News We’re going to Dingleyland! Teams to move in mid 2025!

I appreciate that Ian Dicker was instrumental in setting up our revival after we almost merged due to poor management. However Geoff Harris is our "Gina R", and unlike Kennett, has been a major benefactor in a quiet way, over a long period. In a period of uncertainty, with almost certain cost escalation, and our future income stream uncertain, it may be prudent to keep him onside.
No doubt Geoff has bankrolled the club and helped us out of the shit on a number of occasions. He's brown and gold to the absolute core.

I appreciate that Ian Dicker was instrumental in setting up our revival after we almost merged due to poor management. However Geoff Harris is our "Gina R", and unlike Kennett, has been a major benefactor in a quiet way, over a long period. In a period of uncertainty, with almost certain cost escalation, and our future income stream uncertain, it may be prudent to keep him onside.

So we should accept a board bereft of leadership because a coterie might stop giving us money? No thanks - that’s some Carlton/* level shenanigans. I also don’t think Harris would be remotely that petty - he’s a big boy, I’m sure he and Gowers can work together.

Has to be the worst photoshopped image of a playing surface I've ever seen.....when you look at the enlarged image I reckon I can make out a half dozen+ cows around the center pitch.
Bizarre.
I think they are supposed to be people but I agree it's a poorly done render. They've used the same grass texture across the entire area so we've got football fields which look like overgrown paddocks. Seriously, how hard is it to smoothen the texture so at least the fields look pristine? Lazy.

Golf course design software?

There are better renderings of Kennedy centre, maybe they did new ones to suggest something is happening

I like this classic photoshop job. Looks like it was done by the work experience kid. :laughv1:

LbcQLuXw.jpg

Dicker endorsed Merlino

something worth some reflection
Appreciate what dicker has done for our club but he hasn’t been there for 20 years now …Harris has and has put 10 million of his hard earned for dingley …the board and club has been run well and “change” now with a pending 100 mill project over the next 2 years is laced with Russian roulette style risk

So I must vote for who Harris wants or there will be repercussions? Is that what you are saying?

Appreciate what dicker has done for our club but he hasn’t been there for 20 years now …Harris has and has put 10 million of his hard earned for dingley …the board and club has been run well and “change” now with a pending 100 mill project over the next 2 years is laced with Russian roulette style risk
No, pandering to a person because they have "power" is how you get what is happening in Ukraine.

Petition to actually call it Dingleyland?

The Kennedy Community Centre sounds like somewhere senior citizens visit to play backgammon on Tuesday mornings or where Scouts Australia convenes to provide fun youth development activities.

I’ve already voted so I’ll bail out of this disagreement

How is everyone. Just got home from the footy. Was at vfl park for 1986 round 1 against Carlton. Took a while to get out of the car park.

What's this dingley thing about?
I'm sure this has been answered but the plan/image for Dingley released by the club looks very green. How many car park spots are there as it is a fair way from the train station? If it is the future home of our AFLW team how are fans going to go there and how many can do it?

But I’m sure there would be plenty of grassed areas that could be used if need be.

I like this classic photoshop job. Looks like it was done by the work experience kid. :laughv1:

LbcQLuXw.jpg
At least Howes decide not to kick across goals this time.

Apologies if it’s been answered but has it being confirmed how we are funding the project? How much of pokies money is being tipped in?
Would have thought likelyhood or getting additional government money was low once you’ve announced construction - as what does govt get out of it as project is already going my ahead.

The announcement seems too close to the AGM to not be a bit cynical- have we just blown up chance for further government funding?

Apologies if it’s been answered but has it being confirmed how we are funding the project? How much of pokies money is being tipped in?
Would have thought likelyhood or getting additional government money was low once you’ve announced construction - as what does govt get out of it as project is already going my ahead.

The announcement seems too close to the AGM to not be a bit cynical- have we just blown up chance for further government funding?
The club has said they can afford to build the ‘club component’ but the 15mil gov is to build the ‘community component’

But I’m sure there would be plenty of grassed areas that could be used if need be.
Probably could use the ovals that are not in use aswell if need be especially if they’ll have an extra 2 ovals will also be intresting how many available to the public after you take out all the spaces reserved for the club…

DB228408-609B-4830-936C-85EE46DA116D.jpeg 2FC465F9-F880-4CE5-B882-95398C38D807.jpeg

On the $15M - from memory the money from the LGA was contingent on the state government funding also. If that’s the case it’s not $15M that Jeff’s mouth has cost us but $20M.

I assume the local government funding would have been for the community facilities aswell so they wouldn’t give the funding if we didn’t have the funds to build it

News We’re going to Dingleyland! Teams to move in mid 2025!