowd of 10,000 a week would do for Dingley. We would draw 10k to our exciting business centre (pokies), and other community facilities(pokies). Plus we'd save money on petrol, and plane tickets.

Guys, it's just not going to happen...

The steep costs, the low returns, the lack of public transport, the lack of parking, the perfectly good MCG...everything...

It will be nice to go there to watch pre-season/community challenge games, and last training before the grand final...sit on the fence with a pie, BYO booze...that's it

The steep costs, the low returns, the lack of public transport, the lack of parking, the perfectly good MCG...everything...

It will be nice to go there to watch pre-season/community challenge games, and last training before the grand final...sit on the fence with a pie, BYO booze...that's it
Your 1000% right, and Melbourne doesn’t need another boutique stadium, but your last point is exactly what football needs to keep attached to.

At significantly less cost but just as much appeal, if we could create boutique local ground that was made for televising local games (especially at night) something similiar to what the baseball setup -

Not only would it be fantastic to watch practice matches or pre season games, you could also host premier local Games, womens afl, tac cup etc.

Just build Australia’s best local ground and sell pies for $2, put on some tunes between breaks and their will be 5000 people their for every game. Bar would make a motza and everyone would love it. Must hire the best groundskeepers in Vic…

Returns will be more efficient, there is trams, bus, and trains, although the closest train station I think is 7km away.

The MCG is a soulless venue.

News We’re going to Dingleyland! Teams to move in mid 2025!

Write your reply...